antabanta posted:

When I joined the PPP in 1969 my best friend told me: "Yuh wasting time. Jagan flogging a dead horse." That was only 5 years after the PPP was thrown out of government. And from that time through the 1970s and '80s I heard many folks declare the PPP dead. Time proved those prophets of doom wrong. As it was in the past, so it will be in the future. The PPP will triumph again, however long it takes, even if it's another 28 years' wait. 

And then what? Another deluge of nepotism, discrimination, divisiveness, corruption, vindictiveness, and immoral behavior? What's the point of all this patient waiting and perseverance to drown the country in drug trafficking and corruption, to decimate the education system, to leave poor people in their hovels while the president and his lackeys build mansions and usurp resources of the nation at will?

Jagdeo-Ramotar and crony capitalism were an aberration in the PPP, a departure from Cheddi Jagan's working-class vision and philosophy. The Jagdeo-Ramotar phenomena will pass. 

Please identify plausible elements of the PPP who you think can reinstate Cheddi's vision. Forget about Cheddi's vision. Identify people in the party who can work for the betterment of Guyana and not just focus on filling their pockets.

I'm looking long term. Most of the current Central Committee members are Jagdeo loyalists. They will not be there forever. It's a fact that many PPP members want a return to working-class politics. Events will unfold in due course as well as personalities.

A large portion of the Central Committee are Jagan communists who believe in their heart and souls that he left the party for them.  The whole world is moving ahead with new ideas, technology, best management practices, and a new international world order.  But those Communists want to return to working class politics.  The PNC is making more of an effort to tow the line of new ideas that's why they are in power.  If the formula is to return to working class politics then the likes of Komal Chand should run for President and let's see what happens.

What a bunch of bull sh1t.   Damn right, return the party and country to the working man and woman   That’s the primary role of govt.  So who  did it go to under the new cabal.  I tell you, a bunch of selfish corrupt cronies who lived in the stratosphere while the people suffered and scrounge for a living.  Your comment reflects everything that is wrong with the BJ cabal and it’s reflected in the society.  You fit with them!

How is your job search coming along?

Gal go pack for ur vacay. πŸ˜€πŸ˜€. Lol

Me done pack since yesterday!!.  What you want me bring back fuh you??

antabanta posted:

Please identify plausible elements of the PPP who you think can reinstate Cheddi's vision. Forget about Cheddi's vision. Identify people in the party who can work for the betterment of Guyana and not just focus on filling their pockets.

I'm looking long term. Most of the current Central Committee members are Jagdeo loyalists. They will not be there forever. It's a fact that many PPP members want a return to working-class politics. Events will unfold in due course as well as personalities.

Who are the many PPP members who want to return to working-call politics and for how long more will they be alive to influence Guyana's political landscape? It seems to me likely that what happened under Jagdeo will continue - widespread corruption and immorality. Why would this change for the better?

Anta, we'll have to agree to disagree here. A man convinced against his will is of the same opinion still, as the old saying goes. I must admit I shall never be able to persuade you to believe that there is some good in the PPP. Best regards.

antabanta posted:

Who are the many PPP members who want to return to working-call politics and for how long more will they be alive to influence Guyana's political landscape? It seems to me likely that what happened under Jagdeo will continue - widespread corruption and immorality. Why would this change for the better?

Anta, we'll have to agree to disagree here. A man convinced against his will is of the same opinion still, as the old saying goes. I must admit I shall never be able to persuade you to believe that there is some good in the PPP. Best regards.

You don't have to persuade me, pardna. Activities in Gy illustrate the situation. What's there to be seen is there for anyone who cares to look.

When I joined the PPP in 1969 my best friend told me: "Yuh wasting time. Jagan flogging a dead horse." That was only 5 years after the PPP was thrown out of government. And from that time through the 1970s and '80s I heard many folks declare the PPP dead. Time proved those prophets of doom wrong. As it was in the past, so it will be in the future. The PPP will triumph again, however long it takes, even if it's another 28 years' wait. 

The PPP remains uncreative and stale as it has been its entire existence. It would not have to wait another couple of years if it shelved that  corrupt sheman as their front person  and began to incubate a cadre of young leaders who have an idea of tomorrow world and can communicate it without the usual verbage of indian victimization. Note Granger has nothing to stand on to date and given he is apparently a calcified relic of the burnhamite era he will have nothing on election day. He will win by default if Jagdeo is the PPP's offering.

antabanta posted:

And then what? Another deluge of nepotism, discrimination, divisiveness, corruption, vindictiveness, and immoral behavior? What's the point of all this patient waiting and perseverance to drown the country in drug trafficking and corruption, to decimate the education system, to leave poor people in their hovels while the president and his lackeys build mansions and usurp resources of the nation at will?

Jagdeo-Ramotar and crony capitalism were an aberration in the PPP, a departure from Cheddi Jagan's working-class vision and philosophy. The Jagdeo-Ramotar phenomena will pass. 

A large portion of the Central Committee are Jagan communists who believe in their heart and souls that he left the party for them.  The whole world is moving ahead with new ideas, technology, best management practices, and a new international world order.  But those Communists want to return to working class politics.  The PNC is making more of an effort to tow the line of new ideas that's why they are in power.  If the formula is to return to working class politics then the likes of Komal Chand should run for President and let's see what happens.

What a bunch of bull sh1t.   Damn right, return the party and country to the working man and woman   That’s the primary role of govt.  So who  did it go to under the new cabal.  I tell you, a bunch of selfish corrupt cronies who lived in the stratosphere while the people suffered and scrounge for a living.  Your comment reflects everything that is wrong with the BJ cabal and it’s reflected in the society.  You fit with them!

How is your job search coming along?

You stale here girl.  

BTW, when will you settle up the balance that I fronted for you.  Surely someone with you financial prowess can muster that up in over a year!

The PPP remains uncreative and stale as it has been its entire existence. It would not have to wait another couple of years if it shelved that  corrupt sheman as their front person  and began to incubate a cadre of young leaders who have an idea of tomorrow world and can communicate it without the usual verbage of indian victimization. Note Granger has nothing to stand on to .

I agree.  This is why progressive nations change leaders even if the ruling party continues.  There is little new coming from the cabal. I really wished BJ allow others to rise and do their thing.  They will make the slips and slide, but will learn and be ok.  There are good people in the party. He has become a shadow dictator controlling from behind the scenes with his henches and wenches!

A big tree 🌳 cast its shadow blocking out the sunlight causing others not to thrive.  And we say, only the big tree can thrive.  But as soon as it’s gone, 100 new ones sprout and strive to take its place.   

His similarly unimaginative cronies and poodles see him as the only hope.  Me tell yuh!

You are wasting your time fighting with that old fowl. You are healthy, not ugly and job or no job can pull in lots of young hens. Take it from an avowed heathen with a vested interest in the art of living well. Any day, if I am left in the street I have a choice between what firm boobies my head will rest.   Don't even waste your time with what only old has been roosters have to contend with.

You are wasting your time fighting with that old fowl. You are healthy, not ugly

What’s with this β€œnot ugly” thingy.  I’m not just β€œnot ugly”, I’m actually pretty!!😁. 

i guess u is a blond 

warrior posted:

You are wasting your time fighting with that old fowl. You are healthy, not ugly

What’s with this β€œnot ugly” thingy.  I’m not just β€œnot ugly”, I’m actually pretty!!😁. 

i guess u is a blond 

Nothing that some Revlon No 4 cannot remedy!

Oi D2 u pretty poster u..what year were you in Canada?

Got there at five with my mother when she emigrated ( 64). She was in school so we spent most of our time in Guyana and summer and Christmas holidays with her. Moved permanently there at 15. It was "home" until I was in my mid twenties.

We may have run into each other at some point when I hung around the area where the Eaton center was built. (Dundas/Yonge)  had the Alice Cooper look at the time.

Oi D2 u pretty poster u..what year were you in Canada?

Got there at five with my mother when she emigrated ( 64). She was in school so we spent most of our time in Guyana and summer and Christmas holidays with her. Moved permanently there at 15. It was "home" until I was in my mid twenties.

We may have run into each other at some point when I hung around the area where the Eaton center was built. (Dundas/Yonge)  had the Alice Cooper look at the time.

Young an Temperance area not far away was my hangout...could always snag a lift home with my sister who worked at a store  near by. Lived in the Junction( crappy then) and Chalkfarms, then mom moved us upscale  Etobicoke ( around where the Gardiner ends...kingsway) Also burned time in dufferin mall...think it was just opened.