PradoVille 2 established in response to violent crime wave – Robeson Benn

Former President, Bharrat Jagdeo’s residence at Goedverwagting (PradoVille 2), East Coast Demerara.

A former People’s Progressive Party (PPP) cabinet  member on Wednesday said he told police investigators that top government officials were allocated lands at PradoVille 2 (Goedverwagting-Plaisance) because of the deadly crime wave at the time that had resulted in the shooting death of then Agriculture Minister, Satyadeow Sawh.

Former Minister of Public Works, Robeson Benn said he told agents of the Guyana Police Force’s Special Organised Crime Unit that security for the President and the Cabinet at the time was a major issue.

“I did point out that overall at a time when the ministers were being attacked, we had the history or the recent issue of a minister of the government, Minister Sash Sawh, being assassinated along with members of his family, that the security of the senior members of the government and senior personages was an overriding issue and it had to do with the stability of the country to make sure that the President and other members of the Cabinet, that they would want to be secure and safe and whatever was done had to be done,”  said Benn who does not have a property at PradoVille.

Attorney-at-Law, Priya Manickchand, who is Benn’s lawyer, said they were asked about the same questions as before. Those included the process for vesting properties, valuation of the lands, cabinet decisions on who should have been allocated lands and the vesting of lands to the Central Housing and Planning Authority.

Manickchand, who served as Minister of Human Services and Minister of Education, said she was questioned on Tuesday by SOCU investigators. She said all then persons, who were Cabinet members, have been asked to report to SOCU.

Sawh and two of his siblings were gunned down in April 2006 shortly after they had returned to the minister’s La Bonne Intention (LBI), East Coast Demerara home. Records show that it was not until July 2010 that directives had been given to survey and paal off the lands which were sold in September, 2010.

The crime spree dated back to February 2002 when five dangerous prisoners had escaped from the Georgetown Prison, spawning the emergence of heavily armed gangs that had operated mainly from Buxton Village, East Coast Demerara from where they had staged numerous robberies, killings, kidnaps and massacres. That violent crime wave largely came to an end in August 2008 when gang leader, Rondell ‘Fineman” Rawlins was shot dead by security forces.

The questioning of the former Cabinet members came less than one week after well-placed sources signaled that former PPP government officials would be charged in the coming days for lands acquired at PradoVille.

“I am absolutely shocked at the allegation that was put to me that I conspired with the Cabinet to have lands transferred to the Central Housing and Planning Authority in respect of Sparendaam,” Benn added. He said he was shown unsigned documents and others which he could not authenticate. “It was pretty messy and untidy in respect of these issues”, he said.

Manickchand contended that PradoVille 2 was being targeted because Jagdeo lives there and coincides with top party leaders holding recent meetings in Berbice ahead of the planned November 12, 2018 Local Government Elections. “This has only to do with an attempt to decapitate the PPP and pull down its leaders and interfere with its ability to lead and that’s all it is, it’s a political persecution,” she said

Former Minister of Trade and Tourism, Manzoor Nadir said he exercised his option to remain silent because he was cautioned that anything he said could be taken against him.

Court records in a pending case filed by political activist, Desmond Trotman parcels each measuring 0.3030 of an acre were sold to Robert Persaud, Shaik Baksh, Clement Rohee, Lisaveta Ramotar, Dr. Compton Bourne and Priya Manickchand for GUY$1,515,000. In the case of Jagdeo, he purchased 0.4603 of an acre for GUY$2,301,500 and 1.5 acres for GUY$7.5 million. Jennifer Westford bought 0.3186 of an acre for GUY$1,593,000 and G.Singh and wife paid GUY$1,502,000 for 0.3005 of an acre.

The applicants listed the following known supporters of the People’s Progressive Party and government employees who benefitted from “government’s largesse” :  Andrew Ranji Bishop, Florrie Loretta Ramnauth, Rajendra Singh (former Chief Executive Officer of the Guyana Sugar Corporation ), Safraz Khan, and Ramesh Dookhoo who each purchased 0.3005 of an acre for GUY$1,502,000. Others are George Hallaq and Nada Hallaq who paid GUY$5 million for 0.8422 of an acre, and Future Developers International(Guyana) Inc whose sole director is Dr. Rajendra Singh purchased 0.5534 of an acre for GUY$3 million.

Moeenul Hack and the Director of Public Prosecutions, Shalimar Hack paid GUY$1,488,744 for 0.2767 of an acre, and then Chief of staff of the Guyana Defence Force purchased 0.3005 of an acre for GUY$1,502,500

It is political blasphemy to see that a party that a party which was created by a poor guy from a village in Berbice, and which is supposed to represent poor people has usurped that tradition and instead enriched themselves...while the poor cane workers still live in poverty.

Did these leaders never had the foresight to pull the sugar workers out of a lifestyle that condemned them, and their children to a generation of poverty. 

AND, here is that guy Raj Singh (a fake doctor from NJ???), and a carpetbagger, with no experience in running a sugar estate, in the middle of the landgrabbing...it must have been CHRISTMAS for these people... 

AND, here we have Robeson Benn, saying that the scheme was built because of a security issue? How can people who, mind you, are in POWER, with all the resources at their hands, say this shyte...Benn should be the first one to be thrown in the Camp Street jail, then Jagdeo, and that mansion turned into a dharm sala for the poor and indigent.

Sorry moderator...this is my rant for the day....but the picture of Jagdeo mansion, next to the dilapidated Wales sugar estate just simply pisses me off....I need a shot of mauby right now. 

Does the author think purchasing land for more than a million each is getting the land for free? It's not a whole acre of land; it's a fraction of an acre.

Banna...you missing the BIG picture...its not the price of the land...its the nonsense these people did...and the barefaced neglect of the poor people (mainly their own supporters) that should get your goat....why do you knuckleheads continue to defend this nonsense?

Raj Singh (a fake doctor from NJ???)

I can vouch that Raj Singh is not a fake doctor. How do you know the man is a fake doctor? He did not get his degree from any online night school.

Ok, point taken....tell me what was his experience in running GUYSUCO?

Keep in mind he lives in NY, according to the papers.

Does the author think purchasing land for more than a million each is getting the land for free? It's not a whole acre of land; it's a fraction of an acre.

Banna...you missing the BIG picture...its not the price of the land...its the nonsense these people did...and the barefaced neglect of the poor people (mainly their own supporters) that should get your goat....why do you knuckleheads continue to defend this nonsense?

During the Jagdeo, regime there were no unemployed sugar workers and too many poor people. Poor people then were lazy, people who did not want to put their shoulders to the wheel to earn a living. I see you defending the PNC.

He probably was yuh veterinarian wheh yuh get yuh daily rabies shot. No wonda yuh suh damn rabid ever since.

You are missing the point and trying to deflect your misguided opinion. I personally know Raj Singh. This is about calling the man "a fake doctor from NJ". As far as GUYSUCO, blame the president(s); don't blame Raj Singh.

He probably was yuh veterinarian wheh yuh get yuh daily rabies shot. No wonda yuh suh damn rabid ever since.

Yeh, I had to go see him when you bit me. Do you still rabies and mange?

What was his thesis for the Phd,can you point to the info,also which University he studied for his Phd.

Thank you.

What was his thesis for the Phd,can you point to the info,also which University he studied for his Phd.

Thank you.

I did not attend any school out of MN. I know his sister and some of his relatives here. He left MN in the 70s for NY.

Thank you.

I did not attend any school out of MN. I know his sister and some of his relatives here. He left MN in the 70s for NY.

"Doctor" Rajendra Singh. Graduate of the "University Without Walls & Union Grad School" (Doctoral Dissertation on Guyana Sugar Industry)

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/d...uyana-sugar-industry

Raj Singh Dissertation.pdf

Here you go, found it.

During the Jagdeo, regime there were no unemployed sugar workers and too many poor people. Poor people then were lazy, people who did not want to put their shoulders to the wheel to earn a living. I see you defending the PNC.

Not everyone who express disagreements with others here are “defending the PNC”. That is a circular argument...

Most people don’t remember what the PNC did (not to excuse their dictatorial rule) but more than half of the population now under the age of 26 in Guyana remember what the PPP did for 23 years. Both parties have jumbles in their wardrobes.

I still want to know how Raj Singh qualified for a high paying job in Guyana while living in NJ....he was a fly by night carpetbagger, fleecing the population at a time the industry was dying. This was only possible because, Raj Singh, like some PPP members, believe that the PPP would remain in power forever. TELL HIM I SAID SO WHEN YOU SEE HIM NEXT.

You miss the point about the sugar workers. They may not have been unemployed but think about this...the PPP should have found ways to educate their children and prepare them for the next century....The PPP squandered this opportunity. They should have taken a page out of Lew Quan Yew of Singapore. Jagdeo was not such a visionary leader. Jagan must be crying like a river in his grave.

As a staunch Indo here, you of all people should condemn the PPP for not trying to create an educated class of Indos by pulling them out of the physical and mental plantations. When they closed down the industry in Trinidad, Indians were forced to develop industrial skills, leading to better paying jobs, and all this happen under Alan Afro Government. What has the PPP done for these people, except leave them to wallow in their own poverty....and some so stupid that they still see Jagdeo as a demiGod?

While we at this....here are 2 of them that sounds fake : DR Peter Ramsaroop and DR Bharrat Jagdeo

You are missing the point and trying to deflect your misguided opinion. I personally know Raj Singh. This is about calling the man "a fake doctor from NJ". As far as GUYSUCO, blame the president(s); don't blame Raj Singh.

He was a square peg in a round hole. He got the position as friend of Jagdeo. He knew nothing about the Sugar Industry. 

What is Harold Davis experience in running a sugar factory??

[[[Quote]]]

Granger defends pick for new energy dep’t head

President Granger speaking to the media yesterday (DPI Photo)

August 3 2018,  Source

‘He knows he doesn’t know everything but he knows where to find people who know enough’

Newly-appointed head of the Department of Energy (DoE) Dr. Mark Bynoe may not have experience in the oil and gas sector but he has the intelligence and ability to find the expert help needed, according to President David Granger.

Defending Bynoe’s appointment, Granger yesterday shrugged off concerns about his lack of experience, saying that he is confident that the new appointee could spearhead and complete a search for experts in oil and gas to support him when the DoE becomes functional by early next month.

Dr. Mark Bynoe

GNI source --Granger defends pick for new energy dep’t head,     https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/g...ople-who-know-enough

[[[Unquote]]]

[[[Quote]]]

August 3 2018,  Source

‘He knows he doesn’t know everything but he knows where to find people who know enough’

Newly-appointed head of the Department of Energy (DoE) Dr. Mark Bynoe may not have experience in the oil and gas sector but he has the intelligence and ability to find the expert help needed, according to President David Granger.

Defending Bynoe’s appointment, Granger yesterday shrugged off concerns about his lack of experience, saying that he is confident that the new appointee could spearhead and complete a search for experts in oil and gas to support him when the DoE becomes functional by early next month.

Dr. Mark Bynoe

GNI source --Granger defends pick for new energy dep’t head,     https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/g...ople-who-know-enough

[[[Unquote]]]

KP @ "What is Harold Davis experience in running a sugar factory?"

D-G, and KP                                                                                                                                                         

Both of you are being dishonest and chauvinistic. We can play this game all day to no end. I don’t know Harold Davis, but it is not the point.

Instead of being so sensitive about criticism directed at the PPP and looking for a moral equivalent comeback based on what the other side did (“PPP did this, but PNC also did this, so its OK”), you should be appreciative of the fact that criticism of the PPP can lead to a more democratic party. Same for any political party in Guyana. This kind of argument only lowers the debate and takes us further into the gutter. If the “illegality” of land sale is confirmed and Jagdeo, Rohee, Texiera, Irfaan, etc, are found guilty, it will move the PPP closer to becoming a more open entity...in the long run, by giving new players a chance at leadership. It is not going to happen in 2020. But for the PPP to become a credible force, it has to be reborned, shedding its democratic centralism, its communist constitution, its Marxist belief, its belief that they have a god given right to rule Guyana, Black people are evil, etc.

My sense is that Indos are not going to follow a leader blindly in this modern age…especially given what we now know…all dem Indos who continue to put flowers around Jagdeo’s neck don’t know any better.  When you bannas get so sensitive about the PPP, you do the same.  

[[[Quote]]]

August 3 2018,  Source

Dr. Mark Bynoe

[[[Unquote]]]

D-G and KP

Both of you are being dishonest and chauvinistic. We can play this game all day to no end. I don’t know Harold Davis, but it is not the point.

Perhaps, according to your personal views.

However, you can continue with your game-playing.

[[[Quote]]]

August 3 2018,  Source

Dr. Mark Bynoe

[[[Unquote]]]

D-G and KP

Perhaps, according to your personal views.

However, you can continue with your game-playing.

perhaps not..

@ Vish

Let them take it to court na. Dem Weeder Gang AFC/PNC bais have been singing the same song like a dead house tune prior to the election and they still cannot prove anything.

There is certain weeder gang crew that buys into a lot of nonsenses and that is fine.

Dem Weeder Gang should prove their outlandish claims or just shut up. Guyanese are just fed up.

How about when dem AFC and PNC bais stealing left and right ? How about contracts being awarded without a tendering process ?

The Weeder Gang needs to clean it’s glass house before pelting stones.

Yeh, I had to go see him when you bit me. Do you still rabies and mange?

WATAX