Farmer reaps 450 pounds of onions

Share on Facebook
Tweet on Twitter
Rawle Medford with NAREI officials at his Phillipe farm

A CORENTYNE farmer has harvested some 450 pounds of organic onions from his Phillipe Farm, East Berbice, Corentyne, last Thursday.

It is the largest harvest for a single farmer since implementation of the trial project by Promotion of Regional Opportunities for Produce and Enterprises and Linkages (PROPEL), in partnership with the National Agricultural Research and Extension Institute (NAREI).

Rawle Medford, 41, said he started planting in early December and had 12 beds, but due to the rains during that period, he suffered a 30 per cent loss.

That did not deter the enterprising farmer as he continued the second time with 100 per cent success.

“I feel proud of this production and did not think I would have gotten so much due the challenges, which included the cleaning of the beds on time. There were six beds, 60 feet in length, three feet in width,” he said.

Medford said when he was first approached to be part of the trial group, he was ecstatic to embark on the new variety of the high-value crop.

The farmer still has three more beds to reap, which should take the amount of onions reaped to a whopping 800 pounds.

Medford posited that he will continue planting onions on a larger scale after the May/June rainy season.

He is hoping to continue supplying local demand and hopefully to stop the importation of onions to Guyana.

Onions harvested from Rawle Medford’s farm

“We have the necessary means to plant, we have good lands and the trial has been a success, so after May, I am planning to employ two more persons and we are ready to make this bigger. This is organic onion. I am hoping people can see it and come on board to purchase,” the farmer said.

And on that note, he called on the business community and Guyanese to support local.

“This makes me happy; this makes me optimistic. I am calling on Guyanese to support local organic products that can now be grown right here.”

There has been a conscious effort to reduce the importation of products that can be produced locally; and with the successful trials by PROPEL in collaboration with NAREI, supermarkets can soon expect an influx of non-traditional crops that are locally produced.

In addition to being produced locally, the crops are being planted and harvested through organic methods,thereby reducing the need for harmful chemicals.

Kewal Mangar, the NAREI extension officer attached to the project, said in addition to Medford, there are at least three other farmers who were part of the PROPEL project, who have gone on to becoming independent onion farmers.

He said the Mercedes variety of onions has been more successful thus far and that NAREI is working closely with farmers of the non-traditional both in and out of the field and providing technical advice in addition to identifying potential markets for their produce.

Medford also plants bell peppers and boulanger.

Great work by the brother. Let us all work hard to make Guyana great again!!

yuh sure bai? tek wan nada look at the pitcha, da a wan blackman...I thought yuh say they can't run wan cake shop...

Guyana can be self sufficient in food,taking into consideration the size of it's population and the availability of farming land.The correct approach needed for this to materialize.

sachin_05 posted:

yuh sure bai? tek wan nada look at the pitcha, da a wan blackman...I thought yuh say they can't run wan cake shop...

Which Planet are you on????

sachin_05 posted:

Nehru only see dem 2 Indians in de picture.

Pointblank

All these were accomplished under the FCH program.  My father would bring these from the experiments he ran.  It was a great pity the PPP never picked this up and ran with it.  A lot of the documentation was there.  The F part of FCH had a lot of merit.  This would have head off the abject poverty seen among Guyana's farmers and some sugar workers could have been weaned into this type of a livelihood.

sachin_05 posted:

I knew it...too drunk to even know he on earth....

sachin_05 posted:

I knew it...too drunk to even know he on earth....

Were you in the Basement last night when I was getting drunk upstairs in the master Bedroom???

We can always count on Nehru for dirty talk!  

Da bai wutliss bad bad!

The guy is so quiet, I'm shocked at his GNI writings. Surely this is his naughty side which lies dormant. 

We can always count on Nehru for dirty talk!  

Da bai wutliss bad bad!

The guy is so quiet, I'm shocked at his GNI writings. Surely this is his naughty side which lies dormant. 

You know me well Gal

Amral posted:

Why does Guyana import onions?  That is stupid when the land is capable of producing it. 

I guess there isn't a comparative advantage in growing onions in Guyana.  Perhaps cultivation of other crops are more profitable than onions. 

Can you imagine reaping 450 lbs of onions is a newsworthy event?  Trump would call this a schitthole country.

It’s newsworthy because it’s a proof of concept, it proves it could be done.  It can now be scaled up to 4,500 then 45,000 then 450,000.  Why you so sour, because it was not done under the PPP?   

You never hear coolie people say one one Dutty build dam?

Can you imagine reaping 450 lbs of onions is a newsworthy event?  

You are so dumb. It's newsworthy. The experiment was successful. He still has another 1/2 of the crop to reap. He can now build on this and expand. 

Can you imagine reaping 450 lbs of onions is a newsworthy event?  Trump would call this a schitthole country.

It’s newsworthy because it’s a proof of concept, it proves it could be done.  It can now be scaled up to 4,500 then 45,000 then 450,000.  Why you so sour, because it was not done under the PPP?   

Exactly.......

Govt should step in and buy all this man's crops for uses in feeding programs for army, police etc. What an accomplishment, clearly breaking the stereotypes of Blacks not contributing.  Not sure if private enterprise will come around just yet in purchasing, the Guyanese public are their own worse enemies as they prefer foreign goods over local. 

You should be working hard to get your own independent sovereign country instead . Let me bring you down to reality. Each one of us Guyana koolies and Guyana Douglas on this board is stateless. We have no nation to call our own. We are just surviving in other people countries.

Speak for yourself cuz.......

Exactly.......

Dream on.  They are too lazy and lack the expertise to scale anything up.  PNC has no interest in building anything while they await the oil bonanza.

The PPP has no interest in growing onions.  The world market is already saturated.  

Exactly.......

Dream on.  They are too lazy and lack the expertise to scale anything up.  PNC has no interest in building anything while they await the oil bonanza.

The PPP has no interest in growing onions.  The world market is already saturated.  

Suh wha happen to the local market,the creation of employment and saving in forex.

The PPP wants to keep the poor to be Cane cutters for ever.

Exactly.......

Suh wha happen to the local market,the creation of employment and saving in forex.

The PPP wants to keep the poor to be Cane cutters for ever.

Why you wasting your time?   Don’t you know the ageless saying “where ignorance is bliss?   The PPP have no time, or the PPP have no vision?    Isn’t the world market for cane sugar saturated?   But it was kept alive.  

What the PNC lack in expertise is matched by what the PPP lack in vision.  The difference, you can hire experts, you cannot hire vision!

Comparing sugar to onion is worse than comparing employed to unemployed.  People with no conviction or knowledge speak from two sides of the same mouth. 

Uncontrolled anger is like drinking poison and hoping that the other person dies.

Reeper posted:

Govt should step in and buy all this man's crops for uses in feeding programs for army, police etc. What an accomplishment, clearly breaking the stereotypes of Blacks not contributing.  Not sure if private enterprise will come around just yet in purchasing, the Guyanese public are their own worse enemies as they prefer foreign goods over local. 

The Govt can help create the economic environment and business will react, but the Govt have a crucial role to play.

Comparing sugar to onion is worse than comparing employed to unemployed.  People with no conviction or knowledge speak from two sides of the same mouth. 

Uncontrolled anger is like drinking poison and hoping that the other person dies.

Why you like howling in the forest?  Just to hear your echo?

Base, Lets be fair. AFC/PNC does not know anything about economics, they cannot facilitate a favourable environment.

We are dealing with a Plantain Chips AFC/PNC administration.

Base, Lets be fair. AFC/PNC does not know anything about economics, they cannot facilitate a favourable environment.

They could!  The PPP failed in this area!  That is why today Guyana importing plantain chips!

That is why today Guyana importing plantain chips!

Hence the AFC/PNC plantain chips administration.

They have been in office for three years now and they published a very nice and shiny election manifesto that is collecting dust.

That is why today Guyana importing plantain chips!

Hence the AFC/PNC plantain chips administration.

They have been in office for three years now and they published a very nice and shiny election manifesto that is collecting dust.

Balahu Bhai, Go suck an onion. Under the PPP,  Coconut milk was being imported.