https://www.stabroeknews.com/2...executed-by-the-afc/

The PNC is being blamed for what was executed by the AFC
By Staff Writer On March 29, 2018 @ 2:09 am In Letters to the Editor |
Dear Editor,

In a recent interview with the Guyana Times (March 26), the AFC General Secretary, Marlon Williams, boasts about Guyana being a “beautiful” democracy. But there is nothing democratically beautiful about removing independent voices from the state-owned newspaper. And Mr Williams cannot not know of the direct and indirect role AFC leaders played in removing me and Lincoln Lewis from the Chronicle.

We are now reliably informed that a senior AFC Minister has over time been raising at the Cabinet the issue of the Hinds and Lewis columns. It was that same Minister who gave the instructions to the Editor-in-Chief to axe the columns. To add insult to injury, two top AFC members, Sherod Duncan and Geeta Chandan-Edmond voted at the Board level to rubber stamp the decision, citing the legal right of the Editor-in-Chief (EIC) to make the decision. Whether Duncan and Chandan-Edmond knew they were rubberstamping a political decision is not known, but it would take a lot of convincing to assure me that they did not know. I hereby challenge the AFC to deny this version of events.

The Chronicle and the rest of the state media are controlled by the AFC as part of the distribution of spoils after the election. The Prime Minister has direct oversight of this sector. He is a journalist by profession, but we have not heard a single word from him on this matter. The AFC, as a party, has not said a single word. The AFC has from time to time hinted that is being shortchanged by APNU within the government. It is hypocritical to complain of being bullied when you engage in similar behaviour in areas where you exercise authority. This was the same party that famously warned me that I should be thankful to it for the freedom it allowed me and one of its leaders accused me and Freddie Kissoon of wanting to return the PPP to power.

Days before receiving the letter from the Editor-in-Chief, I had been tipped off that the column would be discontinued and who was behind the move. I learnt that the EIC was tortured by the situation, but he had no choice in the matter. Armed with that information, I wrote to him asking for an explanation regarding the non-publication of the column for two consecutive weeks. It was then that he sent the letter informing me of the decision. We now know that he did so without the knowledge of the Board.

What should be known is that in addition to my column, I have written scores of editorials for the newspaper, most of them complimentary to the government. That they dispensed with the column while wanting to retain my services as an editorial writer speaks volumes about the mindset—they cannot stand my criticisms but are comfortable with my writings that sanitize them.

I always knew that my independent stances were causing concern among government ministers; some of them have told me directly. I often wondered why they are so uneasy about self-critique. What is it about us that we cannot deal sensibly with dissent? Despite, the uneasiness, I remained at the Chronicle as a matter of principle. I took the position that they must shove me out and prove to Guyana who they really are. And true to the tradition of Guyanese leadership culture, they have done just that. What a shame!

The PNC section is being blamed for what was executed by the AFC. But the public utterings of the party’s General Secretary, suggest that they have no problem with the action—a case of the AFC doing the dirty job for them. One must ask if a government is prepared to encourage that kind of behaviour towards a coalition member, how would they behave towards presumed enemies. There is something very ugly about government leaders stifling free expression and still preaching about the beauty of democracy.

For me, my lifelong struggle for a better Guyana continues. My voice will not be silenced. I will continue to speak back to power and the powerful and challenge them to do better. I am determined that this government must break the cycle of authoritarian governance. In this regard, I am inspired by the words of our national poetic voice and conscience, Martin Carter:

No I will not still my voice

I have too much to claim …

And so

if you see me

looking at your hands

listening when you speak

marching in your ranks

you must know

I do not sleep to dream,

but dream to change the world.

Yours faithfully

Davi Hinds

Either way you slice this, Hinds and Lewis will not support any other party besides the PNC or WPA. Like Freddie Kissoon noted a few days ago, Indians know how to read the tea lives. But these folks, even if the PPP has transformed itself, will never think of casting their votes for the PPP. That is the nature of Guyanese politics. In fact, Hinds, in the same letter in another newspaper, express concern that people blamed him for supporting the PPP...this is a slap in the face of the supporters of the PPP. 

Did Hinds ever spoke out against the problems faced by the sugar workers?  

So this is simply a bottom house quarrel among kith and kin...when the time comes for casting votes, who know who they will vote for.

If one positive thing comes out of is it is that Guyanese are learning that loyalty does not mean that you have to stifle your criticism of the government even though you support that government...but this only rings true when honesty prevails among politicians...we know this is not going to happen anytime soon.

Either way you slice this, Hinds and Lewis will not support any other party besides the PNC or WPA. Like Freddie Kissoon noted a few days ago, Indians know how to read the tea lives. But these folks, even if the PPP has transformed itself, will never think of casting their votes for the PPP. That is the nature of Guyanese politics. In fact, Hinds, in the same letter in another newspaper, express concern that people blamed him for supporting the PPP...this is a slap in the face of the supporters of the PPP. 

So this is simply a bottom house quarrel among kith and kin...when the time comes for casting votes, who know who they will vote for.

If one positive thing comes out of is it is that Guyanese are learning that loyalty does not mean that you have to stifle your criticism of the government even though you support that government...but this only rings true when honesty prevails among politicians...we know this is not going to happen anytime soon.

Actually, if you were paying attention to the real world and not curling your lip and self-marinating in race hate and loathing of blackman, you would have known that David Hinds has written quite a lot about the plight of sugar workers facing loss of their jobs

indeed, no less than Vishnu Bisram thanked and “[applaud]ed” him for it

Now, let me ‘educate’ you about something you already know banna: David Hinds, Walter Rodney and the WPA literally took up arms and fought against the dictatorship PNC government of Forbes Burnham https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...st-the-wpa-produced/ ... Walter paid the ultimate price; Hinds and other stalwarts of the WPA suffered greatly for that

So, he doesn’t need lectures about “kith and kin” from the likes of you

With all that history, what you should be asking yourself is why people like Clive Thomas, Rupert Roopnaraine, Freddie Kissoon and David Hinds would not countenance support for today’s PPP in any configuration this generation

Face the man in the mirror, sir

Ronan, I gun break it down for you, What Vish is saying is that Hinds can/do speak out against the PNC at times but that does not mean that he is against them. If you need more simpler explanation let me know/

I agree with you

re-read my post

Actually, if you were paying attention to the real world and not curling your lip and self-marinating in race hate and loathing of blackman, you would have known that David Hinds has written quite a lot about the plight of sugar workers facing loss of their jobs

indeed, no less than Vishnu Bisram thanked and “[applaud]ed” him for it

Now, let me ‘educate’ you about something you already know banna: David Hinds, Walter Rodney and the WPA literally took up arms and fought against the dictatorship PNC government of Forbes Burnham https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...st-the-wpa-produced/ ... Walter paid the ultimate price; Hinds and other stalwarts of the WPA suffered greatly for that

So, he doesn’t need lectures about “kith and kin” from the likes of you

With all that history, what you should be asking yourself is why people like Clive Thomas, Rupert Roopnaraine, Freddie Kissoon and David Hinds would not countenance support for today’s PPP in any configuration this generation

Face the man in the mirror, sir

OK Knucklehead...

Easy with the “race hate” and “loathing of Blackman” bit. Stop treating criticism as if they emanate from an Indian racist...and stop playing the victim and acting as if Indians are out to get you and Hinds. That sounds like paranoia.

Lets break this down together.

I stand corrected if you claim that Hinds wrote about the sugar workers...but you are being devious when you use the words “quite a lot”. Evidence does not support your contention. Search the internet. In fact Lincoln Lewis has written more in support of the sugar workers...he is a union guy...he understands bread and butter issues. 

Hinds is an Afro-centric activist whose primary concern like that of Ogunseye, who recently penned a letter explaining to the press , was to ensure their defeat of the PPP and make sure Africans “pon top”. I don’t have a problem with this but you should know that Ogunseye give shelter to the Buxton prison escapees and urged violence against the government. Hinds has WRITTEN A LOT about power sharing (including a book) when the coalition was in the opposition. Now that his people pon top that stuff is thrown out the window. He consistently argued that there was discrimination against Africans under the PPP, but never provided evidence to that effect (except the stupid

statement made by Luncheon).

That Hinds and the WPA literally took up arms was a claim by Roopnarine. Many WPA members, and Rodney’s wife never agreed to this. 

Hinds stint in jail does not automatically confer credibility on him. Cheddi Jagan spent time in jail, yet there were many Afros who opposed his tenure in government. 

The argument I made is simple - MY ORIGINAL POINT was that in a divided society like Guyana where race trumps almost everything people do in this dreaded country is that kith and kin will determine how Hinds (and Lwin) will vote in the near future. This goes for Afros and Indos. So these are no sacred cows here. You fail to understand the basic nature of Guyanese society.

Let me explain something to you about the last paragraph in reference to history and Thomas, Hinds, Roopnarine and Kissoon. These individuals are not considered credible leaders by almost half of the population. They are not the ones who would or should be determining who leads the PPP...and the gaul of it all...for you to suggest that Guyanese should pattern their behavior after these 4 individuals is to perpetuate the stereotypical belief that the PPP supporters don’t know better...this would be like Ronan dictating to Black people in America who will be the best candidate to support.

OK Knucklehead...

Easy with the “race hate” and “loathing of Blackman” bit. Stop treating criticism as if they emanate from an Indian racist...and stop playing the victim and acting as if Indians are out to get you and Hinds. That sounds like paranoia.

Lets break this down together.

I stand corrected if you claim that Hinds wrote about the sugar workers...but you are being devious when you use the words “quite a lot”. Evidence does not support your contention. Search the internet. In fact Lincoln Lewis has written more in support of the sugar workers...he is a union guy...he understands bread and butter issues.
I don't "claim" banna . . . your weasel words are amusing; and you seem to want a diversionary debate on "quite a lot" . . . OK, let's call it "enough" . . . now run along and argue with Vishnu Bisram 

Hinds is an Afro-centric activist whose primary concern like that of Ogunseye, who recently penned a letter explaining to the press , was to ensure their defeat of the PPP and make sure Africans “pon top”. I don’t have a problem with this but you should know that Ogunseye give shelter to the Buxton prison escapees and urged violence against the government. Hinds has WRITTEN A LOT about power sharing (including a book) when the coalition was in the opposition. Now that his people pon top that stuff is thrown out the window. He consistently argued that there was discrimination against Africans under the PPP, but never provided evidence to that effect (except the stupid statement made by Luncheon).
Your red herring argumentation is risible and doesn't even approach clever . . . What the hell has Tacuma Ogunseye got to do with this conversation!?
. . . and, I get it, alyuh in the "loathing" carna doan believe jagdeo dem discriminate against Afro-Guyanese, done 

That Hinds and the WPA literally took up arms was a claim by Roopnarine. Many WPA members, and Rodney’s wife never agreed to this.
Your ignorance doesn't matter. Rodney's wife is all about protecting his legacy, which is in no way jeopardized by these revelations; and why would Rupert Roopnarine and FK lie? Further, I personally know this to be true; neither here nor there if y'all believe me or not.

Hinds stint in jail does not automatically confer credibility on him. Cheddi Jagan spent time in jail, yet there were many Afros who opposed his tenure in government.
David Hinds was jailed by the PNC Gov't; Cheddi Jagan was jailed by the British Colonial Gov't  . . . what's your stupid point again?

The argument I made is simple - MY ORIGINAL POINT was that in a divided society like Guyana where race trumps almost everything people do in this dreaded country is that kith and kin will determine how Hinds (and Lwin) will vote in the near future. This goes for Afros and Indos. So these are no sacred cows here. You fail to understand the basic nature of Guyanese society.
THAT was not your "original" point . . . but the above is a fair statement.

Let me explain something to you about the last paragraph in reference to history and Thomas, Hinds, Roopnarine and Kissoon. These individuals are not considered credible leaders by almost half of the population. They are not the ones who would or should be determining who leads the PPP...and the gaul of it all...for you to suggest that Guyanese should pattern their behavior after these 4 individuals is to perpetuate the stereotypical belief that the PPP supporters don’t know better...this would be like Ronan dictating to Black people in America who will be the best candidate to support.
Huh!? Exactly what does this rant have to do with my last paragraph . . . what's this "for you to suggest" business?
Are you mad, confused, empty, or intellectually challenged?
pick wan

btw, the "loathing of blackman" comes from your history on this forum . . . remember dis wan:

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/lo...e-a-triad-ting-going

[Vish]: "i have to say that it is these hooligans who give all black people a bad name. They look like criminals and they perpetuated a criminal activity.If they preyed on Indians, it also gives Indians another reason to continue the stereotype they hold of black people."

yep, i prefer to be a "knucklehead"