President David Granger, today, announced that following consultations with the Leader of the Opposition, Mr. Bharrat Jagdeo at State House, Mr. Leslie Albert James will now serve as the Commissioner of Police with immediate effect.

The Commander of Chief of the Armed Forces also noted that Mr. James will be supported by four deputy commissioners who are Mr. Lyndon Alves, Ms. Maxine Graham, Mr. Nigel Hoppie and Mr. Paul Williams. These appointments will also take immediate effect as of August 30, 2018.

In an invited comment following the conclusion of the meeting, President Granger said that the four deputies will be responsible for four areas of the Force; these are Operations, Administration, Law Enforcement and Special Branch/ Intelligence.

“My intention is that the four deputies will be responsible for various aspects of the Police Force, for example, Operations, Administration, Law Enforcement and Special Branch or Intelligence. What we have done today is we have not only appointed a Police Commissioner but we have also improved the architecture of the Police Force so that instead of having a flat structure, we now have clearly defined responsibilities in those four deputy commissioners.

“So, things will be better. I am sure there will be better performance in those areas and other officers can now look forward to, in due course, filling those appointments. It will help to enhance the specialisation of the Police Force. It will help to spur the career mobility of officers and I am convinced that the efficiency of the Police Force as a whole will be enhanced,” the Head of State said.

The President noted that it is his expectation to meet with the new Commissioner and deputies today where discussions will take place on the appointments to each of the four areas identified.

“I was not interested in having a foreigner head the Guyana Police Force. I felt that we had local talent. I think the process has resulted in the best five being selected to lead the force and I will be meeting later today with the Commissioner and deputy commissioners. I think this is the best outcome and they are all fit and proper persons to lead the Police Force,” he said. (Ministry of the Presidency)

• mceclip0

I recall that story,anyway your frenno didn't make it to be top cop.At the least he still got a position.

I spoke with him last week, he had high hopes of getting the position . he’s  in a good position anyway . He work his way up as a traffic officer ...down to earth and cool guy and not racial. 

Dave,

suh what you think James will cut the mustard ?

I think it’s a smart move by Granger appointing the 4 deputy’s, who are qualify in strategic areas. These deputy’s will make Leslie shine. 

I knew Leslie through Bramma.. I will leave it here lol. 

BREAKING: Leslie James named as new Commissioner of Police -appointment to take immediate effect

President David Granger, today, announced that following consultations with the Leader of the Opposition, Mr. Bharrat Jagdeo at State House, Mr. Leslie Albert James will now serve as the Commissioner of Police with immediate effect.

Perhaps a compromise after discussions with the Leader of the Opposition.

All the best on the appointment as Commissioner of Police.

“So, things will be better. I am sure there will be better performance in those areas and other officers can now look forward to, in due course, filling those appointments. It will help to enhance the specialisation of the Police Force. It will help to spur the career mobility of officers and I am convinced that the efficiency of the Police Force as a whole will be enhanced,” the Head of State said.

Let's remember this statement from the president a year from today.

an attempt could't be made to have some diversity???

Love it when these questions were ignored when asked when the PPP was in power.   The PPP excluded for 23 years so we can expect APNU to do the same now.

Dave,

I think it’s a smart move by Granger appointing the 4 deputy’s, who are qualify in strategic areas. These deputy’s will make Leslie shine. 

Is Bramma one of your business associates?

Love it when these questions were ignored when asked when the PPP was in power.   The PPP excluded for 23 years so we can expect APNU to do the same now.

Carib you have to look on the  bright side, at least them fellas did not call you Lucus Mangope.

Dave,

Wow! You got good connections deh bhaiji. 

Dave,

Is Bramma one of your business associates?

Not those kind of business that you’re thinking of. 

somebody should have the cajones to break the cycle...otherwise it's just running round and round and round...like we do do here on GNI

Bai Ray

We are seeing the results of a policy of tit for tat. Guyana is screwed. 

Let us assume a PPP victory in 2020, this cycle will continue. 

Abbie Pun Tap mentality is destroying Guyana. 

Top Cop must be given a fair chance to work – Jagdeo

Newly appointed Commissioner of Police, Leslie James has the full support of the Leader of the Opposition Bharrat Jagdeo who says the public should also give him a fair chance to serve.

“Any Commissioner of Police would have our full support. We have to support our law enforcement agencies,” Mr Jagdeo told reporters at a news conference Thursday afternoon at his Church Street office.

“If he’s going to be the Commissioner of Police, then he has to enjoy the trust of the whole country until he proves that he can’t enjoy that trust … we have to give him a fair chance to work,” Mr Jagdeo stated.

Mr Jagdeo had earlier in the day met with President David Granger where they discussed the new appointments in the Guyana Police Force (GPF).

The Constitution of Guyana provides for the President to appoint a Commissioner of Police and Deputy Commissioners after having meaningful consultations with the Opposition Leader and the Police Service Commission (PSC).

Mr Jagdeo raised with the Head-of-State some concerns regarding the process of selection of the new police leaders and what method was employed to ensure the Top Cop met his criteria of being “unbribable” and “intelligent”.

Assistant Police Commissioner David Ramnarine, who was acting at Top Cop for several months, had applied to be confirmed in the post but he did not make the cut.

Mr Jagdeo said he asked President Granger why Ramnarine was not considered, to which the Head-of-State said he had “specific reasons,” however, the President did not reveal what those reasons were.

The Opposition Leader was also concerned about the role the Chairman of the PSC, Paul Slowe played in the selection process since he was the Head of the Commission of Inquiry (COI) which made several recommendations for a shakeup in the GPF.

“You know I had a view on the purpose of that COI. I believe it was a hatchet job for some of the candidates and so I had to seek assurance from the President that that was not a factor,” Jagdeo explained.

But he said President Granger assured that Slowe had recused himself at the PSC when some of the nominees were discussed.

Jagdeo was also concerned that there was no “meaningful consultation” between him and the Head-of-State on the appointment of the new Top Cop since he was only informed of the President’s choice Thursday morning.

He explained that on Tuesday, the President’s Office supplied a list of five nominees but did not say which individuals were being considered for the various posts within the GPF.

Jagdeo said only after he wrote the President to request that he specify which individual is his nominee for the Police Commissioner, he was informed that it was Leslie James.

Nonetheless, the Opposition Leader says he has no “positive of adverse” views on James’ appointment.

somebody should have the cajones to break the cycle...otherwise it's just running round and round and round...like we do do here on GNI

Yes the PPP.  They started it in 1961.

Maybe Guyana should put some rules in place to encourage diversity in Govt...PPP/AFC/PNC or any other party

As I have said on many occasions if the private sector doesn't show diversity then neither will the public sector.

So if you want diversity ensure that it exists in all facets of Guyanese life.  We don't tolerate corporations in the USA to be racist so why should this be allowed in Guyana?

Maybe Guyana should put some rules in place to encourage diversity in Govt...PPP/AFC/PNC or any other party

As I have said on many occasions if the private sector doesn't show diversity then neither will the public sector.

So if you want diversity ensure that it exists in all facets of Guyanese life.  We don't tolerate corporations in the USA to be racist so why should this be allowed in Guyana?

Huh? Do you live in America? If so, where?

America has laws against racism-it doan wuk. Guyana is a racist country-no laws deh but the ppl has that attitude. Attitude is an inborn trait-see how blacks just naturally hate the Indian ppl.

Who seh no law nah deh ? check the Constitution,there are laws.

How can a dictatorship follow any constitution?