PPP needs to stop this musical symphony based on race

Dear Editor,
I noticed that my friends, and I mean my friends, in the PPP, are once again playing the race card.
This is not new; it has been the bane of our people if not the curse of Guyana.
At this time, after all the stress this country has been through, one would have thought that a responsible Party leadership would allow us to exhale and breathe a breath of clean, fresh, race-free air supporting a clean, green Guyana.
Back in the mid fifties I recall the August 1957 Elections, the PPP relied entirely on appealing to race with the popular ‘anthem’ or slogan ‘ApanJaat.’
I remember the Central Demerara Constituency Contest, Elections of 12th of August, 1957 Sydney King ( 6,285 votes) was by far the most popular figure in all the villages but lost to a newcomer, PPP sponsored, Balram Singh Rai (7,125 votes), purely on the basis of racial voting.
The PPP has always sadly relied on race to secure an advantage in electoral matters.
We have had several Commissions mounted in response to the demand for ethnic balance in areas where the PPP felt they needed to have the upper hand ignoring our known history. One time it was the composition of the Public Service, another time it was the Police Force, the Military and now, GECOM.
Guyana’s history, if understood is simple and instructive.
Very briefly, after the end of slavery, the British, in an effort to reduce the Bargaining power of the Manumitted Africans on the Plantations, imported labour from Madeira, England, China and India.
They also flooded many of the African Communities to frustrate the Africans’ pursuit of farming and business .
In the meantime, efforts were made to persuade the Indentured Labourers to pursue Education and Christianity.
The freed Africans who were cruelly and completely severed from their ancestral roots in West Africa took to Education and Christianity.
This simple analysis explains Guyana in the early part and much of the twentieth century.
The freed Africans became teachers, nurses, public servants and joined security services.
Others moved to the dangerous interior to mine gold and diamonds.
The majority of Indo Guyanese wisely concentrated on cultivation of economic crops and business entrepreneurship.
When the PPP therefore raised and appealed to the International Community, complaining about imbalances in the Public Sector, Police Force, etc. some of us had to remind those beating the race drum, that they could not be selective in their demand for ethnic balance.
We contended that if the Advocates for ethnic balance in an enlightened society were serious then let us have the mathematical balance in employment, in public and private enterprises, the allocation of industrial and agricultural lands and indeed, all spheres of national life.
Today, as I write, NCN, the State Control Radio Station, broadcast about ninety percent Indian Music and Programmes and less than ten percent of African Music and Programmes.
But my friends in the PPP are blind to these things.
I write as a Guyanese, who has lived through and shared the trauma of racial strife in this country and I hope and pray everyday that we will march gallantly and gracefully to make a reality our Motto of ‘One People, One Nation, One Destiny,’ and that when we speak to Sue Ping, Samuels, Singh, that we treat with those persons, not based on their colour, but on the content of their character.
Dear Editor, forgive me, but my life experience, disallows me racism.
I am proud to be a descendant of an African who was forced to adopt English names and mannerism but cannot ignore the fact that my Mother hails from the Wismar/Christianburg community with Amerindian blood surging through her veins.
Some of my best and most trusted friends from school days are the Chinese, Portuguese, East Indian and not to forget what I suspect is now in truth a majority those who are mixed.
My first wife, was mixed; Caucasian, Amerindian and African, my present wife, is a delicious mixture; her maternal grandfather was a Caucasian who came here from Barbados. Her father, is heavily Indian with a sprinkling of Scottish and African blood. I have grandsons who are pure blue blooded Caucasian British.
I grew up in a yard shared by a delightful Portuguese family and two of my most trusted compatriots, were Indian and Portuguese and their children fondly call me “Uncle Hammy or Uncle Dennis.”
Today, many of my acquaintances are Indo Guyanese and others, Non African persons.
This brief letter is to appeal to my friends in the PPP to stop this musical symphony based on race.
It is so nonsensical. Former President Ramoutar once told me he was not pure Indian.
What of my friend Clement Rohee?
On the Government side, find me anyone, who has pure Indian, African, Chinese, Portuguese or Amerindian blood?
Today, let us celebrate our rich heritage and end this charade.
God bless the Co-operative Republic of Guyana and let us celebrate by singing and doing what is contained in one of our National Songs, ‘Let us Co-operate for Guyana ’ words and music written by mixed Guyanese, William .R. A (Billy) Pilgrim.
May I make this caveat, I bet you some of those at GECOM described as Afro Guyanese, are parents and grandparents of other ethnic groups.
But thanks to the cosmetic business, how can you know who is really Indo, Chino, Porto, Afro or Amerindian?
The truth is all awe are one family.

Hamilton Green

Source:

Yes, you and the PNC are one family. Speak for yourself. PNC has people like you mopping the floors and singing dead house songs.

OK when yuh get head out of you kakahole, call me.

Yes, you and the PNC are one family. Speak for yourself. PNC has people like you mopping the floors and singing dead house songs.

Admin, please take note as to who started the personal attacks.

If I do that, the United States will be pleased and approve, but I won't last long at all because voting in Guyana is ethnically based. I'm black; the majority race is the East Indians

Forbes brought race politics in GUyana...blame him and the PNC.

Admin, please take note as to who started the personal attacks.

looks like you reporting yourself for getting personal

duly noted...and congrats for self monitoring, proud of you

PPP needs to stop this musical symphony based on race

Dear Editor,
I noticed that my friends, and I mean my friends, in the PPP, are once again playing the race card.
This is not new; it has been the bane of our people if not the curse of Guyana.
At this time, after all the stress this country has been through, one would have thought that a responsible Party leadership would allow us to exhale and breathe a breath of clean, fresh, race-free air supporting a clean, green Guyana.
Back in the mid fifties I recall the August 1957 Elections, the PPP relied entirely on appealing to race with the popular ‘anthem’ or slogan ‘ApanJaat.’
I remember the Central Demerara Constituency Contest, Elections of 12th of August, 1957 Sydney King ( 6,285 votes) was by far the most popular figure in all the villages but lost to a newcomer, PPP sponsored, Balram Singh Rai (7,125 votes), purely on the basis of racial voting.
The PPP has always sadly relied on race to secure an advantage in electoral matters.
We have had several Commissions mounted in response to the demand for ethnic balance in areas where the PPP felt they needed to have the upper hand ignoring our known history. One time it was the composition of the Public Service, another time it was the Police Force, the Military and now, GECOM.
Guyana’s history, if understood is simple and instructive.
Very briefly, after the end of slavery, the British, in an effort to reduce the Bargaining power of the Manumitted Africans on the Plantations, imported labour from Madeira, England, China and India.
They also flooded many of the African Communities to frustrate the Africans’ pursuit of farming and business .
In the meantime, efforts were made to persuade the Indentured Labourers to pursue Education and Christianity.
The freed Africans who were cruelly and completely severed from their ancestral roots in West Africa took to Education and Christianity.
This simple analysis explains Guyana in the early part and much of the twentieth century.
The freed Africans became teachers, nurses, public servants and joined security services.
Others moved to the dangerous interior to mine gold and diamonds.
The majority of Indo Guyanese wisely concentrated on cultivation of economic crops and business entrepreneurship.
When the PPP therefore raised and appealed to the International Community, complaining about imbalances in the Public Sector, Police Force, etc. some of us had to remind those beating the race drum, that they could not be selective in their demand for ethnic balance.
We contended that if the Advocates for ethnic balance in an enlightened society were serious then let us have the mathematical balance in employment, in public and private enterprises, the allocation of industrial and agricultural lands and indeed, all spheres of national life.
Today, as I write, NCN, the State Control Radio Station, broadcast about ninety percent Indian Music and Programmes and less than ten percent of African Music and Programmes.
But my friends in the PPP are blind to these things.
I write as a Guyanese, who has lived through and shared the trauma of racial strife in this country and I hope and pray everyday that we will march gallantly and gracefully to make a reality our Motto of ‘One People, One Nation, One Destiny,’ and that when we speak to Sue Ping, Samuels, Singh, that we treat with those persons, not based on their colour, but on the content of their character.
Dear Editor, forgive me, but my life experience, disallows me racism.
I am proud to be a descendant of an African who was forced to adopt English names and mannerism but cannot ignore the fact that my Mother hails from the Wismar/Christianburg community with Amerindian blood surging through her veins.
Some of my best and most trusted friends from school days are the Chinese, Portuguese, East Indian and not to forget what I suspect is now in truth a majority those who are mixed.
My first wife, was mixed; Caucasian, Amerindian and African, my present wife, is a delicious mixture; her maternal grandfather was a Caucasian who came here from Barbados. Her father, is heavily Indian with a sprinkling of Scottish and African blood. I have grandsons who are pure blue blooded Caucasian British.
I grew up in a yard shared by a delightful Portuguese family and two of my most trusted compatriots, were Indian and Portuguese and their children fondly call me “Uncle Hammy or Uncle Dennis.”
Today, many of my acquaintances are Indo Guyanese and others, Non African persons.
This brief letter is to appeal to my friends in the PPP to stop this musical symphony based on race.
It is so nonsensical. Former President Ramoutar once told me he was not pure Indian.
What of my friend Clement Rohee?
On the Government side, find me anyone, who has pure Indian, African, Chinese, Portuguese or Amerindian blood?
Today, let us celebrate our rich heritage and end this charade.
God bless the Co-operative Republic of Guyana and let us celebrate by singing and doing what is contained in one of our National Songs, ‘Let us Co-operate for Guyana ’ words and music written by mixed Guyanese, William .R. A (Billy) Pilgrim.
May I make this caveat, I bet you some of those at GECOM described as Afro Guyanese, are parents and grandparents of other ethnic groups.
But thanks to the cosmetic business, how can you know who is really Indo, Chino, Porto, Afro or Amerindian?
The truth is all awe are one family.

Hamilton Green

Source:

Of all the people you chose this murdering thug to quote?

Hammie is a piece of raw sewage racist to the bone!!

I heard Hammie was one of dem people who used to beat up Indos in Guyana...Burnham and Hoyte found him too crude to keep him around.

He best the CRAP out of Father Drake in front of Guyana Stores and sent his dogs on the crowd!! That filthy Animal now trying to play a friggin saint!!!

Father Darke who was later murdered on the church steps by one of Green's/Edward Washington's goons?

He best the CRAP out of Father Drake in front of Guyana Stores and sent his dogs on the crowd!! That filthy Animal now trying to play a friggin saint!!!

Maybe he redeeming himself, before meeting the master??

I heard Hammie was one of dem people who used to beat up Indos in Guyana...Burnham and Hoyte found him too crude to keep him around.

You hear and know a lot not knowing anything about Guyana. What's your other alias you go with?

Mits has stooped  so low to the PNC that he reduced himself to Carrion Crow status by cutting and pasting article by the Racist and alleged Murderer Hamilton Greene.

May Shirley F Ridley RIP.

Mits has stooped  so low to the PNC that he reduced himself to Carrion Crow status by cutting and pasting article by the Racist and alleged Murderer Hamilton Greene.

Focus on the article and the hypocrisy of that thug Hamilton Greene.....

You hear and know a lot not knowing anything about Guyana. What's your other alias you go with?

Banna,

why you messing de man thread? and trolling me?

These are things discussed here before...like you memory short or what?

Stop taakin' faat. Hammy was a minister in the govt, he didn't stroll GT beating up people. The man yuh lookin' fuh is Rabbi Washington, he was de hitman and implicated in killing Darke on Brickdam. And by de way, most ALL of Rabbi's thugs deh wid yuh PPP and Jagdeo now. And you singing dem praises while cussing Green (rightfully). You schupid man.

Absolutely not. He had his thugs do the dirty work. As in the case of Vincent Teekah and his own wife.

Ah was happy about the letter until I read who wrote it. But it might interest you to know - Hammy's father used to host PPP meetings at his house. I think he was a doctor, pharmacist or dentist, not sure. Hammie and his family were not against Indians and the PPP in the early days.

The question is what made Forbes, Hammie, etc. who were with Indians at one time, feel threatened by Indians. Look, even Eusi Kwayana was with the PPP. Why did he turn? The answer is in Hammie's letter. Read it.

I'm not justifying the PNC's tactics, I'm just tellin' yuh there is another side to the story. The PPP's and Indian racism was perceived by Eusi, Hammie, Forbes etc and they wondered at the future of blacks in Guyana under racist Indian rule. We talked BGEIA before. Put it all together. You not stupid, the picture will emerge. We need to understand BOTH sides in order to resolve this racist plague pon po Guyana.

Bhai,you forget to add Rabbi Washington was jailed by Desmond Hoyte and freed by the PPP.

Ah was happy about the letter until I read who wrote it. But it might interest you to know - Hammy's father used to host PPP meetings at his house. I think he was a doctor, pharmacist or dentist, not sure. Hammie and his family were not against Indians and the PPP in the early days.

The question is what made Forbes, Hammie, etc. who were with Indians at one time, feel threatened by Indians. Look, even Eusi Kwayana was with the PPP. Why did he turn? The answer is in Hammie's letter. Read it.

I'm not justifying the PNC's tactics, I'm just tellin' yuh there is another side to the story. The PPP's and Indian racism was perceived by Eusi, Hammie, Forbes etc as they wondered at the future of blacks in Guyana under racist Indian rule. We talked BGEIA before. Put it all together. You not stupid, the picture will emerge. We need to understand BOTH sides in order to resolve this racist plague pon po Guyana.

Interesting...

Any idea where can I find the source for more info on this time period?

Thanks.

I'm not justifying the PNC's tactics, I'm just tellin' yuh there is another side to the story. The PPP's and Indian racism was perceived by Eusi, Hammie, Forbes etc as they wondered at the future of blacks in Guyana under racist Indian rule. We talked BGEIA before. Put it all together. You not stupid, the picture will emerge. We need to understand BOTH sides in order to resolve this racist plague pon po Guyana.

Interesting...

Any idea where can I find the source for more info on this time period?

Thanks.

I have Jagan book and Destiny to Mould...nothing about this in there.

Did Kawana write anything on this?

Just wondering

Bhai,you forget to add Rabbi Washington was jailed by Desmond Hoyte and freed by the PPP.

Correct. And that is because Rabbi fit the bill for the "enforcer" role required for their Marxist doctrine. Ask Gilbakka. He know bout dis marxist thing. He seh he is a "revolutionary". A "radical". Ah hope he doan ram he wheelchair into a Tim Horton's glass door in some revolutionary act up deh in Canada. 

Absolutely not. He had his thugs do the dirty work. As in the case of Vincent Teekah and his own wife.

Hammy,was pointed out to do some dirty work during the early 60's to overthrow Jagan.I met him on two occasions treated me with respect.

"One month earlier, in July of 1979, the building, which housed the office of the General Secretary of the PNC and the Ministry of National Development, was burned down. Despite eyewitnesses’ claims of seeing men in army uniforms, leading WPA leaders/political activists including Drs. Rodney, Roopnarine, and Omawale were arrested.

While thousands protested at their trial outside the court house, news photographer for the Catholic Standard, Father Bernard Darke was stabbed to death in the presence of onlookers (police included). Those who did the stabbing were members of the House of Israel.

Despite all of this, chief PNC member Kit Nacimento, one week after the crime, referred to the House of Israel as a “religious group that lives in a cloistered, communal atmosphere.

The members have declared their support for the government and they haven’t committed any crimes. There is no reason why we should be concerned” (Toronto Star, July 22, 1979)."

http://www.guyanaundersiege.co...al/houseofisrael.htm