ECOM Chairman rejects re-employment of Vishnu Persaud as Deputy Chief Elections Officer

Vishnu Persaud

The Chairman of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM), Retired Justice James Patterson on Tuesday used his casting vote to reject the re-hiring of Vishnu Persaud as Deputy Chief Elections Officer (DECO), a move the opposition People’s Progressive Party (PPP) has condemned.

“I have great fears that we cannot rely on informed rational fair judgements of the chair of the Elections Commission in the position which he occupies,” said PPP-nominated Commissioner, Robeson Benn. He contended that “on the principle of meritocracy, this could not stand”.

The GECOM Chairman could not be reached by telephone.

Fellow GECOM Commissioner, Bibi Shadick said although Persaud was evaluated in the interviews as the top-ranked candidate,  the GECOM Chairman three weeks later on Tuesday voted against Persaud, an East Indo-Guyanese, returning to GECOM.

Instead, she said Justice Patterson voted for Roxanne Myers, an Afro-Guyanese, to be the next DCEO of the elections management authority. “This thing is now blatant discrimination on the basis of race,” she said.

Roxanne Myers (photo from Twitter)

Shadick said a complaint would be lodged to the Ethnic Relations Commission so that a probe could be lodged. Shadick assured that the PPP did not prefer Persaud because of political considerations. “Vishnu Persaud was no friend of the PPP was never giving secrets or cooperating with the PPP.  He was doing a professional job. We have  no personal reason for wanting him there,” she said.

The lone female GECOM Commissioner warned that “this is not something that we would sit and take” and she feared that a plan was being hatched  against her party. “The way we see it is the deck is being stacked to achieve a certain result, a result we consider unpalatable,” she said.

The PPP is already on record as objecting to President David Granger’s unilateral appointment of Justice Patterson as GECOM Chairman. That party has since lodged an appeal to  the High Court’s decision that the President has the unilateral right to reject the Opposition Leader’s nominees for GECOM Chairman and appoint someone from the judicial category.

Like I said, Granger place his people in all the right places to give him the advantage of winning the next election. It gets to a point of no return. It means, its getting worst day by day leading up to 2020. I am not surprise because I know this was the plan when Granger fired supposedly PPP loyalists from government ministries and replaced them with PNC loyalists. He didn't care about the state of the country, but he was busy building the PNC political foundation. 

What is done cannot be undone. The PPP future looks bleak from my perspective. Some GNI colleaues may disagree, but that's their choice to believe that fairytail can come true. 

There are 2 sides to every story, but I would like to know the MERITS behind this decision...looks like this government intends to keep pissing off non-supporters.

Forget about merit and the two sides. Pay attention to the truth that you will find in the middle (the third side).

Like I said, Granger place his people in all the right places to give him the advantage of winning the next election. It gets to a point of no return. It means, its getting worst day by day leading up to 2020. I am not surprise because I know this was the plan when Granger fired supposedly PPP loyalists from government ministries and replaced them with PNC loyalists. He didn't care about the state of the country, but he was busy building the PNC political foundation. 

What is done cannot be undone. The PPP future looks bleak from my perspective. Some GNI colleaues may disagree, but that's their choice to believe that fairytail can come true. 

Suh if the PPP had 23 years on their hands why couldnt they place their own "people" in place,  instead of whining that the election was rigged? 

That's a question the PPP needs to answer. Or better yet, ask one of PPP loyalist on GNI.

Had PPP done the same, Georgetown would be on Fire, looting of Indian stores , beating and raping of indo guyanese. 

Where is AFC ( Indians ) on this. If anyone of you can make a change for Indians in Guyana, then be part of the solution and go back home and be counted and let your voices be heard. 

Hope the link below refreshes the mind.

http://www.guyanaundersiege.co...overthrow%20govt.htm

Ayah should stop stressing out in that god forsaken piece of real estate.  Guyana now belongs to Blacks and whoever thinks Jagdeo will deliver, keep dreaming.  He helped set the stage for what we are seeing.  

Alyuh should focus on making America great again.  Canadians, stop complaining and fix over deh.  Trump is fixing America.  Let us deal with him, alyuh deal with pretty boy and alyuh sputtering economy. 

Ayah should stop stressing out in that god forsaken piece of real estate.  Guyana now belongs to Blacks and whoever thinks Jagdeo will deliver, keep dreaming.  He helped set the stage for what we are seeing.  

Alyuh should focus on making America great again.  Canadians, stop complaining and fix over deh.  Trump is fixing America.  Let us deal with him, alyuh deal with pretty boy and alyuh sputtering economy. 

A see yo point about Guyana . But hear nah Base, Trump building his empire... not America.

the only way you can get a piece of the pie, joint his family.. the man get nuf son, go meck heights.

Trump looking for non lazy folks to help him build his empire. Apply nuh! 

A see yo point about Guyana . But hear nah Base, Trump building his empire... not America.

the only way you can get a piece of the pie, joint his family.. the man get nuf son, go meck heights.

Trump will take one look at Base and ask "who is this Mexican?" 

Vish, THE RACIST PIGS PNC ARE IN YOUR FACE PW BOTHA, LOOK AT SOME ON THIS BOARS, YOU CAN TELL THEY WERE TRAINED LIKE PAVLOV DOGS AT SOPHIA. YOU ARE RIGHT INDIANS IN GUYANA HAS NO FUTURE. DEMOCRACY IS DEAD!!!

It seems whatever Granger is doing is "fit and proper" for Guyana since there are NO oppositions to tackle the problem they're facing. Jagdeo tool is the newspaper and the dotish readers bring his garbage on GNI to debate. This validates VishnuMahabir heading, coolie, bla, bla, bla.

Prince, are you kanwa, Jagdeo is out there EVERYDAY exposing the CRIMINALS!!!

Exposing? What has exposing done for Guyana today? To get more pucknee in them BT hole?

ugly

Nehru's New Squeeze

This girl has a nice smile.  I can see why Patterson wants her to be Deputy Elections Officer.  She look like she bright to.

Does anyone know her MERIT qualifications...aside from probably being a supporter of the PNC...just wondering.

ugly

Nehru's New Squeeze

This girl has a nice smile.  I can see why Patterson wants her to be Deputy Elections Officer.  She look like she bright to.

This girl look like she got a nice personality.  Old boy Pat heart may be beating fast now remembering when he was a young man.

ugly

Nehru's New Squeeze

Does anyone know her MERIT qualifications...aside from probably being a supporter of the PNC...just wondering.

Yes. According to the PNC she is Afro Guyanese and in a effort to place the rigging machinery in place, she is of merit to Granger and the PNC.

ugly

Nehru's New Squeeze

She looks nice enough.  Give it a rest!

A picture speaks a thousand words. One word is RACIST, to compare a woman to Miss. Piggy character. This ackward belief of Indo-superiority is the root cause of an incurable disease.  

Why don't you shut your stinking mouth. Where were you when the nastiest things and name calling were done towards our Priya ?

The racist Indo Hater D2 called our beautiful Priya a Pig. You sir need to invest in a good pair of spectacles or stop eating black baigan so that your vision can improve.

Yuji, is that how you behave when I point out the danger of an incurable disease? You are a smart person, but a little effort can change your thoughts about people of God's creation. Am I misjudging you?