Guyana, Brazil target Chinese funding for Linden-Lethem road link

Dec 22, 2017 News, https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...en-lethem-road-link/

– armies to collaborate on drought wells for Region Nine

Government yesterday inked two agreements with neighbouring Brazil as President David Granger’s official State-visit to the neighbouring country on the invitation of his Brazilian counterpart, President Michel Temer.

One of the agreements is the Complementary Agreement to the Memorandum of Understanding between the Cooperative Republic of Guyana and the Federative Republic of Brazil, which creates the β€œGuyana-Brazil Joint Commission to Develop Infrastructure Projects”.

The second is the Complementary Agreement to the Basic Agreement on Technical Cooperation between the Government of the Republic of Guyana and the Federative Republic of Brazil for the Implementation of the Project -β€œTechnologies to Reduce the Effects of the Drought in Region Nine of Guyana.”

According to the Ministry of the Presidency on the visit, the agreement on infrastructure is one in which the two countries committed to enhancing the infrastructure between the interest of economic and social integration.

β€œThe construction of the long-awaited Linden-Lethem road is one of the key projects under this agreement. President David Granger said that for decades both sides envisaged a route through Guyana, which will provide better development prospects for investors to come from the Caribbean into Brazil and from Brazil into the Caribbean.”

This is something that has been long discussed and in fact, in some parts of the Rupununi roads were actually aligned but funding to complete it could never be found.

β€œThe infrastructure agreement we are entering will be focused on fulfilling that obligation to building a road between Lethem and Linden.

β€œ Brazil has done its part; Brazil has built a bridge under President Luiz DaSilva and the road literally comes right out to the bridge. We need to do our part so that is a very important agreement that was signed,” he said.

Minister of Foreign Affairs, Carl Greenidge, explained that in July, earlier this year, he and Minister of Public Infrastructure, David Patterson, met with their respective counterparts to discuss moving the project forward.

At that forum, it was agreed that both countries will provide financial resources for the engineering and design of the road.

β€œThe engineer and design probably would cost somewhere in the region of $5M to $10M, between the two countries and with another partner, probably one of the multilaterals, we will close that financial package for that design…

β€œGuyana has been speaking about it for ages; the funding of the road clearly is a challenge to both countries. Guyana is very small so this is a big burden in terms of the financing costs. In order to conclude financing of such a project you have to have all the technical aspects completed. The engineering design is one of the last aspects of the technical side to be completed,” the Minister disclosed.

He added that the two countries will be working closely with the People’s Republic of China to access the $50B China Select Fund to complete the road. Minister Greenidge explained that this road link is a critical piece of infrastructure that holds great potential in terms of integrating the two countries and improving trade.

β€œThe region of Roraima will not only provide Guyana with markets into Brazil and into Roraima, but in terms of volume, a larger volume of movement will be involved so as to get Brazil’s products, agriculture or otherwise, into the international markets by the route that turns out to be a lot cheaper than the route that they currently use, so it is a value to both sides,” he said.

In terms of the second agreement, the Brazilian Army will be working closely with the Guyana Defence Force (GDF) to develop its Engineering Corps. This collaboration will see the drilling of artesian wells in Indigenous communities in villages such as Para Bara, Achiwib, Karaudarnau, Aishalton, Awarewanau, Shea and Mururanau.

β€œRupununi is susceptible to droughts and floods so we want to remove that uncertainty. There are over 50 villages in the Rupununi that could be supplied with fresh water continuously during the year and Brazilian terrain across the border is similar in many respects. So there is not only going to be a supply of physical infrastructure but there’s also going to be a transfer of technology,” President Granger said.

Guyana and Brazil have enjoyed cordial relations since the establishment of formal diplomatic ties in 1968. The country has received Brazil’s support on the ongoing Guyana-Venezuela border controversy. In fact, the President described Brazil as β€œa guarantor of Guyana’s territorial integrity”.

β€œBrazil has borders with every country on the continent of South America except two, and Brazil has stated over and over again that it has no interest in redrawing borders… Brazil has stated over and over again, its principle that borders which have been established under international law should not be disturbed and that is all we ask for,” the Head of State said.

Brazil and Guyana have a lot of  shared interests and noted personal ties, which go beyond institutional relations. At present, Brazil is working to rectify existing laws and addressing other domestic procedures to advance the air services agreement to facilitate easy transportation of passengers and cargo.

Yesterday morning, President Granger, along with his delegation which includes Minister Carl Greenidge, Minister of Natural Resources, Raphael Trotman and Minister of Public Infrastructure, David Patterson, met with President Michel Temer of Brazil at the Planalto Palace in Brasilia.

Guyana, Brazil target Chinese funding for Linden-Lethem road link

Dec 22, 2017 News, https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...en-lethem-road-link/

– armies to collaborate on drought wells for Region Nine

Government yesterday inked two agreements with neighbouring Brazil as President David Granger’s official State-visit to the neighbouring country on the invitation of his Brazilian counterpart, President Michel Temer.

One of the agreements is the Complementary Agreement to the Memorandum of Understanding between the Cooperative Republic of Guyana and the Federative Republic of Brazil, which creates the β€œGuyana-Brazil Joint Commission to Develop Infrastructure Projects”.

Hopefully, there can be a workable agreement between the two countries for the development of a hydroelectric power project.

Lord have mercy, during ppp time the pnc/afc boys cuss down the Chinese, now they hanging their collective mouths at the Chinese soup bowl as thought they had a revelation. 

Bai, why yuh hurting ya head? PPP and PNC dealing wid different seta chinese. Didn't you know there are 95 ethnic chinese groups? A few: Han chinese, Manchu chinese, Miao chinese, Dong chinese, Yao chinese, Bai chinese, Hani chinese, Dai chinese. Go find out which kinda chinese will build the Linden-Lethem road. 

Lord have mercy, during ppp time the pnc/afc boys cuss down the Chinese, now they hanging their collective mouths at the Chinese soup bowl as thought they had a revelation. 

Bai, why yuh hurting ya head? PPP and PNC dealing wid different seta chinese. Didn't you know there are 95 ethnic chinese groups? A few: Han chinese, Manchu chinese, Miao chinese, Dong chinese, Yao chinese, Bai chinese, Hani chinese, Dai chinese. Go find out which kinda chinese will build the Linden-Lethem road. 

Maybe this new set of Chinese have "wong ping aka chinee brush, mek a hard hard wood"

Say Merry Christmas to Aunty Lucille for me. 

More PPP nonsense. The Brazilians had $$$ then and offered to build the road FREE as they wanted to open up Roraima.

Of course now they are broke and the Chinese are the only ones who will do this.

Please stop putting your tongue on Jagdeo's body parts.

More PPP nonsense. The Brazilians had $$$ then and offered to build the road FREE as they wanted to open up Roraima.

Of course now they are broke and the Chinese are the only ones who will do this.

Please stop putting your tongue on Jagdeo's body parts.

Lies as usual, you tk persona has worn off. The Brazilians are broke never offered to build road for free. Post the evidence. 

When Jagdeo was in power Brazil was a global economic giant.  But as you slobber over Jagdeo's lower orifice I can see why you would pretend that this wasn't the case.

In fact even the bridge over the Takatu Jagdeo dragged his feet until the Brazilians just unilaterally built it as they tired of waiting for Jagdeo. Nuff used to bash you daily on this topic.  And you know how long ago Nuff ceased being a regularly poster on GNI.

When Jagdeo was in power Brazil was a global economic giant.  But as you slobber over Jagdeo's lower orifice I can see why you would pretend that this wasn't the case.

In fact even the bridge over the Takatu Jagdeo dragged his feet until the Brazilians just unilaterally built it as they tired of waiting for Jagdeo. Nuff used to bash you daily on this topic.  And you know how long ago Nuff ceased being a regularly poster on GNI.

Post the evidence son, or staan quiet. 

In fact even the bridge over the Takatu Jagdeo dragged his feet until the Brazilians just unilaterally built it as they tired of waiting for Jagdeo.

Initial discussions of the Takutu Bridge began in about 1970, with little or no efforts by the PNCR government.

It was after the PPP/C became the government in 1992 that strong efforts emerged for the realisation of the bridge in 2009.

Of note, Brazil cannot unilaterally build works on lands owned by the Guyana Government.  Such initiatives must be done with the cooperation of Guyana.

https://www.stabroeknews.com/2...lethem-road-funding/

You will note that Brazil was going to figure out how to fund this project and was going to ensure a minimal burden to Guyana.  They even offered to help fix the existing road, using Brazilian companies to do so.

Brazil had a strong economy in 2010 fueled by commodity exports mainly to China and expanding domestic consumption.  You might have heard of the BRIC nations which were all the rave in that era. Brazil was one of them.

Jagdeo couldn't pocket any cash like he did with the Chinese so nothing was done.

Note that Brazil was doing this as charity to Guyana, but because the state of Roraima is landlocked and access to the Atlantic through Guyana was seen as vital to its growth.

Of course Brazil is now broke.

You will note that Brazil was going to figure out how to fund this project and was going to ensure a minimal burden to Guyana.  They even offered to help fix the existing road, using Brazilian companies to do so.

Brazil had a strong economy in 2010 fueled by commodity exports mainly to China and expanding domestic consumption.  You might have heard of the BRIC nations which were all the rave in that era. Brazil was one of them.

Jagdeo couldn't pocket any cash like he did with the Chinese so nothing was done.

Note that Brazil was doing this as charity to Guyana, but because the state of Roraima is landlocked and access to the Atlantic through Guyana was seen as vital to its growth.

BS !!! the Chinese give the police a few vehicles and they get the airport contract plus East Coast Highway . 

Chinese are invading Guyana by the thousand . 

i saw 11 workers at a site . 7 Blackman and 3 collie with 1 Chinese .. only the Chinee man working .

BS !!! the Chinese give the police a few vehicles and they get the airport contract plus East Coast Highway . 

Chinese are invading Guyana by the thousand . 

i saw 11 workers at a site . 7 Blackman and 3 collie with 1 Chinese .. only the Chinee man working .

If you ever go to China and see their work ethics, it’s easy to see why they bring their own labor when doing a project. Guyanese labor is nowhere as disciplined.  

Gilbakka forgot the Guyanese Chinese that are a part of Prashad. The Hakka.

Your lies continues unabated. First you shouted that Brazil would build it for free. Now you change your tune and now scream about figuring out "funding".    This is a far cry from building the road for free. Jagdeo addressed the issue many years ago stating that the cost benefit ratio was did not make the financing by govt feasible. 

With financing being a critical component of the project to pave the Lethem-Linden road, Brazil yesterday submitted a proposal to President Bharat Jagdeo for β€œhis consideration” which outlines how some of the funding could be secured.

Dave posted

.....i saw 11 workers at a site . 7 Blackman and 3 collie with 1 Chinese .. only the Chinee man working .

Dem Guyanese guys does work fast.

You pnc boys had a lot to say during ppp time with the slow pace of construction. Now it looks like the pnc soup mek you excuse the same behavior that you were previously criticizing.