Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo

Feb 23 2018  Source

Guyana/Venezuela controversy

calls on Govt to be more open, honest with citizens on key developments

The threat to Guyana’s territorial sovereignty from its neighbour, Venezuela is very real and Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo on Thursday called on the David Granger Administration to demonstrate more openness, honesty and transparency when divulging information to the citizenry about key developments related to the Guyana/Venezuela border controversy.
Jadgeo, still to date Guyana’s longest serving former Head of State and President, told reporters on Thursday that he has received very credible information from a source which justifies his position.He said he strongly feels that Government is also aware of this potential treat and is urging the Administration to keep Guyanese abreast with these developments.

“The last time I pointed out the need to balance out confidentiality with the need to keep the public informed. As a former President of Guyana I am always conscious of that balance,” he said.However, Jagdeo reiterated that there has been an enhanced threat at the borders and the Government has not been forthcoming on the issue, even though they have information about it.“Somehow many people misinterpreted what I said to mean that I was talking about the gangs and I was speaking about an enhanced threat from the state of Venezuela,” he explained.The former Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces continued, “And whilst we have to ensure that our communities are protected from gangs, I think the Government has available all the analysis.“I don’t want to speak about it, but I have received some of the information from other sources that lead me to believe that there is a real enhanced to our nation and its sovereignty.”Jagdeo said the matter should not just be discussed among Cabinet member and the Government should threat this matter as one that “belongs to them.”Rather, he said that if Guyana is to suffer from an act of aggression then it will be the people of the country not just the military, even though in his opinion, the military is not strong enough.

President David Granger recently visited villages in Region One (Barima-Waini) that are bordered by Venezuela, where 24-hour security posts were established by the Guyana Defence Force (GDF).During his visit to Kaikan, which the President described as a “frontline” village, he said “I have come here with a promise to ensure that Kaikan is fully integrated into Guyana.
Have no fear, if we are united, we will prevail. We will be able to live in a strong, secure and stable country… Frontier communities are guardians of Guyana’s territorial integrity and national security. They are our first line of defence against any attempt at incursions and invasions.”The President, according to a release from the Department of Public Information, told the villagers that while the Army and the Police will intensify their efforts to ensure their safety, they have a significant role to play as they are the eyes and ears on the ground.

“In weeks and months to come, I am asking you to join the People’s Militia, we are not making war with anyone but I want you to be prepared… My brothers and sisters, we have to protect ourselves… People bring illegal guns into the country and they commit crimes with those illegal guns, unregistered guns. These crimes make us feel very unsafe… We can’t only rely on the Police; we have to look after our own families, our own communities,” the President said. Prior to this meeting, the President met with villagers of Whitewater which is also bordering Venezuela and made similar sentiments. Whitewater is also benefiting from 24-hour security from the GDF. The Guyana/Venezuela border controversy was recently referred to the International Court of Justice (ICJ) by the United Nations after relations between the two countries reached an all-time low when US oil giant ExxonMobil discovered oil on Guyana’s shores.
Venezuela, which is going through a political and economic crisis, is laying claim to the County of Essequibo that covers about two-thirds of Guyana’s territory and the waters off its coast.

warrior posted:

He FIX the Freedom Fighters!!!

you do not fix a crime by creating a more organised crime

Says who?? Collateral damages are sometimes necessary. As brother X would say, " By any means necessary"!!!

warrior posted:

He FIX the Freedom Fighters!!!

you do not fix a crime by creating a more organised crime

Says who?? Collateral damages are sometimes necessary. As brother X would say, " By any means necessary"!!!

you need to get a brain you is a unique ass

You are such a DUMB JACKASS it will take a miracle for you to know that. Even brain surgery cannot help raw sewage like you!!!

its friday you drunk ass go pray to mother Kali for some help it might be too late 

warrior posted:

You are such a DUMB JACKASS it will take a miracle for you to know that. Even brain surgery cannot help raw sewage like you!!!

its friday you drunk ass go pray to mother Kali for some help it might be too late 

THIS dRUNKMAN DRINKING YUH LIKKA RIGHT NOW GETTING ALL WORKED UP TO GO INTO ACTION!!!!

warrior posted:

THIS dRUNKMAN DRINKING YUH LIKKA RIGHT NOW GETTING ALL WORKED UP TO GO INTO ACTION!!!!

little boy mentality 

Granger knows that Guyana is under threat from Venezuela. In another article that I read this morning, he is requesting foreign help for GDF on the same problem. Venezuela is using military strategies and they will not start something they can end without gaining rights over in Guyana. If that happens, Maduro is out. Brazil is there to help and the British will not let that happens. Believe me, diplomatic communication is active on this threat by all players.  

The GDF can easily be run over by a wave of hungry Venezuelan refugees. All this big talk by Granger is only giving the people and the GDF a false sense of security. The GDF will be the first to run when the Venezuelans start to come over. 

Granger knows that Guyana is under threat from Venezuela. In another article that I read this morning, he is requesting foreign help for GDF on the same problem. Venezuela is using military strategies and they will not start something they can end without gaining rights over in Guyana. If that happens, Maduro is out. Brazil is there to help and the British will not let that happens. Believe me, diplomatic communication is active on this threat by all players.  

When Maduro is out that would be pleasing the U.S. but not to Guyana. The opposition in Venezuela are tougher on the territorial claim. Oil is at stake and don't expect them to be nice.

The GDF can easily be run over by a wave of hungry Venezuelan refugees. All this big talk by Granger is only giving the people and the GDF a false sense of security. The GDF will be the first to run when the Venezuelans start to come over. 

you very patriotic you people never hear about the UN maybe you ppp indian people think the world will stand by and watch a next country invade Guyana 

warrior posted:

you very patriotic you people never hear about the UN maybe you ppp indian people think the world will stand by and watch a next country invade Guyana 

We have never heard about the UN. Are they part of the International Olympic Committee? 

I have a half brother who lives in Waini and is Guyanese. He has cousins living across in Venezuela and one married to a lieutenant in the Venezuelan military.  Any outbreak of hostilities could pit family against family!

warrior posted:

The UN is as good as it’s members’ willingness to take action.  

The UN was I charged of protecting citizens in Rwanda in 1992 and in Schrebranica in 1995.   We we know wah happen deh!

Billy, Granger is hoping/knows America will NOW defend Guyana( their OIL interest)!!!

Bai, it’s not about oil. Venezuela is the largest source of foreign oil to the US.  The don’t have another market to take off their oil.  America is more concerned with anti-Americanism spreading thru the region.  

The US is hoping Maduro do something stupid and illegal so the can end it all.  And it will be over in 24 hours!

Is Guyanese military ever engaged in actual combat in Guyana's history?

Yes, the rupununi uprising aka Venezuela invasion. It was led by the Hart and Melville families.  They rounded up all government officials (one was a relative) and locked them in a slaughter house.  They shot all the Black security officers but tied up all non black!

The rebels, augmented by Venezuelan off duty military personnel, actually took about 15k square miles.  Cornel Price then countered with the newly formed GDF and began to push them back.  One of my police uncles was conscripted to go.  The fighters and leaders retreated to Venezuela!

The Venezuelans likely would have intervened had the rebels stabilize their hold and establish a govt.