GDP is a fallacy.

Econometricians constructing GDP have devised a sterile statistic that should not be used to set economic policy. It leads to the common error of assuming any increase in GDP is desirable. Statistics like GDP tell a story of an economy based on historical prices but devoid of any qualitative value; and progress, the improvement in the human condition, is what really matters.

Transactions reflecting both wealth creation and also economically destructive state spending are included in GDP without differentiation. Far from the government component of GDP being singled out from the total, it is often welcomed as contributing to economic growth. Macroeconomists, with an eye on the statistical impact of cuts in government spending, discourage governments from making them. The lack of distinction between wealth-creation and wealth-destruction is fundamental to their belief that state intervention is beneficial.

Read more here: https://www.goldmoney.com/rese...the-fallacies-of-gdp

GDP is one broad measure, but not the be all and end all to economic prosperity by any measure.  Other qualitative and quantitative indicators need to be over layered.  For example, the US has had an 80% increase in GDP over the past 20 years yet middle-class incomes has hardly budged.

To justify the growth rate of Guyana under different Government,i have posted the charts.

Seems there were good conversation between posters of this thread,was out most of yesterday.

Guys the posts were great.

Guyana GDP Annual Growth Rate

1992-1998

Hey GNI editor in chief can you prepare a chart showing PNC corruption from 2015 to 2018  comparing to PPP 1992 - 1995

PNC 1960-1992 

PPP 1992- 2015

I think i covered all the years in less compact form,check when yuh bhai was running the country.

Bhai this thread is not fuh corruption,it's discussing growth rate.

Start one fuh corruption,don't think there are charts,i maybe wrong.

Here is 1960 to 2016,it a little compact.

All that withstanding, people were still better off than they are right now. The country dead and buried prior to the PPP entering government in 1992. It continued to improve and everyone benefited. Since 2015, the economy have been in a tailspin as illustrated here.

"tailspin" . . .  hmmm?

well, the APNU/AFC Gov't finally manning up and taking the major hit on the sugar mess that the PPP irresponsibly ignored for a generation

it's called necessary surgery, even if the 2nd rate coalition surgeons doing the job threatening to botch it every other day

the country will survive 

and i'll take 2.1% growth as the short term price of killing the narco/money laundering plank in our economy

oh, dem bais planting rice doin good bai

wuh you tink?

Hey hey hey. Downturn gat nothin to do wid Narco. Doh is more conspiracy. De gold smuggle more dan de narco smuggle. Hey hey hey...

downturn got plenty to do with money laundering . . . go ask mr TK

If yuh sayin slow down in money laundering responsible foh dem bais clocking sub 2% growth yuh have to also say PPP start reduce de money launder in 2014. Hey hey hey. De growth clearly show de ecanamy had wan turning point some time round 2012. And it in gat nothing to do with money launder. De people...de society...juss as crooked as under PPP. Doh na change. All dem dem people go mandir/church on sunday and smuggle gold monday. De other set go masjid Fri and smuggle gold Sat. Hey hey hey...There is absolutely no evidence except nuff nuff talk fram this govt that de laundry activity stop. 

Hey hey hey. Downturn gat nothin to do wid Narco. Doh is more conspiracy. De gold smuggle more dan de narco smuggle. Hey hey hey...

If yuh sayin slow down in money laundering responsible foh dem bais clocking sub 2% growth yuh have to also say PPP start reduce de money launder in 2014. Hey hey hey. De growth clearly show de ecanamy had wan turning point some time round 2012. And it in gat nothing to do with money launder. De people...de society...juss as crooked as under PPP. Doh na change. All dem dem people go mandir/church on sunday and smuggle gold monday. De other set go masjid Fri and smuggle gold Sat. Hey hey hey...There is absolutely no evidence except nuff nuff talk fram this govt that de laundry activity stop. 

a couple of things:

I never claimed that money laundering "responsible" for growth clocking in 0.8% under estimates . . . I noted that it was a big factor along with sugar and gold

I already addressed your nonsense about "PPP start reduce de money launder in 2014" elsewhere . . . this is a complex issue; try to keep up

and indeed, the slowdown started under the PPP circa 2012 . . . appreciate the assist in making my point  

but is you and the other scampish harpies hollering and wringing alyuh haan because 2017 growth come in 0.8% lower than estimates, and elevating dis unexceptional inflection to a freakin crisis

0.8% below estimate! . . . you ain't shame?

a couple of things:

I never claimed that money laundering "responsible" for growth clocking in 0.8% under estimate . . . I noted that it was a big factor along with sugar and gold

I already addressed your nonsense about "PPP start reduce de money launder in 2014" elsewhere . . . try to keep up

and indeed, the slowdown started under the PPP circa 2012 . . . appreciate the assist in making my point  

but is you and the other scampish harpies hollering and wringing alyuh haan because 2017 growth come in 0.8% lower than estimates, and elevating dis unexceptional inflection to a freakin crisis

Bai, you doing the "Michael Jackson", tying yourself up in all sorts of knots!  Now like you going ballistic!

a couple of things:

I never claimed that money laundering "responsible" for growth clocking in 0.8% under estimates . . . I noted that it was a big factor along with sugar and gold

I already addressed your nonsense about "PPP start reduce de money launder in 2014" elsewhere . . . this is a complex issue; try to keep up

Yuh is a dance man bai. Hey hey hey...

a couple of things:

Yuh is a dance man bai. Hey hey hey...

well . . .?

1992-1998

Hey GNI editor in chief can you prepare a chart showing PNC corruption from 2015 to 2018  comparing to PPP 1992 - 1995

PNC 1960-1992 

PPP 1992- 2015

I think i covered all the years in less compact form,check when yuh bhai was running the country.

So since we adopted a free market economy, the only years we had a negative growth rate was under eCONomist Dr Jagdeo 

a couple of things:

I never claimed that money laundering "responsible" for growth clocking in 0.8% under estimate . . . I noted that it was a big factor along with sugar and gold

I already addressed your nonsense about "PPP start reduce de money launder in 2014" elsewhere . . . try to keep up

Bai, you doing the "Michael Jackson", tying yourself up in all sorts of knots!  Now like you going ballistic!

so, you is annada wan who gat nothing eh?

hmmm?

Facts are stubborn things

So since we adopted a free market economy, the only years we had a negative growth rate was under eCONomist Dr Jagdeo 

Those were the days of the worst PNC terrorists activities!  It was not until when the Govt finally acted did relative stability returned did growth find some footing!

a couple of things:

so, you is annada wan who gat nothing eh?

hmmm?

Facts are stubborn things

Just my take on you and Labba interplay on the dance floor!  You wan good dancer!

Those were the days of the worst PNC terrorists activities!  It was not until when the Govt finally acted did relative stability returned did growth find some footing!

The crime spree started after the 2002 Mash Day jailbreak so what's the excuse for the years 1998 and 2000. Anyway, the government is responsible for providing security for the populace so any failure in controlling crime is a failure of the government.

Anyway, the government is responsible for providing security for the populace so any failure in controlling crime is a failure of the government.

Not easy to do when the police are on the side of the criminals.

Anyway, the government is responsible for providing security for the populace so any failure in controlling crime is a failure of the government.

Whatever the excuse, it is still a failure on the part of the government if crime is out of control. The PPP turning a blind eye to drug trafficking and the country becoming a Narco Republic is mostly responsible for the out of control crime we see today. Check out any Latin American country where drugs are prevalent and you'll see serious crime like we have in Guyana.

This was crime and there was crime.  Some based on politics and some on political sponsorship.  Since the ascension of Janet Jagan, there was a quiet insurrection by the PNC loyalist creating a crime wave within a crime wave with one goal, destabilize and force the PPP into power sharing or out of power.  This worked in the 60's and the PNC applied the same model.

I would lay blame at the PPP for have created nothing to mitigate this ground reality and forced to act in desperation.

It is certainly the responsibility of the government to protect the citizens. However, I don't think that narco had anything to do with the crime spree following the jail break in 2002. It appeared that those criminals were staunchly supported by the PNC. It is also an undisputed fact that the Armed Forces in Guyana support the PNC so it is reasonable to suggest that they were more in collusion with the criminals than the government. The PPP couldn't lay off every police and soldier even though they didn't seen to follow their Commander or Chief's orders.

The crime spree started after the 2002 Mash Day jailbreak so what's the excuse for the years 1998 and 2000. Anyway, the government is responsible for providing security for the populace so any failure in controlling crime is a failure of the government.

Crime did nat start in 2002. Was serious crime wave from eleckshun 1997 to 2002. De jailbreak tek it to anada level. Serious crimes. Dat added pon "wuk pon she"..."wuk pon she"...all day. Was breakdown in law order as de politician dem fight. 

It is certainly the responsibility of the government to protect the citizens. However, I don't think that narco had anything to do with the crime spree following the jail break in 2002. It appeared that those criminals were staunchly supported by the PNC. It is also an undisputed fact that the Armed Forces in Guyana support the PNC so it is reasonable to suggest that they were more in collusion with the criminals than the government. The PPP couldn't lay off every police and soldier even though they didn't seen to follow their Commander or Chief's orders.

You don't think that narco trafficking had anything to do with a crime spree? Which planet are you living on? What do you think is causing crime to be exploding all over Latin America for the past few decades? Look for cocaine trafficking and you'll find serious crime like we've never experienced before. Do you think out of control crime in Trinidad, Barbados, Venezuela has anything to do with the collusion between the police and criminals? It's all about the Cocaine. I never saw any evidence of the Police being in collusion with the criminals. That's a bogus line of reasoning sold by the PPP to explain their failures. In any case, the government is still responsible for protecting its citizens. Lame excuses do not cut it.

... the Armed Forces in Guyana support the PNC so it is reasonable to suggest that they were more in collusion with the criminals than the government. The PPP couldn't lay off every police and soldier even though they didn't seen to follow their Commander or Chief's orders.

I don't intend to re-litigate here the chicken/egg question regarding drugs trafficking and extreme racial aspects of the mid-2000s murdering by fineman and others

but what I will not tolerate is your broad brush unreason and easily digestible slander of thousands of Black people who served in the GDF and police

Was Paul Slowe "in collusion" with the criminals?

can you tell us why he was sidelined and his career ruined by Jagdeo?

You don't think that narco trafficking had anything to do with a crime spree? Which planet are you living on? What do you think is causing crime to be exploding all over Latin America for the past few decades? Look for cocaine trafficking and you'll find serious crime like we've never experienced before. Do you think out of control crime in Trinidad, Barbados, Venezuela has anything to do with the collusion between the police and criminals? It's all about the Cocaine. I never saw any evidence of the Police being in collusion with the criminals. That's a bogus line of reasoning sold by the PPP to explain their failures. In any case, the government is still responsible for protecting its citizens. Lame excuses do not cut it.

Stay focus bai. We talking bout de crime spree resulting from de 2002 jailbreak. 

This was crime and there was crime.  Some based on politics and some on political sponsorship.  Since the ascension of Janet Jagan, there was a quiet insurrection by the PNC loyalist creating a crime wave within a crime wave with one goal, destabilize and force the PPP into power sharing or out of power.  This worked in the 60's and the PNC applied the same model.

I would lay blame at the PPP for have created nothing to mitigate this ground reality and forced to act in desperation.

Blame the PPP for facilitating drug trafficking because it was providing a huge boost to the economy. The serious crime that we have in Guyana today has its roots in the drug trade. Once Jagdeo made exportation of cocaine an industry in Guyana, it brought crime as it did in every one of our neighboring countries. 

... the Armed Forces in Guyana support the PNC so it is reasonable to suggest that they were more in collusion with the criminals than the government. The PPP couldn't lay off every police and soldier even though they didn't seen to follow their Commander or Chief's orders.

I don't intend to re-litigate here the chicken/egg question regarding drugs trafficking and extreme racial aspects of the mid-2000s murdering by fineman and others

but what I will not tolerate is your broad brush unreason and easily digestible slander of thousands of Black people who served in the GDF and police

Bai, where did I mention the term black people? 

Crime did nat start in 2002. Was serious crime wave from eleckshun 1997 to 2002. De jailbreak tek it to anada level. Serious crimes. Dat added pon "wuk pon she"..."wuk pon she"...all day. Was breakdown in law order as de politician dem fight. 

what is this obsession you have with "wuk pon she . . . wuk pon she"?

i'm assuming it references Janet Jagan

is this about obeah?

Which coincided with Hoyte's slo fiah mo fiah threats. 

Stay focus bai. We talking bout de crime spree resulting from de 2002 jailbreak. 

It all has its roots in the drug trade including 2002. 

are you trying to be funny?

Blame the PPP for facilitating drug trafficking because it was providing a huge boost to the economy. The serious crime that we have in Guyana today has its roots in the drug trade. Once Jagdeo made exportation of cocaine an industry in Guyana, it brought crime as it did in every one of our neighboring countries. 

But we don't have this issue now. They say that narco and money laundering plus crime are down. So we should be seeing growth but that nah happening.

Are you saying that drug trade was responsible for the crime spree that begun in 2002?

But we don't have this issue now. They say that narco and money laundering plus crime are down. So we should be seeing growth but that nah happening.

Isn't it obvious to you that if you reduce earnings from the drug trade, it would affect growth negatively? We're having positive growth every year. Where have you been looking?

are you trying to be funny?

Nothing funny bai. I don't see where I used the term 'black people'.

Are you saying that drug trade was responsible for the crime spree that begun in 2002?

The explosion of serious crime in the last few decades has its roots in the drug trade. Do some research all over Latin America and you'll see the growth of the drug trade goes hand in hand with the increase in serious crime. Guyana is no exception. 

Isn't it obvious to you that if you reduce earnings from the drug trade, it would affect growth negatively? We're having positive growth every year. Where have you been looking?

IF. That is not evidence. I didn't mean that we don't have growth. The topic was about 2017 performance of 2.1% growth vs projections of 2.9% and previous year of 3.3%. The narco excuse was a weak one.