July 17 2018

Dear Editor,

Reporters have asked for my comments on the Simona Broomes saga, but up till now I remained quiet on it largely because I did not want to become part of the personal attacks on the minister. Too often, these matters descend into personal attacks by detractors or uncritical defence by supporters. In the process, the real seriousness of the matter gets lost and the political culture remains intact. I think that is the case here. I am also mindful of the fact that the minister is human and is entitled to make errors of judgement. This may well have been the case here. But at the end of the day she is a minister in high office and ought to be very careful in the exercise of power.

The ministerโ€™s behaviour to my mind is part of our larger elite political culture whereby those entrusted with governmental power treat it as their personal property rather than as a responsibility to be carefully executed. Minister Broomes, like so many political leaders on both sides of the political divide, seems to have allowed the power of her office to impair her judgement. I am very certain that had she been a private citizen, she would have handled that matter differently. Clearly, her attitude on that night betrayed a sense of personal superiority and inherent entitlement to privilege. That she could throw her official weight around, as the video revealed, and then relate a narrative that appears to be contrary to what occurred betrays a sense of her sense of invincibility. Twist it and turn it, at the end of the day this is a clear case of official bullying of powerless citizens.

It is one of the worrying characteristics of the top echelon of this government and previous onesโ€”they seem intoxicated by the power they have and use it simply because they have it and could use it. Part of it I think has to do with their unfamiliarity with political power that is born of a lack of proper preparation for high office. Minister Broomes, for example, is part of a group of ministers who were never serious political activists; they did not come through the ranks of parties and movements. They were parachuted into high office when the coalition won in 2015. They did not personally struggle and sacrifice politically for the power they now have access to. Hence, they are not as careful with it as they ought to be. Minister Broomes got caught, but I am sure there are others who behave in a similar manner.

It is quite disappointing that apart from Minister Volda Lawrence, not one other official has had the courage to condemn what is clearly official bullying on the part of the minister. I have read where some defenders cite the ministerโ€™s hard work and forthrightness as her assets. But effectiveness as a minister is not licence for bullyism. At the very least the government, the president and the party to which the minister is affiliated should publicly disassociate themselves from such behaviour.

In the final analysis, this episode reinforces the need for a serious Code of Conduct for Ministers. It also signals that those entrusted with public power must manage it better. Our country is mired in lawlessness and uncivility at all levels and if we are to pull ourselves out of it, those who are in leadership positions must lead by example.

Yours faithfully,

David Hinds

President should request full review of Broomes incident and take action if warranted

July 17 2018

Dear Editor,

Hon. Simona Broomes, Minister within Guyanaโ€™s Ministry of Natural Resources, is from my home town of Bartica. Iโ€™m fond of her. She is a grassroots politician who relates to the people. Her audacious work to end human trafficking in Guyanaโ€™s hinterland and other initiatives on womenโ€™s rights and empowerment is stellar. Her advocacy for workersโ€™ rights and uncompromising demand for employersโ€™ adherence to labour laws and regulations are worthy of commendation.  Prior to becoming minister, and as minister, Ms. Broomes stood on the hustings and in Parliament and demanded accountability from the opposition PPP for its stewardship while in government from 1992 to 2015. She is absolutely right. Some PPP ministers were lawless, corrupt and racist. They disgraced our nation and have not been held to account.  

Accountability in government is the foundation of a democratic society and the foremost principle of good governance. Ministers are elected leaders who took an oath to uphold the law. This sacred obligation is irrevocable. Conformity to that oath, the law, highest standards of ethics and exemplary conduct are not discretionary choices. These  cardinal tenets of ministerial and public responsibility are a covenant with the public who places its trust in them by exercising the franchise in their favour at elections. This is why only citizens of quality who are deemed to be qualified as well as โ€œfit and proper,โ€ are selected for such high office. Ordinary citizens, especially our youth, admire and emulate high office holders because their conduct and lifestyle earn much veneration. Deviation from these values, therefore, constitutes abuse of the powers of the office and violates the ministerial oath and public trust.    

Minister Broomes has acknowledged to a media publication her involvement in an incident in the New Thriving Restaurant parking lot at Providence Village, Guyana. Allegedly, upon arrival at the restaurant, her driver pulled up in what the business proprietor alleged is a no parking zone. Without authorization, he removed the barricades or signs and attempted to drive into the restricted area. Video footage shows a security guard approached and stopped the vehicle and then replaced the signs or barricades. As a second guard arrived, the driver again exited the vehicle, confronted the guards and removed the signs a second time. Subsequently, Minister Broomes exited her vehicle and tossed the sign to the ground. A confrontation between her and the guards ensued. During this time her driver drove in the direction of the guards, forced them out of the path of the vehicle and proceeded into the restricted area.  

The minister acknowledged to the publication that the guards advised her that the area was a no parking zone. She claimed that she identified herself as a government minister, but the guards were belligerent. Ms. Broomes also alleged to police that a guard threatened her or pointed his weapon at her. The guards denied threatening the minister or her driver and alleged that the driver brandished a weapon. The soundless, surveillance video ends when the parties moved outside of the range of security cameras.

The said footage does not show a gun being pointed at the minister or the driver brandishing a firearm. This does not prove that either alleged act did not occur. A number of eyewitnesses were present who will be able to corroborate the guards or ministerโ€™s account. Although their words are inaudible, nothing in the video footage shows the guardsโ€™ comportment to be inappropriate.  

Nonetheless, based on the ministerโ€™s account, Police arrested the security guards. Only the parties know what words were exchanged. If indeed the guards verbally threatened to shoot and/or pointed a gun at the minister, that action creates an aggravated circumstance that is potentially a criminal act that may warrant their arrest. Again, video footage from the scene, which was made available by management, does not appear to support a threat with a gun on either side, and does not establish a prima facie cause for the guardsโ€™ arrest. Consequently, the Guyana Police Force appears to be equally culpable in this disgraceful episode. Given the obvious inconsistencies and in the interest of total transparency, it is imperative for the Police to explain what evidence provided probable caused for the guardsโ€™ arrest and who gave such instructions. The Forceโ€™s credibility will be compromised if it allows the outrageous and injudicious comments from Crime Chief Paul Williams to contend.   

No security guard or minister of government is above the law. However, like all other customers, the minister is entitled to professional treatment as well as a safe and secure environment while conducting business on the premises. She is not entitled to special treatment at the facility by virtue of her office; unless the proprietors, exercising discretion, so offer or instruct. Therefore, without commenting on the veracity of the ministerโ€™s claim to have been threatened, her knocking down  the signs and general conduct was undoubtedly disorderly, lawless, reprehensible and unacceptable for a government minister.  Her actions brought the government and cabinet into disrepute. President David Granger should not remain silent on this matter. Minister Broomes serves at his pleasure. He should request a full review of the incident and, based on the findings, repudiate her conduct if warranted by the facts and circumstances.    

We must hold ministers of government to the highest standards of ethics. If the minister was threatened she should have politely called the police and let them address the matter. Engaging in a brawl with security guards is unbecoming and beneath the dignity of her office.  Weโ€™ve come to expect such lawlessness from the PPP. The APNU+AFC coalition government was elected on a commitment to high standards of good governance and thus should not tolerate such conduct. 

The minister made an obvious mistake and exercised bad judgement.  This matter should have ended the next day with her revisiting the facility to meet privately with management and the guards, then all parties could announce that the matter was resolved. Her apparent misrepresentations and denials have given further currency to an otherwise insignificant incident. She should quickly and unhesitatingly apologize to the public, meet with the guards privately for an honest conversation to clear up all misunderstandings, and move on. She will earn the respect and admiration of the nation for doing so.  

On the other hand, calls for her to resign are equally deplorable. Did she endanger the republic? No! Moreover, it is laughable and ironic that Stabroek News has been leading the attack and lecturing the minister about ethics and moral conduct. This same entity remained silent or tolerated corruption, racism, โ€œgangsterismโ€ and utter lawlessness from PPP government ministers. Its hypocrisy is suffocating. The editors should spare us their sanctimonious, false moral pontifications until such time when they can be fair and balanced.

Yours faithfully,

Rickford Burke

President

PNCR circled the wagons on this act of public misconduct by Ms Broomes

July 16 2018

Dear Editor,

I am on record as recognising the good work of Minister Broomes when she was in the Ministry of Social Protection.  I stand by my record of celebrating the fact that she tried to bring justice to the plight of the Regent Street workers until the powers that be clipped her wings.  But since then I am at a loss to comprehend the actions of this Minister.  Today this same Minister is being accused of fibbing on two members of the working class, causing them to spend sixteen hours in the Police lock-ups. 

Thank the lord for technology!  The factual video exposed the shameful bullying behaviour.

Looking at that video, one can easily conclude we have ourselves here a bully in Ms. Broomes. Why did Ms. Broomesโ€™ driver choose to use the governmentโ€™s vehicle as a weapon to attempt to force their way forward into human beings even after they were advised that the area was a โ€œno-parkingโ€ zone?  This action laid bare the fact that the Minister and the driver needed to dominate the space, while at the same time exhibiting poor impulse control.

But when we thought that was the end of it, the image shows a woman who is alleged to be the Minister, opening the door with haste and rushing to push down two of the โ€œNo-Parkingโ€ signs with no empathy for the fact that all these security guards were doing were their jobs. Even though the guards told her that it was a no parking area, the only opinion that mattered in that incident was the Ministerโ€™s.

To add icing to the whole situation, the Police were instructed to arrest the security guards (the victims) and they did.  Meanwhile, the real oppressors went home to bed. How can this be fair? When confronted by the media to answer the charge against her, the minister said, โ€œI do not know what you are talking aboutโ€ and sauntered away from them. 

The sad reality though, except for Minister Volda Lawrence who apologised to one of the victims, the entire leadership of the PNCR circled the wagons on this act of public misconduct by a public official. When asked for a comment, Minister of State Joseph Harmon said no comment as this is one of his lead campaigners in his bid to become the Chairman of the PNCR and the next Leader of that Party.  All of this is happening while the elected President appears to be in a sustained siesta in the State House.

What these collective actions expose is that we are living with โ€œthe same old PNCโ€.  Does the pageantry President not comprehend the nexus of this situation? These actions from Ms. Broomes are helping to wreck the PNC as a political force.

Yours faithfully,

Sasenarine Singh

AFC waiting on police probe before commenting on Broomes incident

July 16 2018

The Alliance for Change will await the findings of the police investigation into last weekโ€™s altercation between Junior Minister Simona Broomes, her driver Dexter David and two security guards in the parking lot of the Amazonia Mall at Providence, East Bank Demerara before making a statement.

โ€œThe AFC would wish to await the findings of the official investigation, which we understand is imminent, before making any public pronouncements,โ€ Leader of the AFC, Raphael Trotman told Stabroek News, when contacted yesterday. The AFC is part of the governing coalition. Trotman is also the senior minister in the ministry where Broomes is assigned.

Police Crime Chief, Paul Williams told this newspaper that the investigations should be completed by the end of this week.

Broomes has remained silent on the matter which was captured on a surveillance camera and for which she has come under severe criticism.

On the sidelines of the Sitting of the National Assembly last week, Broomes refused to answer questions from reporters.

โ€œI donโ€™t know what youโ€™re talking about,โ€ Broomes said as she casually walked to the chambers. The minister maintained the response as reporters continued to question her.

The Junior Minister of Natural Resources, had claimed that she and her driver were verbally abused and threatened by the two security guards but surveillance footage of the confrontation showed otherwise. Nevertheless, based on her initial complaint, the two guards were detained by police for 16 hours before they were released on their own recognisance.

Crime Chief Paul Williams also landed himself in hot water over comments he made to the Guyana Chronicle, in which he criticised the actions of the guards.

In the report, he was reported as saying that the security guards should have used their judgement to determine the class of person that was venturing onto the premises. โ€œโ€ฆfrom the time you see a vehicle of a certain standard, it is supposed to arouse your attention and alertness,โ€ he noted, before adding that as soon as the minister identified herself they should have apologised and tried explaining their position in a different tone.

Williams yesterday told Stabroek News that his views were โ€œmisconstruedโ€ and that he had nothing further to say on the issue.

Granger is there for the pension.

That the Rat whopping increased.

"Minister Jordan said that worst yet, under the previous legislation, the benefits of the former Presidents were tax-exempt when even in the wealthy U.S., former Presidents do not enjoy this gift.
The salary of a sitting President in Guyana is currently $1.6M [monthly]. A former President receives 7/8 of the salary of a sitting President in pension. Taking the current sum earned by the incumbent, a former President receives some $1.4M  [monthly] in pension"

http://guyanachronicle.com/201...travagance-says-fina

Granger is there for the pension.

That the Rat whopping increased.

"Minister Jordan said that worst yet, under the previous legislation, the benefits of the former Presidents were tax-exempt when even in the wealthy U.S., former Presidents do not enjoy this gift.
The salary of a sitting President in Guyana is currently $1.6M [monthly]. A former President receives 7/8 of the salary of a sitting President in pension. Taking the current sum earned by the incumbent, a former President receives some $1.4M  [monthly] in pension"

http://guyanachronicle.com/201...travagance-says-fina

Let us see that Granger refuses to take his pension and Moses donates his pension to Charity.

All you katahars are full of shyte.

This is typical politician behavior in Guyana.  It happens under, it happened under the ppp.  Politicians in Guyana do not realize the are employees of the people, not the other way around!

Third world country bhai,some of the politicians need some good cut rass.

Waiting fuh see what will happen to the driver of  Broomes who brandish the gun. The lying Broomes reacted like a child accusing the security guard of pointing a gun at her,little did she know security cameras caught her ploy.

All you katahars are full of shyte.

Look in the mirror.

Ask Moses and Granger to give up and donate their pensions to charity na ?

They will give all of you AFC/PNC katahars another good kick. You should now be ashamed of yourselves. You threw your mattie Indos under the bus.

Who will sing at your dead house ? Yamraj will be there for you.

You are a worthless piece of stink shyte. Haul yuh stink ass! 

Back to the Broomes:

The fact is that Blackman [African] can do no wrong under the PNC, same as they did under Burnham and Hoyte. 

The buck stops as Granger's desk and he will do NOTHING about this.

Too early to be conclusive.

Why? You make judgments about Trump looking back from his past actions. Is Granger different from your average Joe run of the mill wannabe politician?

Back to the Broomes:

The fact is that Blackman [African] can do no wrong under the PNC, same as they did under Burnham and Hoyte. 

Why? You make judgments about Trump looking back from his past actions. Is Granger different from your average Joe run of the mill wannabe politician?

Granger can shove a stick in DJ's rear and he will still be hoping and peddling PNC propaganda. 

Granger will NEVER punish Broomes. He never punishes his mattie.

He needs those hooligans for 2020.

Back to the Broomes:

Do you really pay attention to my posts ?

Back to the Broomes:

Granger can shove a stick in DJ's rear

No one can try that with Django.

By the way what's up with the crude language,looks like the pig can't be removed from  the mud.

Back to the Broomes:

How do you know it's too early to be conclusive? You have seen Granger's bully habits and dictatorial behavior and you are making statements like "too early".

Back to the Broomes:

How do you know it's too early to be conclusive? You have seen Granger's bully habits and dictatorial behavior and you are making statements like "too early".

Banna wait and see,

How lang yuh tink we shud wait bai? Broomes is on video throwing down. The larger picture - the homan flounce into parliament, even REFUSING to acknowledge there was an incident! We can infer any apology or discussion with folks at the establishment is out of the question. The height of arrogance! She should be sent packing immediately!

Bhai let us wait for the police report,we all know the Crime Chief blundered.Broomes should do right thing and resign.

I agree with this statement from Sase "These actions from Ms. Broomes are helping to wreck the PNC [R] as a political force"

Banna wait and see,

How lang yuh tink we shud wait bai? Broomes is on video throwing down. The larger picture - the homan flounce into parliament, even REFUSING to acknowledge there was an incident! We can infer any apology or discussion with folks at the establishment is out of the question. The height of arrogance! She should be sent packing immediately!

Bhai let us wait for the police report,we all know the Crime Chief blundered.Broomes should do right thing and resign.

I agree with this statement from Sase "These actions from Ms. Broomes are helping to wreck the PNC [R] as a political force"

Resign and qualify for a pension? The video evidence is there. Fire her AND charge her with as many charges you can find to make an example of her.

Govโ€™t mum on Broomes incident despite Code of Conduct

July 18,2018

Aside from a comment by one minister, the government has remained silent on a July 8th incident involving Minister in the Ministry of Natural Resources, Simona Broomes despite the fact that it should be applying its much vaunted Code of Conduct for officials in public life.

Despite concerns that Broomes abused her privilege as minister in the parking lot of the Amazonia Mall at Providence and possibly lied about the incident, the government has not said whether it has spoken to her about the incident and is scrutinizing her behaviour in relation to the Code.

President David Granger has been silent on the matter and so too has been Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo under whose signature the Code of Conduct was gazetted on June 12th, 2017 โ€“ more than two years after the government entered office.

Minister of State Joseph Harmon when asked about the Broomes incident had said on July 12 at parliament that the matter was still being investigated by the police and that he wished not to share his view.  

However, observers note that the police investigation was a matter separate from the Code of Conduct and that from the outset the government should have conducted its own examination of the matter.

There are several parts of the Code of Conduct which would warrant accountability on the part of the government and Broomes.

Under what the Code describes as The Ten Principles of Public Life it lists Accountability and defines it as โ€œA person in public life shall be accountable to the public for his or her decisions and actions and shall submit himself or herself to scrutiny and criticismโ€.

Both the government and Broomes have failed to address this matter. Despite widespread public criticisms of her actions based on surveillance footage of a part of the incident at the Mall, Broomes has refused to address public concerns. In Parliament on June 12 when she was questioned by reporters, Broomes smirked and said โ€œI donโ€™t know what youโ€™re talking aboutโ€ and simply proceeded to parliament chambers. She has therefore not accounted to the public for her behaviour and neither has the government sought this accountability from her.

The second of the Ten Principles of Public Life is Dignity and this is defined by the Code as โ€œA person in public life shall, in the execution of his or her official functions, conduct themselves in a manner which engenders the respect of their peers and the publicโ€.

In the incident in question, Broomes was using a government vehicle and in her one encounter with the state-owned media said she identified herself as a minister during the incident. She therefore provided official cover to her presence at the Mall.

The fourth of the Ten Principles of Public Life is Duty which the Code defines as โ€œA person in public life owes a duty to the public and shall consider themselves servants of the peopleโ€. Broomesโ€™ silence and unaccountability would put her in breach of this principle particularly as her complaint again two guards at the Mall led them to be detained by the police for 16 hours when they may have simply been discharging their duties.

Even more importantly, the 10th of the Ten Principles of Public Life is Transparency which the Code defines as โ€œA person in public life shall exercise his or her public decisions and actions with full and frank disclosure and shall provide when demanded by the public an explanation for his or her actions and decisionsโ€.

In this instance, Broomes made a complaint to the police about the incident at the Mall but has not provided the public with an explanation for her actions or answered questions that have arisen from her actions.

Issues like this

Minister of Public Health Volda Lawrence when asked to comment on the matter at Parliament on July 12 said. โ€œWe didnโ€™t come into government for issues like this; we came in to make changesโ€.

Prior to this comment, Lawrence had posted on her Facebook page about her encounter with one of the two guards, Josh Ramroop, who said he was wrongfully arrested and detained for 16 hours. โ€œFrom the bottom of my heart I apologised to him and said I was sorry. Humility and wisdom are character traits we must always ask of our Creator,โ€ she wrote.

She noted that she was approached by Ramroop after she visited the New Thriving Restaurant at the mall. โ€œWhen the young man came to me and explained the situation and I saw the video footage, I think it was appropriate to apologise to him,โ€ she said.

When asked if she felt Broomes should apologise, Lawrence responded, โ€œMinister Broomes will make her own decision.โ€

Video footage of the encounter showed Broomesโ€™ vehicle turning into the parking lot and stopping just a few feet away from the entrance to the Massy Supermarket. A man, who appeared to be the driver of the vehicle, exited, and removed what appeared to be a no parking sign before venturing back into the vehicle. This caught the attention of the two guards, who were seen standing a short distance away.

One of the guards, who was armed with what appeared to be a high-powered rifle, ventured over to the vehicle and proceeded to return the sign to the space it had been moved from. As a result, the driver of the vehicle exited and had an exchange with the guard.

Not long after, a woman, believed to be Broomes, exited the back of the vehicle and proceeded to push two of the no parking signs to the ground before engaging in a confrontation with the guard, who stood in front of the vehicle while the driver attempted to proceed as the signs had been removed.

Ramroop, in an interview with this newspaper, said that neither he nor his colleague pulled a gun on Broomes and her driver as was claimed to police. He stated that as a part of their duties, they objected to an area in which the heavily-tinted vehicle was about to park. โ€œBut where they were going was out of bounds. We donโ€™t let anyone park behind there when itโ€™s dark because there is no real surveillance down there,โ€ he explained.

He said when they told the driver he could not proceed to park in the area, the driver โ€œstarted to buse and cuss.โ€ โ€œHe was being really arrogant and aggressive,โ€ Ramroop added. Not long after, he said, a woman exited the vehicle and โ€œjoined in.โ€ He said she grabbed one of the signs and threw it on the ground and indicated to her driver to proceed as the guard tried to receive it.

At no point, he said, did the minister identify herself to them.

The two guards are employed by KGM Security Services, the firm that provides security for the property. The company has said it stands by the men.

It is unclear whether the police have interrogated Broomesโ€™ driver over the incident.

Crime Chief Paul Williams also landed himself in hot water over comments he made to the Guyana Chronicle, in which he criticised the actions of the guards.

In the report, he was reported as saying that the security guards should have used their judgement to determine the class of person that was venturing on to the premises. โ€œโ€ฆfrom the time you see a vehicle of a certain standard, it is supposed to arouse your attention and alertness,โ€ he noted, before adding that as soon as the minister identified herself they should have apologised and tried explaining their position in a different tone.

The Guyana Association of Private Security Organizations (GAPSO), in a press statement yesterday, called Williamsโ€™ statements โ€œunfortunate.โ€

GAPSO expressed its incredulity that Williams would call on the guards to apologise after the ministerโ€™s driver attempted to breach a secure area of a facility, without seeking permission, and the minister herself tossed several signs on the ground, which constitutes damage of property. As a result, it called on Commissioner of Police (Ag) David Ramnarine โ€œto explain to the public if the reckless comments made by Mr Williams represents the position of the Guyana Police Force.โ€

Further, the statement from the association called for Broomes to explain her actions, while noting that she must be held accountable if she fails to do so.