I am happy to see Afro-Guyanese are excelling in agriculture farming. Since this is not the first good news about Afros and farming in Guyana, I have to ask why they haven't get this kind of recognition under the PPP?

A country depends on all its people to be engaged in something beneficial to themselves and others, whereas, it can lead to encouraging more people to do the same or engage in different activities for the good of the country.

Technological success for Guyana after 60 years of arduous research.  Congratulations to the government and the scientists who helped to make this possible.

Guysuco experiment with Onion 25 years ago and it fail - because of excessive heat . Onions cannot grow with direct sunshine , although it needs sunlight .

PPP government experiment with Onion  somewhere in the Pakaraimas - it’s a costly venture and didn’t have a long shelf life. 

Onion price on the world market is relatively cheap . Businesses buy in large quantity during harvest time to secure the low prices .

onions mostly are imported from Holland, China . When quantity is low on these suppliers the Canadian market is tapped into, however , Canada only produces large onion and Guyanese don’t like it .

congratulation to the farmer , I wish her all success . 

I am happy to see Afro-Guyanese are excelling in agriculture farming. Since this is not the first good news about Afros and farming in Guyana, I have to ask why they haven't get this kind of recognition under the PPP?

A country depends on all its people to be engaged in something beneficial to themselves and others, whereas, it can lead to encouraging more people to do the same or engage in different activities for the good of the country.

There is only a few Afro who venture in this market . Majority of Afro likes to party . PPP built massive dancehall facilities  in Buxton , that’s what they like and appreciate ... no hard wok .

i agree a country depends on β€œ ALL its people to be engage and work hard  β€œ go tell the masses of Afro that and they will tell you which lake to jump into . 

Base, Lets be fair. AFC/PNC does not know anything about economics, they cannot facilitate a favourable environment.

They could!  The PPP failed in this area!  That is why today Guyana importing plantain chips!

PNC is importing plantain chips?  That’s a shame because the Granger govt pledged to build a strong and robust plantain chips economy.  If they are importing plantain chips I doubt whether they have the expertise to export onions. 

Base, Lets be fair. AFC/PNC does not know anything about economics, they cannot facilitate a favourable environment.

They could!  The PPP failed in this area!  That is why today Guyana importing plantain chips!

PNC is importing plantain chips?  That’s a shame because the Granger govt pledged to build a strong and robust plantain chips economy.  If they are importing plantain chips I doubt whether they have the expertise to export onions. 

They don't need to export at the moment. They just need to curb importation for now. Common sense is not so common with you. 

Bai, Bibi is eyeing this as opportunity for new export market for the PPP. Under the PPP watch their mules got busted exporting coke in every export - fruit, vegetable, furniture and even coke in the poke....

Last edited by sachin_05

Guyana importing bottle water from Canada . Guyanese  too foreign minded .

Pointblank posted:
sachin_05 posted:

Great work by the brother. Let us all work hard to make Guyana great again!!

yuh sure bai? tek wan nada look at the pitcha, da a wan blackman...I thought yuh say they can't run wan cake shop...

Nehru only see dem 2 Indians in de picture.

Those are the brains behind this success story.

sachin_05 posted:

Bai, Bibi is eyeing this as opportunity for new export market for the PPP. Under the PPP watch their mules got busted exporting coke in every export - fruit, vegetable, furniture and even coke in the poke....

How much coke do you think I can fit in one onion?  You sound like Jalil with his idiotic comments.

You have no shame to speak ill of the deceased Jalil. He is not here to defend  himself. Jalil was my friend. If you continue, I will cuss you down and I don't care if I am banned from GNI.  

sachin_05 posted:

How much coke do you think I can fit in one onion?  You sound like Jalil with his idiotic comments.

It depends on de size of yo onion.

When exporting produce is it only one item that is sent or is it done in boxes, bags, crates. Just as coke in de poke seems farfetched but is not, same goes for coke in de onions.

sachin_05 posted:

A lot more than a wiri wiri pepper....

I asked why Afro-Guyanese never get recognition for farming under the PPP government, but never get an answer.  This is a great effort and it must be applauded. I know Indo-Guyanese wants to take the crown for farming, but that shouldn't stop them from praising Afros for toiling the soil in desperate times in our country. 

This has nothing to do with Afro or Indo. It's an important achievement which some are reluctant to acknowledge. The next question should be what other crops that are currently being imported can be grown in Guyana? We forget that Guyana was once the breadbasket of the Caribbean. For the naysayers, how many pounds of onions were produced before???? Maybe I should be asking about another product and in kilograms.

Rice Flour and Yams as Potatoes coming SOON to a Theater near you.

The most shameful thing is when you visit family in the countryside and have to buy pepper rather than picking them from the kitchen garden. Everything is purchased from the market with our remittance. Them women wearing gloves to wash pot and pans these days. Bottom house daubing is a thing of the past. Never tell them to put their hands in cow shit and mud. They will sue you for damaging their expense pedicure.  

Hugh Jorgan posted:

Can you imagine reaping 450 lbs of onions is a newsworthy event?  Trump would call this a schitthole country.

If was 5 lb and under Jagdeo you would be jumping up and down for joy. Get a life.

You would pay money to have my life.  So did you get a new handle just to throw punches this way?  

Sorry to bust your bubble dear but this has nothing to do with you. Not even you want to be you.

HJ

At one time Buxton was the bread basket of the Country.

For the country? The same Buxton in East Coast?

HJ

when was this?

Maybe yuh mean Black Bush

I knew somehow PPP was to blame, even for good news. 

Bibi Haniffa thinks everyone is after her and believes GNI owes her special preference for her and her big shot friends. Since Bibi came on here, GNI became her private domain for her daily drama. People come and go and they should be treated as new members until the admin verify it otherwise. This is a punch in the face for the administrators. But telling this to her is offending her intelligence. When her lawyer friend gets accepted, GNI will be for scholars only.

It’s unbelievable to see something lil positive brings out so much negativity, especially from people without a stake in the game.   Guyana is not a basket because of the hand god dealt it, it’s made so by successive shithole govts and their lackeys who put down and ridicule other Guyanese because they are not their kith and kin. 

Why this cannot be something for Guyana and the struggling farmers to make something out of?  If it does not pan out, well they gave it a try.

All you dumb f.uc.k naysayers, India is the second largest onion producer in the world.  Nigeria produces over 1 million tonnes.  These are countries same heat, humidity and general climate as Guyana.  Besides, these local farmers prove they can do it.    So you all, just stfu and let them try.  They aren’t asking you for anything. 

I hope the GOG support them and impose duties on cheap imports dumped into Guyana.