And your point is?

you didn’t ignore, which would have left you better off

you tried to derail

that’s my point

Jackass, I couldn't care less about you and your stupid thread. It's a waste of time trying to decipher the nonsense you write here half of the time, anyway. I don't have the patience most times for people shaking their heads and stuttering. 

you can’t even sustain a proper line of ‘argument’ . . . all you have is cuss cuss and run

pity you

"people who look like us and people who look like Bharat" 

I would suggest you take a step back, pretend you are Jagdeo or a PPP supporter, and try and analyze Volda's statement from the perspective of an Indo...

My question to you will be how many Indians take the time to understand how blacks felt under the PPP.  And this is important because many aren't going to tolerate a return of that era.

Jagdeo is a card carrying black hating racist and he failed in attempting to intimidate Freddie K who called him exactly that.

2020 comes and it isnt just blacks or the PNC which ought to be held t account. Even Gilbakka, a moderate and fair man (or at least I think that he is) seems to believe that all the PPP needs to do is to preach their gospel to black/mixed voters.  Indians just refuse to understand that it is not only they who feel the sting of ethnic insecurity.

the woman is telling the Afro party faithful that the PNC needs to recruit Indians, i.e., "people who look like Bharat" to win back the lost LDCs

your consternation/horror at that which should be celebrated is indeed "quite telling"!

smfh

And after she told the crowd that she is only going to hire PNC people how will she accomplish this?

Her speech certainly didn't speak to inclusion at any level.  Yes she and the rest of them are now in panic with the sudden realization that they will be sent back outside when the PPP wins in 2020.  So now all types of intemperate chatter.

The question she should have been asking is why is it that the crowds were almost exclusively black, because it is blatantly obvious that the black vote alone (even with black identified mixed people included) cannot win any election in Guyana.

And your point is?

you tried to derail

that’s my point

Jackass, I couldn't care less about you and your stupid thread. It's a waste of time trying to decipher the nonsense you write here half of the time, anyway. I don't have the patience most times for people shaking their heads and stuttering. 

you can’t even sustain a proper line of ‘argument’ . . . all you have is cuss cuss and run

pity you

uh-huh and SMF and batty shaking are the hallmarks of your "argument". 

Please!

Imagine de weeping and de knashing of teeth if one a dem coolie bais dey seh dis in PPP time. Hey hey hey...awe time now...blackman pan tap. Hey hey hey...

The PPP did exactly that during their era and allegedly still do this in spheres under their control. And then there are Indo controlled businesses which are just as bad.

So no we dont have to imagine we already know when during the Jagdeo era young black professionals looking for jobs were told "Is not Burnham time now" and sent packing to the Caribbean to find work.

Volda is being sensational to grab the spotlight and attention of core loyalists.  She will moderate!

The fact that this is how she handles the frustration of the PNC base, who felt oppressed by the PPP, and then ignored by the APNU elites, doesn't speak well of her.

She and her colleagues are afraid of losing their jobs, and those who weren't corrupt face financial distress, as many did after 1992. Carl Greenidge had to leave Guyana to find work, and even then the PPP attempted to block him.

And your point is?

you tried to derail

that’s my point

pity you

not really . . . they are creative punctuation

i sincerely doubt that that is too ‘high level’ for you . . . rite?

Did you ever hear the Kaieteur News recording of Anil? Not pleasant as far as I can remember. Plus his threats of Crum-Ewing who just happened to end up dead. As far as hiring mattie goes, they didn't have to say it. They did it.

You are talking to people who will justify Hitler if that means that they can scream "ahbe pan tap".  Living safely in North America they dont face the consequences of this.

a

she is PNC chair . . . she is not running for president

guilty of one thing DOES NOT make her guilty of EVERYTHING!

she is PERFECTLY IN ORDER with [her] comments addressed on THIS thread

She is NOT in order to say this unless its about positions within the PNC itself. Her role is to ensure that the PNC and its allies are re-elected to office and in a nation where Africans are only 32% of the voting age population, and when the PNC has never on its own, won more than 41% of the votes, she needs to be open.

She has given that monster Jagdeo the ability to pretend to be open minded as he uses black tokens, who then are tossed aside once he has achieved his goals.

Volda is being sensational to grab the spotlight and attention of core loyalists.  She will moderate!

The fact that this is how she handles the frustration of the PNC base, who felt oppressed by the PPP, and then ignored by the APNU elites, doesn't speak well of her.

She and her colleagues are afraid of losing their jobs, and those who weren't corrupt face financial distress, as many did after 1992. Carl Greenidge had to leave Guyana to find work, and even then the PPP attempted to block him.

There is something missing in the whole bunch.  I believe Granger has not been an assertive strong leader so they seem adrift!  They missing a credo!

That's mostly all you say in every post so how can that be high level? It might be high level for you, given your level of intelligence or should I say your lack thereof?

you do know what “punctuation” means  . . . rite?

and, since we are HERE . . . are you willing to acknowledge that Volda Lawrence has been FALSELY accused of “racist” comments as indicated in my lead post here?

Let me make it easy for you. As far as most Guyanese are concerned PNC is code for black and PPP is code for Indians.  You mightn't think this but this is how it is and we have seen this behavior manifested by both sides when they want revenge.

What Volda says she would do the PPP actually did.  It was wrong when they did it and it is wrong for Volda to say this.

As of now the PPP is more likely to win the election.  Their loss was narrow and its clear that the PNC base will not turn out in the record numbers that it did in GT, Linden and Bartica.

So if the PPP does win they can continue to practice their exclusion, and then quote Volda when they are accused of this.  Given that blacks are numerically outnumbered and economically dominated they can ill afford to encourage this nonsense.  They cannot protest against exclusion and then threaten (even in an emotional rant) to exclude.  

a

She is NOT in order to say this unless its about positions within the PNC itself. Her role is to ensure that the PNC and its allies are re-elected to office and in a nation where Africans are only 32% of the voting age population, and when the PNC has never on its own, won more than 41% of the votes, she needs to be open.

She has given that monster Jagdeo the ability to pretend to be open minded as he uses black tokens, who then are tossed aside once he has achieved his goals.

I agree with some of what you said.  But why you refer to BJ as a monster?  The Black People of Guyana seems cordial with him. He surely cannot be that bad and still walk among them so freely!

There is something missing in the whole bunch.  I believe Granger has not been an assertive strong leader so they seem adrift!  They missing a credo!

It is quite clear that the PNC lacks intelligence or cunning.  They fall into every trap that the PPP sets, and even some that the PPP doesn't.

Now they handed Jagdeo a gift. He will take pictures with blacks and howl that this shows that he loves blacks. He will avoid any discussion of why he was accused of being anti black during his era, and why he was unable to prove that he wasn't.

a

you seem confused

the highlighted is making MY point

a

I agree with some of what you said.  But why you refer to BJ as a monster?  The Black People of Guyana seems cordial with him. He surely cannot be that bad and still walk among them so freely!

Any man who thinks that he can use para militia gangs, hang out with drug terrorists like Roger Khan and refuse to engage in any dialogue on the issue of ethnic insecurity, when he is accused of fostering this is a monster.

And when blacks were cheering and yelling "finally the slow holocaust is over", this when the PPP lost. That doesn't look like they are OK with Jagdeo.

Do you think that Indians were OK with Burnham when they garlanded him with flowers and welcomed him to Hindu temples?

you do know what “punctuation” means  . . . rite?

Nah, You alone know. 

Dude, I write clear and concise English that anyone can understand. I can't say the same for you. 

a

you seem confused

How exactly can she win an election  when the PNC peaks at 41% and its now clear that the AFC cannot bring in the remaining 10%?

What in her remarks guarantees that the PNC can increase its votes to at least 47%, given that the AFC seems unable to muster its 2006 and 2011 votes?

Please answer without your usual attacks like calling people confused or meandering.

a

you seem confused

How exactly can she win an election  when the PNC peaks at 41% and its now clear that the AFC cannot bring in the remaining 10%?

What in her remarks guarantees that the PNC can increase its votes to at least 47%, given that the AFC seems unable to muster its 2006 and 2011 votes?

Please answer without your usual attacks like calling people confused or meandering.

I was on the phone with an AFC top brass earlier today.  They have some plans to rubber band the coalition together and keep power in 2020.  I don’t know if it will work, let’s see!

I would suggest you take a step back, pretend you are Jagdeo or a PPP supporter, and try and analyze Volda's statement from the perspective of an Indo...

My question to you will be how many Indians take the time to understand how blacks felt under the PPP.  And this is important because many aren't going to tolerate a return of that era.

Jagdeo is a card carrying black hating racist and he failed in attempting to intimidate Freddie K who called him exactly that.

2020 comes and it isnt just blacks or the PNC which ought to be held t account. Even Gilbakka, a moderate and fair man (or at least I think that he is) seems to believe that all the PPP needs to do is to preach their gospel to black/mixed voters.  Indians just refuse to understand that it is not only they who feel the sting of ethnic insecurity.

Many times I explained to you but you play hard ears. It's simple, PPP gave milk tea while PNC gave black tea.

I was on the phone with an AFC top brass earlier today.  They have some plans to rubber band the coalition together and keep power in 2020.  I don’t know if it will work, let’s see!

Dude, you want some folks to get heart attack?

a

you seem confused

i actually see merit in most of your ponderings above

not sure what those have to do with my issue

..he's on the phone with AFC top brass, feeding Granger bake and solfish in he basement, and will be representing fat man Irfart, and "bookworm" nanda man in court. He is a man of all parties fuh all seasons. lol.

And he doin' all dis while figurin' out people taxes.

a

Any man who thinks that he can use para militia gangs, hang out with drug terrorists like Roger Khan and refuse to engage in any dialogue on the issue of ethnic insecurity, when he is accused of fostering this is a monster.

And when blacks were cheering and yelling "finally the slow holocaust is over", this when the PPP lost. That doesn't look like they are OK with Jagdeo.

Do you think that Indians were OK with Burnham when they garlanded him with flowers and welcomed him to Hindu temples?

You have PNC Indos, they are called "Dutty Indos"

i actually see merit in most of your ponderings above

not sure what those have to do with my issue

Then I dont know what your issue is. My issue is that I dont want Jagdeo back in office in any capacity.  He is a demon and will feel validated if he wins. The next PPP presidential candidate will be even more of a Jagdeo stooge than Ramotar was.  Jagdeo is intent in rubbing his greedy little hands to soak up the "oil money" and he wants to ensure that he and his cronies benefit.

I dont care for the Coalition and I am highly critical of them, but I want them to win again as they are less entrenched than a victorious PPP will be. Hopefully once they return to sanity, having licked the blood of humiliation given that the lowest turnout was in PNC strongholds, they will embark on a sensible strategy that attends to the frustrations of their core base without alienating swing voters.

Victory in Guyana comes to those who can get out their base. But also those who can woo the swing vote.  The Coalition did so last time as people hoped that the corrupt excesses and vulgarity of the PPP would be less of an issue.  But Harmon's corruption (he isnt the only one either), now compounded by Volda's emotional rant, now will give many pause.

We will see if the Coalition is serious if they have a major cabinet reconfiguration. They should dump the many dead weights from both APNU and the AFC.  They should engage younger creative and innovative people in decision making.  They need to engage the youth who will be more important, given that Guyanese are very young.

And they need to develop and promote a strategy that ensures that the average Guyanese benefits from the expected economic boom once oil revenues arrive sometime after 2020.

But I dont see these ageing band of soldiers doing this, nor do I see the AFC ambulance chasers.  

..he's on the phone with AFC top brass, feeding Granger bake and solfish in he basement, and will be representing fat man Irfart, and "bookworm" nanda man in court. He is a man of all parties fuh all seasons. lol.

And he doin' all dis while figurin' out people taxes.

And me izz doing lil option trading; naked Puts, Calls,  strangle, straddle...this IPhone izz wunderbar!

Izz not tax season, suh mi geh lil free time pon me haan!  Mi done mi CPEs and all.

Mi done wid mi charity fund raising fuh Nov since last week.  Next week is December push.

HE Granger off the grid right now.  Da man can’t eat no bake and solfish no moo!

And mi fugget, November Close coming fast and network down!

DO you do a lot of write ups?

I stick right now to purchase naked Puts/Calls, focus on MSFT as the IV is not outrageous, it’s efficient and great volume.  

Cashed out today, done till next week.  G20!

Will get back into the Premium game next year.

"...how many Indians take the time to understand how blacks felt under the PPP"

Not many...

...but this is the crux of the problem, with Guyana being a divided ethnic society where a win for one group is a loss for the other...racial politics leads to zero-sum politics. The answer is "not many" because Indians see Jagdeo as a "demi-God" in the same way that Afros would consider Granger. The sword cuts both ways...you cant simply blame one group and not the other (before the 23, there was 28).

An Indo can raise the same question about a number of issues also...such as why are so many Indos fired from govt positions, why is the govt so callous towards the sugar workers...yes, I get it...Afros can make the same points about disrespect, discrimination, etc towards Afros under the PPP...its an endless vicious circle of racial distrust ...with no end in sight.

Guyana lost the chance to bridge the racial gap when Dr. Rodney was assassinated.

However....I have made this point before....this problem can only be addressed by the political elites who have to set the norm, change the culture and focus on the politics of accommodation... 

Instead, politicians perpetuate the problem and the rank and file gets fed the same bile.

This is why I think Ronan misses the Big Picture about Volda's rhetoric...which if not tempered will evoke and perpetuate a similar reaction. Sopporters take their cue from their leaders.

"..And this is important because many aren't going to tolerate

a return of that era"

Two points about this statement:

1) I believe you are right about this (because Indos do not understand the extent to which the last PPP admin is despised...Luncheon statement, Crum Ewing, 400 Afros killed, Waddell and such).  This is why I have argued that there is no guarantee that the next election will be free and fair (fear of PPP, experience with rigging, the LGE being a wake up call, etc).

2) However, here is where I have a problem with the argument you are making. By condemning Jagdeo and the PPP you are not leaving any hope for redemption of the PPP. Jagdeo cannot run, and there is not guarantee that his successor will be a rubber stamp. It is probably healthy to have a one term govt, and one can only hope that the PPP, should they win in 2020, would be cautioned about the wanton corruption of its past ways....especially if the coalition can get a few convictions.

the woman is telling the Afro party faithful that the PNC needs to recruit Indians, i.e., "people who look like Bharat" to win back the lost LDCs

your consternation/horror at that which should be celebrated is indeed "quite telling"!

smfh

And after she told the crowd that she is only going to hire PNC people how will she accomplish this?

Her speech certainly didn't speak to inclusion at any level.  Yes she and the rest of them are now in panic with the sudden realization that they will be sent back outside when the PPP wins in 2020.  So now all types of intemperate chatter.

The question she should have been asking is why is it that the crowds were almost exclusively black, because it is blatantly obvious that the black vote alone (even with black identified mixed people included) cannot win any election in Guyana.

It is a given in Guyana that politicians play to the crowd...they do not have the finesse and intellectual capability to rise above the fray..Ronan, you are beating a dead horse...Volda was crude in her rhetoric...but that is no excuse.

Let her address an Indo audience and let us see how well she does this...I have an open mind, but I think her words here leaves much to be desired...you cant simply write this off as her being in campaign and speaking to her supporters...

Unfortunately...I dont believe Granger (and I think Granger believes this too) can control his PNC flank...even more so as he might be perceived as moving in a "lame duck" mode. If there is indeed in-fighting, it will continue...but the natives, on both sides, will circle the wagon as election draws closer.

You would be surprised where/who Granger and the moderates are now leaning on to fend off PNC hard line loyalists!