Broomes’ behaviour should not be tolerated – Jagdeo

Parking lot controversy

…Minister, driver questioned by Police
…Govt mum on fiasco

Five days after a parking lot fiasco, which led to the arrest of two security guards who were involved in a fracas with Minister Simona Broomes, the Guyana Police Force has finally confirmed that all parties have been questioned and official statements taken.
The disclosure was made by Crime Chief Paul Williams on Wednesday afternoon when asked by Guyana Times about the status of the investigations after the Minister, who is at the centre of the controversy, claimed that she was disappointed that the GPF issued a statement despite her not having a chance to submit an official written statement.
Broomes had claimed that she and her driver, whose name has not been officially released to the media to date, were the victims of verbal assaults and threats by

Minister Simona Broomes

the security guards, who were attempting to bar her from parking in a specific section of the establishment.
The Minister with the Natural Resources Ministry, who is no stranger to controversy, had even alleged that one of the guards had pointed and “crocked” a firearm at her and the driver of her SUV vehicle at some point during the incident. She claimed that she was fearful for her life and safety as a result of the actions of the guards, who were arrested and detained by Police ranks following the incident for close to 16 hours before being released on their own recognisance.
On Wednesday, Williams said that the probe was still ongoing and that the Police were reviewing other portions of CCTV footage available from nearby and surrounding establishments.
“All parties allegedly involved would have been questioned and have to submit statements,” he confirmed before stating that the next step would see advice from the Director of Public Prosecutions on the matter.

Video footage
Since the release of footage on Tuesday, it became clear that the version of the story told by Minister Broomes was different from what was depicted thereby forcing a tidal wave of criticisms and attacks against the A Partnership for National Unity (APNU/AFC) official on social media, with Guyanese accusing her of high-handedness and dishonesty. There have also been attacks on her integrity as more support and sympathy poured in on Wednesday for the guards, who it is being argued were “simply doing their jobs”.
Asked whether the Police have found any proof to substantiate the claims made by Minister Broomes that a gun was aimed at her during the ordeal, Crime Chief Williams declined to make any definitive pronouncement as he dodged the issue.
“I will not be able to share that information because we’re still investigating that part of it …We’re at the juncture now where we’re trying to look at all the footage [to ascertain what happened],” he related.

Apology
On Tuesday, a senior APNU/AFC Minister, Volda Lawrence apologised to one of the security guards who were part of the confrontation with Broomes. That Minister, in a social media post, had said that it was clear that the guard was “wrongfully detained”.
She said that “humility and character” were key traits that all Guyanese should endeavour to practise as she took another swipe at Broomes.

Govt mum
But Minister of State, Joseph Harmon when asked about Government’s response to the incident shied away from making any statement in support or against Minister Broomes or the security guards involved in the parking lot fiasco.
“That’s a Police matter that is going on and it’s inappropriate for a minister to get involved in Police work … when the Police finishes their investigation, then any form of action should be taken,” Harmon said.
Broomes has also been severely criticised by the political Opposition after the CCTV footage which surfaced after the incident showed the Minister and her driver attempting to run over one of the guards after they were debarred from parking in a strictly ‘no parking zone’ at the establishment.
The footage also appeared to be showing the Minister removing the ‘no parking signs’ before throwing them on to the ground during a temper tantrum. Both parties appeared to be aggressive during the confrontation.
The guards who now have the backing of the management of their security firm following the release of the CCTV footage have denied the Minister’s account of the matter.

Training for guards
Adding his take on the matter, Crime Chief Williams told sections of the media that he would recommend that security guards working in public places like the supermarket be properly trained, especially those carrying firearms.
“It is within your own judgement and sense, if you see a vehicle of a certain standard or class right there and then it speaks out to somebody. Even if you want to rate the person for whatever it is, whether the person is a drug lord, Minister or businessman, as soon as you see a vehicle of a certain standard, it supposed to arouse your attention and alertness,” he explained.
Meanwhile, Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo believes that the Minister’s behaviour if true was atrocious and should not be allowed to continue.
He said that the incident also pointed to the fact that sometimes people rush to judgement, referring to the unwarranted arrests of the two security guards at the Massey Store over the incident without properly investigating the issue thoroughly. He believes that the Police should be held responsible, given that they acted unprofessionally.

https://guyanatimesgy.com/broo...be-tolerated-jagdeo/

PNC Hooliganism and Racism has ratcheted up under the PNC prior to 2020.

PNC only harass and sexually assault Indo PPP MP's in Parliament. Afro MP's are exempt and they can only harass and jail innocent Security Guards.

When will Broomes be arrested ? Wait, Afro MP's  are exempt from being arrested for Hooliganism.

Military/Police intimidation and Dictatorship takes hold.

Hey hey hey...dem PPP Indo minista dem was gettin de same nice privilege...one seh he go strip wan woman and beat she. He still dey round and was minista. Dem two party protect dem mattie. Dat is how dem wuk...

PNC Hooliganism and Racism has ratcheted up under the PNC prior to 2020.

PNC only harass and sexually assault Indo PPP MP's in Parliament. Afro MP's are exempt and they can only harass and jail innocent Security Guards.

When will Broomes be arrested ? Wait, Afro MP's  are exempt from being arrested for Hooliganism.

Military/Police intimidation and Dictatorship takes hold.

You insipid moron. Cease with the race baiting on a PUBLIC FORUM; innocent people in Guyana can pay for the shit you are inciting!. One of the guards was BLACK, so how does the boorish behavior of this woman constitute racism? How is the military involved in any of this? Were soldiers called out? And what "military dictatorship" are you blabbering about?

The investigation is ongoing, let it take it's course before you post shit. Nevertheless, people of all races in Guyana have already expressed their distaste for her in the court of public opinion.

Meh like dis. Abie gat Labba now abie get guana...when de salipenta joinin GNI? Hey hey hey...welcome guana...

...rodents and reptiles are very descriptive of Guyanese. As are parasites (of which at least 2 parasites post here). Say hey!

Broomes refuses to speak on parking lot fracas; “We didn’t come into government for issues like this. We came into make changes”- Volda Lawrence

Minister in the Natural Resources Ministry, Simona Broomes

Even as Junior Minister of Natural Resources, Simona Broomes refused to say whether she would apologise to two security guards with whom she had a now almost one week old fracas, Vice Chairperson of the People’s National Congress Reform (PNCR), Volda Lawrence said she was taken aback by one of the personnel’s account of the incident.

While Broomes was on her way to the Parliament Building’s Chamber, she was asked whether she would apologise to the guards at New Thriving Restaurant, Providence, East Bank Demerara.

She responded, saying “I don’t know what you’re talking about”. When told that she was being questioned about the incident at the parking lot, she maintained that “I don’t know what you’re talking about”.

PNCR Vice Chairperson, Volda Lawrence chatting with the guard who complained to her that he was locked up by police for 16 hours.

Lawrence, for her part, said Broomes would have to make her own decision on whether to say sorry, but she apologised on behalf of herself and the PNCR. “We didn’t come into government for issues like this. We came into make changes,” Lawrence said, adding that she went to the restaurant to purchase food and one of the guards related his account of the incident.

Joseph Harmon, for whom Broomes is campaigning to win the PNCR’s chairmanship, said the incident was still being investigated by the Guyana Police Force. He is coming up against incumbent, Basil Williams and Lawrence for the chairmanship which is the de facto deputy party leader.

PNCR General Secretary, Amna Ally.

General Secretary of the PNCR, Amna Ally maintained that she did not have all of the facts or seen the surveillance video that disputes Broomes’ claim that one of the guards cocked his service shotgun and pointed the weapon at her. The video shows Broomes removing the traffic cones from an area that the guards had told her driver was a no parking area.

Ally said “all and sundry must observe the rule of law whether you are a minister, you are an ordinary person; that is what is expected.” On whether Ally had seen the video recordings, she said “I have more important things to do”.

Told that several persons equate Broomes’ reported behaviour with then Health Minister, Dr. Bheri Ramsarran’s abuse of women’s rights activist, Sherlena Nageer, the PNCR General Secretary declined to comment on that. Ally said she was not worried that the incident would cast a shadow over the government of which she is a member. “No, I view that as a personal issue.”

“We didn’t come into government for issues like this. We came into make changes,”  .... well said Volda Lawrence.

Interesting why the media was at the restaurant to take this picture... was this stage.

Lawrence adding that she went to the restaurant to purchase food and one of the guards related his account of the incident.

Well done to Volda tbh ...She stepped in and done the right thing...But Simona should do the right thing and tender her resignation. If that's the expected and tolerated behaviour over a £20 Chinese imagine when £10 billion worth of oil starts flowing 

These people should understand that in 24 months they are going to be sitting in the opposition again. Their behavior in and out of government is shameful. Concentrate on building the economy instead of witch hunting and playing Kings and Queens. It might help you win the next election. Harassing citizens and mismanaging the economy will not bring you votes. 

Meh like dis. Abie gat Labba now abie get guana...when de salipenta joinin GNI? Hey hey hey...welcome guana...

GNI's Sakawinki morphed into a Gwana. His DNA is all over the place.

Hey Hey Hey

Guyana got some ugly ministers...like all dem nice ones leff

Too much fried rice from New Thriving. 😀😀  Priya Manickchand was a star compared to these Ministers and you did make fun of her looks on this site.

Dem PNC Ministas are like Night time Jumbies. Priya looks like a Star Gyal compared to some of them Hugly Ones.

Sadly, Priya blighted her political future after she followed Gail and insulted the Ambassador.

Hey Hey Hey.

Dougla_80 posted:

Well done to Volda tbh ...She stepped in and done the right thing...But Simona should do the right thing and tender her resignation. If that's the expected and tolerated behaviour over a £20 Chinese imagine when £10 billion worth of oil starts flowing 

The buck stops at Granger's desk. 

Hey Hey Hey....

Hey hey hey...dem PPP Indo minista dem was gettin de same nice privilege...one seh he go strip wan woman and beat she. He still dey round and was minista. Dem two party protect dem mattie. Dat is how dem wuk...

I guess you are referring to Beri Beri. Dat Banna is an idiot and should be kicked out of the PPP. He is a liability to the PPP.

Hey hey Hey....