Trump warns of ‘severe punishment’ if Saudi Arabia behind writer’s disappearance

President Trump has warned that there will be “severe punishment” if Saudi Arabia is found to be responsible for the disappearance of a columnist inside a Saudi consulate -- as some in Congress call for the U.S. to sanction those responsible.

“We’re going to get to the bottom of it and there will be severe punishment,” Trump said in an interview with CBS News to be aired Sunday.

Jamal Khashoggi, who wrote columns in the Washington Post critical of the Saudi government, entered the Saudi consulate in Istanbul October 2 and disappeared. Trump said the U.S. would be “very upset and angry” if the Saudi government was behind it, adding that the Saudis had denied it “every way you can imagine.”

KHASHOGGI'S APPLE WATCH MAY HAVE RECORDED EVIDENCE, TURKISH MEDIA REPORTS

Senior members of Congress are pushing to cancel arms sales and sanction those found responsible.

Several Republicans and Democrats on the Foreign Relations Committee sent a letter to President Trump requesting he “make a determination on the imposition of sanctions … with respect to any foreign person responsible for such a violation related to Mr. Khashoggi.”  The letter triggered an investigation under the Global Magnitsky Human Rights Accountability Act. That requires the administration to sanction those found responsible of a gross violation of human rights against someone exercising freedom of expression.

The State Department called the bipartisan effort premature.

“We don’t know the facts of this case just yet. So I think they’re getting ahead of themselves at this point,” said Heather Nauert, the State Department’s spokesperson. “We will watch the situation very carefully, very closely, wait for the facts to come out, and then we’ll get there.”

The president’s son-in-law and senior advisor, Jared Kushner, has a relationship with Saudi Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman, the heir to the Saudi throne. President Trump chose Saudi Arabia as his first foreign destination as president.

TURKEY SAYS IT HAS VIDEO, AUDIO OF MISSING ACTIVIST'S MURDER AT SAUDI CONSULATE, REPORT SAYS

The president said the U.S. is looking “very seriously” at Khashoggi’s disappearance and that “it’s a terrible, terrible precedent. We can’t let it happen and we’re being very tough.” The president also called U.S.-Saudi relations “excellent” and noted that “it’s not our country. It’s in Turkey, and it’s not a citizen, as I understand it.”

The president has also rejected canceling Saudi military contracts.

“I will tell you, upfront, right now, and I’ll say it in front of senators: They’re spending $110 billion purchasing military equipment and other things. If we don’t sell it to them, they’ll say, ‘Well, thank you very much. We’ll buy it from Russia.’ Or ‘Thank you very much. We’ll buy it from China,’” he said.  “That doesn’t help us — not when it comes to jobs and not when it comes to our companies losing out on that work.”

Trump echoed that sentiment in the interview with CBS News.

"I'll tell you what I don't want to do," he said, "Boeing, Lockheed, Raytheon. I don't want to hurt jobs. I don't want to lose an order like that. And you know what, there are other ways of punishing."

Dr. Paul Salem, the acting president of the Middle East Institute, said President Trump may attempt to secure concessions from Saudi Arabia on oil prices or weapons purchases.

“While the president might be ready to move on, after wringing a few concessions, the U.S. Senate has taken a stronger stance,” said Salem. “There is now a majority in the upper chamber that will block decisions favorable to Saudi Arabia unless and until Riyadh comes clean on what happened and holds whoever is responsible to account.”

Many in Congress already objected to Saudi Arabia’s involvement in Yemen’s civil war.  In June, the Senate narrowly passed a measure allowing arms sales to Saudi Arabia.

“Generally speaking, because of the way they deal with Congress, there’s a sense of entitlement, I hate to use the word but arrogance, that comes with dealing with them,” said Sen. Bob Corker, the chairman of the Foreign Relations Committee. “Part of that may be because they have an incredibly close relationship with the administration, but I don’t want to say that has emboldened them to do what they do but, you know it’s at an all-time low.”

“The high profile two-week visit that the Saudi Crown Prince made to various U.S. cities this past spring, and where he was generally received positively and at the highest public and corporate levels, is no longer conceivable,” said Salem. “The U.S.-Saudi relationship is going through its most acute crisis since 2001. The relationship will survive the crisis, given the complex web of interests, but this crisis will certainly leave its mark.”

https://www.foxnews.com/world/...riters-disappearance

Turkey has bugged all the embassies on their soil, this thing about the apple smart watch is just a cover. Yes ,they have clear evidence of the murder but is a matter how to present it and still be credible, . THIS $110 BILLION military contract that Trump will not cancel, because his son-in-law Jared Kushner already collected his commission and finders fee that he badly needs for the cash strapped 666 building.

Trump makes business decision, why would he risk 110 Billion dollars for a journalist life. 

He will used the evidence for his personal gain. 

Turkey hands are in the Tiger mouth also , they have video evidence but is afraid to release, it will show the Turkish secretly spying on the Saudis.

https://www.cnn.com/videos/tv/...-khashoggi-saudi.cnn

Turkey 'has recording proving Saudi murder'

Share this with Email Share this with Facebook Share this with Twitter Share this with Whatsapp

CCTV footage shows missing Saudi journalist Jamal Khashoggi entering the Saudi consulate in Istanbul.
Image captionCCTV footage shows missing Saudi journalist Jamal Khashoggi entering the Saudi consulate in Istanbul.

Turkish officials have audio and video evidence that shows missing Saudi journalist Jamal Khashoggi was killed inside the Saudi consulate in Istanbul, the BBC has been told.

Mr Khashoggi, a critic of the Saudi government, has not been seen since he entered the building on 2 October.

Turkish intelligence had "documented evidence" of the murder, a source close to the investigation said.

Saudi Arabia's interior minister has dismissed the accusations.

According to the official Saudi Press Agency, Prince Abdulaziz bin Saud bin Naif bin Abdulaziz said "orders to kill him are lies and baseless allegations".

Saudi Arabia has maintained the journalist left the building, with the minister saying the kingdom was keen to discover "the whole truth", according to the news agency.

Mr Khashoggi's disappearance and reported death have prompted international outrage and dented business confidence in Saudi Arabia.

Tycoon Sir Richard Branson has halted talks over $1bn Saudi investment in Virgin space firms and several top business leaders and media groups have pulled out of a Saudi investment conference later this month.

However, US Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin told American news network CNBC he was still planning to attend the conference, despite the House of Representatives' foreign affairs committee writing to President Donald Trump urging him to reconsider.

What do the recordings reveal?

The latest reports suggest an assault and a struggle took place in the consulate.

A Turkish security source has confirmed to BBC Arabic the existence of an audio and a video recording. What is not clear is if anyone other than Turkish officials has seen or heard them.

One source is cited by the Washington Post saying men can be heard beating Mr Khashoggi; it adds that the recordings show he was killed and dismembered.

Jamal Khashoggi: What we know about the journalist's disappearance
Image captionJamal Khashoggi: What we know about the journalist's disappearance

"You can hear his voice and the voices of the men speaking Arabic," a separate source told the Post. "You can hear how he was interrogated, tortured and then murdered". Mr Khashoggi is a contributing columnist for the newspaper.

Earlier this week leading columnist Kemal Ozturk, considered close to the Turkish government, alleged there was a video of the moment Jamal Khashoggi was killed.

Turkish TV has already broadcast CCTV footage of the moment Mr Khashoggi walked into the consulate for an appointment at which he was due to receive papers for his forthcoming marriage to Turkish fiancée Hatice Cengiz.

Separately, a video has emerged of men described as Saudi intelligence officers entering and leaving Turkey.

A 15-strong team has been identified by Turkish media who are described as involved in Mr Khashoggi's disappearance. The BBC has been told that one was Maher Mutreb, an intelligence colonel based in London, and another was thought to be a forensics specialist.

What happens now?

Turkey's official line is that Mr Khashoggi is missing but that it knows "for sure" he has been killed.

However, the government has agreed to a joint investigation with the Saudis, and a Saudi delegation arrived in Turkey on Friday to take part in talks expected over the weekend.

Their arrival came a day after a senior Saudi royal figure, Prince Khaled al-Faisal, was said to have briefly visited Turkey amid signs that the Saudi monarchy was seeking an urgent solution to the diplomatic crisis between the two countries.

Image copyrightEPASaudi officials arrive at Saudi consulate in Istanbul, Turkey, 12 October 2018.
Image captionA Saudi delegation arrived in Turkey on Friday ahead of talks expected to take place at the weekend

Mr Khashoggi's disappearance threatens the reputation of the new Saudi Crown Prince, Mohamed bin Salman, and his country's relationships across the world, the BBC's Turkey correspondent Mark Lowen reports.

Why Khashoggi case alarms Saudi activists

By Jane Kinninmont, Middle East expert, The Elders Foundation

Jamal Khashoggi's disappearance and alleged murder has sent a chill through writers and activists, in Saudi Arabia and more broadly across the Middle East.

They ask: If this could happen to someone as well known and well connected as Jamal Khashoggi, a US resident and Washington Post writer, what else could happen to the less well-known?

Mr Khashoggi did not position himself as a dissident. A former adviser to two Saudi princes, he criticised some aspects of Saudi policy, like the war in Yemen and the lack of free speech, while praising others, like the social reforms of new Crown Prince Mohamed bin Salman.

He argued for reform rather than regime change - which is a very widespread stance among Saudis. There are many people there who seek a greater voice in how to improve their society without being enemies of the state.

https://www.google.ca/amp/s/ww...orld-europe-45838471

Trump warns of ‘severe punishment’ if Saudi Arabia behind writer’s disappearance

President Trump has warned that there will be “severe punishment” if Saudi Arabia is found to be responsible for the disappearance of a columnist inside a Saudi consulate -- as some in Congress call for the U.S. to sanction those responsible.

“We’re going to get to the bottom of it and there will be severe punishment,” Trump said in an interview with CBS News to be aired Sunday.

US relations with Turkey, Saudi Arabia put to the test

https://www.foxnews.com/world/...riters-disappearance

Even in serious international, DodoDonald continues to make ridiculous statements as if he is still on his past television show -- The Apprentice.

D2, Dem people dat brite bad bad, the whole world want them plus they willing to work for half the regular rate

So what does that do for the salaries of American IT workers?  But the US IT industry needs the Indian talent.  Trump is saying there will be salary expectations so workers are not brought in just to lower the wages here but to bring true and unique skills.

You cannot tell US students to go and study IT, Engineering, etc, take on debt then after graduating, the have to compete with Indian workers who are willing to come on and work for "half" the regular rate...as you say!

Turkey has bugged all the embassies on their soil, this thing about the apple smart watch is just a cover. Yes ,they have clear evidence of the murder but is a matter how to present it and still be credible, . THIS $110 BILLION military contract that Trump will not cancel, because his son-in-law Jared Kushner already collected his commission and finders fee that he badly needs for the cash strapped 666 building.

Bugging embassies is a cornerstone of any good intelligence service. They all do it. There is a corporation called E systems. It is now a part of the Raytheon Corporation. It makes equipment for this suppose.

This is a central part of information gathering by embassies that have such capabilities. Spying is part of the game.

Bu this kind of murder/assassination is unheard of....I cant think of a similar situation that occurred in a country anytime in the past. At least there was nothing I could find on Google. It is difficult not to get caught after committing such crimes because some countries have sophisticated spying system.

The question is: What is Turkey and the US going to do about this? Unfortunately, there is not much, and the US, which is the only country which can put more pressure on SA via economic sanctions, is hesitant to do so....Trump made this clear already.

Trump ain't guh do skites.  He needs the Saudis to help with the bigger fish, Iran, and the Saudis know this all too well.  It ain't about the arms deal.  The Saudis have little choice.  Their entire military infrastructure is built on the US technical platform.  You don't just parachute in another technology and get it to work, not even talking training!

There will be a big halabalu and all will die down, just like when the Saudis killed that Shia Cleric from it's Eastern province!

Dem Wahabs more strategic and clever than us!

Poor planning here on behalf of the Saudis.  The location made it too obvious.

Bloody Saudis. Criminals and murderers.

Keffer’s Towel Head Heroes.

Keffer gonna whup you !!!

He's a glutton for punishment. 

You think so? I think not so. By the looks of his responses, yuji enjoys riling up Keffer and I wonder why Keffer biting the bait and bothering to compose time-consuming admonitions. Keffer should ignore yuji's mischievous provocations.

They scare the shit out of you, eh ! That is perfectly normal with loud-mouth bigots like you ! You seem to like my name; there is a legal process by which you can adopt it, however, there is an intelligence test that you will need to pass and, unfortunately, it is entirely unlikely that anyone of your severely limited intelligence will satisfy that requirement !  The Saudis do not brazenly invade other peoples' countries and slaughter them like your masters have done time and again, you ignorant K-K-Hole !!   

Last edited by Keffer

You think so? I think not so. By the looks of his responses, yuji enjoys riling up Keffer and I wonder why Keffer biting the bait and bothering to compose time-consuming admonitions. Keffer should ignore yuji's mischievous provocations.

That's cowardly. Keffer hice he and knack he dunk!

The US need the Saudi Oil and the Saudis need American security to stay in power.  Let's watch this thing play out.  Trump is all talk on this one. He needs the Saudis to pump more oil to offset the loss of Iranian oil on the world market.

I am not biting any bait; it is readily evident, if one is to go back and read the writings and comments of Yuji and a few others, that they are really bigoted and hateful of some others. Here is an individual who hollered and screamed as loudly as his lungs permitted about what I wrote about atrocities committed by the US army in Vietnam; despite being completely ignorant of the historical truth of Vietnam. I believe we should all feel obliged to take a stand against such people because, like it or not, this facility really is an indicator of the education, knowledge and perception of its participants; almost 100% of whom I believe are from Guyana. A quick review of the comments posted by folks like Yuji and his 'sidekick'  Skeldon-man will confirm my assessment as their writings are laced with hateful and bigoted statements about people of certain countries, religions and communities. Free speech is a phenomenon that we should all treasure but it is evident that some people clearly have no appreciation of this. Should blatant and deliberately ugly/derogatory characterizations of the language, dress, lifestyles, etc of other people be acceptable ?  

I appreciate the fact that as individual participants, there is only so much that each of us can do/say and that the controllers of GNI therefore have the responsibility of taking corrective action as and when they deem it necessary. A while ago, I suggested to Amral that participants in this forum out to be screened via an intelligence/knowledge/education test so that 'undesirables', instead of being allowed to contaminate this facility with hate, bigotry and lack of decorum, should be removed from GNI. I hope he will at some time give serious consideration to that because the ideas and opinions of some participants could be a seriously misleading indicator of the knowledge and intelligence of Guyanese.

The US need the Saudi Oil and the Saudis need American security to stay in power.  Let's watch this thing play out.  Trump is all talk on this one. He needs the Saudis to pump more oil to offset the loss of Iranian oil on the world market.

Trump's talk, talk and more useless talk with lots of his farts.

Image result for Trump farting, cartoons

He's President of the greatest country on earth. Your job is finding dirt to post on GNI. 

Eee is dee puzzzident of ah kuntry.

Mr. Harrison Ford, please be nice. 

Okay gracious, beautiful and enchanting Leonora.

Ah gon try fuh find wan wan ting fun post 'bout him.  

Why would a woman admire and respect Trump after he stated. He grab them by their p___y????

It's the evangelical women who admire and respect our Prezzy. Tells you something about the evangelicals heh!

Why would a woman admire and respect Trump after he stated. He grab them by their p___y????

I respect his TITLE as Leader of the Greatest Country on Earth, not him personally. Try to figure that out. Cheers.

Emperor......Empire

King............Kingdom

****...........Country

Some are force to show their loyalty because  they work for the State. Respect the Title or Leader is the same Damn thingy , you respect the man in my book he is sexual pervert. As a cult leader he must have followers. Trump the greatest  Fraudster on earth.

I get he's against Trump, but this guy is like a 3 year old. He posts sheer shit. tons of it. And then yabbers like a baby.

How do you know that wasn't their intent? Let me elaborate.

There is a new leader, Prince Mohammed Bin Salman (MBS), son of the King. MBS is a moderate, into modernizing SA by removing lots of social restrictions, allowing women to drive, opening up SA to more freedoms for foreigners etc. All to the chagrin of the Wahabbi clerics  who run things behind the scenes and constantly need to be appeased (their terrorists plots funded by the royal family etc). Otherwise they call for holy war and topple the kingdom.

Furthermore there are over 30K in the Royal family, the older ones who may not be so open to the changes MBS wants (like taking aramco public etc).

Might it be, and I'm just suggesting this, that the wahabs and some in the Royal family hatched this plot against the journalist to topple MBS and his social reforms? Just a thought.

There is a new leader, Prince Mohammed Bin Salman (MBS), son of the King. MBS is a moderate, into modernizing SA by removing lots of social restrictions, allowing women to drive, opening up SA to more freedoms for foreigners etc. All to the chagrin of the Wahabbi clerics  who run things behind the scenes and constantly need to be appeased (their terrorists plots funded by the royal family etc). Otherwise they call for holy war and topple the kingdom.

Furthermore there are over 30K in the Royal family, the older ones who may not be so open to the changes MBS wants (like taking aramco public etc).

Might it be, and I'm just suggesting this, that the wahabs and some in the Royal family hatched this plot against the journalist to topple MBS and his social reforms? Just a thought.

These were my thoughts too.

It was their intent.  It’s a message from the new head of state. Those guys think through deep and long.

I get he's against Trump, but this guy is like a 3 year old. He posts sheer shit. tons of it. And then yabbers like a baby.

Once a man, twice a child.  He does other stuff babies  👶 do!!