Jagdeo outlines criteria for next PPP presidential candidate

The sovereignty of the people case

By Jarryl Bryan

The decision in the case of the Attorney General versus Cedric Richardson was announced on Tuesday amid much public interest.

Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo, who was the subject of much debate regarding the ruling, remains unmoved by the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) upholding, among other things, term limits for Guyana’s Presidents by six to one.

During a press conference on Tuesday, Jagdeo maintained that despite the ruling, he would remain the General Secretary (GS) of the People’s Progressive Party (PPP). He noted that the ruling has nothing to do with his position as GS.

Jagdeo pointed out also that when he left office as President in 2011, it was in keeping with the law on presidential term limits. The former President stressed that he would continue to abide by the law and that at the appropriate time, the PPP would select a presidential candidate.

“The CCJ ruling has been interpreted in a particular way, but it is still our law,” Jagdeo stressed. “As someone who has always complied with our law, the same situation remains today.”
In fact, Jagdeo made it clear that he was not keen on certain aspects of being President. While he has no problem with the idea of listening and addressing the concerns of the ordinary people as President, he admitted he disliked the superficial form and ceremonial trappings that came with the position.

Jagdeo, who served as President from 1999 to 2011, noted that he would continue to play an integral part in the Party. According to the General Secretary, he will continue to broaden the demographics of persons coming to his party and maintained that if the PPP/C returned to Government he would play a formal role.

Jagdeo refused to speculate on what specific role he would play in the next PPP/C Government. He would only say that he would contribute through helping to guide and formulate policy, according to his experience. While Jagdeo noted that the Party has never placed all its eggs in one basket when it came to the electoral ticket, he declined to cite potential presidential candidates. However, he did highlight that the Party’s next presidential candidate will have to be a “hard-working” person, who is courageous and has good management skills.

“I see many people I like for that position. These people are hard-working, have great management skills and are courageous. That’s what I think a President should be,” Jagdeo related.

When he was asked directly whether he would support former President Donald Ramotar as the Party’s presidential candidate, Jagdeo would only reiterate his ideals of presidential criteria.

The case

The constitutional challenge case brought by Georgetown resident Cedric Richardson in February 2015 had sought the Court’s interpretation of the National Assembly’s changes to Article 90, as those related to four restraints on the freedom of choice by citizens at national elections.

Richardson argued, through his lawyers, Emily Dodson and Shawn Allicock, that the amendment – Article 17 of 2000 – unconstitutionally curtails and restricts his sovereign and democratic right and freedom as a qualified elector to elect a specific person of his choice as the Executive President of the Cooperative Republic of Guyana.

Richardson had also contended that the limit was unconstitutional and illegal. He sought the Court’s interpretation to determine whether a referendum on the amendment should not have been held, instead of the two-thirds majority in the

National Assembly has the power to decide the limit on the number of terms.

Former acting Chief Justice Ian Chang had ruled in July 2015 that the alteration of Article 90 by Act No 17 of 2000, in substance and effect, undoubtedly diminished the democratic rights of the electorate in electing a person of their own choice as President.
He had noted that such an amendment needs a referendum and is invalid and without legal effect for reason of non-compliance.

He further ruled that Act 17 of 2000 seeks to dilute the pre-existing democratic rights of the electorate to elect a President of their choice. As such, while the Constitution provides for representative democracy, such representative democracy cannot encroach on popular sovereignty from which it derives and which is entrenched by the requirement of the referendum.

However, the High Court’s decision was appealed by the Attorney General’s Chambers and former Speaker of the House Raphael Trotman, both of whom were named as respondents in the court action. They asked that the ruling is “wholly set aside”.

https://guyanatimesgy.com/jagd...sidential-candidate/

THE REAL PRESIDENT OF GUYANA WHO IS WILLING TO SACRIFICE FOR THE GUYANESE PEOPLE. A MAN WITH A VAST AMOUNT OF WISDOM, VISION AND KNOWLEDGE THAT WILL ENHANCE THE ECONOMIC STATUS OF ALL GUYANESE!!  BHARAT!!!  BHARAT!!!

Party’s next presidential candidate will have to be a “hard-working” person, who is courageous and has good management skills.

Jagdeo said he knows many in the PPP who can fulfill these criteria. So, who is the next presidential candidate? Damn!

Prashad support a next Presidential run by President Ramotar. President Jagdeo has his back.

Prashad, why would you support Donald Duck who was the President that took orders from Granger’s PNC and GAVE AWAY the 2015 elections to the PNC/AFC. Yes, DD is toxic and anti PPP in wolfe’s clothing.

The misconception of bullying is when someone allowed himself to be bullied. In this case, it's always the Indians who are receiving the shit end of the stick. This is a lame excuse and it's becoming a second nature to seek comfort by the word "bully".  

Dondadda posted:

Prashad support a next Presidential run by President Ramotar. President Jagdeo has his back.

Prashad, why would you support Donald Duck who was the President that took orders from Granger’s PNC and GAVE AWAY the 2015 elections to the PNC/AFC. Yes, DD is toxic and anti PPP in wolfe’s clothing.

First alyuh seh de man tek “bullying” now alyuh seh he tek “orders from Granger” . . .  where was puppetmaster Jagdeo when all this disobedience wuz occurring?

Dondadda posted:

And so it shall be told.

The problem with the PPP is its Constitution. It needs to be reformed, and quickly. There is enormous powers in the hands of the General Secretary of the Party. It is scary when I read that BJ say that “I see many people in the  PPP that I like”. This is a decision that should be left up to the delegates of the Party. It should not be BJs decision nor should he have any influence in who is selected, except his one vote, as the Presidential Candidate. His position should be an impartial one. I will have to say on this matter later on.

Suh BJ was hoping the CCJ would have ruled in his stooge favor. now that it did not he wants to decide who will run on behalf of the PPP. Isnt it the party that decides such?

BJ still has his dictatorial attitudes.

Pointblank
antabanta posted:
Dondadda posted:

... It should not be BJs decision nor should he have any influence in who is selected, except his one vote, as the Presidential Candidate.

You mean elected... right?

Dondadda knows what he is talking about

Pointblank

As of now, like him or not, he is a vote getter and will exert control from behind the scenes. I don’t see him going away anytime soon, which may be problematic for the international community.

Putinesque in the West!

Jagdeo was an obstacle to the West, but his position as GS is not much of a big deal. Now that he out, big brother will be watching keenly who will be the next leader and his message as election nears. 

Ramotar was weak. The Coalition Opposition were always bullying him 

how was this “bullying” manifested?

please explain

Why would you need an explanation for things that were showing in plain sight?

how was this “bullying” manifested?

please explain

Why would you need an explanation for things that were showing in plain sight?

please cite example(s)

thanx

That's false.

Look at PNC Baggage Handler Mitwah defending his team PNC.

well, show where his statement is wrong then, and stop being a little girl

Antie Ronan, show me where MY statement is wrong na ? You are not sure if you are a boy or girl. 

the 'wrongness' of your statement is not at issue . . . you just wasting time engaging in idle antiman talk . . . addressing nothing

try standing up straight for a change and DEAL with what the man said

Keep trying antie Ronan. Answer my question na ?

You just doing a lady dance day and night.

you made a statement that started with "look at" . . . that's called masturbating in public for attention

now, you actually want me to tell you ("answer") if you doing it right?

really? . . . you must have syphilis in the brain

Dance Antie Ronan, dance.

mmmm . . . this mussbe your latest tail-between-your-legs technique to back out of 'jail' when your own ignorance overwhelms

Labba was trying the same slink away artifice a couple of days ago

you obviously paid attention

So here's my question for all you smart people here:

Why should Jagdeo be "allowed" to "select" the criteria for the next PPP leader.?

Why cant the party make a democratic decision on the criteria, then vote on he most credible candidate? Dat so difficult?  

Why should Jagdeo be "allowed" to "select" the criteria for the next PPP leader.?

Why cant the party make a democratic decision on the criteria, then vote on he most credible candidate? Dat so difficult?  

Because Papa Cheddie and Janet groom him to be become the leader,turns he became greedy,he should fade away,there are some good folks who can manage.

Janet was the one who created Jagdeo.

Good question.

Janet was the one who created Jagdeo.

Groom and then create.

Vish, Jagdeo had a Press Conference this morning explaining the process. Please take a look.

Any you don't see a problem with that? What are you saying about the rest of the party if Jagdeo has to explain to them?