This is what you get for going too far to help other coolies get into homes they could not buy.  When things go wrong, they turn on you.  Always stick by the rules, don’t go overboard to help anyone just because dem is yuh Mattie.   Dem is the fuss to sell you out any cry victim and you are left naked!

Agreed 1,000 percent.

There are several cases of mortgage brokers in Canada  being investigated by the Police for doing fraudulent mortgages, some were sent to jail.

In Ontario brokers have to verify all information, employment, income, down payment and personal I D. the bank would further check all information.

Real Estate agents get greedy,selling a higher priced property to a buyer brings them a bigger commission, some agents wants to do only a couple large deals instead of doing the foot work on several smaller deals that in the end brings in the same money. The problem is when a real Estate agent is also the Mortgage Broker on the same deal, he would be inclined to do under hand business to complete the transaction, it's all about the dollar. Ed Ahmad set up fake businesses, gave out fake job letters, got new immigrants to invest in Ghost Houses, using their names on title and getting loans from different financial institutions, which he paid them peanuts and he took the big haul. He preyed on the uneducated and poor, he went after his own country man, today many are crying, they lost their life saving.

Last edited by kp
Vish M posted:

Please do not try that angle, he is not the Mahatma trying to help the helpless

profit was and still is his motive

You’re too simple minded to understand what I was saying.

He got greedy, he made money, but don’t for a moment think many who entered into the transactions were not part of the fraud.  They all hoped things will keep going north and they will build quick equity without an investment.  When it went south and they went upside down, they cry foul and turned on him. 

Did he commit fraud? yes, did he deserve punishment? yes.  But those “victims” were active participants.

i see people do lots of shit on their taxes to scheme and get undeserving credits.  Then they say the guy who did their taxes told them.  I always tell them, one IRS question, the House of cards will come crashing down.  You know right from wrong, if it feels too good, it probably is!

There are several cases of mortgage brokers in Canada  being investigated by the Police for doing fraudulent mortgages, some were sent to jail.

In Ontario brokers have to verify all information, employment, income, down payment and personal I D. the bank would further check all information.

Real Estate agents get greedy,selling a higher priced property to a buyer brings them a bigger commission, some agents wants to do only a couple large deals instead of doing the foot work on several smaller deals that in the end brings in the same money. The problem is when a real Estate agent is also the Mortgage Broker on the same deal, he would be inclined to do under hand business to complete the transaction, it's all about the dollar. Ed Ahmad set up fake businesses, gave out fake job letters, got new immigrants to invest in Ghost Houses, using their names on title and getting loans from different financial institutions, which he paid them peanuts and he took the big haul. He preyed on the uneducated and poor, he went after his own country man, today many are crying, they lost their life saving.

I agree, but those who got fake job letters knew it was fake.  Poor and uneducated was just the excuse.  They knew it was fake.   You don’t need to be rich and educated you don’t have the  job. 

Anyway, I don’t excuse him, he deserves what he got. But them “victims” knew they were committing fraud.  

Vish M posted:

Please do not try that angle, he is not the Mahatma trying to help the helpless

profit was and still is his motive

You’re too simple minded to understand what I was saying.

He got greedy, he made money, but don’t for a moment think many who entered into the transactions were not part of the fraud.  They all hoped things will keep going north and they will build quick equity without an investment.  When it went south and they went upside down, they cry foul and turned on him. 

Did he commit fraud? yes, did he deserve punishment? yes.  But those “victims” were active participants.

i see people do lots of shit on their taxes to scheme and get undeserving credits.  Then they say the guy who did their taxes told them.  I always tell them, one IRS question, the House of cards will come crashing down.  You know right from wrong, if it feels too good, it probably is!

One of your better posts Baseman.

Well said.