Journalist Gilly has all the answers.    

Wait a minute,i guess you were young then having no idea or already migrated.

Na, I was young and had to line up for food items.

1.  1970?

2.  1971?

3.  Indos

No's 1 & 2 may not be correct,much later than those years.

Guyana was booming in those years.

Just for my confirmation,have a few questions,can any one help.

(1) What year wheat flour and other food items were banned.

(2) What year contraband started,bringing in these food items .

(2) Which Ethnicity was the majority in the illegal trade.

Why your third question. What the FK are you getting at.

Coolie man use their  smart brain power to earn a lively hood and provide employment for every race putting food on the table for you and your family. 

The same man who ban flour, had his people pretending they were mixing rice flour to foil the people, when it was wheat. 

Question for you Django, why you hate yourself so much. 

You should not be carrying that Indian name you have. 

ANSWER: It started in the early 1970s with the publication of a list of RESTRICTED items.

ANSWER: After the 1973 election the restricted list was lengthened and upgraded to a PROHIBITED list. Contraband trading emerged as a culture.

ANSWER: I don't have statistical evidence but I would say Indos.

Journalist Gilly has all the answers.    

Wait a minute,i guess you were young then having no idea or already migrated.

Na, I was young and had to line up for food items.

1.  1970?

2.  1971?

3.  Indos

No's 1 & 2 may not be correct,much later than those years.

Guyana was booming in those years.

I think so too. Early 80's I've been lining up for bread and kero. But for sure the indos profited well. Boatloads of contraband came in from suriname. Ask that chap from Annandale, he know the runnings.

Coolie man use their  smart brain power to earn a lively hood and provide employment for every race putting food on the table for you and your family. 

The same man who ban flour, had his people pretending they were mixing rice flour to foil the people, when it was wheat. 

Your ramblings are uncalled for,why the irritation ?

Regarding food on the table from a kid,seen food was provided by the elders in the family from rice to garden vegetables..etc.

You like to tump your chest too much,our family member's had business in GT and the country side on the WCD,you were not even born as yet,one had a wholesale store opposite D'Aguair.They were living in Bel Air,some were big in to cattle rearing for milk.They were my mothers first cousins the rich side of the family.

Flour was produced by an American owned mill. It was ordered to cease production of wheaten flour in early 82. Smuggling from Suriname already had a ten year history. The first 5 year development plan  headed by Arthur Lewis failed by 72 and Guyana was on a downhill slide. Sugar kept the nation afloat as it was the only viable industry. Cash became scarce and Burnham began his swing to the left. Indians began this smuggling trade Blacks started the Cuyuni/ Mazuruni into Venezuela. They were funded by mainly indians who bought the contraband. Later it became a migratory route into el tigre and the puerto ordez regon for indians. Some 60 thousand moved there and they dominated the border trade and developed the these as drug routes as well.

I think so too. Early 80's I've been lining up for bread and kero. But for sure the indos profited well. Boatloads of contraband came in from suriname. Ask that chap from Annandale, he know the runnings.

Thanks Shiek,

around 82,in the early 80's Guyana was heading in to a financial crisis,then the items was banned.

The questions he asked are relevant historical questions and the answer does not cast shade on anyone. I went back track to Suriname twice when I was around 15. I went as far as Cayenne French Guyana with some friends who wanted to explore escaping to Europe. They eventually did..  Traders dominated the traffic but there were also many Guyanese men going there for work in the rice fields in places like Wageningen. Indian girls dominated the hospitality trade. They could do it in Suriname and save face.  

Flour was produced by an American owned mill. It was ordered to cease production of wheaten flour in early 82. Smuggling from Suriname already had a ten year history. The first 5 year headed by Arthur lewis failed in 72. Cash became scarce and Burnham began his swing to the left. Indians began this smuggling trade Blacks started the Cuyuni/ Mazuruni into Venezuela. They were funded by mainly indians who bought the contraband. Later it became a migratory route into el tigre and the puerto ordez regon for indians. Some 60 thousand moved there and they dominated the border trade and developed the these as drug routes as well.

Thanks D2.

Dave, why are you so irritable? It's a sign of mental illness. Get your self checked before it's too late. 

D2, that is why I say let the PPP run the Country

Why, because of the last paragraph?

"Later it became a migratory route into el tigre and the puerto ordez region for indians. Some 60 thousand moved there and they dominated the border trade and developed the these as drug routes as well."

We getting there soon,some folks thinks they can fool the population.

I am not a FILTH HEAD who blindly and stupidly want to be enslaved both mentally and physically.

WAKE UP!  You already reach deh.

Django, I am sure apples, toilet tissue, soap etc were banned before I migrated in '73.

How old were yo then man? You look good for your age. I was in Canada in 73...summer. I spent summers there because my mom and sister migrated there from england.  I went there permanently in summer 76....

I was 19 when I migrated in '73, just hit 65 last Thur. Feel just as good or better.

Musicians tend to look younger than their true age except if they played with The Stones.

So you actually saw the trade winds in Toronto! I did too. I remember getting chased by some white punks from around the Warwick hotel! I used to get mistaken for native Indian. White folks did not like them too much. There was a Western styled bar where lots of Native Indians hang out...Think it was called Spanish donkey. At sixteen I had an apache girlfriend named Angela Littlefeather. She was going to UT at the Broad street campus and lived in a hostel nearby. I lied to her that I was 18.  

Everything starts at 65 banna. Drug store specials, Cheaper transit fares, etc. Funny thing, I was asked for my ID while shopping a few weeks ago  because I picked up beer for my relatives. I was dressed sorta gothic so I guess someone got fooled.

I thought Gothic died out....with punkers and skinheads! I did not know what it was but when in London we used to wear pencil bottomed black Kings jeans with white button downs and long coat. We used to be mistaken for Goths at school in the US

D2 provided the most accurate assessment and answer to DJ. My village was a major route to Suriname with items going back and forth. 

At  one point in time, farmers were smuggling boatloads of Rice to Suriname. They would bring back banned food items buy the boatload. I also remember vast amounts of car tires also being smuggled in from Suriname.

Top police officials in Berbice benefited by the monies paid to them for playing a blind eye to the smuggling trade.

Youths made fast money unloading the boats. Many of them made the equivalent of a weeks pay in one day. 

Those were interesting times. It created a small group of wealthy folks. Our very own Chief used to travel to GT to purchase items for resale at the Skeldon Market. He made an honest living.

Nope, never saw the Tradewinds. My spot to hang out was Yonge Station tavern and Zanzibar where the girls looked as though they wore no clothes...come to think of it, they didn't.

I played with the piano guy there....a few times. The owner won't let me play more because I was under aged. Met him on Young street where I sometimes parked. I know the little stage was to the left of the Piano where the girls danced on hardly more than six feet square.  Lots of older white men just sat there and drink themselves silly.