President David Granger (second from right) with Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo (right) , PPP Chief Whip, Gail Teixeira (third from right) and former Attorney General Anil Nandlall at State House today. ( Ministry of the Presidency photo)

July 19,2018

President David Granger, today, met with Leader of the Opposition,  Bharrat Jagdeo at State House to discuss the appointment of the Public Service Commission and the Police Service Commission, whose lives ended months ago.

A statement today from the Ministry of the Presidency said that the Leader of the Opposition was accompanied by former Attorney General, Anil Nandlall and Opposition Chief Whip,  Gail Teixeira while Minister of State, Joseph Harmon and Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, Basil Williams accompanied the President.

In an invited comment after the meeting,  Harmon said that the President as required by the Constitution, has consulted with Jagdeo and he expects that the Commissions will soon be sworn in.

“As you are aware, these two Commissions, the life had come to an end many months ago but the process had required the National assembly to nominate some of these persons for both Commissions and once those were done; the President would consult with the Leader of the Opposition. So this is what took place this morning. The requirement was for meaningful consultation and not necessarily agreement and so that consultation took place and now I believe we can proceed with having the two Commissions established and the President at a short time from now will have those two Commissions sworn in so that their work can continue,” he said.

President David Granger (second from right) with Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo (right) , PPP Chief Whip, Gail Teixeira (third from right) and former Attorney General Anil Nandlall at State House today. ( Ministry of the Presidency photo)

July 19,2018

President David Granger, today, met with Leader of the Opposition,  Bharrat Jagdeo at State House to discuss the appointment of the Public Service Commission and the Police Service Commission, whose lives ended months ago.

How did they die?  Must have missed it here on GNI!

July 19,2018

Dem boys and gyal seem very happy too. LMAO.

Granger is happy that Jagdeo is not the Presidential candidate. Basil is happy that he can finally stand shoulder to shoulder near to Anil.  Harmon is acknowledging that the woman near to him can cut He rass anytime in a debate.

Who is this Yugli guy at GNI ?

I am Yuji and have moved from Vegetarian to Vegan. Zero milk products for me. 

I guess you stop eating Mohanbhog. 

Correct. We do not prepare Mohanbhog, we prepare Bengali style Halwa (not Guyana's type of Halwa). I am very happy and healthy with a plant based diet.

I am doing my part for the environment and boycotting companies that treat animals cruelly to get their milk. That is my personal choice and I do not judge anyone else nor do I promote my diet to anyone.

People can still make Mohanbhog using vegetable ghee instead of cow Ghee.

Mits watch a show called "What The Health" on Netflix.

Correct. We do not prepare Mohanbhog, we prepare Bengali style Halwa (not Guyana's type of Halwa). I am very happy and healthy with a plant based diet.

I am doing my part for the environment and boycotting companies that treat animals cruelly to get their milk. That is my personal choice and I do not judge anyone else nor do I promote my diet to anyone.

But you use cow dung and cow pee. 

I never use those products. 

July 19,2018

Yugi were you at the wake? I missed it. 

David Granger will appoint whomever he wishes to appoint. I hope that his appointments will reflect the faces and the colours of the people his government serves. Somehow I doubt it, but they can prove me wrong.