Jagdeo urges Guyanese to fight racism, oppression

…as thousands attend Cheddi Jagan’s centenary service at Babu Jaan

By Samuel Sukhnandan

People’s Progressive Party (PPP) General Secretary Bharrat Jagdeo has urged every Guyanese to fight oppression and racism in every form as he addressed thousands of Guyanese at late President, Dr Cheddi Jagan’s centenary service, which was held at Babu Jaan, Corentyne, Region Six (East Berbice-Corentyne).
He warned Guyanese to look out for the ‘race card’ being played up during the next elections. However, he said the PPP was a party of national unity and one that was open to people of all colours, races and creeds.
While admitting that the PPP has a large Indo-Guyanese base, he said that his party was largely supported by Amerindians too.
The PPP has also been welcoming more people of Afro-Guyanese descent into the party, who have turned to it for support on a number of matters.
Apart from that, he said the PPP was gaining more support not based on colour but on sound policies.
“We must form a compact with civil society,” he said while urging every Guyanese to fight against every form of oppression and racism being touted by opposing groups and parties.
Jagdeo on Sunday also vowed to work tirelessly to block any attempt by the ruling A Partnership for National Unity/Alliance For Change (APNU/AFC) coalition to rig the next elections constitutionally due in 2020 as he predicted a major sweep for his party at those polls.
In a passionate speech delivered to the thousands of people who gathered from across the country to observe the 100th birth anniversary of the late Guyanese leader, Jagdeo said that the work in this regard has started, and called on all PPP/Civic supporters to be vigilant.
“We are not laying down and taking it for granted that they won’t rig…We will block those,” he said.
He said the fear of election rigging was understandable, especially given the fact that elections were rigged in the past by the People’s National Congress (PNC). The PPP General Secretary, therefore, urged supporters not to allow this fear to paralyse them. “We must fight to prevent it,” he told the gathering.
Stressing the importance of citizens getting registered, Jagdeo said that a recent exercise done by the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) showed the highest number of people who registered in this cycle, more than ever in several PPP stronghold villages. “So, that’s a good sign, but we need to step up the sign in next cycle. We have to start preparing the logistics to bring every single one out,” he added.
The former Head of State told the gathering that the PPP would continue to fight for several areas of concern, one being the GECOM database.

“We are not confident about the integrity of the database within GECOM, so we will have to make sure that that database has not been tampered with. We have to cross check the 2015 database with that one they have now to see if that has some unusual patterns.”
Jagdeo said his party has already requested that GECOM conduct an independent verification of the database. GECOM published a list on February 3, 2018, but according to him, an old list was provided to the Party on February 6, 2018. For this and other reasons, Jagdeo believes that there would be a need to verify the information to ensure that it was correct and reflected updated statistics.
“We have to work on enhanced biometrics, because if we don’t get an electronic form of voting, people going to polling stations will not get an extra ballot unless they are verified. We have to find a way of scrubbing the list and getting dead people off and make it transparent,” he added.
But regardless of these concerns, Jagdeo said the PPP would no doubt win the next elections especially since the voters gained by the coalition Government in 2015 have now returned to his party. He said the odds of the coalition Government returning to office after 2020 were slim for other reasons as well.

Yuji supports Bharat Jagdeo if he is allowed to run for a third time. Any other candidate will be chewed up and spit out by the PNC.

Babu-3

Vote for REAL change, Vote PPP/C.

Vote for abee President. Our tiger and the only man to give the PNC shyttings.

• Babu-3

Yuji supports Bharat Jagdeo if he is allowed to run for a third time. Any other candidate will be chewed up and spit out by the PNC.

Babu-3

Vote for REAL change, Vote PPP/C.

Vote for abee President. Our tiger and the only man to give the PNC shyttings.

One token negro in a sea of coolies and yet you see no contradiction with Jagdeo touting the end of racism. It is what the PPP practice. It is what you practice and it is what black folks are reacting against in their huddling around the APNU.Less than a percent will vote PPP.

Indians have a cultural prohibition against cross ethnic bonding. Instead of telling these people to lie to themselves he should be emphasizing that he will no longer be a racist and everything he does policy-wise would be to eradicate the political institutions that allows for our ethnic bifurcation.Then maybe we can see some fertile ground where this taboo long subscribed to that culture can trumps love. Meanwhile, we remain one of the most racist nation on the planet and no amount of political sloganeering will mask that.

The freedom of one negro to join the sea of East Indians, not cooolies. 

AS for cross ethnic bonding, there is no one stopping anyone in Guyana from doing it. Yet the dougla population increasing. I guess prejudices does cause stifling of the senses.

Guyanese doan treat Jagdeo as a racist, yet some aliens seems to think he is. The percentage of the population who are  PNC supporters, doan they have a problem with cross ethnic bonding?

People minding dey own business trying to survive, somehow it is the perception of others they are pre-occupied with racism.

So far, Granger is the only one with racist tendencies. 

Mr. 22. No one should be allowed to violate the 2 term rule. He can still be Prime Minister and PPP General Secretary and control things.

He razz should be banished from Guyana, he is like the plague of contempt for decency. Bareface!

Almost every Douglas family you see in Guyana now is a black man with a koolie woman. When the British rule Guyana you would see more koolie men with black wives. That is how Prashad got the black in him.

Indian men been taking black women for ages in Guyana. The Siddi ppl in India are being mixed as well. Which proves that Indians are not racial.

The freedom of one negro to join the sea of East Indians, not cooolies. 

AS for cross ethnic bonding, there is no one stopping anyone in Guyana from doing it. Yet the dougla population increasing. I guess prejudices does cause stifling of the senses.

Guyanese doan treat Jagdeo as a racist, yet some aliens seems to think he is. The percentage of the population who are  PNC supporters, doan they have a problem with cross ethnic bonding?

People minding dey own business trying to survive, somehow it is the perception of others they are pre-occupied with racism.

So far, Granger is the only one with racist tendencies. 

Dude, lie to yourself if you may. It is why you remain an intractable racist with one foot in the grave. Indians have long invested their cultural boundaries on the backs of their women. They are entrusted with the burden of carrying the culture and if they cross the barrier into consorting with blacks they are ostracized. The hypocracy is self evident in the fact they can marry any white lungera and be accepted. This racism in Guyana is purely cultural.

Unless you are blind most Africans consider Jagdeo the bane of their existence. They would vote for any other PPP member in higher percentages than he. He is largely seen as the instrument of their marginalization and with much evidence to support it.

No one denies that Granger is a Burnhite and pan African hence a bigot himself. He is of that era where the distrust of indians is total. As a historian his slant on history is that blacks have always gotten the shaft and it is directly and indirectly a consequence of the advent of indians.

The reality is that neither Jagdeo or Granger is good for us. They are natural foils and throwback to a different era and both have proven themselves to be monumentally incompetent. Jagdeo give us complete failure of all industries, a drug and gun culture and Granger seems to be unable to reverse that. With oil on the horizon and both remaining the choices we have as leaders means we are not going to see a better Guyana in the near future.

Babu-3

One token negro in a sea of coolies....

Yuh think da black man is Cedric Richardson? 

Jagdeo is a REAL ASSET to the Nation of Guyana. I hope he will be able to use his full potential to improve the lives of the Guyanese People. If anyone can get to him, my message to him will be  to work for the rest of your life in the interest of the Guyanese people and especially for the working class and the POOR. That DR Jagdeo will make our FATHER DR Cheddi Beret Jagan very, very HAPPY!!