I keeping out of this Ham story..Iman doan know that stuff, with me being vegetarian.

No matter what you do, you still cursed. I hear smoking plenty weed does help lift the curse.

“The details and symbols of your life have been deliberately constructed to make you believe what white people say about you. Please try to remember that what they believe, as well as what they do and cause you to endure, does not testify to your inferiority but to their inhumanity and fear.”
James Baldwin, The Fire Next Time

I keeping out of this Ham story..Iman doan know that stuff, with me being vegetarian.

Ham is a Haram meat. One should wonder why the word is associated with African Slavery. Swines are looked upon as dirty. The BIble says all kinds of things about the animal.

antabanta posted:

No matter what you do, you still cursed. I hear smoking plenty weed does help lift the curse.

Iman got some puffin to do.

antabanta posted:

One should wonder why the word is associated with African Slavery.

Why?

The man say "one should wonder," so dah is why you gaffa wonder bout it.

The man trying to allude that Africans are swine because he does not have the guts to state his racism openly.

“It is entirely unacceptable that I should have no voice in the political affairs of my own country, for I am not a ward of America; I am one of the first Americans to arrive on these shores.”

“But as long as we in the West place on color the value that we do, we make it impossible for the great unwashed to consolidate themselves according to any other principle. Color is not a human or a personal reality; it is a political reality.”

antabanta posted:

Why?

The man trying to allude that Africans are swine because he does not have the guts to state his racism openly.

Sure, I am racist. Isn't everybody?

I rather live in a white society than in Guyana. 

I have more association with Black folks from the Caribbean and Africa than any other race. Out of 10 ppl I would know, 9 are blacks.

Guyanese Blacks association is not there for me, racism is core to their being. In everything of their interaction with an Indian is racist-youh can juss feel it and sense it. Like yuh.

I grew up in Guyana in a mixed village. Went to school with lots of Black guys, played together. In 1955, when divisions came along ethnic lines, Black villagers did not spare their words for the Indians among them. They spoke freely of how backward Indians were. 

I expressing mehself. Duh fuh duh nah obeah. 

antabanta posted:

“But as long as we in the West place on color the value that we do, we make it impossible for the great unwashed to consolidate themselves according to any other principle. Color is not a human or a personal reality; it is a political reality.”

Baldwin muss be a dunce. In White Societies, it is all about color, he can't wish it away. This Nigerian lady was telling me about her sister(i met dem all), she referred to her as the black one. That is not racist.

antabanta posted:

Why?

I have more association with Black folks from the Caribbean and Africa than any other race. Out of 10 ppl I would know, 9 are blacks.

Guyanese Blacks association is not there for me, racism is core to their being. In everything of their interaction with an Indian is racist-youh can juss feel it and sense it. Like yuh.

I grew up in Guyana in a mixed village. Went to school with lots of Black guys, played together. In 1955, when divisions came along ethnic lines, Black villagers did not spare their words for the Indians among them. They spoke freely of how backward Indians were. 

No, everybody is not racist. Surprise! Don't let your acquaintanceship with 9 blacks out of 10 people mislead you into believing you know black people for the simple reason that anyone who knows black people could not possible be such a racist prick. Considering your views on black people, it's a pity they didn't do more to you than use harsh words in 1955.

Last edited by antabanta
antabanta posted:

Baldwin muss be a dunce. In White Societies, it is all about color, he can't wish it away. This Nigerian lady was telling me about her sister(i met dem all), she referred to her as the black one. That is not racist.

With people like you around, we will never be rid of the color distinction. Baldwin's recognition and presenting the issue for what it is makes him a genius. Your words on this forum have convinced us that you're more of a dunce than Baldwin could ever be.

Last edited by antabanta
antabanta posted:

Why?

No, everybody is not racist. Surprise! Don't let your acquaintanceship with 9 blacks out of 10 people mislead you into believing you know black people for the simple reason that anyone who knows black people could not possible be such a racist prick. Considering your views on black people, it's a pity they didn't do more to you than use harsh words in 1955.

Dem beatup cooolie ppl, plenty. 

I know ppl, not Black ppl. Whatever happen to Baldwin lessons?

There are no Blacks like Guyanese Blacks-hateful. Maybe the Africans round up that tribe and sold them to the West Indies.

Everybody is a racist. You and I talking, and I know you is a racists. I doan dislike you for that. Perfection has not reached mankind as yet. 

antabanta posted:

With people like you around, we will never be rid of the color distinction. Baldwin's recognition and presenting the issue for what it is makes him a genius. Your words on this forum have convinced us that you're more of a dunce than Baldwin could ever be.

Reality meh bruddah. I doan know how yu arrived at the conclusion that mankind can live in harmony. Todays world is right in yuh face and you still have hope for race relations?

I am really really smart.

Last edited by seignet
antabanta posted:

Why?

Dem beatup cooolie ppl, plenty. 

I know ppl, not Black ppl. Whatever happen to Baldwin lessons?

There are no Blacks like Guyanese Blacks-hateful. Maybe the Africans round up that tribe and sold them to the West Indies.

Everybody is a racist. You and I talking, and I know you is a racists. I doan dislike you for that. Perfection has not reached mankind as yet. 

What about Baldwin's lessons? So how is it you love white people in general despite the much worse atrocities they committed against black and coolie but you hate black people in general for their violence against coolie? Using your logic, can we say that all white people are hateful? They did a hell of a lot worse to blacks and Indians than blacks did to Indians.

Reality meh bruddah. I doan know how yu arrived at the conclusion that mankind can live in harmony. Todays world is right in yuh face and you still have hope for race relations?

I am really really smart.

It's wrong to hope for better? Keep repeating how smart you are. You might believe it.

“When Malcolm X, who is considered the movement’s second-in-command, and heir apparent, points out that the cry of “violence” was not raised, for example, when the Israelis fought to regain Israel, and, indeed, is raised only when black men indicate that they will fight for their rights, he is speaking the truth. The conquests of England, every single one of them bloody, are part of what Americans have in mind when they speak of England’s glory. In the United States, violence and heroism have been made synonymous except when it comes to blacks, and the only way to defeat Malcolm’s point is to concede it and then ask oneself why this is so.”

Profound.

“White Americans find it as difficult as white people elsewhere do to divest themselves of the notion that they are in possession of some intrinsic value that black people need, or want. And this assumption—which, for example, makes the solution to the Negro problem depend on the speed with which Negroes accept and adopt white standards—is revealed in all kinds of striking ways, from Bobby Kennedy’s assurance that a Negro can become President in forty years to the unfortunate tone of warm congratulation with which so many liberals address their Negro equals. It is the Negro, of course, who is presumed to have become equal—an achievement that not only proves the comforting fact that perseverance has no color but also overwhelmingly corroborates the white man’s sense of his own value.”

“You must put yourself in the skin of a man who is wearing the uniform of his country, is a candidate for death in its defense, and who is called a “nig***” by his comrades-in-arms and his officers; who is almost always given the hardest, ugliest, most menial work to do; who knows that the white G.I. has informed the Europeans that he is subhuman (so much for the American male’s sexual security); who does not dance at the U.S.O. the night white soldiers dance there, and does not drink in the same bars white soldiers drink in; and who watches German prisoners of war being treated by Americans with more human dignity than he has ever received at their hands. And who, at the same time, as a human being, is far freer in a strange land than he has ever been at home. Home! The very word begins to have a despairing and diabolical ring. You must consider what happens to this citizen, after all he has endured, when he returns—home: search, in his shoes, for a job, for a place to live; ride, in his skin, on segregated buses; see, with his eyes, the signs saying “White” and “Colored,” and especially the signs that say “White Ladies” and “Colored Women”; look into the eyes of his wife; look into the eyes of his son; listen, with his ears, to political speeches, North and South; imagine yourself being told to “wait.” And all this is happening in the richest and freest country in the world, and in the middle of the twentieth century. The subtle and deadly change of heart that might occur in you would be involved with the realization that a civilization is not destroyed by wicked people; it is not necessary that people be wicked but only that they be spineless.” ― James Baldwin, The Fire Next Time

Last edited by antabanta

“I cannot accept the proposition that the four-hundred-year travail of the American Negro should result merely in his attainment of the present level of American civilisation. I am far from convinced that being released from the African witch doctor was worthwhile if I am now - in order to support the moral contradictions and the spiritual aridity of my life - expected to become dependent on the American psychiatrist. It is a bargain I refuse.”

“Any upheaval in the universe is terrifying because it so profoundly attacks one’s sense of one’s own reality. Well, the black man has functioned in the white man’s world as a fixed star, as an immovable pillar: and as he moves out of his place, heaven and earth are shaken to their foundations.”