The Guyana Fire Service is investigating the cause of a fire that destroyed the Shaheed’s Girls’ Orphanage at Oleander Gardens, East Coast Demerara early Saturday morning.

Approximately 18 girls and two caretakers have been displaced as a result of the fire, which erupted at around 6am.

A Police report noted that one of the orphans informed one of the caretakers that smoke was emanating from the upper flat of the building; the fire service was contacted but by the time they arrived, the upper flat was already engulfed in flames.

News Room understands that the building is valued at $50M and is not insured.

• mceclip0
Videos (1)
F21202FC-0372-4A29-9FF1-A7400A556D7E

For fk sakes now a building goes on fire...oops is govt fault. Yall dumb rass doan got a happy life nuh yall rass must complain everytime yall batty itch, nuh?

Me hope if something negative should happen to dem, they also see it as a curse by the gods. And these are so-called rational people who want Guyana to heal. They must live miserable lives. 

Someone once utter some famous words on GNI ' Some people on GNI don't think dem shit stink'.

In order to  heal a family, if one of your children do something really bad to you, you gun try to get even with dem ?

Rass, de attitude of some on GNI will continue to destroy Guyana. Really warped mindset !! 

Recently in London, I was driven around by a husband, whose wife sat near him and uttered a negative word about his driving, almost every minute.  Later alone, when I commended him on his patience to remain calm, he replied.  'Many  Indians are like that and you can never change them'. Some Guyanese Indians are no different.  

We offer our sympathies to those affected.

We remember when the AFC and PNC politicized every single tragedy by blaming the PPP for all occurrences in Guyana. 

It would have been nice to see you expressing that opinion when the PPP was in office.

We offer our sympathies to those affected.

We remember when the AFC and PNC politicized every single tragedy by blaming the PPP for all occurrences in Guyana. 

It would have been nice to see you expressing that opinion when the PPP was in office.

Go back and pull up my posts and prove what you are saying....

From what I remember, I remember when there was a huge disaster with flooding and the amount of people on here who were supporting drives to help people out.

Of course, you will have those who want to make political hay out of it...but for the most part, people were talking about helping those affected

Now, you don't even have any talk of helping out....it's just using disasters to make political points

sick people

If BJ didn't advise them to do this, then he needs to send them another memo. They are shaming the PPP.

There was a facebook picture of some school kids working to bail a boat so they could go to school.

The reaction on here was all focused on attacking the govt in power (I think it was the PPP).

On another site where a mixture of Guyanese posted, the reaction was trying to get in contact with the families of the kids so that they could provide life jackets for the kids.

There was a facebook picture of some school kids working to bail a boat so they could go to school.

The reaction on here was all focused on attacking the govt in power (I think it was the PPP).

On another site where a mixture of Guyanese posted, the reaction was trying to get in contact with the families of the kids so that they could provide life jackets for the kids.

the Gov't in power being attacked was APNU/AFC

Not sure of the date and who was in power but APNU/AFC if in charge should be held accountable if kids have to bail boat to get to school. These jackasses in power said they had all the answers while in opposition and many of you pnc/afc apologists agreed. Now take your blows and stop complaining. 

thanks for the incoherent non-response

During PPP time EVERYTHING was blamed on the PPP by the AFC Gutter Rat Gang. It is called payback time in Politics.

...you vengeful, nasty creature, it is said that Gandhi uttered the words "an eye for an eye leaves the whole world blind". Orphans left homeless and all your lil wormy self can do is use an unfortunate event as currency fuh yuh lil "payback" scheme.

Speaks to the nasty lil bytch that you are!

You forget the incident which brought me to this site - the black woman who started a program in robotics for Guyanese children of all races and was viciously attacked here. The attacker's only claim to fame was engaging in smuggling and trafficking in Guyana. This was the "man" who was sullying this black woman's name while he is the progeny of smugglers and traffickers. 

In the nether world of these simpleton low acheivers like Yugli man, PPP = good and PNC = bad. No middle ground. No objectivity. Race is the only determining factor. These people are fcking sick!

Now, you don't even have any talk of helping out....it's just using disasters to make political points

sick people

If BJ didn't advise them to do this, then he needs to send them another memo. They are shaming the PPP.

Me waiting fa Jagdeo memo to Berbicians, advising dem to protest against the Berbice bridge toll increase.

Hiroshima one, Nagasaki two...Skeldon factory one, Berbice bridge two. Having a cold beer and waiting fa de mansion to be number three.

Dis guy is like trump, waiting to blow us all to kingdom come, wid Russian assistance.