I notice here that some people use words (I have been keeping a list since I been on this site) like poke, chum chum, punani, sumutoo, nara, aloo, baigan, choka, dharu, roti, karaila, loli, paglee, prappa, etc

My observation is that they are primarily used by Indos (I think). I notice too that some people (non-Indos) simply don’t use them. Ronan, Iguana, etc don’t seem to use any of them. Some of them are not in a dictionary, so they are not necessarily English words. So here are my questions:

Are these words part of the Afro or Indo language they brought from Africa or India?

Are they based on the original Hindi language?

Are they β€œcreole” words that develop over the years of mixing with Afro and Indo words?

Why does it look like one set of Guyanese use them?

I notice here that some people use words (I have been keeping a list since I been on this site) like poke, chum chum, punani, sumutoo, nara, aloo, baigan, choka, dharu, roti, karaila, loli, paglee, prappa, etc

My observation is that they are primarily used by Indos (I think). I notice too that some people (non-Indos) simply don’t use them. Ronan, Iguana, etc don’t seem to use any of them. Some of them are not in a dictionary, so they are not necessarily English words. So here are my questions:

Are these words part of the Afro or Indo language they brought from Africa or India?

Are they β€œcreole” words that develop over the years of mixing with Afro and Indo words?

Is a good patkay you want. You had claim to know what is lolie ... can someone find that post and let’s hammer it in his kakahole. 

You are fake .. who knows you probably have patacake. 

Vish, I asked a question in another thread you might have missed

At what age did you migrate?

Like you, I never knew many of the words until I came on this site, it is mostly Indians who use the words such as Tawa, Belna, Luckney, Patkay and a host of others including those you mentioned because it did come from their fore parents. Some of these words could also be a bit of French, ie:  Crapaud. Many of the street names are from the Dutch.

Is a good patkay you want. You had claim to know what is lolie ... can someone find that post and let’s hammer it in his kakahole. 

You are fake .. who knows you probably have patacake. 

Knucklehead...why you so pizzed at the world? And why you cussin so early in the marnin? 

Heres an FYI...if everyone has a "handle" here, then everybody "fake"...just like "Dave". Kapeeche? 

Yes, some words I do know, but not others (which i have not heard)

Drink your cool aid and read the post again...slowly...I am asking about their origin in usage.

Vish, I asked a question in another thread you might have missed

At what age did you migrate?

Like you, I never knew many of the words until I came on this site, it is mostly Indians who use the words such as Tawa, Belna, Luckney, Patkay and a host of others including those you mentioned because it did come from their fore parents. Some of these words could also be a bit of French, ie:  Crapaud. Many of the street names are from the Dutch.

Thanks!

I notice here that some people use words (I have been keeping a list since I been on this site) like poke, chum chum [chul chul], punani, sumutoo, nara, aloo, baigan, choka, dharu, roti, karaila, loli, paglee, prappa, etc

Kiddo, these are common words used in East Indian communities, from childhood it's heard and the English Language meanings can be derived.

Click on link below,you will find most of the words and their meanings

https://moonsammy.wordpress.co...guyanese-dictionary/

I notice here that some people use words (I have been keeping a list since I been on this site) like poke, chum chum [chul chul], punani, sumutoo, nara, aloo, baigan, choka, dharu, roti, karaila, loli, paglee, prappa, etc

Kiddo, these are common words used in East Indian communities, from childhood it's heard and the English Language meanings can be derived.

OK. That looks like an interesting site...will look at it later.

How can you tell which is Indian based and which is not?

Put on you Draaz and visit Django, he knows  nuff nuff thing, he gon teach you.

Figure it out, or you want the wild cane to be pulled out.

Bhai, you is wan crude fella.

Djangy Bhaio, like you lost for words. Checkmate????

Wondering if VishMahabir knows what is "Draaz" that bhai Imran thinks Django does swing that way.

Come on. You starting to sound like Redux/Ronan/Iguana. Not too long from now, you might start calling posters antiman etc.

Wondering if VishMahabir knows what is "Draaz" that bhai Imran thinks Django does swing that way.

Come on. You starting to sound like Redux/Ronan/Iguana. Not too long from now, you might start calling posters antiman etc.

You know i man doan do such. That's for the weaklings.

Drazz I know.

Yall should be more like Django...dont see him cussin out people out here.

Admit it...you jus happy to see me here.

Drazz I know.

Yall should be more like Django...dont see him cussin out people out here.

Admit it...you jus happy to see me here.

Lol. Look at the love birds. Leave you in the hands of Django, heard he likes to be without clothes in his shop. Django calling you Friendooo 😊

Can I ask you a Question, Do you have a Loli?

You willing to check and find out?

De man deh too far. He want you fuh tek out wan pitch and post am on GNI. Wah you seh deh VM?

You r@ss is one Batty Man . Post a pitch we can all help you decide whether it's a Loli or a Pata. 

Now that some of you have let it all out...(yes, I am guilty too)

Its amazing how some of you knuckleheads can really destroy a thread with some legitimate questions with your miasmic crap...

if this is the level of discourse that takes place in Guyana then maybe Trump is right to label this backwater country as a "s---hole" country.

The sad reality is that is seems like most of you here are Indos (my guess) who got nothing better to do with their time...rather than trade barbs...better be careful, if this is the level of intelligence reflected among PPP leaders (who dont give a heave ho about Indos) in Guyana then yall better be prepared to be out of power for 28 years....without being stereotypical hers, this level of discourse adds new meaning to the statement "dem coolies deserve what dey get" 

No wonder you dont see the likes of Ronan, Iguana and Carib getting in the sewer.

Admin, you should close this thread, its not going anywhere. 

Its amazing how some of you knuckleheads can really destroy a thread with some legitimate questions with your miasmic crap...

if this is the level of discourse that takes place in Guyana then maybe Trump is right to label this backwater country as a "s---hole" country.

The sad reality is that is seems like most of you here are Indos (my guess) who got nothing better to do with their time...rather than trade barbs...better be careful, if this is the level of intelligence reflected among PPP leaders (who dont give a heave ho about Indos) in Guyana then yall better be prepared to be out of power for 28 years....without being stereotypical hers, this level of discourse adds new meaning to the statement "dem coolies deserve what dey get" 

No wonder you dont see the likes of Ronan, Iguana and Carib getting in the sewer.

Be a good sport man. It's all in good humor. Show abie de ting nah!

You get your ORGASM  and now you want to run.

Tola posted:

Ayu tak good  like abie dis. 

Bhai doan feget fe milk ah cow and don pull de bubbie too hard. 

Nah farget fuh tie dem back foot wid de channa rope.

Me feget de rope and de back foot knack down too many milk bucket fa me.  One time de cow one foot stand in the milk bucket and will not move.   Mek sure de cow will not pee while milking.  

Last edited by Tola