PPP slams gov’t over six-colour flag at independence event

The darker green is evident at the bottom of the flag (Terrence Thompson photo)

May 31 2018

The People’s Progressive Party has lambasted Government “on the despicable and unconstitutional alteration of Guyana’s national flag” hoisted at D’Urban Park to mark the nation’s 52nd Independence anniversary as “intent on trampling” on Guyana’s national symbols.

In a release on Tuesday, the PPP said, “Guyanese have witnessed the practice of national symbols being treated as the property of this Administration – the last such act evidenced in the seizure of the national flag from the Corriverton Town Council on the anniversary of our Republic.”

With regard to alteration of the national flag, the party said, “The Second Schedule included in Guyana’s Constitution devotes two pages (pages 260 and 261) to the heraldic description of Guyana’s national flag. The description makes it clear that there are five distinct colours – not six – and defines their proportions.”

The “unauthorized alteration of the national flag”, the PPP said, “connects one of Guyana’s most significant national symbols to the People’s National Congress Reform” via the inclusion of that party colour along the end of the flag and it was reminiscent of “the repressive regime of the PNC pre-1992.”

The national flag that was flown and as seen in pictures shows the border of the flag in a darker shade of the green.

The PPP said, “The practice of the PNC flag being flown above Guyana’s courts has not been forgotten by the Guyanese people.”

Guyanese have not forgotten, the party said, President David Granger’s comments in 2016 at the PNCR’s 19th Biennial Delegates Congress, where he said the party’s constitution was “supreme law” and they have not forgotten that it was at a similar meeting held by the PNC in 1974, where then President  Forbes Burnham promoted the principles of party paramountcy. The PPP quoted Burnham as saying, “It was decided that the Party should assume unapologetically its paramountcy over the Government, which is merely one of its executive arms.”

Calling on Guyanese to reject the alteration of the flag, the PPP said, “This act is the latest of an increasingly authoritarian administration and adds to the numerous constitutional violations committed since May 2015.”

Meanwhile, Minister of Social Cohesion Dr George Norton yesterday told Stabroek News that he only learnt about the flag yesterday after it was brought to his attention by the media.

“I did not know about it. We should not have hoisted a damaged flag,” he said. It was unfortunate that the PPP, he said, was trying to make  political mileage out of the issue.

Minister in the Ministry of the Presidency Joseph Harmon told Stabroek News that the PPP’s release was foolish to suggest that the party in Government was trying to use its colours on the flag. “It is stretching the imagination to accept a position like that.”

Not knowing what took place, he said, he could only suggest that the edges of the flag might have been frayed and some amount of remedial work was done to stabilize the flag.

PPP invention to deceive and frighten the gullible

ignorant tribals like Nehru live for the opportunity to scream, holler and bite pillow like the night before . . . Freedom House knows these plantation dwellers well and dog whistles every now and then to keep them happy in their idleness and bigotry

Stabroek News soiling themselves, again! . . . what's new?

PPP slams gov’t over six-colour flag at independence event

The darker green is evident at the bottom of the flag (Terrence Thompson photo)

May 31 2018

The People’s Progressive Party has lambasted Government “on the despicable and unconstitutional alteration of Guyana’s national flag” hoisted at D’Urban Park to mark the nation’s 52nd Independence anniversary as “intent on trampling” on Guyana’s national symbols.

In a release on Tuesday, the PPP said, “Guyanese have witnessed the practice of national symbols being treated as the property of this Administration – the last such act evidenced in the seizure of the national flag from the Corriverton Town Council on the anniversary of our Republic.”

With regard to alteration of the national flag, the party said, “The Second Schedule included in Guyana’s Constitution devotes two pages (pages 260 and 261) to the heraldic description of Guyana’s national flag. The description makes it clear that there are five distinct colours – not six – and defines their proportions.”

The “unauthorized alteration of the national flag”, the PPP said, “connects one of Guyana’s most significant national symbols to the People’s National Congress Reform” via the inclusion of that party colour along the end of the flag and it was reminiscent of “the repressive regime of the PNC pre-1992.”

The national flag that was flown and as seen in pictures shows the border of the flag in a darker shade of the green.

The PPP said, “The practice of the PNC flag being flown above Guyana’s courts has not been forgotten by the Guyanese people.”

Guyanese have not forgotten, the party said, President David Granger’s comments in 2016 at the PNCR’s 19th Biennial Delegates Congress, where he said the party’s constitution was “supreme law” and they have not forgotten that it was at a similar meeting held by the PNC in 1974, where then President  Forbes Burnham promoted the principles of party paramountcy. The PPP quoted Burnham as saying, “It was decided that the Party should assume unapologetically its paramountcy over the Government, which is merely one of its executive arms.”

Calling on Guyanese to reject the alteration of the flag, the PPP said, “This act is the latest of an increasingly authoritarian administration and adds to the numerous constitutional violations committed since May 2015.”

Meanwhile, Minister of Social Cohesion Dr George Norton yesterday told Stabroek News that he only learnt about the flag yesterday after it was brought to his attention by the media.

“I did not know about it. We should not have hoisted a damaged flag,” he said. It was unfortunate that the PPP, he said, was trying to make  political mileage out of the issue.

Minister in the Ministry of the Presidency Joseph Harmon told Stabroek News that the PPP’s release was foolish to suggest that the party in Government was trying to use its colours on the flag. “It is stretching the imagination to accept a position like that.”

Not knowing what took place, he said, he could only suggest that the edges of the flag might have been frayed and some amount of remedial work was done to stabilize the flag.

So you choose a totally different colour? My fasting prevents me from saying what I really think about that statement.

ignorant tribals like Nehru live for the opportunity to scream, holler and bite pillow like the night before . . . Freedom House knows these plantation dwellers well and dog whistles every now and then to keep them happy in their idleness and bigotry

Are you suggesting that picture was altered?

What a naive, gullible ASS!!!

Are you suggesting that picture was altered?

no

They can steal 18 MILLION US but cant by a new, proper friggin FLAG?????????????????????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

That is in their DNA, Bhaiyya ! I called the Guyana consulate here in Toronto and the moron who answered the phone told me he was has no idea what I was referring to ! These dingbats are so brainless and dishonest; they expect 1) this will blow over or 2) that the diaspora will not give them any heat about their stupidity.

Last edited by Keffer

Anyone who can stitch halfway decently could have trimmed the edge put an edging stich on that flag. It would have taken the same time as it did to sew on the PNC shade of green. It wasn't so long ago that all government buildings in Guyana was flying the PNC flag. Moseley playing smartman.

Banna, you reason like an infant

apparently the PPP can float any idiocy with Burnham name attached to it and camp followers like you will hold on to it for dear life in the teeth of reason, even common sense

people like you are very suggestible due to y’all primitive, racist instincts when it comes to Black people. . . very very much like the Trump seig heilers swallowing whole incredible volumes of nonsense peddled by Hannity and Fox & Friends than y’all would like to admit

Anyone who can stitch halfway decently could have trimmed the edge put an edging stich on that flag. It would have taken the same time as it did to sew on the PNC shade of green. It wasn't so long ago that all government buildings in Guyana was flying the PNC flag. Moseley playing smartman.

apparently the PPP can float any idiocy with Burnham name attached to it and camp followers like you will hold on to it for dear life in the teeth of reason, even common sense

people like you are very suggestible due to y’all primitive, racist instincts when it comes to Black people. . . very very much like the Trump seig heilers swallowing whole incredible volumes of nonsense peddled by Hannity and Fox & Friends than y’all would like to admit

So yuh saying that back in the days, the PNC flag wasn't displayed at state run businesses?

No . . . i am saying that common sense should govern and staunch the  PPP contrived hysterics over a clumsy, ill-advised attempt to fix a problem with the flag

this doesn’t even require a proper education to figure

that’s all

No . . . i am saying that common sense should govern and staunch the  PPP contrived hysterics over a clumsy, ill-advised attempt to fix a problem with the flag

that’s all

The history of the PNC provides sufficient cause for suspicion. It is naÃŊve to close your eyes on this Coalition government. Secondly, you will notice that I entered an independent comment and never mentioned any claims made by the PPP. And since you mentioned clumsy, ill-advised attempts, when do you expect the current Coalition government to graduate out of their constant clumsy, ill-advised tendencies?

that’s all

The history of the PNC provides sufficient cause for suspicion. It is naÃŊve to close your eyes on this Coalition government. Secondly, you will notice that I entered an independent comment and never mentioned any claims made by the PPP. And since you mentioned clumsy, ill-advised attempts, when do you expect the current Coalition government to graduate out of their constant clumsy, ill-advised tendencies?

Your ‘all-ova-de-place’ ‘having-it every-which-way’ response illustrates the accuracy of my post

btw, “clumsy and ill-advised” refers to the army people’s attempt to cure a presentation problem with the flag

what “tendencies” in this context are YOU talking about?

Your ‘all-ova-de-place’ ‘having-it every-which-way’ response illustrates the accuracy of my post

btw, “clumsy and ill-advised” refers to the army people’s attempt to cure a presentation problem with the flag

So you feel beated right?

“beated” . . . huh?

waderass . . . this place populated with some real illiterates

“beated” . . . huh?

Dude, the way you go about seeking to berate other members about their education speaks volumes of your own level of education. I doubt you are fooling anyone and it is only a matter of time before you begin crying again that you have to leave because no one is taking you seriously.

“beated” . . . huh?

Dude, the way you go about seeking to berate other members about their education speaks volumes of your own level of education. I doubt you are fooling anyone and it is only a matter of time before you begin crying again that you have to leave because no one is taking you seriously.

thus bleats the pompous idiot who was making a living not so long ago on GNI talking down American (and Guyanese) Black people

lol

other than you vex that i lifting up your whatever . . . what’s your point?

“beated” . . . huh?

thus bleats the pompous idiot who was making a living not so long ago on GNI talking down American (and Guyanese) Black people

lol

Who is this idiot you referring to?

“beated” . . . huh?

lol

You!! of course

who else? Keep playing stupid

“beated” . . . huh?

lol

You!!

First of all, I am no idiot. Secondly, I spoke of what I see close to me. I lived close to Campbellville Housing Scheme. Those range houses were occupied by blacks who were packed like sardines in them. The underprivileged areas of North Miami which I spoke of are also predominantly blacks. There are shootings every morning in that deprived part of Miami. And those conditions are not limited only to the two areas that I mentioned. Those are facts. That is not talking down anyone. Hell, they are already literally down. You can make excuses as much as you wish or seek to deflect with cries of racism but that will not remove the fact that those people who I mentioned are blacks.

“beated” . . . huh?

lol

You!!

First of all, I am no idiot. Secondly, I spoke of what I see close to me. I lived close to Campbellville Housing Scheme. Those range houses were occupied by blacks who were packed like sardines in them. The underprivileged areas of North Miami which I spoke of are also predominantly blacks. There are shootings every morning in that deprived part of Miami. And those conditions are not limited only to the two areas that I mentioned. Those are facts. That is not talking down anyone. Hell, they are already literally down. You can make excuses as much as you wish or seek to deflect with cries of racism but that will not remove the fact that those people who I mentioned are blacks.

ahmmmm . . . OK

and my FACTS regarding the illiteracy/poor education and worse of pompous jackass posers like you and yugee writ large on the pages of GNI are somehow illegitimate?

rotflmfao

look up the various meanings of “IRONY” and meditate lil

it may help you through this trying time . . . but, then again, perhaps not

lol

ahmmmm . . . OK

and my FACTS regarding the illiteracy/poor education and worse of pompous jackass posers like you and yugee writ large on the pages of GNI are somehow illegitimate?

rotflmfao

look up the various meanings of “IRONY” and meditate lil

it may help you through this trying time . . . but, then again, perhaps not

lol

Are you denying that blacks lived in abject poverty in those housing schemes in Campbellville or in that part of Miami that I mentioned?