The dead, sugar, PPP and GAWU gains.

January 10,2018

Dear Editor,
We should all know by now that the PPP will do anything and everything to get back into power. We all know that GAWU will do all that it can towards ensuring that sugar workers remain as the major supporter of the PPP.
So, when false promises are being pelted out to the public especially the sugar workers at this time, I am not and we should not be surprised.
In December 2017 as stated in the news, almost 4000 sugar workers were given termination letters in Berbice. What I know for a fact is that those letters were not given to them without notice. It was in the news for a long time that they will receive termination letters due to the fact that a few estates will be close.
We all know that sugar is not making a profit, so something has to be done to ensure that GuySuCo does not go into further debts.
If the company is to go into further debts then some time soon it means that they will not have money (it is not like they have any now) to pay workers and then the same would have to happen in terms of termination. But it seems like the PPP and GAWU do not know this.
We need to understand that even a private business person will do same if he\she is not making a profit. They will close the business down and send home their workers, all because they do not want to run at a loss and incur more debts.
Let me give my sympathy to the families, relatives and friends of the two sugar workers that committed suicide in December 2017. I know that sudden death can have an impact on the families and I ask that you all stand strong especially for the children that have a future ahead.
But, I was surprised when the PPP supporters and some of its executives linked the suicides to sugar. This PPP and GAWU will do anything even using the dead for political power. I am not surprised at all because Dr. Jagan’s name is what keeps the PPP alive.
During their campaigns they use that name more times that it is written in the history books of Guyana. They also use his pictures towards invoking the dead.
How would anyone say that the termination letter is the cause that those two gentlemen committed suicide? I don’t believe that the investigation is completed as yet into what caused the death of the two men.
The workers knew for months now that they will be terminated; PPP and GAWU said it almost every hour of the day in public, be it newspapers, social media, television, bottom house meetings, etc. So it should have been no surprise letter.
I do believe that the PPP and GAWU are the ones that should be blamed for those workers’ deaths. The reason for those two suicides could very well be because PPP and GAWU are going to workers and spreading lies about what’s the real happenings in the industry. They are the ones that are putting it over to the workers as if they will have no future and cannot live when they are terminated.
The PPP and GAWU are the ones that are taking the suicidal thoughts of workers and their families. They are the ones that are causing the workers and their families to think as if they have no future.
It’s a shame that PPP is once again using the dead for their political gains. PPP needs to stop using the grieving families as their tools for political power. It’s shameful to see the length to which the PPP will go to regain power.
At a recent Funeral House, the PPP members were waving their party flag and singing the party song over a dead body. It’s a shame that they are campaigning on the dead. The leader of the party Bharrat Jagdeo was there and he also took part.
GAWU also seems to be one of the driving forces into taking the negative messages to the workers and their families. GAWU fight is not for the workers but for the union dues; that’s what they are fighting for and to ensure workers keep the PPP as their supporters.
For twenty-three long years, the PPP was in power and they cannot find any solution to sustain the sugar industry and the workers. Now they are saying they have solutions.
Maybe their solutions are to fool the workers and spread false messages so that they can have the worker’s votes come 2020.
After that, the solution will dissolve and they will forget the workers the same way they did since 1992. So workers need to be aware of the false fight from the PPP. Now with the oil monies, the PPP will promise gold and diamond to the people of Guyana especially sugar workers, but we all need to think.
Think of the neglect for the past 23 years that you the workers had to face from the PPP and think if they go there again the pressure will be worse than those 23 years that they had.
GAWU and the PPP need to stop spreading the fears into the lives of the sugar workers and their families. GAWU must start telling workers and their families not to listen to the PPP because they are inciting fears into their lives.
But we all know GAWU would never do that because if they do, their President who is a PPP sitting MP, will be recalled from his post in the National Assembly.
I am also calling on all the NGOs that are preaching suicide prevention to condemn the PPP and GAWU behaviour towards spreading of the wrong messages to the workers and their families that are creating suicidal taught within their minds.
To all the workers and their families be strong. Don’t allow anyone to use your grief or death for their political gains. Stop them from driving fears into your life’s, because they are living happily and fearless.
All is not lost; there is a bright future ahead of us no matter what. Don’t try to tell yourself that it’s the end of things or life, NO. Continue to shoulder each other at this time when some come to you as sheep in wolf clothing, because they have created what is happening within the industry today.
I call once again on the PPP and GAWU to stop this type of political campaigning because thousands of people’s lives are involved when you go out there and spread lies and try to send fear into the minds of the people that can motivate them towards taking their lives.
Regards
Abel Seetaram
Regional Councilor
RDC Region 5

posted:

The PPP flag and party song was done at Mr Ali Baksh funeral ... a stalwart for  PPP and I see no harm in doing so .

i have spoken to family members of the recent suicide and no one saw a PPP flag or party song was singing .

Its a shame people goes so far to peddle lies .

And to you Djanjo ... much appreciated you post the news but atleast follow up with a comment what you thought ... as you are a research man and would have the facts . Don’t just post article to reflect one side when you claim several times you have no association to a particular party. 

posted:

The PPP flag and party song was done at Mr Ali Baksh funeral ... a stalwart for  PPP and I see no harm in doing so .

i have spoken to family members of the recent suicide and no one saw a PPP flag or party song was singing .

Its a shame people goes so far to peddle lies .

And to you Djanjo ... much appreciated you post the news but atleast follow up with a comment what you thought ... as you are a research man and would have the facts . Don’t just post article to reflect one side when you claim several times you have no association to a particular party. 

Suh that Sugar Workers belongs to the PPP ?? and Abel lying ?

Mr.Baksh was a party member and it will be appropriate to wave the party flags and sing the party song.

Django, you are no different than Vish, posting dem seh articles, you believe all PNC sources, also you place misleading headings to your articles. Come on, after two years plus, you can't see the truth or you're blinded by fake news.

Django,

1. If my memory serves me correctly, the PNC wrapped the Guyana flag around the coffin of a wanted criminal who was responsible for many murders. Now, the PNC stooge is arguing that it is wrong for the PPP and GAWU to have a proper memorial of the two workers who committed suicide reportedly on the actions of the PNC government against sugar workers. ( if the report is true)

2. The ppp was born under the leadership of Jagan and continues to be guided by his actions, words and philosophy so it is not strange for the party that the ppp will continue to mention his name. Look how Granger is mentioning the dictator burnham’s name in his attempt to rewrite history.

3. Hearing something in the news or that is a topic of discussion does not meet the test of legal notice, natural justice or due process in any court of law as a means of giving notice to a worker who is to be retrenched from a job. 

4, the only message that can come our from the closing of the estates will be a negative one because of the lies, deception, deceit, spite and incompetence of the coalition.  The coalition said that no estates will be closed during the campaign, they went against the advice of the commission that they set up, they have never done a proper cost benefit analysis of the sugar industry, they have put no programs in place to help the  workers negatively affected to survive in the short term and to move gainfully to other economic activities in the long term, have not addressed the economic viability of the local communities affected, etc. What does the dog in sheep clothing seetaram expect?

Z

Too many ASS KISSERS and BATTY WASHERS in Guyana and on GNI!! They know we are seeing through their shameless lies and deception but I guess if you are a FILTH HEAD or simply Shameless, you just pretend you are righteous.

Zed posted:

Django,

1. If my memory serves me correctly, the PNC wrapped the Guyana flag around the coffin of a wanted criminal who was responsible for many murders. Now, the PNC stooge is arguing that it is wrong for the PPP and GAWU to have a proper memorial of the two workers who committed suicide reportedly on the actions of the PNC government against sugar workers. ( if the report is true)

2. The ppp was born under the leadership of Jagan and continues to be guided by his actions, words and philosophy so it is not strange for the party that the ppp will continue to mention his name. Look how Granger is mentioning the dictator burnham’s name in his attempt to rewrite history.

3. Hearing something in the news or that is a topic of discussion does not meet the test of legal notice, natural justice or due process in any court of law as a means of giving notice to a worker who is to be retrenched from a job. 

4, the only message that can come our from the closing of the estates will be a negative one because of the lies, deception, deceit, spite and incompetence of the coalition.  The coalition said that no estates will be closed during the campaign, they went against the advice of the commission that they set up, they have never done a proper cost benefit analysis of the sugar industry, they have put no programs in place to help the  workers negatively affected to survive in the short term and to move gainfully to other economic activities in the long term, have not addressed the economic viability of the local communities affected, etc. What does the dog in sheep clothing seetaram expect?

They wrapped the famous criminal BLACKIE with the Guyana flag and Desmond Hoyte was in attendance at his funeral .

Django ...

Perhaps there is a major change in GNI's policy that the news title should not match the one posted on the forum ... e.g., ...

News title ...

Your title ...

PPP members waving party flag and singing the party song over dead body at Funeral House.

Django ...

Perhaps there is a major change in GNI's policy that the news title should not match the one posted on the forum ... e.g., ...

News title ...

Your title ...

PPP members waving party flag and singing the party song over dead body at Funeral House.

When others change headlines,do you complain ?

Django ...

News title ...

Your title ...

Can you post the link to this GNI policy. Thanks.

Zed posted:

Django,

Can you post the evidence supporting your claim. Thanks.

Django ...

News title ...

Your title ...

Immaterial.

Succinctly ...

Adhere to GNI rules and regulations.

Django ...

News title ...

Your title ...

Immaterial.

Succinctly ...

There's no such rule or regulation here. Who died and left you the owner here to tell people what they must do? 

Corentyne Chamber reminds Coalition gov’t of campaign promise to keep sugar alive

March 11, 2017 Politics, http://citizensreportgy.com/?p=42467

The Central Corentyne Chamber of Commerce contends that the proposed closure of the Skeldon and Rose Hall estates are very worrying for the future of Berbice, given that thousands in the communities, intertwined with the estates, will be affected.

“We also do understand the present situation facing the government where GuySuCo has to be subsidized annually to the tune of billions of dollars, undesirable as it is the government is duty bound to provide alternatives for the population,” the Chamber said in a statement.

It added, “We do recall the government promise to Berbicians in the 2015 elections campaign that no estates would be closed and it is not as if the financial state of GuySuCo at the time was unknown.”

As such, the Chamber has called on the Coalition Government to address their minds to solutions for the problems of GuySuCo. “Solutions have to be found where before any estate is closed alternative employment has to be provided for the people,” the Chamber said.

Meanwhile, the $52M plus Commission of Inquiry (CoI), which produced a report into the operations of the Guyana Sugar Corporation (GuySuCo), has recommended that no estate be closed.

On page 30 of the Volume One of the Report, it said, “The COI does not recommend the closure of the any estate at this time.” On page 30 of Volume One of the CoI report, it also said, “(The CoI) took into account the current state of the economy which lacks vibrancy, with awareness of the problems in the rice industry, the low market price of gold and the level of ‘unemployment.” Also, at page 31 of the same report the CoI said, “The effect of closing any estate without planning and adequate notice to cane farmers has serious consequences, not only for the employees and private farmers but for the communities as well.”

Already, the Wales Sugar Estate has been closed. Information indicated that all sugar estates, but three will be closed but the Coalition Government

sugar workers truck

Corentyne Chamber reminds Coalition gov’t of campaign promise to keep sugar alive

The Central Corentyne Chamber of Commerce contends that the proposed closure of the Skeldon and Rose Hall estates are very worrying for the future of Berbice, given that thousands in the communities, intertwined with the estates, will be affected.

“We also do understand the present situation facing the government where GuySuCo has to be subsidized annually to the tune of billions of dollars, undesirable as it is the government is duty bound to provide alternatives for the population,” the Chamber said in a statement.

It added, “We do recall the government promise to Berbicians in the 2015 elections campaign that no estates would be closed and it is not as if the financial state of GuySuCo at the time was unknown.”

As such, the Chamber has called on the Coalition Government to address their minds to solutions for the problems of GuySuCo. “Solutions have to be found where before any estate is closed alternative employment has to be provided for the people,” the Chamber said.

Meanwhile, the $52M plus Commission of Inquiry (CoI), which produced a report into the operations of the Guyana Sugar Corporation (GuySuCo), has recommended that no estate be closed.

On page 30 of the Volume One of the Report, it said, “The COI does not recommend the closure of the any estate at this time.” On page 30 of Volume One of the CoI report, it also said, “(The CoI) took into account the current state of the economy which lacks vibrancy, with awareness of the problems in the rice industry, the low market price of gold and the level of ‘unemployment.” Also, at page 31 of the same report the CoI said, “The effect of closing any estate without planning and adequate notice to cane farmers has serious consequences, not only for the employees and private farmers but for the communities as well.”

Already, the Wales Sugar Estate has been closed. Information indicated that all sugar estates, but three will be closed but the Coalition Government

sugar workers truck

citizensreportgy.com is a PPP fake news site.

Django ...

News title ...

Your title ...

Immaterial.

Succinctly ...

There's no such rule or regulation here. Who died and left you the owner here to tell people what they must do? 

Become aware of GNI rules which are in existence for a very long time.

Post the rule then if you claim that it exists. No one is obligated to follow the way you post or anything you say for that matter. 

Does anyone complain that you make three posts for one article so that you can bump up your post count and pass ASJ for the number one ranking here? You must be living a very lonely life because it seems like GNI is your number one priority in life.

Essentially, Seetaram is dealing out red herrings to divert attention from the state-owned GuySuco's mass sacking of sugar workers. Seetaram is using the PPP and GAWU as scapegoats too. I can attest to the fact that traditionally the PPP has honored many ordinary and mid-level party members with the party flag and song at their funerals. That noble tribute is not reserved for top-tier party members only. One such funeral I attended in 1983, that of a lower-level member named Lionel Jaikarran. Cheddi Jagan himself spoke at that funeral.

Honestly, I don't know the background of the recently deceased man in Berbice but I am reasonably assuming that he was a PPP and/or GAWU activist.

How long will the AFC go with the flow? Many former AFC supporters are saying that the AFC is very upset about the path the PNC is taking this nation on but do not have the balls to speak out fearing they might just accelerate their own demise.

sugar workers truck

citizensreportgy.com is a PPP fake news site.

Come on Mars. You can certainly do better.

Zed posted:

Django,

“ During the 2015 election campaign, David Granger, other senior APNU members, Nagamootoo, Ramjattan and other AFC members contended that SUGAR was “too big to fail” and that SUGAR remained a critical part of the economic equation for a prosperous Guyana. They promised on the campaign in numerous public meetings, on TV and in the newspapers, in community walkabouts and in bottom house meetings that no sugar estate will be closed and that sugar workers will enjoy a 20% annual increase and better benefits under an APNU+AFC government. They promised that under their tenure sugar will see even more glorious years ahead. I am everyday expecting Nagamootoo or someone from APNU+AFC to deny ever promising that no sugar estate will be closed or that they had promised a 20% wage increase or better benefits. After all, Nagamootoo just barefacedly denied they ever promised rice farmers $9,000 per bag of paddy.

The truth is that they lied openly and shamelessly in an effort to fool sugar workers. In spite of our warnings and the better judgment of many fellow workers, some sugar workers were persuaded of a “better life” under APNU+AFC. But all along, the plans were to close sugar, just as was announced at the press conference held at APNU Headquarters and chaired by Joe Harmon in 2014. Soon after that press conference announcing that APNU believed that closing sugar is a better economic option, Ramjattan announced he fully supported this position. During the election campaign, they deceptively promised no closure of any sugar estate.” 

Zed posted:

Django,

“ During the 2015 election campaign, David Granger, other senior APNU members, Nagamootoo, Ramjattan and other AFC members contended that SUGAR was “too big to fail” and that SUGAR remained a critical part of the economic equation for a prosperous Guyana. They promised on the campaign in numerous public meetings, on TV and in the newspapers, in community walkabouts and in bottom house meetings that no sugar estate will be closed and that sugar workers will enjoy a 20% annual increase and better benefits under an APNU+AFC government. They promised that under their tenure sugar will see even more glorious years ahead. I am everyday expecting Nagamootoo or someone from APNU+AFC to deny ever promising that no sugar estate will be closed or that they had promised a 20% wage increase or better benefits. After all, Nagamootoo just barefacedly denied they ever promised rice farmers $9,000 per bag of paddy.

The truth is that they lied openly and shamelessly in an effort to fool sugar workers. In spite of our warnings and the better judgment of many fellow workers, some sugar workers were persuaded of a “better life” under APNU+AFC. But all along, the plans were to close sugar, just as was announced at the press conference held at APNU Headquarters and chaired by Joe Harmon in 2014. Soon after that press conference announcing that APNU believed that closing sugar is a better economic option, Ramjattan announced he fully supported this position. During the election campaign, they deceptively promised no closure of any sugar estate.” 

Do you honestly believe this crap from the Phantom Gang Murderer Dr Death Ramsammy? Too big to fail does not mean that all the sugar estates will remain open. Dr. Doom Jagdeo predicted the death of the sugar estates when he saw the failure he created at Skeldon. The PPP even had to close a couple of sugar factories to keep Guysuco afloat. What did they do with all those Billions that they received from the EU to reorganize the sugar industry and make it profitable? The complete opposite happened even though the money disappeared. The sugar industry was on life support when the PPP handed it over in 2015. 

Why these folks losing sleep over the PPP when right now it is the PNC government that is killing Guyana? Priorities seem all screwed up.

It is the PNC which is killing off an animal that the PPP ill treated and did nothing while it got sick.

So how come nothing from you about what the PPP did to sugar.  You do know that Ramotar left Guysuco in worse shape than Hoyte did!  Production in 2014 was LOWER than it was in 1992 and Guysuco was recovering with Bookers management.

Jagdeo tossed them out, installed his bags of incompetence and corruption and it was down hill since. Skeldon being a glowing example where production costs INCREASED after the new factory was installed.

The PPP was given ample warning by the EU that the old sugar regime was changing with the removal of guaranteed prices and markets.  Now what did the PPP do with the TEN YEARS that they were given to reposition the sugar industry if it was going to survive in this new era?

Zed posted:

The coalition said that no estates will be closed during the campaign, they went against the advice of the commission that they set up, they have never done a proper cost benefit analysis of the sugar industry, they have put no programs in place to help the  workers negatively affected to survive in the short term and to move gainfully to other economic activities in the long term, have not addressed the economic viability of the local communities affected, etc. What does the dog in sheep clothing seetaram expect?

How come you didn't ask why the PPP did NOT make plans to enable sugar workers to transition out of that industry?

They had the opportunity given that there were still better prices in the EU markets and guaranteed access.

Now that preferential treatment for ACP sugar is over you want this government to do what the PPP did NOT want to do?

The PPP knew that the writing was on the wall that a changing EU sugar regime threatened the survival of the sugar industry.  They knew that years ago when the EU told ACP sugar suppliers to change. Not only did they tell them to change but they even provided funding to assistance in the transition.

The PPP sought to EXPAND the industry rather then seeking to transition away from sugar.  Many like TK and others warned them of the folly of this.  MILLIONS was invested in that useless Skeldon factory and yet production costs remain 3-4X higher than selling prices.

NO INDUSTRY can survive when it produces a product at 3-4X what it can get for it.  It is the PPP which bares 100% of the blame for this!  They should admit that they made an error and move on!