GECOM dominated by Afro-Guyanese; PPP’s Robeson Benn calls for racial balance in all institutions

Dr. Frank Anthony, former President Donald Ramotar and PPP representative on the Guyana Elections Commission, Robeson Benn who delivered three lectures in honour of Guyana’s 52nd Independence anniversary.

A People’s Progressive Party (PPP) representative on the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM), Robeson Benn says there are too many Afro-Guyanese employed at that elections management authority, a position echoed by former President Donald Ramotar.

Speaking at a triple-lecture event organised by the Cheddi Jagan Research Centre, Benn said the the “ninety or more percent African Guyanese” at GECOM does not augur well for confidence and transparency in the electoral process.

Benn said the GECOM Chairman recently became upset with him and tried to stop him four times from speaking during a meeting with a visiting United Nations team. “I said if one group dominates this institution, it cannot be anything but racist or reflexively racist. They may not even know that they are doing something that is racist. It will happen in any event and we do not have the proper diversity in these institutions throughout the whole country,” he said.

The People’s National Congress Reform-dominated A Partnership for National Unity draws the bulk of its political support from Afro-Guyanese and the PPP from East Indians.

The PPP ‘s concerns date back to 2013 when that party had spoken of political and military influence in the General Registrar’s Office and the Guyana Elections Commission.

PPP representative on the Guyana Elections Commission, Robeson Benn delivering a lecture in honour of Guyana’s 52nd Independence anniversary.

Benn argued that no group, under normal circumstances, should have more than 60 percent dominance in activities of the State and possibly even the private sector. The former Minister of Public Works Minister said Guyana does not have shared activity and balance, and there are long-held perceptions of Africans dominating the civil service and the military, while East Indians have all the land and business.

“It’s fundamentally wrong and it puts us at grave risk even now and perhaps even when elections come just now. Everybody got to share this load,” he said. He remarked that there are views that State is being militarised and “the framework is being it in place perhaps  for things which can happen”.

“It is wrong that we can have such a situation continuing in. We have to have balancing and sharing of all the responsibilities in our country, whether there are economic undertakings or administration and political administration,” said Benn whose father, Brindley Benn had been part of Guyana’s independence struggle through the now opposition PPP.

Former President, Donald Ramotar, during the interactive session, accused the government of discriminatory employment practices. “Look at the dismissal, en masse, of Indian Guyanese from the public service”.

Ramotar also weighed in on what he also regarded as biased employment at GECOM. “Look at what they are trying to do at the Elections Commission. If they say Indians don’t want to join the police force and the army-and I don’t believe that. I think they have gotten fed up now, they have been kept out of it so long that many of them they don’t even try to apply, that because of the pay- GECOM pays well so why aren’t they there so we have to look at some of whom are the forces in the country that are facilitating and keeping thid division,” ge said.

Studies have shown that East Indians are not eager to join the security forces because of low pay, undesirable dietary options and reluctance to be posted to other locations away from their families.

He accused the David Granger-led administration of being just like Burnham government, marked by intolerance to criticism; an example being the proposed Cyber Crime legislation that would outlaw certain types of criticism against the government and the State.

While in government, the PPP had been accused by the PNC and other opposition forces and interest groups of racial discrimination against people of African descent.

Demerara waves.

Funny that the PPP didn't demand this when they were in power.  They said that the domination of leadership of state institutions by Indians was because blacks are unqualified. Well maybe Indos are  unqualified to be on GECOM.

Its funny how the kick hurts when its your butt that feels it and not the person who used to be kicked by you.

Big Up to the honorable Mr Benn BUT it is like throwing wata on duck back!! Those GADAHAS are born DICTATORS!!!!

I don't blame PNC for buggering the PPP in broad daylight. It seems like they enjoy when Burnham buggered them and now they asking Granger to bugger them again. I have to explain it in graphic contents for people to understand that PPP is totally responsible for the buggering they're getting.

To an extent I agree and that is why people need to stand up and be counted. Dis time nah laang time, now we gat am letric lite!!!!!!!!!!!!

The PPP is a sissy party by my definition. All they do is complaining. The Pusser-Pusser mentality is embedded in them. 

Big Up to the honorable Mr Benn BUT it is like throwing wata on duck back!! Those GADAHAS are born DICTATORS!!!!

I don't blame PNC for buggering the PPP in broad daylight. It seems like they enjoy when Burnham buggered them and now they asking Granger to bugger them again. I have to explain it in graphic contents for people to understand that PPP is totally responsible for the buggering they're getting.

Prince, are you suggesting PPP take a military stance to drive the message to PNC. 

NO. If the PPP believes in non-violence, they should go in the streets and protest aggressively to say what is wrong in Guyana. The world will take notice and do something about it. They must risk their lives like their ancestors did in India against the British. Every Indian home has cutlass that coolie men use on their wives. They should practice to use it on their opponents if it comes to self-defense. They can't fight Blackman and they have no control of the police and army. This is also the biggest mistake of the PPP make for not encouraging the young drunkards to join the arm forces. So, don't ask me what they should do. They should either kill themselves or enjoy the Blackman buggering. 

They should either kill themselves or enjoy the Blackman buggering. 

Like the Namakaram Crabdaag and Rumjhaaaaatan enjoying it???!!!

The AFC grew more balls than the PPP in its short time in politics. Ramjattan is heading the arm forces and arresting PPP members in handcuffs in broad daylight to humiliate them. The PPP is being handled like prostitutes in the street of Georgetown. 

NO. If the PPP believes in non-violence, they should go in the streets and protest aggressively to say what is wrong in Guyana. The world will take notice and do something about it. They must risk their lives like their ancestors did in India against the British. Every Indian home has cutlass that coolie men use on their wives. They should practice to use it on their opponents if it comes to self-defense. They can't fight Blackman and they have no control of the police and army. This is also the biggest mistake of the PPP make for not encouraging the young drunkards to join the arm forces. So, don't ask me what they should do. They should either kill themselves or enjoy the Blackman buggering. 

Understand where you coming from, those aggressive Indians have die or migrate. 

We don’t have the brave Indians in the days of the 60s and 70s that hack the head off Minister Viola brother who band together with a Buxtonian and use a chalk to draw a line challenging any coolie to walk across.

For those who don’t know, the bully Buxtonian bend down to draw the chalk line, and the Buxtonian and Minister Viola brother head was hack off on the street in Enmore. ( The Minister family was living then in Enmore). 

This incident is what put Enmore and Enterprise as the war hogs of PPP.  

These same village now has ( your phrase “ pusser pusser” ) as they turn to drugs and feeding info to criminals about who’s  family is coming from overseas. 

When Dr Jagan shirt was ripp off at Haslington ECD, pooling booth with British journalist Tony Jenkins, the Enmore resident arm them selfs with pich  forks and cutlass to charge into Haslinton- it was Dr Jagan who stop them - we are paying the price today. 

1998 under PPP government, when Indians girl were rape in GT at 3PM as PNC hooligans were looting the stores, Plaisance residence were invading Better Hope, it was the residents of Betterhope who stands up and chase the Plaisance hooligans back. 

Freedom House through its rep reach down to Better Hope, instructing the residence to go home. That same night two businesses was robbed in Better Hope. 

The police and Army would shoot Indians, not Blacks. However, it was Inspector Semple ( blacks) who shoot tear gas and live rounds at PNC holligans, stopping the march at Vissengen and North Rd. What did PPP did to Semple after. (This is a different discussion). 

Yuji, PNC vs PPP is like bullyism in school. When you sofe, the bully reads your weak points and always take things away from you, push you or threatened you. But the bully is not really brave as he may look. If the little man decided to stand up to the bully, next day the little man will be the new sheriff in school. I don't see this in the PPP, so the bullying will continue.

Really ? Jagdeo and Brother Gajraj buss their backs and rubbed salt. The PNC criminals are crying to this day. Think before you make those wild assumptions.

Where is Gajraj? Let talk current affairs and put history aside. 

Really ? Jagdeo and Brother Gajraj buss their backs and rubbed salt. The PNC criminals are crying to this day.

suh, is who in jail and entertaining bubba?

and, yep . . . tell us more about the heroic life sick man Gajie living now that he deh pan dat special Interpol list

lol 

other than complain that BK was being butler served the lion's share of(PPP) Gov't infrastructure contracts while Courtney Benn scrambled for crumbs, Robesen Benn was silent on these matters when the PPP was in office . . . hmmm?

btw, why are the pillow biters hollering and pointing at only a small slice of Benn's presentation . . . what about the rest?

Why is Robeson Benn is doing the dirty job to speak about equality at GECOM? Does the PPP still use a Blackman to wash the dishes?

Yes.  Him, Juan Edghill and Sam Hinds. 

Really ? Jagdeo and Brother Gajraj buss their backs and rubbed salt. The PNC criminals are crying to this day. Think before you make those wild assumptions.

they used tax payer funds and drug running proceeds to pay blacks to kill other blacks.  Not sure they have the $$$ to do this now.

suh, is who in jail and entertaining bubba?

and, yep . . . tell us more about the heroic life sick man Gajie living now that he deh pan dat special Interpol list

lol 

Jagdeo's best friend RK is entertaining both the guards and the prisoners. He complained like a bytch at the last session, was thrown in the hole for a few days then let out again for more.

This is why jail scares Jagdeo.  Ed is terrified as he is another "pretty boy".

Why is Robeson Benn is doing the dirty job to speak about equality at GECOM? Does the PPP still use a Blackman to wash the dishes?

Do you think Nagamootoo and Ramjattan are doing the dishes for PNC?

You’re so sharp.. like that 

Pull up my post election posts and you will recall that I told the Moses fanatics that they would be put out to pasture by both the PNC and the Trotman faction of the AFC. So said so done. Note that the Moses disciples don't post here anymore.

But I will say this. At least they wash the dishes. Edghill and company clean out the PPP latrine and they aren't given any gloves or cleaning materials.  

Look at the Uncle Toms running out to complain that Indians are being under represented. How come they had nothing to say when the PPP screamed that blacks are stupid and unqualified and only interested in being criminals. Yes that infamous Chronicle editorial.

But I will say this. At least they wash the dishes. Edghill and company clean out the PPP latrine and they aren't given any gloves or cleaning materials.  

Look at the Uncle Toms running out to complain that Indians are being under represented. How come they had nothing to say when the PPP screamed that blacks are stupid and unqualified and only interested in being criminals. Yes that infamous Chronicle editorial.

You bettah wach yuhself!  Come 2020 abie gaud BJ guh put abie back pon tap and alyuh Black people guh geh white mouth!

Yea bai...wid abie BJ and Champ abie coolie go be pan tap again...hey hey hey...

Guyana situation is sad when you look at how the two major party is taking turns to rape its own country. I have said this many times and I am going to say it again. Guyana will never get good until we have a government that is brave enough to rid the racial divide once and for all. Guyana's richness and wealth don't make life better than to have social harmony among its people. The hate between Indo/Black is an ongoing disease that plagued our country for a long time. This cannot be undone unless someone steps up to the task.

How about prosecute the ones that spread hate.

Unfortunately, that's not my call. Guyanese need to be re-educated on its country's political history and understand that the two major races were slaves alike. Our politicians feed on conquering and divide and drive a wedge between the people whose blood and sweat Guyana was built on.

Why should we have mercy on them for making us slaves to follow their racial policies? Guyanese has become toys for politicians to play with.

Thousands of innocent coolies will be going to jail before elections.

Shelly, you are speaking with your imagination about innocent Indians will be going to jail before election. You remind me of Jagdeo when he said, they can kill some of us but they can't kill all of us. Don't pusser-pusser with your mind, bhai.

Sorry Princess, you cannot see beyond your nose because you are and have been a staunch supporter of the PNC. You do not see the pride the PNC takes on inflicting suffering on the coolies. You are such a trip. If you need attention, this is not the place to find it. You need to hang around 6-year-olds. You will fit right in.

Unfortunately, that's not my call. Guyanese need to be re-educated on its country's political history and understand that the two major races were slaves alike. Our politicians feed on conquering and divide and drive a wedge between the people whose blood and sweat Guyana was built on.

Why should we have mercy on them for making us slaves to follow their racial policies? Guyanese has become toys for politicians to play with.

This is Guyana.

1. Two neighbors of different races attend each other's family events and enjoy each other's culture.

2.  During the PPP era black letter writers complained about racism. Now Indian letter writers complain about racism.  In each case their views are dismissed.  THAT is why two people who like each other vote race on election day.  In a land where few opportunities exist and where ethnicity determines access expect racial voting.

So unless we find a way to ensure that in the public AND private sector ethnicity doesn't became a barrier we will not resolve the issue.