Political analyst Henry Jeffrey says the evidence suggests that Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo has good reason to fear that electoral shenanigans are afoot but that his threatened robust response is the wrong approach as it could impact the oil economy and development.

In his Future Notes column in Tuesday’s edition of Stabroek News  Jeffrey noted that APNU+AFC supporters had condemned the position taken by Jagdeo but that in his, Jeffrey’s assessment, there are signs of concern.

Jeffrey said that the APNU+AFC government began to give ominous signs that supportive public opinion, upon which electoral support depends, was not high on its list of priorities.

“In opposition it persistently chided the PPP/C for its profligacy, but almost immediately upon taking office allocated itself huge salary increases on the laughable grounds that such increases would help to prevent it from being corrupt. Furthermore, the coalition government still refuses to fulfill core commitments to constitutional reform and the reinstitution of collective bargaining in the public sector!” Jeffrey asserted. 

Jeffrey, who has had historic connections to both the PNC and the PPP, also cited recent developments around the elections commission which he said are sufficient to give the opposition party cause for concern.

“Firstly, President David Granger opened the innings with a blatantly false interpretation of the constitution, which claimed that only a judge could become the chair of the commission. A secondary school child would know that this is not so and the president definitely knew better, but this ruse got him into court, from which, notwithstanding the clear intention of the Carter formula to create the Guyana Elections Commission by consensus, he extracted a decision that allowed him to unilaterally appoint the chair of the commission. Then came the accusation by the PPP/C that ethnic balance at the commission was badly skewed in favour of those of African descent and rather than undertaking a proper analysis and debunking or not the accusation and providing sensible explanations and solutions, questionable statistics and foolish notions of meritocracy in this ethnically charged political context are being canvassed. Then we were privy to the weirdest application of meritocracy when the top candidate for the position of Deputy Chief Election Officer, Mr. Vishnu Persaud, an Indian, was cast aside by the casting vote of the chair for a candidate who clearly supports the regime. One could go on, but on these grounds alone, if Mr. Jagdeo does not conclude and warn his supporters that the APNU+AFC coalition is most likely set upon an illicit electoral course, he would need his head examined!” Jeffrey declared.

He then situated the discussion in the decades-old ethno-political divide in the country and faulted the PPP/C for how it handled the problem after it returned to office in 1992 following the end of the Cold War.

Jeffrey said that it was usual in countries of this type for the incumbent regime to have to face radical political activism from the “ethnic entrepreneurs” on the other side. Therefore, he said, upon taking government in 1992, the PPP/C was regularly confronted by a “truculent essentially African PNC opposition” and in its effort to protect its democratic right to rule the PPP/C sought to establish political dominance based upon its Indian ethnic majority.

“This act of the PPP/C, which took shape after the death of Cheddi Jagan, was new and particularly pernicious. As a result, the democratic problem Mr. Jagdeo now faces has largely been created by himself and the PPP/C!” Jeffrey contended.

Arguing that Forbes Burnham’s PNC was brought to power in 1964  to thwart communism and stayed in government only so long as capitalism needed its help, Jeffrey said that Burnham’s reign was not a deliberate project to establish African political dominance but he was a nationalist/socialist in the age of the containment of communism and attempting to fulfill this agenda. At the end of the day, he said that Burnham was importantly the gate-keeper for international capital against the perceived communism of the Jagans, and by way of elections rigging he disenfranchised every Guyanese.

“Therefore, what Mr. Jagdeo needs to understand is that APNU is not a rogue political oligarchy gone solo: it is underpinned by a whole tribe of people who believe that they suffered politically, psychologically, economically and otherwise under his rule, and global appeals to democracy have not been attractive to people who feel this way. There is no point at this stage in debating whether or not the political perceptions of Africans or Indians are justified as in politics perception is reality and the political context must have either given them sufficient reason to or could not have prevented them from developing such beliefs. Moreover, it is not possible to change these perceptions, in which each group prioritises its own safety and freedom, before the 2020 elections.  The result is that, if Mr. Jagdeo’s assessment is correct, stripped of the pretence of its being a government of national unity, the present regime is set upon doing precisely what the PPP/C failed to accomplish: African ethnic dominance, only now, based upon electoral manipulations”, Jeffrey stated. 

" />
Henry Jeffrey

Jeffrey asked what the PPP/C was offering to those of African ethnicity who do not generally support the rigging of elections but are not prepared to take the chance of the PPP/C returning to office. He said that this is a formidable group and the leader of the PPP/C cannot legitimately ignore such fundamental concerns. 

“(Jagdeo) must tell these people how he intends to square this circle and how he accounts for the democratic deficit he and his party created and for which we must all now pay”, Jeffrey said.

He added “It appears to me that regardless of how it goes, at its extremes in the present political context, the solution Mr. Jagdeo has so far proffered has the potential to  lead to violence or a persistent and debilitating undercurrent of ethnic resentment. Mr. Jagdeo’s position about the government’s intentions has merit but the solution he proposes is wrong for the political environment in which we live”.

Jeffrey asserted that there are over 100 ways of protesting against an errant government and the “managerial infrastructure of modern society is so complicated and interrelated, it appears to me that the PPP/C has far more than the necessary strategically located support to make political management extremely difficult”.

if Mr. Jagdeo does not conclude and warn his supporters that the APNU+AFC coalition is most likely set upon an illicit electoral course, he would need his head examined!” Jeffrey declared.

Jagdeo has been warning the Guyanese public about the rigging a long time now. Only the PNC supporters don't believe him.

Dr Jeffery is a smart and brilliant person, down to earth guy .. he was my neighbour back home ... Dr Jagan saw the vision in him, hence he was part of Cheddi cabinet until BJ came on board and all hell break loose.

his wife is Josphehine Whitehead a lawyer in Ralph’s firm. 

Dr Jeffery is a smart and brilliant person, down to earth guy .. he was my neighbour back home ... Dr Jagan saw the vision in him, hence he was part of Cheddi cabinet until BJ came on board and all hell break loose.

If all hell broke loose, why did the Jagans pick BJ to succeed them as President of Guyana? Oh, and ask Josephine for the land transport to show the FREE transfer of that land in Bel Air in 1964.  The original is stored in her office.

Naga and Ralph have the answer to your questions.

It seems you are BJ defender... go ask him why he held discussion ( suppose to be private ) recently, why he is puzzle Indians are not protesting what the current government is doing. 

He expect thousand of marchers in the country but non to his surprise.

And he is in order to bring down this government, but he has no support. 

Bibi when will you and the so call brilliant mind at Freem House  produce evidence to support claims. 

You ask me to get so call FREE transport from Ralph’s office... when you made the claim... you remind me of  Robeson Benn who walk out the Gecom office without offering any supporting evidence in his claim..

GNI admin should take a stand and restrict you for your false claims. 

It seems you are BJ defender... go ask him why he held discussion ( suppose to be private ) recently, why he is puzzle Indians are not protesting what the current government is doing. 

If you weren't such a Two timing, soup drinking slimeball, I would have told you the truth while you pollute this site with your nasty lies.

Bibi when will you and the so call brilliant mind at Freem House  produce evidence to support claims. 

You ask me to get so call FREE transport from Ralph’s office... when you made the claim... you remind me of  Robeson Benn who walk out the Gecom office without offering any supporting evidence in his claim..

GNI admin should take a stand and restrict you for your false claims. 

You cannot walk in Ralph and Robeson Benn's shoes.  Go and tell Admin to restrict me. 

If you weren't such a Two timing, soup drinking slimeball, I would have told you the truth while you pollute this site with your nasty lies.

You have no truth to tell.. becareful that slimeball en stuck in your throat...

Yes, they do.

Bai yuh still posin wid de lady name? Hey hey hey...

I wasn't the one who showed up at Freedom House begging for favors and got turned down. WE have served the govt of Guyana for three generations and not one of us have EVER taken a cent out of the govt coffers.  So your allegation of me taking State land is null and void.  I left my home as a teenager and has worked to buy every single property that I own.  I work in a business where I have access to billions of dollars of other people's money from eight different countries and I have never ever taken a cent from anyone.  Take your allegations to someone else.  No one can ever call me a thief - EVER.

Most Indians in Guyana are hopeful that oil wealth will flow and they will benefit.  When that starts, Jagdeo’s rants will fall to the way side.

Jagdeo ran a corrupt neglectful regime and people are aware.   Indians are fearful of a return to the burnham era.  I doubt that will happen but we have to wait and see.   Beyond that, I doubt they will have a pique of fit over political power.  

I wasn't the one who showed up at Freedom House begging for favors and got turned down. WE have served the govt of Guyana for three generations and not one of us have EVER taken a cent out of the govt coffers.  So your allegation of me taking State land is null and void.  I left my home as a teenager and has worked to buy every single property that I own.  I work in a business where I have access to billions of dollars of other people's money from eight different countries and I have never ever taken a cent from anyone.  Take your allegations to someone else.  No one can ever call me a thief - EVER.

Agreed, people should not call others thief and this and that.  And that goes for you too, you who Liberally does it to others.  So do fuh do no obeah deh seh!

Most Indians in Guyana are hopeful that oil wealth will flow and they will benefit.  When that starts, Jagdeo’s rants will fall to the way side.

Jagdeo ran a corrupt neglectful regime and people are aware.   Indians are fearful of a return to the burnham era.  I doubt that will happen but we have to wait and see.   Beyond that, I doubt they will have a pique of fit over political power.  

Dem PNC man will give nuff nuff dhal, soup, parata, duck curry, lamb curry to dem Indo elite just like Dr Mr Jagdoe do he handpick elite of Indos, blackman and mixman. PNC know dem gat to do dat. All dem souptunists gat to do is doan question PNC and line up foh full up dem pocket. De PNC will treat de black mass different dis time, dey getting nuff nuff public sector wuk and consultin and contracts. Is de coolie mass and Amerindian dem gettin de screw. Jagdeo screw de coolie mass and PNC will do same. Ayoo watch and see...all souptunists line up...

What you smoking/ drinking is not good for you. I have no idea why you came up with the above. 

For your information, Personally myself and our businesses never asked Freedom House for anything... we receive the phone calls for Freedom House for assistance and never look forward for any thing in return. 

Stop with your wild immiganation and get into constructive discussion.. 

Agreed, people should not call others thief and this and that.  And that goes for you too, you who Liberally does it to others.  So do fuh do no obeah deh seh!

Base I asked the question if she was beneficiary of state land or if she was the bank for PPP, when she claim to send money for PPP fundraising .. I never accuse her of thieving ... 

bibi is good in twisting stories around... she is a dangerous woman.

Dem PNC man will give nuff nuff dhal, soup, parata, duck curry, lamb curry to dem Indo elite just like Dr Mr Jagdoe do he handpick elite of Indos, blackman and mixman. PNC know dem gat to do dat. All dem souptunists gat to do is doan question PNC and line up foh full up dem pocket. De PNC will treat de black mass different dis time, dey getting nuff nuff public sector wuk and consultin and contracts. Is de coolie mass and Amerindian dem gettin de screw. Jagdeo screw de coolie mass and PNC will do same. Ayoo watch and see...all souptunists line up...

more neo-PPP con man race shyte from "Labba"

lissen up banna

first, the "black mass" under colonial, PPP and PNC administrations always were massively overrepresented in rank and file "public sector wuk" . . . wtf is novel about this? . . . like saying that ordinary blackman will now finally get police and GDF wuk under Granger

second, "consultin and contracts" by definition have nothing to do with the "black mass" or "de coolie mass" . . . that is for the "elites" as [previous] correctly indicated before you got lil too clever and mek attempt to shoehorn some bloated, invidious race nonsense into a small PPP cup and get ketch laboring stupidly in elementary contradiction

third, the throwaway reference to "Amerindian dem" is noted . . . i guess alyuh haven't yet fashioned a sufficiently compelling anti-blackman polemic to guarantee the interior votes now absolutely necessary for kith and kin to regain powah

uh huh . . . de large rodent think he sly

Who ever liked that comment, mek uself known. Post it, leh meh see who is it on deh site.

Sigs, it's easy to find who likes posts. I can PM it to you if you like. 

Who ever liked that comment, mek uself known. Post it, leh meh see who is it on deh site.

Sigs, it's easy to find who likes posts. I can PM it to you if you like. 

Yes. 

lissen up banna

first, the "black mass" under colonial, PPP and PNC administrations always were massively overrepresented in rank and file "public sector wuk" . . . wtf is novel about this? . . . like saying that ordinary blackman will now finally get police and GDF wuk under Granger

second, "consultin and contracts" by definition have nothing to do with the "black mass" or "de coolie mass" . . . that is for the "elites" as [previous] correctly indicated before you got lil too clever and mek attempt to shoehorn some bloated, invidious race nonsense into a small PPP cup and get ketch laboring stupidly in elementary contradiction

third, the throwaway reference to "Amerindian dem" is noted . . . i guess alyuh haven't yet fashioned a sufficiently compelling anti-blackman polemic to guarantee the interior votes now absolutely necessary for kith and kin to regain powah

Ayuh two in a complex ritual love dance only ayuh two can understand.   All that's left is fuh alyuh rub up and slime down!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgE6GwnzQMU

lissen up banna

Hey hey hey...ayoo hear abie one love WPA brotha a deflect and try do lil socialis class analysis like Rodney and Marx. Hey hey hey...Yea...when dem collie and blackman vote pon de election day dem does tink bout class....me a upper class, me a middle class, me a wukkin class...hey hey hey. How ayoo criminal masta mind Ogun doing? Hey hey hey...Abie one love WPA protecting he powah centre...hey hey hey...

lissen up banna

Hey hey hey...ayoo hear abie one love WPA brotha a deflect and try do lil socialis class analysis like Rodney and Marx. Hey hey hey...Yea...when dem collie and blackman vote pon de election day dem does tink bout class....me a upper class, me a middle class, me a wukkin class...hey hey hey. How ayoo criminal masta mind Ogun doing? Hey hey hey...Abie one love WPA protecting he powah centre...hey hey hey…

well, a couple of things:

the "socialis class analysis like Rodney and Marx" is all yours . . . i merely sliced it open to expose you to ridicule

second, i agree with you that "collie" and "blackman" don't care about class in the voting booth

question you should be asking though . . . why did YOU devote the time and effort to post yuh "class analysis" here and den try to run away and blame me for your stinkin mess after i pointed out your CONTRADICTORY, PERNICIOUS race stupidness?

further, just so you know, i have neither met nor ever-had-a-conversation with Dr. Clive Thomas . . . the 'closest' i have been to the man is when i dated a girl who had taken his class at Colgate

btw, you are not fit to even spit shine his boots

as to Eric Phillips, David Hinds, et al . . . dem bais were at QC before me, and i know of them - never made their acquaintance

i migrated from Guyana in the 1970's, did not return until 1994. I was not part of the generation coming of age besotted with the false promise of "scientific socialism" - a bizzare idea that y'all former enthusiasts who cut y'all teeth at 'anti-imperialist' Freedom House's battam house U are now making a career running away from

just look at the antics of Patrice Lumumba U's Bharrat Jagdeo

oh wait . . . de rat is wan admirer and practitioner of gross Yeltsin tiefmanism; Lenin is nat he speed

my bad

your pitiful attempt to daub me with Ogunseye shyte is the full measure of your cowardice and desperation after imploding in spectacular fashion peddling your racist provocations and LIES at the top of this thread

keep plumbing the "WPA" angle . . . you will continue to look the fool

lil tidbit to whet yuh appetite . . . even though i was never old enough to vote in any of Burnham's 'elections' . . . i know plenty PNC tap dawgs from the Burnham/Hoyte era

now lemme see, do you still think i'm a political/social 'scientist'? . . . har de har har harrr

Nehru still thinks i am TK . . . bless his retarded soul

Of note:

"if Mr. Jagdeo does not conclude and warn his supporters that the APNU+AFC coalition is most likely set upon an illicit electoral course, he would need his head examined!” Jeffrey declared

What is it about Guyana's Black Presidents and rigging ? 

PIC-1

What does these two chaps have in common ?

• PIC-1

they are both "Black" . . . not by skin color alone though, since you skin black more than Granger

So you finally agree that "black" leaders love to rig.

they are both "Black" . . . not by skin color alone though, since you skin black more than Granger

So you finally agree that "black" leaders love to rig.

ahmmm . . . what they have in common is "black"

pay attention dunceman

Lol. GNI's clown Ronan has finally lost his marbles. Bring in the Mental Heath Doctors for him. 

Boo, brother Gaj is coming to get you.

Lol. GNI's clown Ronan has finally lost his marbles. Bring in the Mental Heath Doctors for him. 

Boo, brother Gaj is coming to get you.

lil man, go play in the sandlot with the slow learners and stop inserting yuh limited self in grown people story

lissen up banna

Hey hey hey...ayoo hear abie one love WPA brotha a deflect and try do lil socialis class analysis like Rodney and Marx. Hey hey hey...Yea...when dem collie and blackman vote pon de election day dem does tink bout class....me a upper class, me a middle class, me a wukkin class...hey hey hey. How ayoo criminal masta mind Ogun doing? Hey hey hey...Abie one love WPA protecting he powah centre...hey hey hey…

well, a couple of things:

the "socialis class analysis like Rodney and Marx" is all yours . . . i merely sliced it open to expose you to ridicule

second, i agree with you that "collie" and "blackman" don't care about class in the voting booth

question you should be asking though . . . why did YOU devote the time and effort to post yuh "class analysis" here and den try to run away and blame me for your stinkin mess after i pointed out your CONTRADICTORY, PERNICIOUS race stupidness?

further, just so you know, i have neither met nor ever-had-a-conversation with Dr. Clive Thomas . . . the 'closest' i have been to the man is when i dated a girl who had taken his class at Colgate

btw, you are not fit to even spit shine his boots

as to Eric Phillips, David Hinds, et al . . . dem bais were at QC before me, and i know of them - never made their acquaintance

i migrated from Guyana in the 1970's, did not return until 1994. I was not part of the generation coming of age besotted with the false promise of "scientific socialism" - a bizzare idea that y'all former enthusiasts who cut y'all teeth at 'anti-imperialist' Freedom House's battam house U are now making a career running away from

just look at the antics of Patrice Lumumba U's Bharrat Jagdeo

oh wait . . . de rat is wan admirer and practitioner of gross Yeltsin tiefmanism; Lenin is nat he speed

my bad

your pitiful attempt to daub me with Ogunseye shyte is the full measure of your cowardice and desperation after imploding in spectacular fashion peddling your racist provocations and LIES at the top of this thread

keep plumbing the "WPA" angle . . . you will continue to look the fool

lil tidbit to whet yuh appetite . . . even though i was never old enough to vote in any of Burnham's 'elections' . . . i know plenty PNC tap dawgs from the Burnham/Hoyte era

now lemme see, do you still think i'm a political/social 'scientist'? . . . har de har har harrr

Nehru still thinks i am TK . . . bless his retarded soul

Hey hey hey...yuh like Sugar Ray Lenard dey...hey hey hey...yuh is de one who slip in one love WPA class ritual...now yuh runnin and de ropes ketchin yuh...hey hey hey...All dem ting yuh seh doan hide de fact fram yuh original post...hey hey hey...me doan do class analysis. Doh is for Prof Thomas...hey hey hey...