October 18 2018

Agriculture Minister Noel Holder (second from left) and DDL Chairman Komal Samaroo (second from right) during the visit.

In the backdrop of Guyana importing US$25m annually in milk products, the Guyana Government and Demerara Distillers Limited (DDL) have committed to exploring the possibility of a partnership in the dairy industry.

A joint release from the two yesterday said that they have agreed to examine the implementation of a private/public partnership to develop the local dairy industry to provide for milk and dairy products. The partnership will also aim to expand local juice production with the Ministry of Agriculture embarking on a programme to encourage market driven agriculture.

This was among the decisions taken yesterday when Agriculture Minister Noel Holder and a team from his ministry toured the operations of DDL at Diamond during which there were wide-ranging talks with a DDL team headed by its Chairman, Komal Samaroo.

The meeting also saw a presentation by a visiting team from Tetra Pak, a Swiss headquartered company with which DDL is currently finalizing an agreement for the design and supply of a new packaging plant to be installed next year at Diamond. The presentation also encompassed a system for the effective collection of fresh milk from dairy farmers.

Holder’s visit is the third by a government minister over the past three months as DDL and Government “seek to work together to ensure a smooth and coordinated approach to the implementation of their respective development projects”. The release noted that earlier visits were paid by Public Infrastructure Minister David Patterson and Finance Minister Winston Jordan. These followed visits late last year by Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo and Business Minister Dominic Gaskin.

Holder during the meeting said that Guyana’s milk and milk products imports amount to about US$25m  and the production of milk locally would eliminate this expenditure while creating jobs and generating revenue for local cattle farmers. He said there is a population of animals in Guyana that can be converted to dairy production over the next five to ten years. Holder had many years ago been in charge of the milk company, LIDCO.

He said that DDL with its technical, marketing and management expertise is best suited to work with Government to pursue the production of milk in Guyana.

Holder said that the government  through the Guyana Livestock Development Authority will provide the required expertise on  inartificial insemination, embryo transplant techniques, pasture management and on farm development and milk collection activities.

“There are synergies for us to work together and to access the needed resources through international agencies such as the World Food Programme,” he said. Samaroo said that DDL is open to pursuing a partnership with the Government and will continue to engage in moving the process forward as part of the company’s diversification plans.

Imagine this.  And BJ disapproved a Guyanese Pa businessman from getting the duty free concessions to set up dairy operations in Moblissa.  Guyana importing milk imagine that. Understand why there is so much rural poverty in Guyana.  Import cheap, who has money enjoy, the rest starve.  

Sometimes I think it’s best the PNC give it a try again.  

The more you look, one wonders what is the economic legacy left by BJ. 

Imagine this.  And BJ disapproved a Guyanese Pa businessman from getting the duty free concessions to set up dairy operations in Moblissa.  Guyana importing milk imagine that. Understand why there is so much rural poverty in Guyana.  Import cheap, who has money enjoy, the rest starve.  

Bana, you playing with fire. You know how some people get their underwear in a bunch every time you mention that man name without prostrating yourself and worshipping him or say negative things about him. Please say, "prior administration". 

They import fruit juices from Trinidad and Barbados with all that land we have to do commercial farming. We shouldn't be importing these commodities from other countries. Peter Ramsaroop had set up the facilities to do it a few years ago when he was anti-PPP but they sent their goons to burn down his facility. Fruit and vegetables are big business on the export market. It's time we look into what can be done to tap into these markets instead of relying so heavily on sugar.

Bana, you playing with fire. You know how some people get their underwear in a bunch every time you mention that man name without prostrating yourself and worshipping him or say negative things about him. Please say, "prior administration". 

Watch how they will attack me for laughing, but they will leave you and Baseman alone.  

They import fruit juices from Trinidad and Barbados with all that land we have to do commercial farming. We shouldn't be importing these commodities from other countries. Peter Ramsaroop had set up the facilities to do it a few years ago when he was anti-PPP but they sent their goons to burn down his facility. Fruit and vegetables are big business on the export market. It's time we look into what can be done to tap into these markets instead of relying so heavily on sugar.

I asked a while ago about the Ethanol Program and why it was terminated and not expanded. Can anyone shed any light?

Irish cream is a liqueur concocted from whisky and milk cream. Reading the report above about a partnership between liquor manufacturer DDL and milk producers, I got a brainwave. DDL can concoct something with rum & milk cream and market it as El Dorado Cream Liqueur. Cheers!

They already have something like that. I forgot the name.

Image result for demerara distilleries irish cream

They already have something like that. I forgot the name.

Both DIH and DDL have their versions of the cream liqueur.

https://theeldoradorum.com/spe...oducts/cream-liqueur

Great for DDL, they are one of the most successful companies in Guyana.  With the closure of the sugar estates it will become difficult to obtain molasses.  A new product seems the way to go.🇬🇾

Bailey's on your mind?

alena06 posted:

Great for DDL, they are one of the most successful companies in Guyana.  With the closure of the sugar estates it will become difficult to obtain molasses.  A new product seems the way to go.🇬🇾

How much you want bet that this project never get off the ground?  Noel Holder is one of the dumbest Ministers in that govt.  

Bailey's on your mind?

Fond memories of us lashing down a bottle vor dem schlaffzeit!

You better go and look for a job and stop telling lies all day on GNI.

Hmm, Gyaal, nah tell me you bin lie all diss time!  Datt was yuh favorite ting.  Me rememba good good!

BTW, me tinks you dozz post mo on GNI day time.

Oh, an' why you unfrenning all dem frenns!  Not nice!

Lots of crooked businessmen out there looking for duty free concession for one product an then turn around and bring in another product and killing the local businesses. This is what the Chinese is now doing under the PNC administration. 

This businessman already have a large business operation in Guyana on the East Bank.  He has homes in Pa and in Guyana.  I visited one business and saw it.  He employs about 300 people.  So stop talking sh1t while the Guyanese are forced to import milk, fruit juice and even chicken and the rural folks live in abject poverty!

You do nothing for Guyana, so let the people who do have their say!

Bailey's on your mind?

😁😁

alena06 posted:

Bailey's on your mind?

😁😁

Wah else she guh seh.  She is a stuck record!  The Bailey's was good for her!

Bailey's on your mind?

Yes!

This businessman already have a large business operation in Guyana on the East Bank.  He has homes in Pa and in Guyana.  I visited one business and saw it.  He employs about 300 people.  So stop talking sh1t while the Guyanese are forced to import milk, fruit juice and even chicken and the rural folks live in abject poverty!

How you know that?  I have business interests in Guyana and don't receive duty free concessions while competing with Chinese who get concessions from the PNC for one project and then turn around and bring in unrelated items, leveraging the same concessions to drive others out of the market via unfair competition. Meanwhile, why is it that this "business man" needs concessions if his business model is sound? Does he get concessions in PA also? No one is stopping PNC from giving him concessions, ask them, they are in power now.  BJ is an artifact post 2011, it is now 2018 and PNC in charge, let them correct the wrongs of BJ's administration.

Guyana got nuff laff. Since when smugglers are entitled to duty free concessions?

Bai me agree wid dis. Dat abie should not go back to de past. Is PNC time now. Blackman pan tap!!! But hear dis, ayoo was reminding dem coolies of Burnham up to de 2015 eleckshun. Now dem get shun dem doan want peopkle remember even as recent as 2011. Burnham dead and gone in 1985 bai. 

Crock of SH*T. He was Uncle Ramo's puppeteer so spare us the nonsense. I thought Guyana was a utopia and changed overnight. What wrongs did your supreme lord and master commit that need to be corrected? 

Bai me agree wid dis. Dat abie should not go back to de past. Is PNC time now. Blackman pan tap!!! But hear dis, ayoo was reminding dem coolies of Burnham up to de 2015 eleckshun. Now dem get shun dem doan want peopkle remember even as recent as 2011. Burnham dead and gone in 1985 bai. 

Who is ayoo?  Not me. PNC in charge now, we expect them to perform and live up to campaign promises, not make excuse by pointing backwards. 

Crock of SH*T. He was Uncle Ramo's puppeteer so spare us the nonsense. I thought Guyana was a utopia and changed overnight. What wrongs did your supreme lord and master commit that need to be corrected? 

GT, regardless, we should hold PNC accountable. They have the power to give concessions to businesses that are here to stay rather than those looking to rape the country of its natural resources and flee to the next victim when the well runs dry. Stop making excuses for these clowns in power man and hold their feet to the fire. 

Banna dem PNC bais and gurls was always de master of de kickback tax. Nuff nuff of dem. De barge fiasco and Demerara Timbers etc. Dem We bai do he own ting flipping house. Hey hey hey...now dem PNC bais and gurls get dem own kickback tax. Hey hey hey...

You should know by now that I make excuses for nobody. Speak to me honestly and intelligently and we're fine. Throw nonsense at me and I will throw it back. Let's look at this case at hand. Could a DDL venture, if successful, help Guyana? I say we should at least try. When I was growing up we used fresh cow's milk that I picked up every day a few streets away from where I lived. Now Guyana spends $25M US to import Milk products. Granted "products" cover not just milk but things like cheese and some will still need to be imported.

The first question should be, why is Guyana importing milk and milk products?

When the Coalition came to power in 2015,they killed that successive local business created by the former gov't.You said Holder a former Manager of LIDCO,can never get this venture to be fruitful,at the least he is trying.

The first question should be, why is Guyana importing milk and milk products?

When the Coalition came to power in 2015,they killed that successive local business created by the former gov't.You said Holder a former Manager of LIDCO,can never get this venture to be fruitful,at the least he is trying.

You always know who the true Guyanese are. They never look at party affiliation to support a venture.