Melania Trump 'hates to see' children separated from their families at borders

(CNN)In a rare statement on a policy issue, first lady Melania Trump weighed in through her spokeswoman on the immigration crisis taking place at America's borders.

"Mrs. Trump hates to see children separated from their families and hopes both sides of the aisle can finally come together to achieve successful immigration reform," her communications director, Stephanie Grisham, told CNN on Sunday. "She believes we need to be a country that follows all laws, but also a country that governs with heart."
Trump, who has made helping children the crux of her official "Be Best" platform as first lady, had yet to discuss the state of families and immigration, a topic that has been prominent in headlines for days.
A Trump administration policy now charges every adult caught crossing the border illegally with federal crimes, as opposed to referring those with children mainly to immigration courts, as previous administrations did. Because the government is charging the parents in the criminal justice system, children are separated from them, without a clear procedure for their reunification aside from hotlines the parents can call to try to track their children down.

The policy to refer all adults for charges was publicly announced May 7, but the Justice Department announced it would prosecute 100% of the cases referred to it at the beginning of April.
Democratic congressman: Family separation 'on all of us'

Nearly 2,000 children have been separated from their parents and guardians and placed into holding facilities between April 19 and May 31 of this year, Department of Homeland Security spokesman Jonathan Hoffman told reporters Friday on a conference call.
The public outcry in the wake of images and stories of the children caught in the middle of the controversial immigration policy has sparked fierce debate.
President Donald Trump has repeatedly blamed the Democrats for the situation despite his administration instituting the policy change.
"Democrats can fix their forced family breakup at the Border by working with Republicans on new legislation, for a change!" he tweeted on Saturday. "This is why we need more Republicans elected in November. Democrats are good at only three things, High, High Crime and Obstruction. Sad!"

• blobid0

Melania Trump is not the president, but she can express her views as an American and a mother of a young son. I also don't like to see children separated from their parents. At the end of the day, she is still the president's wife. I hope after much pressure, Trump can reverse his separation policy. Even if he do, many of you will still hate him. 

She can starve him for other "things" and hopefully he caves in and ends this terrible policy.

Starve him from what ????

From the reports, he gets it from here, there and everywhere.

Starve him from what ????

From the reports, he gets it from here, there and everywhere.

Yugi has small hands like Trump. 

All you Canadians having heartfelt sorrow for these illegals, there is something you can do.  Get your pretty boy to set up safe zones in Canada and take them in and shelter them.  Why run from gangs in their countries when the gangs are on the streets here in the USA.

We will agree to pay for the Grey Hound buses to bring them up.

This is a grand conspiracy even involving the Govts who want payment from the US.  The US was paying the Govts over $700 mil to "help with crime".  When the payment were being made, the rush of illegals stopped.  The payments were reduced and the swarm started again.  This is total black mail of the US.

Build the frigging wall!

Bhai, Trump love pu$$y, but even that wouldn't make him cave. I don't believe you follow Trump since he took office. He just put two halla pun Justin and leave him hanging high and dry.  

There is NOTHING that Trump is doing that is NOT law.  It is the law, but like any law you can apply loosely or strictly.

55 MPH means 55 MPH or the police could chose to act if you exceed 70MPH!

Bush allowed the 70 grace, Obama allowed 65 and Trump narrowed it to 60!

Trump's the new Sheriff in town, get used to it!  Stop bawling like brats!

Bhai, Trump love pu$$y, but even that wouldn't make him cave. I don't believe you follow Trump since he took office. He just put two halla pun Justin and leave him hanging high and dry.  

Which normal man don't?

I am a compassionate person and call a spade a spade.

The zero tolerance law is not Trump’s law. It was passed by Congress.  

So then I stand corrected, did Democrats too voted for this law ?

This law was in the books since the Obama administration but it was never enacted.

While there are discussions on the zero tolerance guidelines/laws; the gist of the issue and conclusion is that no such "law" exist.

There are no US-federal laws that permit the separation of families.

Action without enacted laws are unlawful and unenforceable.

This law was in the books since the Obama administration but it was never enacted.

While there are discussions on the zero tolerance guidelines/laws; the gist of the issue and conclusion is that no such "law" exist.

In the United States and every other country in the world when a parent breaks the law they are separated from their children during the judicial process and when they go to jail.

Why are these parents breaking the law and putting their children in harm’s way?  Why is this Trump’s problem and not the problem of the countries that these people belong to?

In the United States and every other country in the world when a parent breaks the law they are separated from their children during the judicial process and when they go to jail.

Why are these parents breaking the law and putting their children in harm’s way?  Why is this Trump’s problem and not the problem of the countries that these people belong to?

Oh man... I thought as a female, you would have some compassion Bibi.

Former first lady Laura Bush, who almost never expresses public opinions, wrote an essay in the Washington Post calling the separations “immoral” and heartbreaking. Talk host Ellen DeGeneres, whose online presence is largely apolitical, wrote on Twitter: “I don’t care what your politics are, we can’t be a country that separates children from their parents.”

I do have compassion. It's a sad situation.  The zero tolerance law was passed by Congress and voted on by Congress people from all fifty states. Children are not going through the judicial process. They have to be temporarily separated while the parents get reviewed by immigration officers.  Trump also has to pay for translators as none of them speak English.

Like I said it's sad and unfortunate.  Why are we blaming Trump and not the leaders of the countries where these people are coming from?

There are 3,000 "unaccompanied minors" from the Mx border handed to NY to care for.  You/we are all paying USD 125k per year, per child to house, feed, school and provide for them.  Funding comes  50% from the Feds and 50% from Albany, alyuh tax money!  NJ has about 600.

Their parents are in Central America while alyuh tekking care of their kids fuh free.  Dem mo smart than all alyuh university educated big-shots who pay through your noses to send your kids to Uni!

BTW, all dem illegals in NY getting better medical and dental care than many hard working legal immigrants and citizens.  The benefits are better than many of your gold plans.

Why are we blaming Trump and not the leaders of the countries where these people are coming from?

It's a grand conspiracy.  The Govts there were receiving $750 mil to mitigate whatever was causing people to want to leave and swarm to the US.  Obama started the cut-back and the migration started again.  It now escalated under Trump given the domestic political situation and the sense of appeasement from the Democrats.

These people are being advised by lawyers back home in conjunction with traitor lawyers here in the USA.  Why you think they bring a minor kid.  The US lawyers take their cases and the USG have to pay the legal costs of their representation.

While your comments do have merits, it does NOT address the issue of zero tolerance guidelines/laws as they relate to the specific issue, i.e., people without legal documents arriving in the US_of_A.

Indeed, there are various zero tolerance guidelines/laws which specifically relate to other matters, e.g., weapons on playgrounds.

The the first such laws was implemented by President Ronald Reagan in the 1980's which addressed the issues against drugs.

DodoDonald got belna lashes from Melania plus also from his daughters and many others.

Eleven American Presidents didn’t have the guts to address this problem. Trump is the first to take the bull by the horn.  

Yes he is making mistakes along the way.  

But hopefully he corrects them as he goes along.

Perhaps, the bull has its horn deeply embedded in DodoDonald's rear end.

And as usual, he makes huge, huge, HUGE mistakes on a daily basis plus the false and misguided statements, which according to the records is over 2, 500 from the time he is in office.

I do have compassion. It's a sad situation.  The zero tolerance law was passed by Congress and voted on by Congress people from all fifty states. Children are not going through the judicial process. They have to be temporarily separated while the parents get reviewed by immigration officers.  Trump also has to pay for translators as none of them speak English.

Like I said it's sad and unfortunate.  Why are we blaming Trump and not the leaders of the countries where these people are coming from?

Do you have children of your own?

I don’t like homeless little people.

How can you be so heartless?