Ok, Guana, forget I mentioned it. Back to politics. 

Suh I browsed that thread Django dug up from 2002. I see a GTman posting. In my post yesterday I said we were GT people. Is that your grand "clue" as to who I am? I see nothing else in that thread that can lead you to infer who I am from what I wrote.

You do know that the term GT person / people or GT man or GT woman is very common among Guyanese, right? The characters back then were quite colorful. Debated better too. I don't see the Indo KKK there, I guess they came later and led us to the present day gutter state.

BTW Leonora, I think you and Bibi are the same person. I examined the posts. Both alyuh use the word "the" a lot.

Suh I browsed that thread Django dug up from 2002. I see a GTman posting. In my post yesterday I said we were GT people. Is that your grand "clue" as to who I am? I see nothing else in that thread that can lead you to infer who I am from what I wrote.

You do know that the term GT person / people or GT man or GT woman is very common among Guyanese, right? The characters back then were quite colorful. Debated better too. I don't see the Indo KKK there, I guess they came later and led us to the present day gutter state.

BTW Leonora, I think you and Bibi are the same person. I examined the posts. Both alyuh use the word "the" a lot.

Nah, your sis attending St. Roses, and some other things you wrote reminded me of a famous poster.  Anyway, I was just kidding when I made the original post, told you twice to forget it, but seems like I unnerved you.

Anyway, Iggs, I'm still sleepy, attended a show last night with lots of Indians. Winter weather here but enjoying the long weekend. Have a good Sunday.  

I have a feeling also!!

You stirring red ants. You know they are not the same people. I know who Leonora. I did meet her husband once. Nice Guy...She said they are not together but he was an amiable fellow to me.

I have a feeling also!!

You stirring red ants. You know they are not the same people. I know who Leonora. I did meet her husband once. Nice Guy...She said they are not together but he was an amiable fellow to me.

Well, I don't know Leonora, so I cannot vouch.  And I know YOU don't make loose remarks!!

Now if these limitations represent better quality of life power to those who think so.  I do not think that modern Guyanese would tolerate this. But in colonial Guyana black folks were content with these limited options.

And that is the point I'm making Carib. It was a whole different time back then, people were more concerned about lifestyle over politics, independence, and available options. Yes, everyone knew the Brits were discriminatory and even the "red people" etc.,  but did they care enough? No. As long as their standard of life was better than their parents and they were seen to be "moving up" by getting a house, car or better job they were fine.

Mind you, not disagreeing with you there was discrimination. Let me ask you this - has the quality of life gotten any better for black people in Guyana over the last 50 years of independence? Same question for Indians!

Nah, your sis attending St. Roses, and some other things you wrote reminded me of a famous poster.  Anyway, I was just kidding when I made the original post, told you twice to forget it, but seems like I unnerved you.

Anyway, Iggs, I'm still sleepy, attended a show last night with lots of Indians. Winter weather here but enjoying the long weekend. Have a good Sunday.  

No, not unnerved or offended. Just couldn't understand why the hell it was so important to dig up topics from 2002 to imply who Iguana was. I'm just a reptile writing faaat hay like everybody else.

Well guana that was a co-incident, Django don't care who you are. I was thinking about the old posters Mara,kidmost, bushmaster, etc ,decided to do a search and posted the topic.The olden days there was lots of fun on GNI,posters was civil not the  condescending behavior of a few currently here.Back then i met a few posters who was posting here at Kidmost office regarding the idea of Digitization of Indian Indentured Immigrants Records, i was offering some help.

Anyway i like your humorous style of writing, usually looking forward for the entertainment. My instincts tells you are oldie back on the forum.

Now if these limitations represent better quality of life power to those who think so.  I do not think that modern Guyanese would tolerate this. But in colonial Guyana black folks were content with these limited options.

And that is the point I'm making Carib. It was a whole different time back then, people were more concerned about lifestyle over politics, independence, and available options. Yes, everyone knew the Brits were discriminatory and even the "red people" etc.,  but did they care enough? No. As long as their standard of life was better than their parents and they were seen to be "moving up" by getting a house, car or better job they were fine.

Mind you, not disagreeing with you there was discrimination. Let me ask you this - has the quality of life gotten any better for black people in Guyana over the last 50 years of independence? Same question for Indians!

Don't look for a handout. Ask for a hand up. You make a living the hard way...you earn it. Put your shoulders to the wheel and you will have some pride. This is common throughout the world. Take it from me, you always sleep in peace with both eyes closed. No stress, no high blood pressure etc.

Has NOTHING to do with what I'm saying. As usual, you are blinded by your own racist myopic views with hand up, hand out and hand in yuh scaley ass!

Fact is both blacks and Indians, with the exception of a few elitists, have a WORSE quality of life than they did back then. And this after 50 years of independence and absence of the white man.

Don't you think those Indians in the country areas living in shacks with barely any clothing work hard? And they are NO BETTER OFF after 23 years of PPP rule as part of the 50 years of independence. Banna, STFU with your racist shit. Guyana is a dismal failure after 50 years of independence, insomuch we have to ask the white man that we kicked out to come back and "monitor" we elections!

Has NOTHING to do with what I'm saying. As usual, you are blinded by your own racist myopic views with hand up, hand out and hand in yuh scaley ass!

Fact is both blacks and Indians, with the exception of a few elitists, have a WORSE quality of life than they did back then. And this after 50 years of independence and absence of the white man.

Don't you think those Indians in the country areas living in shacks with barely any clothing work hard? And they are NO BETTER OFF after 23 years of PPP rule as part of the 50 years of independence. Banna, STFU with your racist shit. Guyana is a dismal failure after 50 years of independence, insomuch we have to ask the white man that we kicked out to come back and "monitor" we elections!

My response has nothing to do with race. It has to do with pride. I have seen a lot of lazy coolies and labeled them so(even Guyanese coolies). In every race, even whites, Chinese, etc. I have seen people who look for a handout or trying to screw the system. Please, get off your coolie and negro trip. Life is a lot more than worrying about who is to be blamed. Worry about yourself before you worry about others.

The answer is yes.  Admittedly this is harder to prove in Guyana than in most of the Caribbean, and that Guyana has progressed the least. Jamaica being another problematic case.  Has our quality of life improved as much as it should have? No.  But we don't have to be as afraid to talk out against injustice as we did in those days. That "happiness" was a drugged high.

Ask yourself why that extreme unleashing of violence in the 60s. Happy people don't behave like that. And don't tell me that Guyanese were so silly that they destroyed their communities because Burnham and Jagan told them so.  No. This was an unleashing of unresolved issues.

If Guyanese were happy there would have been no struggle in 1953.  They would have accepted the status quo which deemed the majority as being not competent enough to vote and therefore accepting that which was thrust on them by the planter class.

Yes life has become more complicated. Now that you have indoor plumbing and electricity you have to pay for it.  Yes now that you know how people elsewhere in the world live you hanker for it.

And it is a fact that there is more crime, dwindling values, and deteriorating family structures but name the country where this hasn't occurred.  Do you know that New Yorkers weren't always afraid of their neighbors?

Many adults think that life was better when they were kids because it was their parents who had to solve all of our problems. But do we want to go back to those days when we had much less freedom to determine what we wanted to do than we now have as adults?

The answer is yes.  Admittedly this is harder to prove in Guyana than in most of the Caribbean, and that Guyana has progressed the least. Jamaica being another problematic case.  Has our quality of life improved as much as it should have? No.  But we don't have to be as afraid to talk out against injustice as we did in those days. That "happiness" was a drugged high.

Ask yourself why that extreme unleashing of violence in the 60s. Happy people don't behave like that. And don't tell me that Guyanese were so silly that they destroyed their communities because Burnham and Jagan told them so.  No. This was an unleashing of unresolved issues.

If Guyanese were happy there would have been no struggle in 1953.  They would have accepted the status quo which deemed the majority as being not competent enough to vote and therefore accepting that which was thrust on them by the planter class.

Yes life has become more complicated. Now that you have indoor plumbing and electricity you have to pay for it.  Yes now that you know how people elsewhere in the world live you hanker for it.

And it is a fact that there is more crime, dwindling values, and deteriorating family structures but name the country where this hasn't occurred.  Do you know that New Yorkers weren't always afraid of their neighbors?

Many adults think that life was better when they were kids because it was their parents who had to solve all of our problems. But do we want to go back to those days when we had much less freedom to determine what we wanted to do than we now have as adults?

Carib, I disagree that the quality of life now is better. Yes, there are more amenities (electricity in more areas, cell service etc.). But in the grand scheme of things, where has all this "independence" gotten us? Mind you, not suggesting we should have remained subservient to the British, but what have we done with Independence? And what better quality of life have we gotten since Independence?

Here are my considerations:

a. You mentioned "we don't have to be afraid to talk out against injustice". Really? The PNC assassinated political opponents and the PPP had extra judicial killings! Political victimization continues until today. Only the players have changed.

b. Infrastructure - we inherited an almost perfect infrastructure from the British. Today, the sea defenses are collapsing and residents are flooded. The trenches and dams are a disaster. Poor sanitation is now accepted and trash all over. Today the land of many waters relies on bottled water. The power system is broken for over 40 years. Yes, 40+ years of blackouts that our local geniuses (Freddy take note) CANNOT solve. Our attempts to improve infrastructure resulted in a giant goady bridge and a road to nowhere. All of the aforementioned has a direct effect on quality of life.

c. Crime - kick down the door bandits, extra judicial killings, corruption of the legal system where the "elites" walk free. An infestation of drugs and Guyana becoming THE major drug transhipment point for the Caribbean. Again - a direct effect on quality of life as people turn to drugs for a living and now we are stuck with a generation of addicts who will kill, maim, and rob to support their habit.

You get my point. Increase in crime, breakdown of infrastructure, etc. all result in a worse quality of life. I haven't touched on the lack of jobs, the lack of any upcoming industry (even a cottage one), no entrepreneurship beyond taxi driver, etc which would further make my case. 

No my friend, our quality of life is not better today in spite of the fact that there are no "elite" white or red man to restrict us from holding certain positions. Today we get to hold the positions, we just don't know what the hell to do once we have them. We have more freedom, but we just don't seem to have the will nor the fortitude to exercise it properly. We are a lost people.

Carib, I disagree that the quality of life now is better. Yes, there are more amenities (electricity in more areas, cell service etc.). But in the grand scheme of things, where has all this "independence" gotten us? Mind you, not suggesting we should have remained subservient to the British, but what have we done with Independence? And what better quality of life have we gotten since Independence?

Here are my considerations:

a. You mentioned "we don't have to be afraid to talk out against injustice". Really? The PNC assassinated political opponents and the PPP had extra judicial killings! Political victimization continues until today. Only the players have changed.

b. Infrastructure - we inherited an almost perfect infrastructure from the British. Today, the sea defenses are collapsing and residents are flooded. The trenches and dams are a disaster. Poor sanitation is now accepted and trash all over. Today the land of many waters relies on bottled water. The power system is broken for over 40 years. Yes, 40+ years of blackouts that our local geniuses (Freddy take note) CANNOT solve. Our attempts to improve infrastructure resulted in a giant goady bridge and a road to nowhere. All of the aforementioned has a direct effect on quality of life.

c. Crime - kick down the door bandits, extra judicial killings, corruption of the legal system where the "elites" walk free. An infestation of drugs and Guyana becoming THE major drug transhipment point for the Caribbean. Again - a direct effect on quality of life as people turn to drugs for a living and now we are stuck with a generation of addicts who will kill, maim, and rob to support their habit.

You get my point. Increase in crime, breakdown of infrastructure, etc. all result in a worse quality of life. I haven't touched on the lack of jobs, the lack of any upcoming industry (even a cottage one), no entrepreneurship beyond taxi driver, etc which would further make my case. 

No my friend, our quality of life is not better today in spite of the fact that there are no "elite" white or red man to restrict us from holding certain positions. Today we get to hold the positions, we just don't know what the hell to do once we have them. We have more freedom, but we just don't seem to have the will nor the fortitude to exercise it properly. We are a lost people.

Nonsense. Quality of life should be determined by the Guyanese citizens, not some know it all looking down his nose at them. Based on my yearly visits, I see vast improvements in quality of life, under both governments. People eating an drinking loud, cars galore, almost everyone have a cell phone. No one starving. Potable water in almost every community. Blackouts far and few i  between. Houses galore. People dressed in the latest fashion and eating out at restaurants. Your analysis is over analysis, typical of a person with political motives trying hard to convince a people that they are suffering when in fact they are enjoying the high life.

c. Crime - kick down the door bandits, extra judicial killings, corruption of the legal system where the "elites" walk free. An infestation of drugs and Guyana becoming THE major drug transhipment point for the Caribbean. 

So on that basis the entire world is worse off then it was in the 1950s so Trump is right, MAGA!

Guyana is NOT the major drug transshipment center.  That distinction goes to the DR, Haiti and The Bahamas which are more favorably located to drug markets.  I think that T&T has more drug transshipment than we have. Ditto Puerto Rico.

c

I dont know how old you are but we did NOT inherit a good infrastructure under the British. Between 1964 and 1970 the main focus was on building infrastructure.  Rural electrification, rural water, building SURFACED roads, and improved drainage and irrigation.  This is because outside of the towns and the estates there was not much of it.

We had frequent blackouts in the early 1960s.  The vast majority of Guyanese did NOT have access to indoor plumbing.  Most Guyanese used kerosene lamps, including many even in GT.  Note that in that era even middle class people used relatively little electricity so that if the electric grid couldn't cope imagine how bad it was.

Yes in GT we were sheltered to some degree as many of the Bookers gentry lived there.

BOOKERS Guiana was set up to benefit Bookers and the infrastructure that existed was for Bookers.  Do you know that the best stretch of the road to the airport was the last stretch and that was because the Americans controlled?  The rest was a narrow pot holed trail, and the ECD no better.

I would never want to go back to those days when someone would look at me and tell me that all I should aspire to be is to be a civil servant or a teacher. Maybe you think that this is quality of life.

The British were like the type of parent who told their kids that they are dunces, capable of nothing, and therefore should aspire to nothing.  They were also adept at building that poison pill which has hampered Guyana, and that is the ethnic insecurity which bedevils us up to this day.

Divide and rule is how they were able to run the world's largest empire.  Keep the natives fighting each other and they would never rebel against colonial rule.   And Guyana wasn't unique.  The religious problems of India/Pakistan, the ethnic conflict of Nigeria and Kenya, and the skin color issues of Jamaica are all do to mischievous acts of the British.

@Former Member , I made it quite clear that I am not opposed to independence from the British nor do I deny their cunning and divisive tactics. But I have moved on to post independence. What have we done with the chance to make our countrymen's lives better over the last 50 years?

Electricity? you mean we have access to it, but it doesn't work. Anecdotal case - Zed posted he was in an area and black out fuh days. How is that different than the Kerosene lamp? Water? Most guyanese now drink bottled water, and the pipe turns on but nothing comes out.

You think we are beyond the days of people being told what to aspire to? Check out the composition of the military / police force. Check how many blacks are allowed into privately owned Indian businesses. In fact you have griped about this yourself. So I don't get the whole "I would never want to go back to those days when someone would look at me and tell me that all I should aspire to be...." talk. It's still there. Nothing has changed except the players.

There is no red man or white man to scream at now. The quality of life is the same or WORSE and the culprits are we own mattie Guyanese leaders. That is my point .

Nonsense. Quality of life should be determined by the Guyanese citizens, not some know it all looking down his nose at them. Based on my yearly visits, I see vast improvements in quality of life, under both governments. People eating an drinking loud, cars galore, almost everyone have a cell phone. No one starving. Potable water in almost every community. Blackouts far and few i  between. Houses galore. People dressed in the latest fashion and eating out at restaurants. Your analysis is over analysis, typical of a person with political motives trying hard to convince a people that they are suffering when in fact they are enjoying the high life.

Your annual visits are to go whoring around and get away from the shackles yuh in at home, reminescent of slavery. Wine and guh down and pouring likka down yuh throat is not indicative of a good quality of life, except if one is a diseased, sorey cretin like you.

The "Guyanese citizens" disagree with you. They are voting with their feet. How many leave every year? 23 years of PPP rule and there was the highest immigration under them. Suh yuh talking shit as usual.

Your annual visits are to go whoring around and get away from the shackles yuh in at home, reminescent of slavery. Wine and guh down and pouring likka down yuh throat is not indicative of a good quality of life, except if one is a diseased, sorey cretin like you.

The "Guyanese citizens" disagree with you. They are voting with their feet. How many leave every year? 23 years of PPP rule and there was the highest immigration under them. Suh yuh talking shit as usual.

Yuh is a funny chap. Improvements are relative, it will not prevent migrate of those who perceive that better opportunities can be achieved elsewhere. The strong will stay and develop while the weak hearted like yourself will run and piggyback off the sweat of others who sacrificed to develop their own country and economy. You only show up as a parasite to take advantage of what others built with blood and sweat.

You only show up as a parasite to take advantage of what others built with blood and sweat.

Parasite?. You live off the blood and sweat black man put into America during slavery. And yuh enjoying what the black man Martin Luther King fight fuh suh Dalits like you can get freedom in America. And I bet you got some blacks in your family who support you.

The rest of your post is nothing but the obvious and has little bearing on what I'm discussing with Carib. Suh show yuh dalit self out.

@Former Member Electricity? you mean we have access to it, but it doesn't work. 

Well we didn't even have electricity then unless you lived in the towns and a few other places.  And even those of us who did were often in blackouts. I was alive in 1962. Maybe you weren't.  Note that low levels of electricity consumption didn't put pressure on the grid that today's much higher levels do.  Most people in GT were in bed by 10PM in those days and had very few electric devices and yet blackouts in 1962 were very common.

I cannot celebrate your notion that life was better when at birth someone told me that all I could aspire to was to be a teacher, civil servant, or if I was extremely, extremely bright and won one of the extremely minute scholarships, I might become a doctor or a lawyer, and then I had to go work for gov't.

As disappointing as life has been at least the blacks and Indians of Guyana have the opportunity as individuals to progress.   And many in fact have done exactly that.

Guyana has done badly relative to the rest of the Caribbean but I will not accept the fact that it is now worse than it was in 1952.

If Guyanese today had to live like they did 70 years ago even more would migrate. 

Like you said there is no white man around anymore so no one to take advantage of their colonial inferiority complex which told them to accept the crumbs dished out to them and sing in loud and lusty voices, "Rule Britannia, Britannia rules the waves, we BRITONS will never be slaves".

Guana, calling an Indo a Dalit is the same as addressing an Afro person with the racist N word. Shame on you !!!!!!!!!!

Dum, Dum, Dalit is the desired label for a class of people in India not under the brahaminic caste category. Ambedcar, the father of modern india,  directly insisted on this term as a political identity opposing the term suggested by Ghandi, "Harijan" (sp). Amdedcar believed these these people formerly designated  "the unscheduled" caste are a group with special demands on the state. Today it is used as such in political advocacy in ways similar to terms as "minority" or LGBT are used to address a group with demands on the state. 

Guana, calling an Indo a Dalit is the same as addressing an Afro person with the racist N word. Shame on you !!!!!!!!!!

Stop talking scheizer!  Dalits/OBCs are official groups in India protected by the "reservation" (affirmative action) law.  They hold annual events in India pushing for rights and have their symbol and flag they carry around to ID themselves!

If Guyanese today had to live like they did 70 years ago even more would migrate. 

Like you said there is no white man around anymore so no one to take advantage of their colonial inferiority complex which told them to accept the crumbs dished out to them and sing in loud and lusty voices, "Rule Britannia, Britannia rules the waves, we BRITONS will never be slaves".

The brits are gone but the rise of a new suzerain/serf class arisen. Not a damn thing has changed. We are still averaging 3600 a year despite massive wealth being extracted from the country by foreigners with the aid of a rent seeking class. For this to happen it means the people in general accept the authoritarianism with which they have been ruled since the brits left.

For an autocrat to emerge there must be willing supplicant class. This class often feeds the autocracy as we see with their sheeplike following along ethnic lines rather than by thinking and these low level clerks of this class can be monsters themselves with the little authority given them. One is reminded by the phrase they "tyranny of the clerk" and everyone here knows what it is. 

Stop talking scheizer!  Dalits/OBCs are official groups in India protected by the "reservation" (affirmative action) law.  They hold annual events in India pushing for rights and have their symbol and flag they carry around to ID themselves!

And their lot in India is still a sad one.

I did not ask you to butt in.  This is a coolie people thing.

The brits are gone but the rise of a new suzerain/serf class arisen.. 

And here is the difference.  You go to any forum consisting of Guyanese and we are very vocal about the state of the nation.  Very vocal about the sad delivery of gov't services.  We dont tolerate what we once did.

We sang lustily "we Britons will never be slaves". Ask Guyanese why they didn't vote yesterday and they will suck their teeth and discuss how corrupt the nation is. Yes we have progressed.  At least we know that this is wrong. Now we need to figure out how to change it.

This is a public forum.  Set up a forum and force people to show their Indian passports and then you can limit it.

Or they can show their Indo KKK (PPP) cards which is the same.

This is a public forum.  Set up a forum and force people to show their Indian passports and then you can limit it.

Or they can show their Indo KKK (PPP) cards which is the same.

Nah man, see wuh happen with Nuff Afrocentric forum?  You even made a fuss and left here, then you run back from being bored!

I never left. I remained to demolish people like druggie who chatted nonsense all day.  It was more fun. The people on Nuff's board were quite intelligent so there wasn't that much that I could add there.

Nuff is also quite busy.  Not like some who seem to post all day every day.

I never left. I remained to demolish people like druggie who chatted nonsense all day.  It was more fun. The people on Nuff's board were quite intelligent so there wasn't that much that I could add there.

Nuff is also quite busy.  Not like some who seem to post all day every day.

I spent some time as a guest reading and contemplating to join. It was boring.  Everyone agreeing with each other in the ills of the PPP.