Partying prisoners at NA jail spark concerns

-flaunted expensive liquor, ministry sees collusion

May 15 2018

The prisoners with the liquor at the New Amsterdam jail as seen on the Facebook post.

The Guyana Prison Authority has launched a probe of pictures of inmates at the New Amsterdam Prison having a grand party with bottles of expensive liquor, juice and energy drinks.

The photos surfaced on social media on Sunday afternoon.

Director of Prisons, Gladwin Samuels yesterday confirmed the investigation to Stabroek News.

This newspaper was told that investigators were speaking with the inmates and the prison officers at the prison as they continue to probe.

According to a source, it is being alleged by an inmate that the items were smuggled into the compound on the tractor that is used to pick up garbage. However, the source noted, that the driver of the tractor has since denied having any knowledge of the items.

The pictures showing the party were posted on Facebook on Sunday by Abdul Andre Azimullah, 34, a cattle farmer of Lot 183 Hampshire Village, who is on remand for the murder of Danian Jagdeo, a phone card distributor, who was shot and killed during a robbery on February 8, 2017 at Adventure Village, Corentyne.

The photographs show the inmates posing with bottles of Hennessy,  Ciroc, canned juices and energy drinks. Additionally, it was noticed in the pictures that the men were smoking.

The prisoners with the liquor at the New Amsterdam jail as seen on the Facebook post.

Also in the pictures are inmates who were charged with Azimullah in the Jagdeo murder. Two other inmates seen in the pictures are close friends of Azimullah who are on remand for kidnapping, assault and other charges.

Azimullah has since deactivated his Facebook account. He has always been active on social media while being in prison. The prison authority has promised to disclose the findings of the investigation to the media once the probe is completed.

In a statement yesterday, the Ministry of Public Security said that the mobile device which was used by the inmate has since been seized by the authorities and investigations into the matter are currently ongoing.

β€œThe Ministry is extremely disappointed that alien objects and other material, inclusive of drugs and liquor, find their way into the various prisons as obviously happened here. There is no doubt collusion with prison wardens and prisoners which is causing this.

β€œThis kind of misbehaviour by the culpable prison wardens will be dealt with very seriously after the ongoing investigations reveal who they are. The Public will be further advised on this matter after investigations concludes”, the statement said.

This embarrassing episode will raise further questions about the security of the prisons system in the aftermath of major upheavals last year which saw the Camp Street prison being burnt to the ground and several prison escapes thereafter. In 2016, 17 prisoners died in a fire at the Camp Street jail.

These events put both the government and the Minister of Public Security, Khemraj Ramjattan under severe pressure. Major construction work is earmarked for the Mazaruni prison to ease overcrowding in the system and to improve security.

When the people give GADAHAS, and in Guyana case, DUMB GADAHAS to run a country , expect it to become a SHIT HOLE. In 3 years Guyana gone from a Paradise which was about to get to the top of the mountain to a SHIT HOLE!!!

GNI's idiot in action.

Jackass like you can only BRAY, well that is what JACKASS do well

We have some hypocritical sinners who preach God's name in vain and talking against prison enjoyment. Especially, Nehru. Lol

Yuh RIGHT the PNC made Guyana a SHIT HOLE in less than 3 years. Give the DUMMIES an award!

yo...yuh becoming ah bore with the same mantra on multiple threads...yuh should be more creative

Every department in the country need sanitizing.

Corruption galore !!

What seems to be the problem now Django. David A Granger (the DAG) promised people β€œthe good life”. He starts in the jails delivering his promise to the prisoners first. He needs to entertain them now because he will release them soon. Independence Day coming up and these crimes will be deemed a petty. He needs them to drive fear into the electorate for the next election. Ramjhattan, like the prisoners is himself a rum sucker and cannot do anything to change the culture in the jail.

Django, when you speak of β€œsanitized” do you mean by way of bullets. You can’t come better than that. Permanently wipe their asses out?

Partying prisoners at NA jail spark concerns

-flaunted expensive liquor, ministry sees collusion

May 15 2018,  Source

The Guyana Prison Authority has launched a probe of pictures of inmates at the New Amsterdam Prison having a grand party with bottles of expensive liquor, juice and energy drinks.

The photos surfaced on social media on Sunday afternoon.

The photographs show the inmates posing with bottles of Hennessy,  Ciroc, canned juices and energy drinks. Additionally, it was noticed in the pictures that the men were smoking.

Perhaps, the improved initiatives of the PNCR/AFC on this issue.

Dondadda posted:

Every department in the country need sanitizing.

Corruption galore !!

What seems to be the problem now Django. David A Granger (the DAG) promised people β€œthe good life”. He starts in the jails delivering his promise to the prisoners first. He needs to entertain them now because he will release them soon. Independence Day coming up and these crimes will be deemed a petty. He needs them to drive fear into the electorate for the next election. Ramjhattan, like the prisoners is himself a rum sucker and cannot do anything to change the culture in the jail.

Django, when you speak of β€œsanitized” do you mean by way of bullets. You can’t come better than that. Permanently wipe their asses out?

Bhai Dondadda,never heard of such activities by prisoners during the time i was residing in Guyana.

The Country Management have certainly deteriorated,every one mekking a small piece with corruption.

Even in NA jails, drugs and alcohol are smuggled in. With the climate in Guyana where bribe is the nations pastime this has to be quite easy to pull off.

I am surprised you did not blame Jagdeo and the PPP for raising these alcoholic dudes.

I can do so if you prefer. Banna I find it amazing how all sorts of shit is smuggled into these places. A fellow I know in T.O was in for a short visit and he mentioned the guys getting high inside. It seems everything except punani makes it inside.

Even in NA jails, drugs and alcohol are smuggled in. With the climate in Guyana where bribe is the nations pastime this has to be quite easy to pull off.

I am surprised you did not blame Jagdeo and the PPP for raising these alcoholic dudes.

I can do so if you prefer. Banna I find it amazing how all sorts of shit is smuggled into these places. A fellow I know in T.O was in for a short visit and he mentioned the guys getting high inside. It seems everything except punani makes it inside.

After the last prison fire, Ramjattan had promised to reform the prison system and manage it better.  Whatever happened to that?