Wales market vendors’ hardships deepen

…say community “hopeless”

By Shemuel Fanfair

Fifteen months after the shutdown of the Wales Sugar Estate, former workers, many of whom reside in the community, are continuing to face the economic burden of reduced finances and scarce employment. The same can be said of the market sellers at Wales, who have collectively stressed their continued challenges into the second year of the West Bank Demerara (WBD) estate being shuttered.
At a visit to the area where the once famous ‘Friday Market’ is held; just before 13:00h, sellers were packing up their stocks for the day. This was unlike before December 2016, when the market went later than 17:00h. Guyana Times spoke with several vendors to get a sense of how they are coping in the face of the closure. What was clear was most of them were taking home the day’s produce, in hope that somehow, they would get another opportunity to at the very least, make a profit in order to provide for themselves and their families.

Chandrapaul Persaud feels the Wales community has gone down the drain

At the time this newspaper caught up with Jocelyn Boston, she was preparing to leave her stall for the day. In a sombre tone, Boston, who has been vending for over seven years, bemoaned her continued struggles which increase with each passing day since the closure of the Wales estate.
“It very hard, we ain’t getting the sales like before. You come out just so you gotta pack back and go in. One and two residents coming out and buy; Uitvlugt workers don’t get pay here. They don’t spend here because they got other markets that they passing,” Boston noted.
Referencing the reprieve that some workers were rehired at Rose Hall and Enmore Estates, she expressed that they would all be overjoyed if Wales could be reopened.

“Auntie Baby” recorded little sales into the afternoon hours

“We would be so happy; this place would go [back to] normal. We punishing bad here. You buying a bag of Boulanger and when it used to take you two days to sell out, now it taking you from Friday to Friday,” she stressed.
Boston’s sentiments were shared with her fellow vendors. Many of them indicated that much wastage occurs to their perishables and at times, they could barely break even. Another factor which sellers highlighted was an increase of theft in the Wales area.

Jocelyn Boston already packed up and ready to go home after low sale at the Wales Market

One female seller, who is also a farmer at Sisters Village, linked the social issue to the closure of the estate, noting that many young people are “liming on the road” because they “have nothing to do.” She also highlighted that when Wales was operating, as private cane farmers, many young people could have sought them for employment, especially in the out of crop season.
Declining to be identified, the Sisters Village farmer observed that besides cane cutting, young men were able to obtain earnings from digging drains and preparing lands. She added that after the entity closed, her family chose to convert two acres of sugar cane lands into cash crops. However, she stressed that they are suffering losses since much of their produce is stolen from their farm.
“Is like you just want run away from here; is a hopeless place. Here nah got hope no more,” the farmer and market vendor told Guyana Times on Friday.
Chandrapaul Persaud, who is a native of Mahaicony, has been living and working at the Wales area since 1973 when he married and came to live in the area. However, he maintains his farm at Mahaicony and would travel from the East Coast Demerara community to Wales with his produce. The 62-year-old however indicated that with reduced earnings, his situation is especially worrying since he does not obtain a monthly pension as he never contributed to the National Insurance Scheme (NIS). Persaud told this newspaper that the diversification plans should have been put in place before the Estate was closed.
“The (Wales) Estate gone down the drain,” he noted.
The entity’s closure was seen as a cost-saving measure due to billions of dollars that were allocated to the declining sugar industry, especially to Wales. The National Industrial and Commercial Investments Limited (NICIL) which has oversight of the Special Purposes Unit (SPU) put the Enmore, Rose Hall and Skeldon Estates up for sale to private investors. Some ex-sugar workers from those entities were re-hired to keep the estates running. In March 2018, NICIL put thousands of acres of land from Wales, as well as machinery from various estates, on the market.

Looking at those pictures bring two things to mind. One is that those vegetables look really good. Secondly, people in Guyana live really precariously. Those zinc sheets seem like a safety hazard, especially the ones next to aunty's umbrella.

It is expensive to sell Guyana produce here. The import cost is high. Cheaper to get stuff from other countries like Mexico or Chile

Then you have the Chinese supermarkets slashing produce prices

Amral
Last edited by Amral

I don't see produce from Guyana in our supermarkets here. How come?

Maybe Moses needs to make a trip to Canada like he did to Mexico. 

Those direct flights to Miami might help move the produce faster to the North American market. 

Amral posted:

It is expensive to sell Guyana produce here. The import cost is high. Cheaper to get stuff from other countries like Mexico or Chile

Then you have the Chinese supermarkets slashing produce prices

DR also. Flights leave there directly every day.

Last edited by Mitwah

The issue i find is the stores run by the WI over here they try to make high margins. Thus they are selling produce and fish from Guyana at a high price. While the Chinese will operate at a lower margin

Amral

It very hard, we ain’t getting the sales like before. You come out just so you gotta pack back and go in. One and two residents coming out and buy; Uitvlugt workers don’t get pay here. They don’t spend here because they got other markets that they passing,” Boston noted.

This might be true in all the communities where sugar workers were put in the bread line. I saw this at #78 village market. Some of the vendors buy produce to sell and they are unable to reduce their prices. In the end, they lose.

Those direct flights to Miami might help move the produce faster to the North American market. 

Bai, Miami grows most of those things already. Everybody got their lil kitchen garden. I gat big yard but I don't like yard wuk.

Amral posted:

The issue i find is the stores run by the WI over here they try to make high margins. Thus they are selling produce and fish from Guyana at a high price. While the Chinese will operate at a lower margin

West Indian, especially Guyanese merchants are indeed crooked.  Then you have Bedessee who used to alter the expiration dates on his canned goods. Lots if wickedness around. 

Amral posted:

West Indian, especially Guyanese merchants are indeed crooked.  Then you have Bedessee who used to alter the expiration dates on his canned goods. Lots if wickedness around. 

The man probably learned this from Guyana or maybe he taught the Guyanese vendors. I saw this "removing the expiration date" on evaporated milk when I questioned the seller about the milk. I asked him if the milk would still be good in a couple years.

Bai, Miami grows most of those things already. Everybody got their lil kitchen garden. I gat big yard but I don't like yard wuk.

You lazy ras , you prefer to watch Stormy photo all day, get up and plant some bigan.

The man needs a silicone replica of Stormy in his house. He might go to bed every night with a smile.

Are you referring to the American Airlines who will be charging a lot more than the existing airlines, then the price for cargo will be higher. Guyana product is good stuff but cannot compare with others when you look at the landed cost. Recently I see a Chinese grocery store Jian Hing at Markham& Lawrence  sells a whole lot of fishes from Guyana such as Cuffum, Curass, Catfish, Hourie, Gillbaka, Hassa, grey Snapper Patwa,white belly shrimp just to name a few, and I find the prices very reasonable compare to the West Indian Shops. If you go to the food terminal, you can buy different grade of produce, the Chinese buy the third grade which is cheaper but the SHELF life is much shorter, that's why most of their produce is cheaper.

The man needs a silicone replica of Stormy in his house. He might go to bed every night with a smile.

I think Baseman and Yuji have Donald Trump photo to worship, maybe Kaaz need a Stormy center fold.

Bai, I already go to bed every night with a smile. 

I think Baseman and Yuji have Donald Trump photo to worship, maybe Kaaz need a Stormy center fold.

I wonder how this will contrast with the Marilyn Monroe ones that I have. 

I don't think I am lazy. I just don't like yard work. The lawn service people that I have has been with me since around 2002. 

They come by every two weeks.

Eh-eh bhai, you worship Marilyn Monroe plus deee Stormy.  

Guyana cannot compete with Mexico when it comes to agricultural products. Peru is now in the agricultural market in a big way.. We can look at Trinidad. They are a force now in the pepper sauce market. Scotch Bonnet peppers. Guyana has to find a niche market and dominate it.

Not worship bai. Admiration. Women are worth our admiration. I have a framed one of these. Image result for marilyn monroe

Not worship bai. Admiration. Women are worth our admiration. I have a framed one of these. 

Image result for marilyn monroe

Okay bhai, Ooookaaaay.

Wales was always been a depressed community for Afros whether the sugar  estate was functional or not because of their lifestyles. You may want to call it a racist view, there were also a high percentage of Indos likewise.  it's a fact traveling in Guyana you can identify the ethnic majority of most villages and towns..

Not worship bai. Admiration. Women are worth our admiration. I have a framed one of these. 

Image result for marilyn monroe

Okay bhai, Ooookaaaay.

Oh, I forgot. This is not the whole picture. This was cut in half. The original that I have shows her entire back uncovered. 

randolph posted:

Wales was always been a depressed community for Afros whether the sugar  estate was functional or not because of their lifestyles. You may want to call it a racist view, there were also a high percentage of Indos likewise.  it's a fact traveling in Guyana you can identify the ethnic majority of most villages and towns..

another dunce feeling the overwhelming urge to vomit on GNI and relieve pressure on the outhouse that passes for his 'mind'

this coward hiding behind "Randolph" is so retarded that he actually trying to spray up vomit with perfume and hoping nobody will notice

banna with another nick here had the same MO, and actually felt smug and clever 'pulling it off'

poor/no education is a vicious disease affecting too many posting here

Guyana cannot compete with Mexico when it comes to agricultural products. Peru is now in the agricultural market in a big way.. We can look at Trinidad. They are a force now in the pepper sauce market. Scotch Bonnet peppers. Guyana has to find a niche market and dominate it.

The problem some are scared to invest in new ventures because of the crime situation. Manufacturing is one thing, but the product has to compete pricewise with the outside market. 

Coconut water is flooding the NA markets likewise other fruit juices.

Then you have the crookish ones over in Guyana who tries to hide drugs in their exports. Making it even tougher for the honest guy. Guyana does not have much to really offer the outside market anymore. 

Rice and Sugar is dead. I do not know how strong the market is for the rum outside.

It might be another 10 years before that first barrel of oil is exported (if the project ever materialize)

Amral

One of the farmer said everytime the crop is ready the bandits raid the farm so how can that encourage you to do farming.  Closing the sugar factories does not help the rum industry, the government should allow DDL to buy Enmore Estate right now Rum is the only  internationally known product that tops the world market. I recently notice the duty free shops have increase d the prices of Guyana rum by as much as 50% and sometimes they don't have stock.

Last edited by kp
Amral posted:

The problem some are scared to invest in new ventures because of the crime situation. Manufacturing is one thing, but the product has to compete pricewise with the outside market. 

Coconut water is flooding the NA markets likewise other fruit juices.

Then you have the crookish ones over in Guyana who tries to hide drugs in their exports. Making it even tougher for the honest guy. Guyana does not have much to really offer the outside market anymore. 

Rice and Sugar is dead. I do not know how strong the market is for the rum outside.

It might be another 10 years before that first barrel of oil is exported (if the project ever materialize)

Rice is very much alive

randolph posted:

another dunce feeling the overwhelming urge to vomit on GNI and relieve pressure on the outhouse that passes for his 'mind'

this coward hiding behind "Randolph" is so retarded that he actually trying to spray up vomit with perfume and hoping nobody will notice

banna with another nick here had the same MO, and actually felt smug and clever 'pulling it off'

That hit you so hard, you are spewing like a typical bush whore a la Simona.

randolph posted:

That hit you so hard, you are spewing like a typical bush whore a la Simona.

you come here to empty yuh bowels ("hit hard" in ignar parlance), wipe up quick with plantain leaf, and expect nobody to smell?

banna, try get an education yeh . . . it not too late

For starters, Meh bin a Sunday School. Meh tinks you bin a UG good fuh yuh but me tinks yuh prappa stuppidy and dumb like Granger and his PNC cohorts. Travel from Crabwood Creek to Charity and you can identify the ethnic majority of that particular village/ town. This is a fact. This must have upset you so much. Why? You can't take it to see progress against the stagnation or retrogression. But to tell the truth hurts you so much, all you can think of is crap which you are full of.

randolph posted:

For starters, Meh bin a Sunday School. Meh tinks you bin a UG 

ammm . . . me neva step foot in UG

try annada wan dunce

Amral posted:

Rice as an export 

Yep. . .  Mexico open up

Yes, but Guyana has to work on cost structure, and this is not a political statement.

yep  . . . dat is a hard nut

but you must gee dem bai credit for what was achieved in 2016 and 2017 after collapse of PetroCaribe

remember, there was plenty ridicule when Moses returned from Mexico City in fall 2015