Journalist Gilly has all the answers.    

Wait a minute,i guess you were young then having no idea or already migrated.

Na, I was young and had to line up for food items.

1.  1970?

2.  1971?

3.  Indos

No's 1 & 2 may not be correct,much later than those years.

Guyana was booming in those years.

Isn't it fascinating how people reminisce on those sad days when human beings were deprived of the basic necessities of life?  And those same people who ran away from their own country are now glorifying the PNC and running after them like a dog chasing after a bone.  What manner of humans are you?  

I have been doing some interesting reading about Guyana,it's from the views of US Diplomats stationed in the country,some shocking revelations.The reasons i have asked the questions is to verify the time of the banning of the food items,something started with the contraband trade.I know some folks who were in the business from the Essequibo River,we were kinda close due to my profession.

Nothing to do with reminiscing of sad days madam,also the banning of food items were short lived after the kabaka croaked,free trade was resuscitated.

Tola posted:

What would you “young” seniors attribute your good health, looks and sound mind to ?

Please share with our up and coming “50 something” group.

I know that D2 is a health and fitness fanatic but what about the rest ?

That will be a long list,

for myself are,diet,stay active,avoid stress,do all kind of stuff so the mind is not monotonous and lastly stay off the liquor binging,one and far will be fine.Just got a grand kid,so i man have more activity ahead.

Same suggestion here. Often breakfast of boiled eggs whites only, cherry tomatoes, avocado with slight pepper and one rye toast. One coffee only and 100% mango juice.   

Find an exercise  program that works for you and is comfortable to your life style. Even 20 minute walking daily is good exercise.   

Don't wait for old age to start, because disease like stroke or other chronic illness can derail things. Exercise and a healthy life style are done to prevent these things.

I see people at aerobics class with stroke and massive extra weight, starting exercise at 60+  with lots of difficulties. I often wonder, why did they allow themselves to put on so much weight ?  

A guy in my class is 90, with a stroke. His aerobics is from a wheelchair and he reminds me of Gilly. Not that Gilly is 90, when we all know he is Freedom55.    

Thanks for the advice. 

Based on what you advised:

I do not use eggs so I skip eggs. I do use tomatoes Berbice style, I crush it up and add some olive oil, a pinch of salt and some pepper. I only drink decaf with a Non dairy, almond based whitener and I have one mango a day. 

As for exercise, I walk for 30 mins and cardio on a bike for 30-45 mins every day.

I also live off a plant based diet but take B12 and Omega supplements like flaxseed. I occasionally use Co Q10, Vitamin D.

Based on that I read, I am on the right track since I am not overweight and thankfully I am on no medication so far in life. I just started talking a non egg based annual Flu Shot.

Thanks for the Tips.

So we talkin bout health an as yall know Iman look so young is like...is like  I am my son.

Leh me know when yall done laff?

Ok, so I got to thinking of the "bad" stuff we are to stay away from which I use and also my so called bad habits. One or all could take me out one day but so far Iman deh aright 'cept for one one problem.

I consume...ahem..ahem... a copious amount of Sugar...Salt...Coffee...'erb.

Never had a flu shot...never had a flu

'erb

Cycle in the streets among vehicles.

'erb

Work on ladies feet...need I say more?.'erb

I got more but won't post dem.

'erb

I think so too. Early 80's I've been lining up for bread and kero. But for sure the indos profited well. Boatloads of contraband came in from suriname. Ask that chap from Annandale, he know the runnings.

Thanks Shiek,

around 82,in the early 80's Guyana was heading in to a financial crisis,then the items was banned.

I think it was earlier than that. We lived by the Corentyne River where the boats would bring the foodstuff and unload them. In 1977 I returned to Guyana after 7 years and we had a jeep load of GDF running through our house looking for sardines and potatoes. The cars from GT use to come down to Crabwood Creek to get their supplies for Burnham and the other ministers. 

Skel, did you live near Molson Creek?

About 2 miles away. My father and brothers use to go hunting there. Molson Creek road is paved all the way to the Immigration office. The place is no longer a forest. Bananas, plantains and other crops are plentiful.

My last trip to Guyana was 2007 to a wedding. We went to some friends who lived in your area and they drove us to 63 Beach, Molson, etc. We wanted to take the ferry to Suriname but ran out of time.

Tola posted:

What would you “young” seniors attribute your good health, looks and sound mind to ?

Please share with our up and coming “50 something” group.

I know that D2 is a health and fitness fanatic but what about the rest ?

That will be a long list,

for myself are,diet,stay active,avoid stress,do all kind of stuff so the mind is not monotonous and lastly stay off the liquor binging,one and far will be fine.Just got a grand kid,so i man have more activity ahead.

Same suggestion here. Often breakfast of boiled eggs whites only, cherry tomatoes, avocado with slight pepper and one rye toast. One coffee only and 100% mango juice.   

Find an exercise  program that works for you and is comfortable to your life style. Even 20 minute walking daily is good exercise.   

Don't wait for old age to start, because disease like stroke or other chronic illness can derail things. Exercise and a healthy life style are done to prevent these things.

I see people at aerobics class with stroke and massive extra weight, starting exercise at 60+  with lots of difficulties. I often wonder, why did they allow themselves to put on so much weight ?  

A guy in my class is 90, with a stroke. His aerobics is from a wheelchair and he reminds me of Gilly. Not that Gilly is 90, when we all know he is Freedom55.    

Thanks for the advice. 

Based on what you advised:

I do not use eggs so I skip eggs. I do use tomatoes Berbice style, I crush it up and add some olive oil, a pinch of salt and some pepper. I only drink decaf with a Non dairy, almond based whitener and I have one mango a day. 

As for exercise, I walk for 30 mins and cardio on a bike for 30-45 mins every day.

I also live off a plant based diet but take B12 and Omega supplements like flaxseed. I occasionally use Co Q10, Vitamin D.

Based on that I read, I am on the right track since I am not overweight and thankfully I am on no medication so far in life. I just started talking a non egg based annual Flu Shot.

Thanks for the Tips.

What's the difference no medication, but you are taking four different herbs/drugs that can be purchased over the counter.

I work-out one hour every day, eat only rye bread with hard boiled egg with coffee for breakfast, lunch small portion of meat with chick peas or black eye peas, N/A sweet potato and salad, supper grilled fish,sardines or soup. In between I have a banana and a granny Smith apple along with almond nuts as snack. Late in the evening I snack on cheese and crackers. I do eat very small portion of brown rice maybe twice per week, don't eat roti. I don't eat sweets such as cakes ,cookies, ice cream, I stay away from sugary products. In December I take the flu shot, visit my doctor twice a year, use reading glasses.

Ten years ago I took stock of the circle of friends, got rid of many, thus rid of baggages, go to bed with a clear mind, get my eight hours of sleep. When bored go on small trips, like visiting my daughter and other family members in the US, Summer lots of time in the cottage up North a bit of fishing or just chill.Wife and I have nothing to do and all day to do so for almost ten years. MAKE EVER DAY EXCITING, enjoy.

I think so too. Early 80's I've been lining up for bread and kero. But for sure the indos profited well. Boatloads of contraband came in from suriname. Ask that chap from Annandale, he know the runnings.

Thanks Shiek,

around 82,in the early 80's Guyana was heading in to a financial crisis,then the items was banned.

I think it was earlier than that. We lived by the Corentyne River where the boats would bring the foodstuff and unload them. In 1977 I returned to Guyana after 7 years and we had a jeep load of GDF running through our house looking for sardines and potatoes. The cars from GT use to come down to Crabwood Creek to get their supplies for Burnham and the other ministers. 

Skelly, I was the President of SLPSS and Burnham's wife Viola came to open up a Wind Mill behind the school which was supposed to pump water to the upper level of the school. Obviously, it never worked.

She delivered a 30 mins speech and they then loaded up their vehicles with banned food items that were either bought or seized from Crabwood Creek and headed back to GT.

The Hypocrisy was unbelievable.