swears-in PSC members; plans to appoint four deputy commissioners

President David Granger with members of the new Police Service Commission, from left: Paul Slowe, Chairman; Vesta Adams,  President Granger, Claire Jarvis, Clinton Conway and Michael Somersall, Chairman of the Public Service Commission.

President David Granger has signaled intentions to commence the consultation process with Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo and the Police Service Commission (PSC) for the appointment of a new Commissioner of Police.
The President made the disclosure yesterday at State House after swearing-in members of the PSC, with retired Assistant Commissioner of Police, Paul Slowe as Chairman.
Speaking with reporters following the ceremony, the President indicated that he was still searching for a top cop, and ruled out recruiting an overseas candidate. He said the appointee must possess qualities of the ‘three Is’ – integrity, intelligence and impartiality.
“I don’t give orders to the Commissioner of Police, but I want somebody who is ‘unbribable’; I want somebody who is intelligent and I want somebody who is committed to carrying out the programmes of security sector reform, who has the initiative, and who can generate public trust,” Granger stated.
The President noted that the Commissioner must also command the trust of subordinates and the wider public.
“If I put somebody there who is not trustworthy the public would laugh,” the President stated.
Slowe said he plans to meet with the PSC members to review the potential candidates for Commissioner.
“It is not a one-man decision, but we will look for someone who is competent; someone who can command the respect of the members of the force and the public. People must have confidence in the person. I think those are the two main things I will look for,” Slowe stated.
The other PSC members are Chairman of the Public Service Commission, Michael Somersall, Vesta Adams, Clinton Conway and Claire Jarvis.
The search for a new top cop commenced when Seelall Persaud retired in February.
Back in April, eight Assistant Commissioners participated in a process at the Ministry of the Presidency that included a written test and interviews by a panel that included the President along with Public Security Minister, Khemraj Ramjattan.
Among the eight were acting Police Commissioners David Ramnarine, Clifton Hicken, Leslie James, Paul Williams, Lyndon Alves, Nigel Hoppie, Marlon Chapman and Maxine Graham.
“I understand the field from which I have to choose. Other jurisdictions in the Caribbean have invited officers from other countries like Britain and so on. I do intend to appoint a Guyanese,” the President assured.
He announced plans to fill the four positions of Deputy Commissioner. The force’s structure provides for four deputy commissioners, but for a number of years, these have been vacant. Granger explained that this has affected morale.
Prior to Persaud’s departure, the force faced a scathing report from the Commission of Inquiry (CoI) into the alleged assassination plot against the President. The CoI, headed by Slowe, recommended that Persaud should be made to resign his position as Commissioner under such terms and conditions that the President considered appropriate.
Persaud faced turbulent times at the head of the force which was highlighted by a public rift with Ramnarine. The rift had reached the level of Cabinet and was pointed out in the CoI report.
There were objections to Slowe’s appointment to the PSC from the opposition, who cited ‘baggage’, including the fact that he now has to oversee the appointment of officers named in the CoI report.

President David Granger has signaled intentions to commence the consultation process with Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo and the Police Service Commission (PSC) for the appointment of a new Commissioner of Police.

When is this going to happen? Who said Granger will listen? Is he going to pull a Patterson job again? The man is a bully and will unilaterally appoint a PNC card-carrying thug there. He is gearing up for the 2020 rigging.

I would recommend KP, but he likes to shake down his own coolee mattee for rice and daal. He was the badest one man PNC goon. He said so himself.

KP is a coolie. He cannot qualify.

I would recommend KP, but he likes to shake down his own coolee mattee for rice and daal. He was the badest one man PNC goon. He said so himself.

Stop harassing da bai early marning. Yuh ah provoke am.

Granger is doing what is Ramjattan's responsibility.

Ramjattan's responsibility is to listen to Granger and carry out his dictatorial orders. AFC members have no other responsibilities but to listen to God Granger through Messiah Harmon...or maybe God Harmon through Messiah Granger.

Hey Gay boy ,show me where I said so? If you want to pick a fight then be it. They should pick "cocked eye Rumjaat" he is already showing a "blind eye" to the crime problem. Why you lied so much, aren't you suppose to be in the MALDIVES.

Calling someone "Gay" is no longer an insult. You've got to do better than that if you want to pick a fight with me. 

Alright KP, cool down. We West Demerara folks must show dem Berbicians that we are above anger, provocation and lashbackism. 

We have always been that way,looks like KP change.

He reminds me of myself when I was once young like him. 

Put yourself in his shoes. He is enduring more attacks than you. We must encourage him to wear steel armour.

Or get a 22 cutlass. Many folks might not know what a 22 cutlass is. 

Here comes a Berbician who is inciting violence against his fellow Berbician Mitwah. Ye all mucking mad.

Granger wants ‘unbribable’ Top Cop

Does such a cop exist in Guyana?

Isn't that the most stupid comment from Granger?  It's not about one person, it's about the force in general, from the top cop to the ranks on the beat!

Aye, what low IQ leadership!  Guyana will remain a basket case corrupt country!

Here comes a Berbician who is inciting violence against his fellow Berbician Mitwah. Ye all mucking mad.

Brother Gil,

Why did they build a madhouse in Berbice ?

Where do you think Moses and Ramjattan originated from ?

Brother Gil,

Why did they build a madhouse in Berbice ?

Where do you think Moses and Ramjattan originated from ?

You are most likely related to one or both of them. Dat nenwah vine does run far far. 

Granger wants ‘unbribable’ Top Cop

Does such a cop exist in Guyana?

Isn't that the most stupid comment from Granger?  It's not about one person, it's about the force in general, from the top cop to the ranks on the beat!

Aye, what low IQ leadership!  Guyana will remain a basket case corrupt country!

Dem seh fish rots from the head. 

Put yourself in his shoes. He is enduring more attacks than you. We must encourage him to wear steel armour.

Bhai, i found a new armour,it's called ignore,me thinks KP should get one.

Great advice.

DJ,

Is that American made or Chinese made ?

Get the “made with American Steel” version. You should  also consider the “make America great again” version. 

The Chinese made version has a Chinese brush attached to it and might break apart. 

DJ,

Is that American made or Chinese made ?

Get the “made with American Steel” version. You should  also consider the “make America great again” version. 

The Chinese made version has a Chinese brush attached to it and might break apart. 

Always support American made,try my best to avoid Chinese made products.