The lady from NY laid out the story the best.  Chris Ram all over, so incoherent.   Isn’t he the guy that got millions to investigate PPP fraud and came up empty.  In many respects he sounds like our favorite GNI economist.

The GoG needs to lay out a 10 point plan on tactical and strategic development initiatives they will undertake to transfer the country for the next generations.  I raised some points in another post.   Oil will not be a big employer but will bring cash to bankroll development.

Dem is Guyana top brains, no wonder Guyana is a basket case country.

Khan,Mangal and Ram are embarassing.  I don't expect much benefit for Guyana from oil revenues. Much of it will be stolen, spent on shitty, poor quality projects like Skeldon and Providence, handed out to "friends" and flat out wasted.

I don't favor freeness from the government, but maybe the best thing is to set up a fund which distributes X amount to each person monthly. That's the only way the public sees anything from oil money.

Baseman may be well intended with the 10 point strategy but do we really trust these fools in the PPP and PNC to execute any large scale projects successfully? Corruption aside, these fools have no practical experience in anything and have FAILED in 50+ years of independence. We have gone BACKWARDS from the standard of life we had at independence.

The people of Guyana are the ones responsible for their predicament. Sometimes I wonder if they have any brains. Also, those who are benefiting: Businesses, supporters, highly paid Civil Servants are too willing to go along with the Govt in Power. No morality, compassion, everyone including the Namakaram Crabdaag simply looking uot for themselves!!!!!!

Khan,Mangal and Ram are embarassing.  I don't expect much benefit for Guyana from oil revenues. Much of it will be stolen, spent on shitty, poor quality projects like Skeldon and Providence, handed out to "friends" and flat out wasted.

I don't favor freeness from the government, but maybe the best thing is to set up a fund which distributes X amount to each person monthly. That's the only way the public sees anything from oil money.

Baseman may be well intended with the 10 point strategy but do we really trust these fools in the PPP and PNC to execute any large scale projects successfully? Corruption aside, these fools have no practical experience in anything and have FAILED in 50+ years of independence. We have gone BACKWARDS from the standard of life we had at independence.

Imagine those are Guyana's top brains!

This is like BJ saying qualifying PPP candidates must not be tiefman and must love Guyanese people!  WTF!

I wonder if any of these guys ever worked in large company strategy development and execution!  They were so incoherent and scatter brained!

This is like BJ saying qualifying PPP candidates must not be tiefman and must love Guyanese people!  WTF!

I wonder if any of these guys ever worked in large company strategy development and execution!  They were so incoherent and scatter brained!

The Guyanese people believe that academic qualifications alone will make good leaders. 50+ years of independence has shown this isn't so. Imagine one like Labba man having some ministerial position. All theory and no working solutions as he too falls into the BJ / Ravi trap, discounting any value of his education.

And dare someone from overseas suggest like the10 point thingie to them. They'll laugh and belittle the person - "we doant need duh man, we kno wha we doin. We gat minista labba dat grauduate cum lawdy, go lawdy and cum back again lawdy". That is the shit that goes on in Guyana. Pure wastes, all of them.

Dr. Mangal has a Doctorate in Offshore Geotechnical Engineering from the University of Oxford and a Bachelor’s Degree in Civil Engineering from the University of Edinburg. He has been working in marine and oil and gas industries for the past 18 years in various parts of the world, including the United States, West Africa, and the Philippines.

http://guyanachronicle.com/201...ts-petroleum-advisor

Dr.Jan Mangal is educated,there seems to be a fallout between him and the Gov't.

Dr. Mangal has a Doctorate in Offshore Geotechnical Engineering from the University of Oxford and a Bachelor’s Degree in Civil Engineering from the University of Edinburg. He has been working in marine and oil and gas industries for the past 18 years in various parts of the world, including the United States, West Africa, and the Philippines.

Dr.Jan Mangal is educated,there seems to be a fallout between him and the Gov't.

This is EXACTLY what I'm talking about, and Django has sadly fallen into the "education" swamp!! What has Jan Mangal accomplished with all dem lofty credentials bai?

I don't doubt his technical education, but that different than running the show!

This is EXACTLY what I'm talking about, and Django has sadly fallen into the "education" swamp!! What has Jan Mangal accomplished with all dem lofty credentials bai?

Bhai,

I ain't fallen in no swamp,the first time i heard about Jan is when he was picked to be adviser to Granger.

His brother is also in Guyana in some oil business.

Bhai,

I ain't fallen in no swamp,the first time i heard about Jan is when he was picked to be adviser to Granger.

mmmmm hmmmmmm. Suh the potential exists fuh he to "advise" Granger to ship some of the "oil business" to his brother. These are EXACTLY the types of setups we need to be diligent in avoiding.

Banna, these are not the people you want running or advising on thesethings, especially if his brother already has a foot in a private business.

With all the oil experts in the world, Jan Mangal is the only one Granger can find? This dead fish situation gon smell rotten soon!

Bhai,

mmmmm hmmmmmm. Suh the potential exists fuh he to "advise" Granger to ship some of the "oil business" to his brother. These are EXACTLY the types of setups we need to be diligent in avoiding.

Banna, these are not the people you want running or advising on thesethings, especially if his brother already has a foot in a private business.

With all the oil experts in the world, Jan Mangal is the only one Granger can find? This dead fish situation gon smell rotten soon!

What you need is proper/independent oversight and governance.  A small place like Guyana, many people will have connections, blood or otherwise.

Well 50+ years has proven we can't oversee or govern nothing, independent or otherwise. Should be pretty obvious to Granger the potential conflict of interest with Mangal if Mangal's brother has dealings with the oil business as Django says.

All the oil experts in the world, 4 billion barrels in the ground, and the klowns can't find one of the top notch experts in the world for an advisory role. SMFH.

Bhai,

No conflict of interest in relations between GOG, ExxonMobil and Mangal brothers

– Harmon

Minister of State Joseph Harmon is adamant that no conflict of interest exists in the relationship between itself, the Mangal brothers and ExxonMobil.
Dr. Jan Mangal is as an advisor on oil and gas while his brother, Lars Mangal, has partnered with ExxonMobil. Persons, who spoke on the grounds of anonymity, expressed concern over the relationship that seemingly has the potential to put Guyana in a bad spot. But those concerns are not shared by Minister of State Joseph Harmon.
Harmon told the media, “Dr. Mangal has written a letter to this effect and it is in the public domain where he states there is no conflict of interest with the work that he is doing as an advisor to the government on oil and gas and at this point in time we do not share that view that there is, in fact, a conflict of interest.”
In the letter to which Harmon referred, Dr. Mangal noted that his term as Petroleum Adviser to President Granger began in March 2017 whereas the re-negotiation of the contract for the Stabroek Block was performed about a year earlier.
That statement contradicts what Harmon, Minister of Natural Resources, Raphael Trotman and Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo said before which is that negotiations were continuing up to about three months ago. It was only on June, 1 this year that government announced a two percent royalty has been negotiated.
In his letter, Dr. Mangal said that he has not negotiated contracts between any oil company and Guyana.
He said, “President Granger has been clear that his priority is for the oil and gas resource to benefit the Guyanese people without corruption. The Petroleum Adviser supports this objective wholeheartedly.”
As he referred to the article, Mangal said, “It is encouraging to see Guyanese journalists paying attention to potential conflicts of interest.”
“Many in Guyana, including some of our most prominent officials and attorneys, seem not to recognize these conflicts. Hence journalists need to become more adept at investigating possible conflicts of interest by directly querying allegedly involved parties, and highlighting likely abuses. In the recent article in Kaieteur News about the Mangal brothers, it seems the relevant journalists failed to ask about or acknowledge the mitigation measures which are in place.
“They also do not appear to have asked any of the oil companies operating in Guyana if they have perceived or experienced any resulting conflict.”
Mangal said that the risk of corruption is likely to increase with the advent of the oil and gas sector due to the vast sums of money involved, and with the complex transnational business structures. “Objective, specialized and investigative journalism will therefore play a critical role in attaining the President’s vision.”
Dr. Mangal occupies an Office at the Ministry of the Presidency.
His brother, Lars Mangal, is working with ExxonMobil. He recently won a bid to construct an onshore facility for ExxonMobil.
Lars Mangal, has established a company, Totaltec Oilfield Services. The company was established in 2016.
Guyana Shore Base Incorporated (GYSBI) is currently constructing an onshore base facility to service ExxonMobil’s offshore operations. The site is located at the Muneshwers wharf in Houston, East Bank, Demerara. The wharf is being converted from a container port into the onshore base facility.
GYSBI is a partnership between Muneshwers Limited, Pacific Rim Constructors, Totaltec Oilfield Services and LED Offshore.
The 28-acre warehousing and logistics base will see services that were previously accessed in Trinidad and Tobago by Exxon, being brought to Guyana. Those services include port facilities, accommodations on site, fuel bunkering, bulk cementing and mud plants.
The offshore facility will employ an estimated 100 persons directly, and 200-300 persons indirectly when it is fully operational.

Their father was the late the late Dr. Keshav ‘Bud’ Mangal,

https://www.stabroeknews.com/2...y-in-final-tributes/

Iggi,here you go recap if you  you missed it.

Friends and family run things in GY,bhai.

Well 50+ years has proven we can't oversee or govern nothing, independent or otherwise. Should be pretty obvious to Granger the potential conflict of interest with Mangal if Mangal's brother has dealings with the oil business as Django says.

All the oil experts in the world, 4 billion barrels in the ground, and the klowns can't find one of the top notch experts in the world for an advisory role. SMFH.

I guess they want freeness.  You get what you pay for.  I do the taxes for an Exxon guy who manages contracts. His salary and bonus is $550k, plus LTI plus all benefits, all in all close to $1 mil/pa.

Given the value at stake, I was surprised.  The lil White gyal in NY sounded way more intelligent, coherent and clear while Ram and they rest getting lost in the weeds ready for an argument.

No wonder they got screwed over in the PSA!

I believe BJ would have made a better impression.

I guess they want freeness.  You get what you pay for.  I do the taxes for an Exxon guy who manages contracts. His salary and bonus is $550k, plus LTI plus all benefits, all in all close to $1 mil/pa.

Given the value at stake, I was surprised.  The lil White gyal in NY sounded way for intelligent, coherent and clear while Ram and they rest getting lost in the weeds ready for an argument.

No wonder they got screwed over in the PSA!

I believe BJ would have made a better impression.

You are correct the conman,would have sounded impressive with his rhetoric.

It's good to see some sort of dialogue about the coming oil wealth.  It's unimaginable that two years from first oil, there is no framework in place to address the structure of the industry and how this will translate into the economic development of Guyana.  The govt is completely clueless.  They have no expertise on how to handle this.  Oil will not produce much jobs for Guyanese. They are creating an Energy Dept secretly and it's rumoured that Jan's good friend, the President's nephew might be on the Management Team.  Everyone is waiting for a piece of the pie.  But no one has a clue how to bake the pie.  A tragedy of errors.

Dr. Mark Bynoe appointed Head of Department of Energy

Dr. Mark Bynoe (Caribbean Community Climate Change Centre)

DR. Mark Bynoe, Environment and Resource Economist and former head of the Project Development and Management Unit of the Caribbean Community Climate Change Centre (CCCCC) has been appointed by the Government of Guyana to head its Department of Energy.

Minister of State, Joseph Harmon on Monday confirmed Dr. Bynoe’s appointment. “He has actually been appointed,” Harmon said on the corridors of Parliament on Monday. He disclosed that Cabinet will be briefed today on the said appointment after which, a formal announcement will be made.

“The president did introduce him to the quintet of ministers responsible for oil and gas,” the Minister of State told the Guyana Chronicle while noting it is likely that Dr. Bynoe will begin his tour of duty from August 1, 2018.

The quintet of ministers, Ministers of Finance, State, Public Infrastructure, Business and Natural Resources, have been tasked with paying attention to the organisational structure of the department, legislation to be introduced for the sector, negotiation with potential investors, exploration and production licences, public communication responsibilities, the engagement of technical experts, the establishment of a Sovereign Wealth Fund, capacity building measures, the review of fiscal contractual terms and the transfer of responsibility from the Ministry of Natural Resources to the Department.

Asked to outline the environment and resource economist’s roles, the Minister said, “Duties are being finalised right nowâ€Ķ the question of organisation, the structure, functions of the department.”

“They [the Department of Energy] will basically take over the duties of the Ministry of Natural Resources’, Petroleum Unit, so all of those functions that were performed by them will now move to the Department of Energy,” Harmon added.

The former Director, School of Earth and Environmental Sciences (formerly Environmental Studies Unit), University of Guyana is the holder of a Doctorate in Economics (Environmental Economics) from the University of East Anglia, United Kingdom, A Master’s Degree in Resource Management), University of Edinburgh, Scotland; a Postgraduate Diploma in Development Studies, University of Guyana; a BA Geography/Economics (Double Major) from the University of Guyana; a Certificate in Environmental Economics and Policy Analysis, Harvard Institute of International Development, Harvard University, United States of America; and a Certificate in Programme Monitoring and Evaluation hosted by the Commonwealth Secretariat, St. Georges University in Grenada, Grenada.

Meanwhile, the soon to be established Department of Energy will focus primarily on the country’s up and coming oil and gas sector and the Department falls directly under the Ministry of the Presidency and will receive direct guidance from President David Granger.
The move by the administration to establish a Department of Energy follows a proposal submitted by Natural Resources Minister Raphael Trotman, to have a specialised attention placed on the petroleum sector, given the complexity of tasks that exist with the administering of such resources.

Earlier this year, government announced that Minister Trotman, will hand over the oil-and-gas sector given Cabinet’s approval for the establishment of a new department within the Ministry of the Presidency.

The Ministry of the Presidency had made it clear that the Natural Resources Minister was not stripped of his responsibilities in the oil and gas sector. “The Natural Resources Minister has provided sterling leadership in the development of the sector and it is under his stewardship that significant progress has been made in capacity building and preparations for ‘first oil’,” MOTP said in a release earlier this year.

Here you go Bibi,

where is the secretly Energy Dept.

The Guyanese people believe that academic qualifications alone will make good leaders. 50+ years of independence has shown this isn't so. Imagine one like Labba man having some ministerial position. All theory and no working solutions as he too falls into the BJ / Ravi trap, discounting any value of his education.

And dare someone from overseas suggest like the10 point thingie to them. They'll laugh and belittle the person - "we doant need duh man, we kno wha we doin. We gat minista labba dat grauduate cum lawdy, go lawdy and cum back again lawdy". That is the shit that goes on in Guyana. Pure wastes, all of them.

Yea bai dem business man like Trump can run tings. Hey hey hey...dem man gat nuff nuff road sense and pusher sense. Hey hey hey...

Iggi,here you go recap if you  you missed it.

Friends and family run things in GY,bhai.

thx Django. Never saw this before. What "mitigation measures" against conflict of interest is Mangal referring to? Has anyone seen this? Or is he referring to the lil sleight of hand he did by signing a letter that has probably already gone down the latrine?

It's good to see some sort of dialogue about the coming oil wealth.  It's unimaginable that two years from first oil, there is no framework in place to address the structure of the industry and how this will translate into the economic development of Guyana.  The govt is completely clueless.  They have no expertise on how to handle this.  Oil will not produce much jobs for Guyanese. They are creating an Energy Dept secretly and it's rumoured that Jan's good friend, the President's nephew might be on the Management Team.  Everyone is waiting for a piece of the pie.  But no one has a clue how to bake the pie.  A tragedy of errors.

Was this verbatim as “donated” or edited Bibisque?

It is not just the ruling coalition govt. that is lacking, but the opposition also. For God's sake, the Exxon guy had to lecture the PPP clowns on their own legislative responsibilities the last time around. Were the PPP in charge it would be the same. Look at the white elephant providence stadium and the debacle with the Skeldon factory. Not to mention the chinee man carrying away we purple heart lock stock and barrel fuh lil and nothing and leaving behind an environmental disaster.

We need to stop this partisan bickering and realize we are royally screwed. If Guyana were a business it should be sold for the assets! We can't run it! 

The only difference between the PPP and the PNC is the former will steal millions and the latter tens of thousands.  PPP thieves are more ambitious.

Mr CaribJ how much land Mr Dr Phillips and Mr Best seh dem will ge you? Since yuh went ivy league you gat nuff money rite? Sell meh lil piece of de land na? Hey hey hey...

Did you ask Ravi for your share of land when you were with ROAR? He wanted to partition Guyana under his "federalism" model, Indians and blacks separated. You should know this. You were there. You have ZERO moral grounds to criticize Phillips et al, though their hair brained scheme is just as racist and wacko as Ravi's.

Mr CaribJ how much land Mr Dr Phillips and Mr Best seh dem will ge you? Since yuh went ivy league you gat nuff money rite? Sell meh lil piece of de land na? Hey hey hey...

Did you ask Ravi for your share of land when you were with ROAR? He wanted to partition Guyana under his "federalism" model, Indians and blacks separated. You should know this. You were there. You have ZERO moral grounds to criticize Phillips et al, though their hair brained scheme is just as racist and wacko as Ravi's.

Ravi's proposed federalism was meant to decentralize power from  Georgetown to other areas of the country.  Decentralization would lead to not only more democracy but smarter economic and political decisions by towns and cities.

It was pure racism from a Berbician who wanted to turn that county into Indesh, and to hell with the majority of the Indians who do NOT live there.