Good for you to stood your ground. Almost similar stuff happened to me two weeks ago at Parika stelling. 

Park my truck infront the police station and proceed to the stelling for my tickets for the ferry . Came back, a cop already has his book pretending to write a ticket, claiming I park on a no parking spot. 

I said, where is the no parking sign ( there was NO sign ) I told him I will speak with his boss ( corporal ) who was sitting across a food stall eating food that my buddies paid for. 

This police say, leave something for me nah  pardna. It was difficult to avoid his request, knowing there was food around... we invite him for a bit. 

Here is a glimpse of the deep rooted culture of bribery. 

Dave, I wonder why you did not get your mobile out and start filming the corporal and the parasite cop?

Don’t take my comments out of context. I will go further to explain in details, hopefully this educate you.

The corporal ( eating at the food stall ) happens to be a family member of my buddy and was off duty. 

NOTE : the cop requested  to “ leave something “ was meant monetary and I didn’t do that. Instead, I offer food, it was 3 AM, and his boss sitting across the RD eating ....thought it was a good guesture to offer him a bite. 

I didn’t break the law so the food was not meant to bribe him. 

At the top of my comments, I told sachin “ Good for you to stood your grounds” 

Instead of hunting around and taking members comments to task, offer intellectually comments and healty discussion. 

Comrade Gil, we are not living in the 90s, technology is at our disposal. 

- Pay the officer a decent wage.

- Traffic cops should wear body cameras

- All police vehicle should have cameras and trackers.

- Teach kids in schools to respect the rule of law 

- Engage the public in campaign to weed out corruption and offer incentives. 

- Clean the system of corrupt officers, the decent wage will attract good officers.

- reward the police with incentives. 

Your suggestions merit considering. Still, Ramjattan is only one cog in the State machine. Granger said recently that sugar workers' severance payment is hemorrhaging the economy. Where will he find sustainable funds for decent wages and incentives for the police force?

Hopefully, Comrade Gill the oil revenues can be utilize efficiently. 

If you stayed in Guyana long enough and experience day to day runings you would  figure out it take a lot more than salaries or benefits to stop corrupted cops .Even in the US and its territories ,decent wages didn't stop some people. Remember, except for the Granger group who got 50% raise the majority of workers being shake down - teachers, nurses and other civil servants workers are not better off than cops.

Due to corrupt practices from top to bottom a drivers licene is almost impossible for a youth to obtain without paying the bribe. If you pull up to a regular youth and ask him why he dos'nt have one, his response would more than likely be he cant afford the G$80,000[U$400.00]. 

It does not take a rocket science to figure  high accident and road fatalities are cause  drivers who buy licenses...

Dave,

You did not in any way bribe the cop and I can understand where the cop was coming from too. He was not asking for a Bribe but some food and you did the correct thing.

These policemen in Guyana are grossly underpaid and put their lives on the line to serve and protect Guyanese with limited resources. Yes, there are a few rotten apples and they exist in every police force in the world.

Cops need better pay to uplift their standards of living, more training and better equipment and resources.

This administration campaigned to do all of those things and seem to have forgotten many of their promises.

Bhai, you did the right thing.

Good for you to stood your ground. Almost similar stuff happened to me two weeks ago at Parika stelling. 

Park my truck infront the police station and proceed to the stelling for my tickets for the ferry . Came back, a cop already has his book pretending to write a ticket, claiming I park on a no parking spot. 

I said, where is the no parking sign ( there was NO sign ) I told him I will speak with his boss ( corporal ) who was sitting across a food stall eating food that my buddies paid for. 

This police say, leave something for me nah  pardna. It was difficult to avoid his request, knowing there was food around... we invite him for a bit. 

Here is a glimpse of the deep rooted culture of bribery. 

Dave, I wonder why you did not get your mobile out and start filming the corporal and the parasite cop?

Don’t take my comments out of context. I will go further to explain in details, hopefully this educate you.

The corporal ( eating at the food stall ) happens to be a family member of my buddy and was off duty. 

NOTE : the cop requested  to “ leave something “ was meant monetary and I didn’t do that. Instead, I offer food, it was 3 AM, and his boss sitting across the RD eating ....thought it was a good guesture to offer him a bite. 

I didn’t break the law so the food was not meant to bribe him. 

At the top of my comments, I told sachin “ Good for you to stood your grounds” 

Instead of hunting around and taking members comments to task, offer intellectually comments and healty discussion. 

No matter how you gift wrap it, it's still a bribe. Shame on you for not standing your grounds like Sachin.

The bribee should jailed for 3 months for the first time and the briber 6 months; the second time 6 and 1 year respectively; third time life for both. 

Dave,

You did not in any way bribe the cop and I can understand where the cop was coming from too. He was not asking for a Bribe but some food and you did the correct thing.

These policemen in Guyana are grossly underpaid and put their lives on the line to serve and protect Guyanese with limited resources. Yes, there are a few rotten apples and they exist in every police force in the world.

Cops need better pay to uplift their standards of living, more training and better equipment and resources.

This administration campaigned to do all of those things and seem to have forgotten many of their promises.

Of course, you Brahmins call it 'dakshina.' 

Without lots of money and connection with people in high places you are at the mercy of the system. The attorney exhibited arrogance typical of those with power and connections 

The attorney can now sue for violations of his privacy, since he clearly identified himself.

What was the reason for the stop?

I agree the lawyer was arrogant. The swearing was not necessary. 

The man was right. He had to show probable cause or suspicion to stop him. I will defend the dude cussing out the police. It seems like that's the only language they understand. If it was a coolie man, they would have physically hauled him out of the car, arrest and handcuffed him. The "haffica" looked like he was looking for a lil raise. He seemed like he was trying to look for any anything to get the man. Cat pissed in his cap that day.

True. But there are ways to conduct one's self when in situations such as these.. Losing your kool and cussing out the officer is not one of them.

The man was right. He had to show probable cause or suspicion to stop him. I will defend the dude cussing out the police. It seems like that's the only language they understand. If it was a coolie man, they would have physically hauled him out of the car, arrest and handcuffed him. The "haffica" looked like he was looking for a lil raise. He seemed like he was trying to look for any anything to get the man. Cat pissed in his cap that day.

True. But there are ways to conduct one's self when in situations such as these.. Losing your kool and cussing out the officer is not one of them.

I agree. I am of the opinion that this Crawford dude was stopped by the police before and was harassed, sought counsel, and was advised of his rights. Sometimes these actions by the Guyanese police make you feel helpless and only so much you can tolerate.

Without lots of money and connection with people in high places you are at the mercy of the system. The attorney exhibited arrogance typical of those with power and connections 

The attorney can now sue for violations of his privacy, since he clearly identified himself.

What was the reason for the stop?

I agree the lawyer was arrogant. The swearing was not necessary. 

Back in the 80s an officer in Mahaica always took bribes.  One on the victims taped one incident and he was caught and convicted. Lost his job and almost got jailed. He eventually moved away to Canada. 

That attorney’s way was not the way, he also broke the law by driving off.  

In today’s ubiquitous camera days, he should have taped it all, including any bribe request and report to the appropriate authorities.

Bitter debate as cops look to question lawyer who “cussed” traffic rank after pulled over

Upset lawyer: Ryan Crawford

There is a bitter debate raging after a “routine” traffic stop Thursday by a police rank ended up with a video going viral and questions about the powers of the police.
The police rank posted the video on his Facebook page. It quickly went viral.
In the video, which lasted just over 3:50 minutes, a man who identified himself as “Ryan f#@king Crawford”, an attorney-at-law, was highly upset at being stopped, questioning the cop about the legality of it.
He later drove away. The cop was videoing the stop and the lawyer seemed to be fully aware of it.
The incident was said to have occurred on the East Coast of Demerara.
Yesterday, Commander of ‘D’ Division, Calvin Brutus, said that he has requested the assistance of the ‘B’ Division, in East Berbice, for a statement to be taken from the lawyer.
The commander said that the file will be sent for advice.
According to the video, the BMW sedan, driven by Crawford, was pulled over somewhere along the East Coast Demerara roadway.
The lawyer, who had a male passenger seated next to him, demanded to know why he was stopped.
The rank said he could not see the driver properly and therefore stopped the car.
However, this angered the lawyer who insisted that he was behind two trucks and was not buying that explanation.
“What sc#%t you telling me man? What f#%ing nonsence you telling me?”
The tirade continued.
“My name is Ryan f#%ing Crawford. You tell whoever you talking to… attorney-at-%&ing law. You heard me? So #%k you.”
The lawyer said he did nothing wrong and refused to produce his driver’s licence.
“I don’t give a #%k. I did not do anything wrong,” the lawyer responded on a request for his documents.
The lawyer loudly said that there must be reasonable suspicion and probable cause to stop him.
The lawyer also refused to wind up his driver’s side window, demanding that the cop use a “tintometer”.
“Bring your tintometer. Bring your tintometer and check my f#%king glass.”
The upset lawyer challenged the police rank to go and tell each and everyone – the f#%king Commander; the f#%king president and the #%king vice president.
Crawford made it clear that he has a “#%king” right to travel on the road freely without interference, unless he breaks the “#%king” law.
“I did not. You have no right.”
The audio on the video went off and then shortly after, the car drove away. The video ended.
Yesterday, social media bitterly debated the stop with critics divided on the incident.
On one hand, there were cheers for Crawford’s behaviour, for saying what many felt about the “abuse” by traffic cops in shakedowns of motorists.
There were others who felt that he went overboard and should have produced his documents when asked.
Attorney-at-law, Sanjeev Datadin, raised the question about the legality of the stop although admonishing the way that Crawford conducted himself.
“So my friend Ryan Crawford has done more in three minutes and 39 seconds to inform every citizen that the Police must have a reason to stop you on the public roadways BEFORE they stop you than the judges and magistrates have done for the past 25 years. Everyone has a view on the way he delivered his lesson on the law but it’s a clear and accurate lesson all the same.”
Datadin said that for too long, there are police road-blocks and ranks on road corners stopping citizens for no apparent reason.
“…well they need a reason to stop you first … a good and valid reason … not because they feel like or they are doing “spot checks” … the Police also like to say it’s “random” checks … random checks are arbitrary and unlawful. Ryan Crawford …that was some “speech” tho … great birthday present … ha ha ha … won’t be forgotten … lol.”
However, police spokesman, Jairam Ramlackhan, explained that the police have the power to stop and search and detain. It must be followed by a suspicion, for example if the car is driving dangerously.
According to Ramlackhan, any policeman can stop and search, once there is reasonable suspicion.
The issue of stopping and demanding documents from drivers has been a hotly contested one.
Many drivers complain of being victims of shakedowns to buy a ticket to some police function or leave a “lil drinks money.”
In December 2013, a groundbreaking High Court ruling and a judgment of over $2M had raised the issue.
The plaintiff was none other than a sitting judge, Navindra Singh.
The judge was a lawyer in 2006 when he said his car started giving problems. He was accused by a police patrol of obstructing traffic and then pulled into the corner and told they wanted to search his vehicle.
The lawyer resisted and was later taken to the station. He was charged for having expired documents but the case went nowhere. He later sued and won.
In the judgment, Justice William Ramlal said that research of the Police Act found that ranks may also stop, search and detain any person who may be reasonably suspected of having or conveying in any manner anything stolen or unlawfully obtained.
The instances must contemplate a situation where an offence has already been committed.
”Let me say at the outset that the police have no power to stop, search, arrest and detain any citizen under Section 17 and/or Section 19 unless he has reasonable grounds for suspicion that he will find stolen or prohibited articles or that he has reasonable grounds to suspect that a person whom he reasonably suspected has committed an indictable offence will be found, or that any person has committed a summary or indictable offence in his view or presence or that he has credible and reliable information from someone that a person has committed a summary or indictable offence.”
The court also questioned how the police ranks moved from traffic offences to searching for guns and ammunition.
Justice Ramlal said that the conduct of the policemen was wholly unacceptable and renders them incapable of discharging their functions as members of the Guyana Police Force in a manner acceptable to the public.
In January 2016, the police force had issued a statement saying that “traffic ranks are not authorised to stop motorists for routine checks of documents. They should only do so if an offence is committed in their view or where there is reasonable suspicion.”
The Police Force also said that “its policy is that police ranks in plain clothes and in unmarked vehicles are not authorised to stop motorists except when they are performing duties on the roadway in front of a Police Station.”

Well, if nothing else, the incident has provoked an national dialogue and I’m sure will bring about changes.

Remember, it took a little Black woman defiance to comply with an unreasonable order in the USA to change this nation forever!

i speak to people in Guyana, and many are frustrated with the impunity with which some police act.  Ramjattan will do the correct thing.  

Dave,

Mits for the record, I have NEVER taken a single penny as a Brahmana. Any Brahmana who takes money from others should be punished since their services should be free. End of story.

Dave,

Mits for the record, I have NEVER taken a single penny as a Brahmana. Any Brahmana who takes money from others should be punished since their services should be free. End of story.

You are really out of touch with what's happening in our Hindu society. Your Brahmin brothers are using the Garuda Puraan to extract wealth from the masses. Some are charging $100 per pooja. Then there are  those who create work for themselves by telling their devotees that they have Grah.  

If it makes your day by trying to belittle me with respect to my sevah in the community, please amuse yourself. Jai shri Krishna! 

Mit.

Quite a few people on this forum have gra. 

What's gra ??

Negativity, evil (bad) eye, bad luck, ailments, people do you things, negative influence of the 9 planets. My belief is this is all superstitions. The Pundits capitalize on this weakness in faith and will prescribe poojas to ward off these negative influences. Some will tell you to do X amount of poojas and that you don't need to invite others. This is what I termed "make work project" to fleece the ignorant and superstitious devotes. They charge $200 to $300 per visit to pray for you. It's more like preying on your wallet.

It would be interesting to hear from  our resident Brahmin.

Ryan F#%king Crawford is friends with Khemraj “Haul Yuh Ass” Ramjattan so he know he can get away with cussing people.  They both helped to install the PNC Gov’t in 2015.

Suh what's the problem ?

ryan c

Ryan F#%king Crawford is friends with Khemraj “Haul Yuh Ass” Ramjattan so he know he can get away with cussing people.  They both helped to install the PNC Gov’t in 2015.

I agree that they helped to topple your PPP in 2015. Anyway his PS was not for you. It was clearly to "sexy Ladies" sending him friend requests. 

Mit.

What's gra ??

Negativity, evil (bad) eye, bad luck, ailments, people do you things, negative influence of the 9 planets. My belief is this is all superstitions. The Pundits capitalize on this weakness in faith and will prescribe poojas to ward off these negative influences. Some will tell you to do X amount of poojas and that you don't need to invite others. This is what I termed "make work project" to fleece the ignorant and superstitious devotes. They charge $200 to $300 per visit to pray for you. It's more like preying on your wallet.

Superstition indeed,some folks fall for it.

Due to my curiosity,i question my godfather and sibling,both Pandits about these superstitious beliefs.

Mit.

What's gra ??

Superstition indeed,some folks fall for it.

Due to my curiosity,i question my godfather and sibling,both Pandits about these superstitious beliefs.

When a Pundit tells you that you  have "gra"... run fuh yuh life.  Right Yugly?

Mit.

What's gra ??

Looks like the nine planets are not very kind to a couple billions of people.

You are really out of touch with what's happening in our Hindu society. Your Brahmin brothers are using the Garuda Puraan to extract wealth from the masses. Some are charging $100 per pooja. Then there are  those who create work for themselves by telling their devotees that they have Grah.  

If it makes your day by trying to belittle me with respect to my sevah in the community, please amuse yourself. Jai shri Krishna! 

I know a pandit who does nothing for less than $500.  He even boast to me he did a yajna in NY and got $2,000 and many wedding he get $1,000.

He explained to me that it's ok as in the olden days, contributions took care of all the needs of pandits.  Today they need to pay their rent, bills like everyone else so you cannot expect the same model.

I hope certain women don't see that video.  They would get flash backs of their own situation.  

What are you talking about? 

Maybe flashback two years ago meh Guyanese family almost got their eyes plucked out in Florida by "angry bird" for criticizing BJ!

Image result for angry birds