July 29 2018

Guyanese on social media were euphoric last week when it was announced that the country now has at least 4 billion barrels of recoverable reserves. This would imply a capacity to produce 750,000 barrels per day. OilNow reported Minister Trotman as being very optimistic and even carried the headline “The coming oil bonanza.” Members of the government and Mr Trotman have always implied that Guyana will make billions of US dollars through volume of production. I and others have argued that the percentage terms in the contract, the signing bonus and the uncertain cost structure are not in the country’s favour. Therefore, the big money is dependent on volume given the low percentages. The Minister notes that Guyana will make more money than it can spend in a lifetime. I am not so sure what that means since the issues of demand, time and volatility have to be taken into account.

The estimate of 4 billion barrels of proven reserves is still likely conservative; therefore, the minister might have a point even after accounting for demand, time and volatility. Guyana would likely realize at least 10 billion barrels of proven reserves and capacity to produce over one million barrels per day by the middle to late 2020s. Guyana is an important part of ExxonMobil’s long-term strategy that involves shifting production to the Western Hemisphere and shale in the United States. There is certainly a crucial geo-political dimension to this strategy as much as the economics of transportation cost. It appears like Guyana’s leaders made a bargain for America’s political support on the spurious border claim by Venezuela in exchange for large-scale production and an unfavourable contract. Exactly how this will play out when a right-wing government gets back into power in Venezuela is not yet certain. It might turn out one day that those percentages should have been higher.

Percentages and geo-politics aside, let’s discuss the problems a well-intentioned elite group of politicians, business owners and executives must address if the country is to use its oil revenues in fair and efficient ways. However, at this moment, the dominant political and business organizations appear unwilling to face  the big questions, such as the ethnic divisions in the country, the waning credibility of the election machinery and others. For example, the Private Sector Commission (PSC) got Norway-based Rystad Energy to tell us that Guyana, which has approximately 850, 000 people, has the highest per capita oil reserves in the world. Well, duh? Isn’t the PSC interested in hearing a little about the possible downside risks if there is no constitutional and electoral overhaul, for example? Does the PSC want a balanced and meritocratic civil service or one which is susceptible to side payments?

Today, as I write this column, Mr Jagdeo has said he is not interested in talks with the PNCR at this point, the bona fide political representative of the  majority Afro-Guyanese. Mr Jagdeo made it clear that he and his party are interested in local government elections. They do not see much merit in discussing crucial questions pertaining to income and wealth distribution, governance, constitutional overall, and electoral revamping. Winning is all that matters. It would be remembered that President Carter appeared to have reopened a channel of dialogue, but this might have fallen off the radar of the Guyanese president and opposition leader. Mr Jagdeo and the PPP are in for a rough ride when they likely win the election in 2020 or 2021. 

As for the PNCR, since 2015 it has made it clear that it is determined to re-dominate the civil service at pre-1992 levels. President Granger says nice words, often little, therefore, we have to judge him by his revealed preferences. It is clear with the choice of the Permanent Secretaries and many other signals that he and his party are embarking on pre-1992 level of domination and exclusion of the masses of East Indians. As mentioned in my resource curse essays, the public service is all important because the coming oil revenues will flow to central government, which then decides how to spend, produce and employ. The government and civil service, therefore, become the most important economic actor after 2020.

This week it was reported by the government’s DPI that Afro-Guyanese entrepreneurs are being encouraged to receive funding from government. The principle indicates a good idea and it appears like Mr Eric Phillips has his finger on a few right buttons. I mentioned similar themes in my Development Watch columns of past. However, I am pessimistic that micro enterprises and village economies are the way to go about solving what really is a major coordination problem, which requires Afro-Guyanese, East Indians and others cooperating. The coordination problem cannot be solved by circulating moneys only within one ethnic group. Therefore, I am left with the feeling that this policy – as well as some of the comments blaming commercial banks – is intended to stoke the strategic vote of the PNCR’s ethnic base. It’s like their Babu Jaan moment or their Mighty Rebel (“Desi yuh wrong!”) moment.

The problem, furthermore, is these forms of affirmative action must be situated in a very broad discussion of distribution of income and wealth (including stock of human capital, which is a form of wealth) from 1964 to 1992, 1992 to 2015, and 2015 to present. We need to be transparent on things, such as ethnic distribution of employment in the civil service, semi-autonomous agencies, army and private sector, as well as government scholarship awards (not the ones going through political parties), and business ownership, such as sole proprietorships, partnerships and joint stock companies. We have to compare the degree of fairness in distribution of homes during the PNC time and recent PPP times. For example, let us do a wealth audit of ownership in housing schemes created in South Georgetown, Agricola and elsewhere during the PNC and Diamond, Eccles, etc, during the PPP/C.

Such audits might sound difficult to conduct, but it is not as daunting a task. The country desperately needs them because as Mr Ravi Dev proposed over 20 years ago, there is need for ethnic impact statements of economic policy. Addressing perceived discrimination in policy will require transparency and data, not extrapolation from one anecdote. It is time the government place online the names of all those who were awarded scholarships and contracts via procurement. This should be made public going back to pre-1992.

At this point, the most important role President Carter and even ExxonMobil can play is to get the PNCR, PPP/C and independents to agree to a fundamentally new constitution and electoral system, including a new politically independent elections commission. Transparency, a new constitution and a competitive electoral system are the only ways to consolidate democracy and prevent waste of oil revenues. These measures are also better at dealing with corruption. 

The next time the PSC or Ministry of Natural Resources invite foreign guests to speak, I would like to hear less about sovereign wealth funds and more about how to manage the harmful outcomes of ethnic strategic voting, income inequality and oil, and wealth inequality and oil. Let them also discuss matters such as GDP growth versus level shifts that will occur in 2020/21 and around 2025, constitutional overhaul and electoral redesign to minimize the resource curse, making the civil service developmental instead of a battleground for ethnic patronage, etc. 

Moreover, it would be helpful for the PSC and the government to get serious economic historians – and not the type focusing on who suffered more than whom – to bring lessons from history regarding why Guyana’s unique polder system will make village economies difficult to generate and sustain wealth. How can these lessons of history help in organizing a form of economics for business success of Afro-Guyanese, Indigenous people and former sugar workers? What does the interaction of history and Guyana’s geography have to do with commercial banks’ lending policy today? Are the banks intrinsically malicious for not lending to micro enterprises, as implied by the head of the Small Business Bureau?

Comments can be sent to Tarron Khemraj at tkhemraj@ncf.edu

"Today, as I write this column, Mr Jagdeo has said he is not interested in talks with the PNCR at this point, the bona fide political representative of the  majority Afro-Guyanese. Mr Jagdeo made it clear that he and his party are interested in local government elections. They do not see much merit in discussing crucial questions pertaining to income and wealth distribution, governance, constitutional overall, and electoral revamping. Winning is all that matters. It would be remembered that President Carter appeared to have reopened a channel of dialogue, but this might have fallen off the radar of the Guyanese president and opposition leader.

Mr Jagdeo and the PPP are in for a rough ride when they likely win the election in 2020 or 2021."

Hey hey TK orbuculum seh Jagdeo PPP will likely win the next election.

I believe the ppp has a good chance if all is free and fair. The PNC stumbling around while the economy tumble more and more. 

PNC= No Wuk, no money, no food, suffering in the land.   

All dem who wanted to see the back of Jagdeo at all cost, well dem got their wish.  Now they pretend to forget their stupidity!

I believe the ppp has a good chance if all is free and fair. The PNC stumbling around while the economy tumble more and more. 

All dem who wanted to see the back of Jagdeo at all cost, well dem got their wish.  Now they pretend to forget their stupidity!

Me thinks Jadeo PPP cork will stay duck at the next election.

Talking bout the economy,that DPI media lying ? or because Sugar dead the whole country heading to dooms day ?

I believe the ppp has a good chance if all is free and fair. The PNC stumbling around while the economy tumble more and more

alyuh sure y'all want to hang alyuh 2020 'elections' hat pan dat dere mirage ting?

mmmmmm . . .

I believe the ppp has a good chance if all is free and fair. The PNC stumbling around while the economy tumble more and more

alyuh sure y'all want to hang alyuh 2020 'elections' hat pan dat dere mirage ting?

mmmmmm . . .

Bai, get serious for a change!

mmmmmm . . .

Bai, get serious for a change!

yuh farting yujiesque dribble like "PNC= No Wuk, no money, no food, suffering in the land" . . . and i'm the unserious one?

banna tek a seat

This TK banna makes a economic good analysis. I like the idea of this so called ethnic impact statement. Its one way to address the perception that government policy benefits a particular ethnic group.

However, he is wrong about the PPP winning the election in 2020, with or without Jagdeo. He ignores the fact that the PPP does not have the numbers, or the fact that the PNC controls the institutions that makes it possible to "win" with minor rigging, unlike the Burnhamesque tradition. In that sense, Tarran is naive.

If the economy is booming, I dont think Indos will have a problem if Afros dominate the institutions of power and the government, as long is they are progressing economically. Indos have to get used to the fact that the PPP will not be allowed to rule Guyana in the near future. Afros will not allow Jagdeo and the PPP to get their hands on that oil money that is pouring in...too much animosity between the two groups...and yes, Afros will turn a Nelson eye to any PNC rigging...with Carter as an observer or not.

"Today, as I write this column, Mr Jagdeo has said he is not interested in talks with the PNCR at this point, the bona fide political representative of the  majority Afro-Guyanese. Mr Jagdeo made it clear that he and his party are interested in local government elections. They do not see much merit in discussing crucial questions pertaining to income and wealth distribution, governance, constitutional overall, and electoral revamping. Winning is all that matters. It would be remembered that President Carter appeared to have reopened a channel of dialogue, but this might have fallen off the radar of the Guyanese president and opposition leader.

Mr Jagdeo and the PPP are in for a rough ride when they likely win the election in 2020 or 2021."

He should stick with economics, and stay away from making political predictions....just like Jagan should have been better off sticking to dentistry, rather than promoting communist policy and politics.

On what basis is he making this prediction?

This TK banna makes a economic good analysis. I like the idea of this so called ethnic impact statement. Its one way to address the perception that government policy benefits a particular ethnic group.

However, he is wrong about the PPP winning the election in 2020, with or without Jagdeo. He ignores the fact that the PPP does not have the numbers, or the fact that the PNC controls the institutions that makes it possible to "win" with minor rigging, unlike the Burnhamesque tradition. In that sense, Tarran is naive.

If the economy is booming, I dont think Indos will have a problem if Afros dominate the institutions of power and the government, as long is they are progressing economically. Indos have to get used to the fact that the PPP will not be allowed to rule Guyana in the near future. Afros will not allow Jagdeo and the PPP to get their hands on that oil money that is pouring in...too much animosity between the two groups...and yes, Afros will turn a Nelson eye to any PNC rigging...with Carter as an observer or not.

And what do you know of Guyana politics and it’s sentiments.  Until recently, you dint even know wuh is punani!

What BS, so what qualifies anyone being into politics.  BJ is an economist and turned out to be a successful leader.  Trump builds things, now he rebuilding America!

when did Afro-Guyanese become a demographic majority in Guyana? 

"[From TK's 7/29/18 SN Column] Mr Jagdeo has said he is not interested in talks with the PNCR at this point, the bona fide political representative of the majority Afro-Guyanese"

we must assume that this is is a typographical error since i know of no census which validates such nonsense

anyways, i will have a fuller takedown, later, of Tarron Khemraj's lightly camouflaged ethnic politicking predicated on a bundle of remarkable LIES and tendentious massaging of facts that were actually flight tested on GNI by that enigmatic race man "Labba"

And what do you know of Guyana politics and it’s sentiments.  Until recently, you dint even know wuh is punani!

Banna, why you being a knucklehead?

And why you so hung up on "punani"? You think every young Guyanese living outside of Guyana know what these words mean? You need to give people some breathing space to learn about their history.

FYI- I read a lot, not just the nansense some of you people post here, since I discover this site by accident.

Just finished these 2 books:

David Granger- The New Road -Short History of the GDF

Basdeo Mangru-Indenture and Abolition

What BS, so what qualifies anyone being into politics.  BJ is an economist and turned out to be a successful leader.  Trump builds things, now he rebuilding America!

LOL...wake up to reality banna....and stop pontificating from your safe haven outside Guyana. 

Guyana is not the US. Jagan has been outmaneuvered by Burnham for almost 30 years, and now Jagdeo and the PPP will be outmaneuvered by another generation....simply because BJ and Donald Ramotar messed up so badly... you call them successful leaders...while every Indo trying to leave that country? 

Tell me which smart Indo political leader came out of the region who can fit the class of Manley, Barrow, Eric Williams, etc? All dem Indos want to be doctors and lawyers, and they automatically feel they know everything.

Would you go to a dentist if you have stomach pain? My point is yall need to find intelligent and credible political leaders, not the likes of Texiera or fat boy Irfaan (who rose from the ranks of the PYO).

The only thing forcing young Indos today to aspire become clever politicians is because yall are a minority (cant depend on the automatic majority) and you have to find smart ways to survive alongside other ethnic groups in the country....this is a challenge most PPP leaders have not faced before...

"[From TK's 7/29/18 SN Column] Mr Jagdeo has said he is not interested in talks with the PNCR at this point, the bona fide political representative of the majority Afro-Guyanese"

we must assume that this is is a typographical error since i know of no census which validates such nonsense

anyways, i will have a fuller takedown, later, of Tarron Khemraj's lightly camouflaged ethnic politicking predicated on a bundle of remarkable LIES and tendentious massaging of facts that were actually flight tested on GNI by that enigmatic race man "Labba"

Stop being foolish...you know he is not talking about a census...just like the PPP is the bona fide representative of the Indos.

Anyway, cant wait to hear your TRUTH....

Stop being foolish...you know he is not talking about a census...just like the PPP is the bona fide representative of the Indos.

Vish fish up Antie Ronan.

Hey hey hey

first, i never claimed he was talking of a census . . . the reference to "census" was my sojourn into the subjunctive

i acknowledged that common sense indicates that this "must" be a typo

i am not in Tarron's head . . . it's up to him to correct his statement if it is a fact that SN goofed up

Guyana politicians have said weirder things and MEAN it!!

btw, picking up fire rage fuh fire rage sake is not manly

arite?

Hey hey hey...Mr uncle DG gat better orbuculum dan he. Hey hey hey...

Hey hey hey ... like yuh vex Mr TK seh discrimination na start 1992. Hey hey hey...or yuh seein ROAR jumbie, doopie, spitit, bacoo, olehigue, moon gazer? Hey hey hey...Yuh vex ayoo church do good one love President get call our foh de re domination dat kanta economis seh? Hey hey hey...

ow man, doan speculate

i lil busy . . . but de takedown soon come

patience

ow man, doan speculate

i lil busy . . . but de takedown soon come

patience

Hey hey hey...

Hey hey hey...ayoo hear de book sense, no street sense kanta economis talking bout aile. He ever wuk in aile? Mr Trotman gat harvard certificate. Hey hey hey...

Hey TK, rather than always looking at the glass half-empty, why don't you be more constructive regarding economic/social matters Guyana.

Why don't you put together a forward looking positive take on what could be done to ensure the Oil wealth get's to the people?

With the oil bonanza to buttress the economy:

- How could it be used to boost the productivity and viability of Guyana's indigenous economy?

- How do they transform the agro economy with more value-add down streaming?

- How about farm subsidies to ensure a stable and abundance in supply?

- How do they diversify and become a regional export power?

- How do they ensure the economic wealth flows to every crevice of the society.

- How about new ventures like revitalizing small ship building?

- Etc

You're smart boy, I'm sure you get the gist of my point!

I don't care who is in government when the oil money does start to show up. I just want my cut as a Guyanese. There will be war if any of these politicians try to do a Nigeria or similar on us. Do the maths. Each Guaynese will be worth at least U$1million.

Mr.T posted:

I don't care who is in government when the oil money does start to show up. I just want my cut as a Guyanese. There will be war if any of these politicians try to do a Nigeria or similar on us. Do the maths. Each Guaynese will be worth at least U$1million.

Mr.T posted:

Did u c the BBC documentary on the youths of Nigeria. Dey are very bright ppl, my church has a large number of students.

They had some very interesting points of view on entreperneurship-sort of brings to mind Lincoln Alexander and Philips attempt to empower the blacks of Guyana. Nigerian youths want to build sustainable businesses with any partnerships. Afro-Guyanese wants only Afro-Guyanese customers and Afro partners. With such approach, Alexander and Philips want the Blacks to eek out a living and at the same time entrepreneur the problems of corruptions.

Did u c the BBC documentary on the youths of Nigeria. Dey are very bright ppl, my church has a large number of students.

You duz write some nasty racist shit for a church man.

LOL...wake up to reality banna....and stop pontificating from your safe haven outside Guyana.
errrr....are you not also pontificatiing from a safe haven outside Guyana? LMAO

Guyana is not the US. Jagan has been outmaneuvered by Burnham
Jagan no longer with us bai!

All dem Indos want to be doctors and lawyers, and they automatically feel they know everything.
Reminds us of you!

Would you go to a dentist if you have stomach pain?
Yugi does. His guts are in his mouth

See above in red bold.

Mr.T posted:

Each Guyanese will get one katahar, a dry coconut and a PNC flag.

Hey hey hey...ayoo hear de book sense, no street sense kanta economis talking bout aile. He ever wuk in aile? Mr Trotman gat harvard certificate. Hey hey hey...

Hey TK, rather than always looking at the glass half-empty, why don't you be more constructive regarding economic/social matters Guyana.

Why don't you put together a forward looking positive take on what could be done to ensure the Oil wealth get's to the people?

- How could it be used to boost the productivity and viability of Guyana's indigenous economy?

- Etc

Hey hey hey...Mr TK cyant do dem ting doh...yuh gat to get doers like Trump and Mr Dr Dr Dr Dr Dr Jagdoe. Mr TK is a talker not a doer. Yuh need street sense, be hustler. Book sense is no sense. Hey hey hey...

- Etc

Hey hey hey...Mr TK cyant do dem ting doh...yuh gat to get doers like Trump and Mr Dr Dr Dr Dr Dr Jagdoe. Mr TK is a talker not a doer. Yuh need street sense, be hustler. Book sense is no sense. Hey hey hey...

I suspected this would be your response however, I'm also sure in about two weeks we will see an article addressing exactly what I raised. 

Dem ah wach yuh!

Frenno Labba, the orbuculum says you're not what you Profess. 

Hey hey hey...Labba gat a cane juice stand pon Parika. He gat peppah tree and was wukkin off de book by Rockway before Trump cut up he runnins...hey hey hey