Guyana seeks manufacturing investments

─ President Granger tells US Congressmen and team

─ A number of areas discussed during meet including the geographic overview of Guyana, its hemispheric affiliations, the emerging oil and gas sector and Guyana’s pursuit of a ‘green’ agenda and environmental conservation.  

DPI, Guyana, Monday, August 27, 2018

President David Granger told US Congressmen and other officials from the United States during their recent visit that Guyana is seeking investment in the manufacturing sector.

President Granger told the officials,

“Guyana’s economy has largely been distorted by the colonial experience; the over-emphasis on sugar and the involvement of the extractive industries particularly bauxite, manganese, timber, gold and diamonds. These industries despite the wealth and employment they have provided; they have not facilitated manufacturing.”

He pointed out that while manufacturing is still lagging behind in some countries, Guyana looks forward to future investment in those fields as it aims to further develop the local economy. He explained with efforts to facilitate manufacturing in Guyana and with the adverse effects of climate change, the protection of the environment is a priority for the government.

“We can see that our coastal zones are being damaged partly as a result of global warming and we are committed to protecting our rivers, protecting our air quality, protecting our forests. So we were able to explain and convince them of our commitment to protecting the environment even as we go more deeply into the extractive industries,” President Granger recalled of the meeting.

A number of areas were discussed with the focus being on Guyana. These included the geographic overview of Guyana, its hemispheric affiliations and shared borders; a strategic outline on the Guyana/Venezuela border controversy, territorial controversy with Suriname, Guyana’s international relations and the migration of Venezuelans into Guyana; the emerging oil and gas sector and Guyana’s pursuit of a ‘green’ agenda and environmental conservation.

Unless they plan on manufacturing widgets by hand, the prerequisite for any large scale manufacturing industry is cheap and reliable electricity. Once again, the proverbial cart before the horse.

The PPP Govt was about to get Guyana cheap, reliable electricity then DISASTER and the Namakaram Crabdaag came along!!!!!

Wasn't cheap. The cost was way too high. Might have been fine decades ago but there are cheaper, more efficient options today due to advancement in technology.

The hundreds of thousands of Guyanese living in North America use curry powders manufactured in India. I think this is area of opportunity for the curry powder manufacturers in Guyana.  They should do a study why Guyanese don't buy their products and come up with solutions. If they can increase their market share it can translate into huge profits and thousands of jobs.

Another useless "study". The importers into the US (who are indo caribbean) prefer to get it CHEAPER from other countries. I read where they were bagging indonesian rice or some such and passing it off as Guyana rice. Same for the fish and other products. All in the name of the almighty buck.

You give up too fast.  We need people with courage and drive to bring changes whether in business or politics. Guyanese manufacturers can work on reducing their cost of production and tap into the market.

Last edited by Billy Ram Balgobin

Billy. I does roast and grind my own Masalla

Which GNI gyal taught you how to do it?

There's your solution. Alyuh 2 can have your own brand. Ramgoat and Drunky masala. goes great with XM rum and goat curry. LMAO.

Hire Labba man. he can promote fuh labba curry.

Billy. I does roast and grind my own Masalla

Which GNI gyal taught you how to do it?

There's your solution. Alyuh 2 can have your own brand. Ramgoat and Drunky masala. goes great with XM rum and goat curry. LMAO.

You should take Granger seriously when he talks about manufacturing guava cheese and plantain chips.  

nuff foreigner like guava cheese and plantain chips bai. Even the dominicans into plantain chips now. Mr. Labba don't like plantain chips though. De salt duz mek he lip swell up mo fat.

Nuff foreigner like curry and masala too. Dem anti-Indian dogs in Guyana does kill for curry and masala more then the Indians. 

Whatax!

.and where did I say foreigners didn't? After a joke about you and Nehru entering business, and no pejoratives about curry, you respond with "plantain chips and guava cheese". Now you come again with yuh backhanded racist shit.

Alyuh small mindedness and indian supremacy, not to mention outright racism can't help from oozing into every discussion, eh? Alyuh full of puss, infested with sores of racism.

I have to say, I've never met racist Indians like the ones that post here. Unless those Indians I met have these feelings too and are afraid to vent them in public. Reason to be careful.

.and where did I say foreigners didn't? After a joke about you and Nehru entering business, and no pejoratives about curry, you respond with "plantain chips and guava cheese". Now you come again with yuh backhanded racist shit.

Alyuh small mindedness and indian supremacy, not to mention outright racism can't help from oozing into every discussion, eh? Alyuh full of puss, infested with sores of racism.

I have to say, I've never met racist Indians like the ones that post here. Unless those Indians I met have these feelings too and are afraid to vent them in public. Reason to be careful.

Well, maybe this is not the forum you want to be on. Another comedian onboard.

Charging racism against Indians seems to be your wonder weapon. I've encountered big mouths like you who bashes Indos with the worst kind of racial venom and then turn around and play the victim.  Your posts has the stench of racial hate and bitterness. Go get a life.

You ignorant, uneducated douchebag of a ramgoat, point me to ONE post where I bashed "indos with the worst kind of racial venom" or "stench of racial hate". ONE! Otherwise STFU!!!!

It's all there to see. You are just a low life who is trying to intimidate people on this forum with your personal attacks.  

I belong here. Light needs to be shone on the bigotry and hatred alyuh call "politics". Cockroaches don't like light. Y'all can try to shut it out (see the deletion of my posts pointing out the racism of cussbird Seignet), but I gon keep turning the light on alyuh. You're known, and the rest of the world, particularly the ABC countries know now what alyuh engage in.

It's all there to see. You are just a low life who is trying to intimidate people on this forum with your personal attacks.  

Show we nah Ramgoat? If it there for all  to see, go pick one racist post of mine and show abee mere mortals! You lying scumbag.

I belong here. Light needs to be shone on the bigotry and hatred alyuh call "politics". Cockroaches don't like light. Y'all can try to shut it out (see the deletion of my posts pointing out the racism of cussbird Seignet), but I gon keep turning the light on alyuh. You're known, and the rest of the world, particularly the ABC countries know now what alyuh engage in.

Iguana sounds like those die-hard PNC Afros who hate the guts of Indians. Worst kind of people in Guyana. 

Show we nah Ramgoat? If it there for all  to see, go pick one racist post of mine and show abee mere mortals! You lying scumbag.

Go F yourself you bare-faced lowlife daag. 

Iguana sounds like those die-hard PNC Afros who hate the guts of Indians. Worst kind of people in Guyana. 

mmmmm hmmmmmm....and you now sound like the low class, low intelligence bottom feeder that you are. Ah still waiting to see de racist posts yuh seh ah mek. Stop posting shit upon shit and guh find de posts you lying sack of feces.

Alyuh getting exposed. De lying, traitorous dog KP and Ramgoat the lying moron. Common denominator - LIARS!

Go F yourself you bare-faced lowlife daag. 

Yessssssssss......lacking the evidence to support the bald faced LIES he told, the moron returns to the vomit from whence he came. Maggot.

n

Gwana wants Guyana to be a an African type of dictatorship like Idi Amin's Uganda....no coolies.

Oh! Skont, somebody deleted your post on my racism? I want to read wah was going on that thread. Direct me to it. 

Gwana wants Guyana to be a an African type of dictatorship like Idi Amin's Uganda....no coolies.

Don't project your racism on me. I've said several times since my advent here that Guyana belongs to all Guyanese equally. Ramgoat still looking for the racist posts I've made, gave up and returned to the vomit that bred him.

I've never seen such a statement from you. From your remarks here there is little doubt, despite your protests, that you consider black folks substandard humans and inferior to you. THAT, is the true definition of a racist.

Oh! Skont, somebody deleted your post on my racism? I want to read wah was going on that thread. Direct me to it. 

The post was deleted. I referenced your writing about being the only Indian in your group of classmates circa 1948 and pointed out that you were accepted and embraced by these black folks, contradicting what is written here constantly that black man ate Indians alive back then.

Of course I also pointed out your hypocrisy, that after being taught and embraced by black man you come hay every day and cuss dem daily. That was the jist of my post. It was deleted. There were other posts I made on that thread referencing another lowlife racist that were also deleted.

I care not to remember and drudge that up. Caribny said it is common practice for posts that point out indian racism here to be deleted while the most racist KKK posts by Indians are left and none of those posters even admonished. Is all right though. Ah kno what ah dealing wid.

Unless they plan on manufacturing widgets by hand, the prerequisite for any large scale manufacturing industry is cheap and reliable electricity. Once again, the proverbial cart before the horse.

Yall pnc bannas kill off de Amelia falls. We ain't forget how you bray day and night against Amelia under d2 handle.

Well, we indoes are in control here. And we protect one another. We know our enemies.

mmm hmmmm. Pity the black man you ran and played with in 1948 didn't have the same thinking and leave you in the gutter where they found you. Instead they raised and educated your ungrateful, clannish, racist ass.

Well, we indoes are in control here. And we protect one another. We know our enemies.

mmm hmmmm. Pity the black man you ran and played with in 1948 didn't have the same thinking and leave you in the gutter where they found you. Instead they raised and educated your ungrateful, clannish, racist ass.

Some of dem same chaps, were beating up cooolies at Wismar, some became policemen, some became involved in the youth arm of PNC. Overall, they became Burnhamites. They know, I know what they were, just as they knew I am an Indian suh I must be a Jaganite. 

We were friends from lil days. Having beers and chicken in the ruff whenever I visited Guyana was a regular thing. And travelling around in GT, was never alone. Some accompanied me.

Guyana is a divided country, choosing sides doan mek a person a racist.

The Good God protects me with decent ppl. I was never in the gutter, praise be to God. Wisdom is a gift from God, Hallelujah. 

Clannishness is nah a cooolie thing, dem black ppl have dat too.

Same old thing we hearing.

I actually agree with you but this is no shock given the communist orientation of both the PPP and the PNC.  Neither have a clue about how to stimulate more value added activities in Guyana.

If you met these people in real life they would be trembling in fear. Druggie will be trying to see if he could use your black baigan.

yes people often don't express their real opinions in public.  I began to understand the full extent of racism on various forums with the arrival of the internet. As bad as GNI is some were even worse.

What I notice is that when Guyanese from overseas (usually Afro) develop various programs to help Guyanese they do so without regard to race.  I see loads of Indians in their various programs.

Pity that some folks here cannot think of themselves as being primarily Guyanese and only secondarily as Indians.

Clannishness is nah a cooolie thing, dem black ppl have dat too.

The notion of blacks being clannish is a joke, and most especially Guyanese blacks.  Only one thing unites them and that is fear of Indian domination. 

Look how Harmon and his buddies are taking bribes from the Indo oligarchs and keeping the same status quo that developed under Jagdeo.