I wondered if they are still there. I moved from that area about four years ago..now a couple hrs north of Toronto in small town called Fenelon Falls ...only negative so far...we get no Guyanese food..no eddoe..cassava...roti..plantain..but today someone brought me some black cake.

You doing well?

Do you know of any changes with  Mara?

Hea IGH,

There is an IGA grocery store and now we have a IGA pharmacy in our town. You always come to mind with a smile, when we drive  by. The GC would repeat IGAA IGAA and I would say IGHH  IGHH. Someday they might ask what it means.

I visited James grave site early this year. His cremation ash is  buried near his wife and parents at the WCD church they attended. I knew his Mom's first name, but I did not know he was named after his father.

His small house is still in the village, where he lived in the 60s with his wife and children. The renters want to buy it, but no action from the children.

I met many in the village who still speak highly of James and his extended family. His parents were pharmacist, who were very generous and compassionate, that their many children followed. My experience with the family was extremely memorable, including lessons regarding the church. Bishop Singh was their priest when their new church was built.     

For some time I was trying to contact Mara's brother Gary in Vancouver, but I believe due to some controversy, he did not reply. Their other numbers I have, are disconnected.

But others in Vancouver mentioned that Mara is alive and still disabled in bed. Its been a while since I saw him in North Van.  

Please send me your contact info. by PM or email, for some photos re James.    

IGH posted:

& look who it is from... 
It says in the faded part : to: Indra(TP)

Mara hope you are doing well ...

guyana$1

Is it worth anything?

Guyana small bills and coins [pennies]  are collector items, including the Cuffy dollar, sold on Ebay for US$10.00. I have about 30.   

I live in a 'behind God's back' town in Northern Canada and Guyana $1.00 bills were sold at an antique fair for CDN$5.00. At one time I saw some on Ebay for US$10.00.

Fortunately,  I was able to get 100 new Guyana $1.00 bills in sequence, including Canadian $1.00 and $2.00 bills, that are no longer in circulation.

I also did the same with discontinued Canadian penny in May 2012. I bought rolls of new uncirculated coins for all the children and GC.

I was just asked to sell some East Caribbean coins, that was used in Guyana before independence, but I am undecided.

I placed some Guyana, Canadian and US currency in a 2115 time capsule, for my family and predicted that in the year 2115, all purchases will be done electronically. If I am correct, to go to my grave site and say ' Yes Tola, you were right'.  

Tola posted:
IGH posted:

& look who it is from... 

guyana$1

Is it worth anything?

Guyana small bills and coins [pennies]  are collector items, including the Cuffy dollar, sold on Ebay for US$10.00. I have about 30.   

I live in a 'behind God's back' town in Northern Canada and Guyana $1.00 bills were sold at an antique fair for CDN$5.00. At one time I saw some on Ebay for US$10.00.

Fortunately,  I was able to get 100 new Guyana $1.00 bills in sequence, including Canadian $1.00 and $2.00 bills, that are no longer in circulation.

I also did the same with discontinued Canadian penny in May 2012. I bought rolls of new uncirculated coins for all the children and GC.

I was just asked to sell some East Caribbean coins, that was used in Guyana before independence, but I am undecided.

I placed some Guyana, Canadian and US currency in a 2115 time capsule, for my family and predicted that in the year 2115, all purchases will be done electronically. If I am correct, to go to my grave site and say ' Yes Tola, you were right'.  

I had a few of these coins. Also, I had some halfpennies and pennies from 1890, a sixpence, an 1896 shilling and a 1935 buffalo head nickel. They have all been stolen a few years ago. 

Tola posted:
IGH posted:

& look who it is from... 

guyana$1

Is it worth anything?

I had a few of these coins. Also, I had some halfpennies and pennies from 1890, a sixpence, an 1896 shilling and a 1935 buffalo head nickel. They have all been stolen a few years ago. 

Skelly, these expensive  collectables are getting harder to find and I keep mine in a bank safety deposited box. Even though I have an alarm system at home, with cameras. Burglars  here wear hoodies, masks and gloves, so its hard to ID them. 

When my house insurance company did not want to give me a discount for an alarm system. I wrote them how I know people breaking into homes and business, when I worked for the phone company.  There is no secured security system. Plus the monitoring centre might be thousands of miles away and before they can call a person to check your house alarm, the burglar is gone.  

Tola posted:
IGH posted:

& look who it is from... 

guyana$1

Is it worth anything?

Skelly, these expensive  collectables are getting harder to find and I keep mine in a bank safety deposited box. Even though I have an alarm system at home, with cameras. Burglars  here wear hoodies, masks and gloves, so its hard to ID them. 

When my house insurance company did not want to give me a discount for an alarm system. I wrote them how I know people breaking into homes and business, when I worked for the phone company.  There is no secured security system. Plus the monitoring centre might be thousands of miles away and before they can call a person to check your house alarm, the burglar is gone.  

Had one of these too. It's called a 3 cents nickel.

1871 3 Cent Nickel. Collector Coin for your Collection or Set. Free Shipping

Hey Skelly ah cyan see it too good...send it to me nuh man.

Cain, I don't believe Skelly have this coin any longer. Read his earlier post.

Rass, its like doornail on GNI tonight. When the Trudeau bud is just kicking-in at the neighbour backyard  and smoke coming in the window.

I am feeling light headed, should I see a doctor ?