Typically, the tithe should be given to the local church where you worship. Tithes support your pastor and ministry staff members who are actively serving you, and they help maintain the work of the church in your community. Tithes also helps pays the church expenses such as water and light bills.

The New Testament talks about the importance and benefits of giving. We are to give as we are able. Sometimes that means giving more than 10 percent; sometimes that may mean giving less. It all depends on the ability of the Christian and the needs of the Church. We should diligently pray and seek God’s wisdom in the matter of participating in tithing and/or how much to give (James 1:5). Above all, all tithes and offerings should be given with pure motives and an attitude of worship to God and service to the Church. "Each man should give what he has decided in his heart to give, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver" (2 Corinthians 9:7).

The practice of tithing provides a regular reminder of your dependence on God. In good times, tithing helps you remember that God is the source of all blessings, and it allows you to demonstrate your gratitude for His care. In hard times, tithing motivates you to remember God’s faithfulness, and it enables you to demonstrate trust in God to provide for all of your needs.

Keith
Keith posted:

Typically, the tithe should be given to the local church where you worship. Tithes support your pastor and ministry staff members who are actively serving you, and they help maintain the work of the church in your community. Tithes also helps pays the church expenses such as water and light bills.

The New Testament talks about the importance and benefits of giving. We are to give as we are able. Sometimes that means giving more than 10 percent; sometimes that may mean giving less. It all depends on the ability of the Christian and the needs of the Church. We should diligently pray and seek God’s wisdom in the matter of participating in tithing and/or how much to give (James 1:5). Above all, all tithes and offerings should be given with pure motives and an attitude of worship to God and service to the Church. "Each man should give what he has decided in his heart to give, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver" (2 Corinthians 9:7).

The practice of tithing provides a regular reminder of your dependence on God. In good times, tithing helps you remember that God is the source of all blessings, and it allows you to demonstrate your gratitude for His care. In hard times, tithing motivates you to remember God’s faithfulness, and it enables you to demonstrate trust in God to provide for all of your needs.

How do the ministry and staff members serve people? Of course God loves a cheerful giver.... so do all the bloodsuckers.

antabanta posted:
Keith posted:
antabanta posted:
Keith posted:

Have you witness people paying churches to stay out, "imaginary hell" as the post stated.

Haven't you? Remember the ninth commandment.

"You shall not give false testimony against your neighbor." This is a command prohibiting testifying against another person falsely. It is essentially a command against lying.

I know I didn't break that commandment

Why do people send their hard-earned money to bloodsucking priests?

Yuh head muss be really hard. I telling yuh why christians give their money. Yuh really want us CHRISTIANS to believe in you and wah yuh believe?

What is the name of your CULT? Yuh trying to solicit funds?

Yeah.... my head hard because I'm NOT a victim of the sin scam. Yeah.. I want you to believe in what I believe, that's why I DON'T ram my beliefs down your throat every day. Yeah... I'm trying to solicit funds that's why I'm CRITICIZING the practice of soliciting funds in the name of religion to fund massive mansions.

And who head really hard again?

Suh why u questioning those who give away their hard earned money. Yuh nah giving away your money. 

Suh wah yuh hope the gain by attacking those who honour their beliefs.

I doan think yuh  have the qualifications to changed the minds of the happy giver. So far, u supposing it is a scam, and no definite proof.

antabanta posted:
Keith posted:
antabanta posted:
Keith posted:
antabanta posted:
Keith posted:

Have you witness people paying churches to stay out, "imaginary hell" as the post stated.

"You shall not give false testimony against your neighbor." This is a command prohibiting testifying against another person falsely. It is essentially a command against lying.

I agree there are "bloodsucking" preachers. People now don't want a preacher who would preach about hell, right and wrong, they want a preacher who would preach prosperity which insight people to give.

Now this is just my take, I could be wrong. Tithes/offering given to the church should be used solely to pay utilities, musicians and yes even the preacher, a cap annual salary regardless of size of the church. If I had to put a annual salary for a preacher I would set it at $35K tax free . The rest of the money should be used to build up the community around the church and beyond.  

Why should tithes be given to the church?

My goodness.

Wey yuh been hiding bro. Yuh doan know dat. Try going into a Church, listen and then be critical.

antabanta posted:
Keith posted:

How do the ministry and staff members serve people? Of course God loves a cheerful giver.... so do all the bloodsuckers.

Churches have various ministries such as but not the same for every church as mention below:

Disaster Relief Benevolent Team – determining the assistance that the church can give to people in an emergency situation.

Disability ministry: While all churches are called to minister to those in physical need, serving those affected by disability provides life-changing help to those often neglected by others.

Missions and Outreach - The Missions and Outreach Core Ministry is responsible for Christian programs directed toward, and in financial support of, individuals and communities in need both locally and around the world.

Adult Discipleship - The Adult Discipleship Core Ministry is responsible for providing opportunities for education and spiritual formation through classes, small groups, and other opportunities for spiritual growth.

These are just a few ministries listed with numerous staff members showing where tithes goes to support and grow these ministries.

Keith
antabanta posted:

Yuh head muss be really hard. I telling yuh why christians give their money. Yuh really want us CHRISTIANS to believe in you and wah yuh believe?

Yeah.... my head hard because I'm NOT a victim of the sin scam. Yeah.. I want you to believe in what I believe, that's why I DON'T ram my beliefs down your throat every day. Yeah... I'm trying to solicit funds that's why I'm CRITICIZING the practice of soliciting funds in the name of religion to fund massive mansions.

Suh why u questioning those who give away their hard earned money. Yuh nah giving away your money. 

I doan think yuh  have the qualifications to changed the minds of the happy giver.

So far, u supposing it is a scam, and no definite proof.

Exhibit A: Joel Osteen, No sellable skill - Net worth $40M.

And he is not the only bloodsucker out there.

antabanta posted:
Keith posted:
antabanta posted:
Keith posted:

I doan think yuh  have the qualifications to changed the minds of the happy giver. So far, u supposing it is a scam, and no definite proof.

You do understand that this is about religious leaders exploiting the fears of the layman for financial gain... right? Would you have us believe that you're not aware of this industry?

antabanta posted:
Keith posted:
antabanta posted:
Keith posted:
antabanta posted:
Keith posted:

I agree there are "bloodsucking" preachers. People now don't want a preacher who would preach about hell, right and wrong, they want a preacher who would preach prosperity which insight people to give.

Now this is just my take, I could be wrong. Tithes/offering given to the church should be used solely to pay utilities, musicians and yes even the preacher, a cap annual salary regardless of size of the church. If I had to put a annual salary for a preacher I would set it at $35K tax free . The rest of the money should be used to build up the community around the church and beyond.  

Why should tithes be given to the church?

My goodness.

Wey yuh been hiding bro. Yuh doan know dat. Try going into a Church, listen and then be critical.

Uhm... that's what I'm doing.

Keith posted:

Churches have various ministries such as but not the same for every church as mention below:

Disaster Relief Benevolent Team – determining the assistance that the church can give to people in an emergency situation.

Disability ministry: While all churches are called to minister to those in physical need, serving those affected by disability provides life-changing help to those often neglected by others.

Missions and Outreach - The Missions and Outreach Core Ministry is responsible for Christian programs directed toward, and in financial support of, individuals and communities in need both locally and around the world.

Adult Discipleship - The Adult Discipleship Core Ministry is responsible for providing opportunities for education and spiritual formation through classes, small groups, and other opportunities for spiritual growth.

These are just a few ministries listed with numerous staff members showing where tithes goes to support and grow these ministries.

Marketing. You are saying that people are compelled to pay a tenth of their income to support the church's marketing campaign to recruit more people to ante up their tithes. Governments are responsible for disaster relief. There is a multitude of resources available for the disabled from governments, health insurance, etc.

Does the ministry and staff not provide any religious services/benefits to their congregation?

antabanta posted:

I doan think yuh  have the qualifications to changed the minds of the happy giver.

So far, u supposing it is a scam, and no definite proof.

Exhibit A: Joel Osteen, No sellable skill - Net worth $40M.

And he is not the only bloodsucker out there.

Most people would say that Joel Osteen is not a preacher and I agree with that assumption, he's a motivational speaker I believe with one of the largest congregation in the US and that's the way he's being used to deliver God words. Most of his income come from Books but I could be wrong. They have quite a few Ministries I am sure they congregation tithes and offering goes too.

Keith
Last edited by Keith
antabanta posted:
Keith posted:

Marketing. You are saying that people are compelled to pay a tenth of their income to support the church's marketing campaign to recruit more people to ante up their tithes. Governments are responsible for disaster relief. There is a multitude of resources available for the disabled from governments, health insurance, etc.

Does the ministry and staff not provide any religious services/benefits to their congregation?

I am saying tithes is to help support the place of worship and the body (people) of the church. Without those support who will do it? You expect the Government to step in and pay the mortgages, utilities and the beautification, such as repainting/landscaping or repairs of the churches?

You would probable be the first in the protest line if the government decided to do it

Keith
Keith posted:
antabanta posted:

I am saying tithes is to help support the place of worship and the body (people) of the church. Without those support who will do it? You expect the Government to step in and pay the mortgages, utilities and the beautification, such as repainting/landscaping or repairs of the churches?

You would probable be the first in the protest line if the government decided to do it

And why should people support the place of worship, pay the mortgages, utilities, and for repair of the church? What do the people gain from supporting the church?

antabanta posted:
Keith posted:
antabanta posted:

And why should people support the place of worship, pay the mortgages, utilities, and for repair of the church? What do the people gain from supporting the church?

Somebody has to brainwash the rest. The pastor knows how to make a living doing nothing. A lot of times I call it the fleecing of the poor and old folks.

antabanta posted:

We all cannot assemble at your house to be taught God word for our spiritual growth due to the capacity of what the fire marshal permits. Therefore the need came about to build places of worship; the worshipers support by giving to help maintain the place of worship and for the place of worship to be a sanctuary for everyone.

Keith
Last edited by Keith
antabanta posted:
Keith posted:
antabanta posted:
Keith posted:

You do understand that this is about religious leaders exploiting the fears of the layman for financial gain... right? Would you have us believe that you're not aware of this industry?

For those who have untold wealth, the more they give the more they are blessed with increases, not only money, but in good health and the joy of comfort in family. 

Those who hold the places of priests and uses the gifts to the Lord for ungodly means, they will not escape his wrath when judgement comes. 

They condemn themselves. The Bible has instances where it occurs. 

Unscrupulous ppl been around for ages. 

Keith posted:
antabanta posted:

We all cannot assemble at your house to be taught God word for our spiritual growth due to the capacity of what the fire marshal permits. Therefore the need came about to build places of worship; the worshipers support by giving to help maintain the place of worship and for the place of worship to be a sanctuary for everyone.

Why do people need to worship and to build places of worship? A sanctuary does not have to be a church.

For those who have untold wealth, the more they give the more they are blessed with increases, not only money, but in good health and the joy of comfort in family. 

Those who hold the places of priests and uses the gifts to the Lord for ungodly means, they will not escape his wrath when judgement comes. 

Aha! So there is a condition to giving. Bear with me, brother while I slowly gain understanding. So... the condition to giving is that you receive something in return, blessings, and the amount of these blessings is proportionate to how much you give? And why do you need blessings?

antabanta posted:

Aha! So there is a condition to giving. Bear with me, brother while I slowly gain understanding. So... the condition to giving is that you receive something in return, blessings, and the amount of these blessings is proportionate to how much you give? And why do you need blessings?

What you are insinuating above is incorrect. The only condition is each should give according to what he/she has decided in their heart, not grudgingly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.

You just don't give expecting something in return.

Keith
Last edited by Keith
Keith posted:
antabanta posted:

What you are insinuating above is incorrect. The only condition is each should give according to what he/she has decided in their heart, not grudgingly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.

You just don't give expecting something in return.

Neither I nor Seignet insinuated anything. Seignet stated. I verified what he stated.

Why do you need blessings?

antabanta posted:

I refer you to 1 Corinthians 2:9 

For those who love God, honour opens His store house.

God know the heart and He says it is a place of love and hate. He certainly will know the real intent of the heart.

Take ur heart for example, it expresses your sentiments towards those who freely give of their money and time. Why you would be upset about that only the Almighty knows the real reason. Only you can come up with idea that people can bribe God. He ain a Guyanese politicans yuh know, though they temporay live in the clouds. 

Nobody stopping you to storeup your bounty in the wharehouse you can build. Others build churches and support Churches to spread the teachings of a righteous living. And God has a real great big store house fuh dem.

Keith posted:
antabanta posted:

We all cannot assemble at your house to be taught God word for our spiritual growth due to the capacity of what the fire marshal permits. Therefore the need came about to build places of worship;

There is an intersection in North West Miami near the county line with Broward County were there are four churches at the four corners. Is it reasonable to think that there is a need for all four of these churches at that intersection. Oh, by the way, there are a few more just a few minutes walk from them. There is another stretch near the Palmetto Highway in North West Miami between 37th and 47th Avenue where almost every bay is a ministry. Is it reasonable to think that these are also needed to satisfy your suggestion above. It is widely known that these churches are only open a few hours on Sundays or Saturdays and closed for most of every week.

God know the heart and He says it is a place of love and hate. He certainly will know the real intent of the heart.

Take ur heart for example, it expresses your sentiments towards those who freely give of their money and time. Why you would be upset about that only the Almighty knows the real reason. Only you can come up with idea that people can bribe God. He ain a Guyanese politicans yuh know, though they temporay live in the clouds. 

Nobody stopping you to storeup your bounty in the wharehouse you can build. Others build churches and support Churches to spread the teachings of a righteous living. And God has a real great big store house fuh dem.

These people who freely give of their time and money are like Joel Osteen? I repeat.... You do understand that this is about religious leaders exploiting the fears of the layman for financial gain... right? Would you have us believe that you're not aware of this industry?

You outlined the conditions for giving, not I.

Why do people need blessings?

Ordinary American citizen doan have access to Saudi money.

Suh now yuh want to chastise the people for their churches.

Are you working for Satan?

In your feeble mind, anyone who raises a voice against the exploitation is working for the imaginary Satan.

antabanta posted:

These people who freely give of their time and money are like Joel Osteen? I repeat.... You do understand that this is about religious leaders exploiting the fears of the layman for financial gain... right? Would you have us believe that you're not aware of this industry?

If a giver is never in want, then he doan care what the pastor does with the tithes. The giver knows in the end, God going to deal with it.

U need to get head around that.

Last edited by seignet
antabanta posted:

In your feeble mind, anyone who raises a voice against the exploitation is working for the imaginary Satan.

He nah doing dat. He dislike Christ and the followers of Christ. A church building is a definite problem for him.

Satan is not imginary, you doing exactly wah is said about the devil. Attack the Church-hope you understand what I mean about the church.

antabanta posted:

I think you take your blessings to the grocery store and explain to them it's from God and you get free groceries.

seignet posted

If a giver is never in want, then he doan care what the pastor does with the tithes. The giver knows in the end, God going to deal with it.

Swaggart and others like him are perfectly happy that the givers of tithes don't care that they are giving their tithes to their hookers.

The common understanding of what it means to be blessed by God is that He gives us good things. In this respect, we can say that God’s blessing is on everyone, believers and unbelievers alike. Matthew 5:45 says that the Father who is in the heavens causes His sun to rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the just and unjust.

But does God’s blessing pertain only to material things? NO. Though these are included, thinking of God’s blessing as mainly material things severely limits our understanding of what is in God’s heart for us. Surely we should be thankful for the material things the Lord gives us. But we’re truly blessed when we experience Christ as our love, our peace, our patience, our satisfaction, our joy, and so many other aspects of Himself. We are bless just seeing another day.

Keith

In an earlier post we talk about prosperity preaching as we can see the  shift from truth to error can be subtle, and some well-meaning preachers have been caught up in it, not my place to name names. I more rather we must be careful not to judge a preacher’s entire message by only one or two sermons. However, when blatant prosperity preaching dominates a speaker’s platform, this is merely an attempt to make greed and materialism sound spiritual. Ephesians 5:5 has strong words for greedy people: "For of this you can be sure: No immoral, impure or greedy person such a person is an idolater has any inheritance in the kingdom of Christ and of God." While we should ask God to provide for our needs and expect Him to do so (Philippians 4:19), Jesus warned us not to stockpile earthly wealth. Rather, we should store up treasure in heaven (Luke 12:33).

The imbalanced focus of prosperity preachers on earthy treasure is in direct contrast to the many passages that warn us not to desire riches (Proverbs 28:22; 2 Timothy 3:2; Hebrews 13:5). First Timothy 6:8–10 speaks directly to this kind of teaching: “But if we have food and clothing, with these we will be content. But those who desire to be rich fall into temptation, into a snare, into many senseless and harmful desires that plunge people into ruin and destruction. For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evils. It is through this craving that some have wandered away from the faith and pierced themselves with many pangs.” When earthly wealth is our focus, we are not following the teachings of Scripture.

People are becoming biblically illiterate and are thus easily swayed by preachers who appear to know Scripture but who are perverting it to make it sound more appealing. These preachers are attracting huge crowds, just as Jesus did when He fed the thousands (Matthew 14:21), healed the sick (Mark 1:34), and performed miracles (John 6:2). But when Jesus began to teach the hard truths of the gospel, "many of his disciples turned away and no longer followed him" (John 6:66). Waning popularity did not cause Jesus to water down His message. He continued to teach truth whether people liked it or not (John 8:29). Likewise, Paul exonerated himself before the Ephesians with these words: "Therefore I testify to you this day that I am innocent of the blood of all, or I did not shrink from declaring to you the whole counsel of God" (Acts 20:26–27). If today’s prosperity teachers would follow the patterns of Jesus and Paul, they could be confident that their works will not be burned up on judgment day (1 Corinthians 3:12–15).

Keith
antabanta posted

Get your head around this .... that, what you posted above God dealing with these con men, is the best part of the scam!

antabanta posted:

He nah doing dat. He dislike Christ and the followers of Christ. A church building is a definite problem for him.

Satan is not imginary, you doing exactly wah is said about the devil. Attack the Church-hope you understand what I mean about the church.

Am I attacking the church? That's right, anyone who questions the requirement for blind faith is doing the imaginary satan's work. That's another part of the scam!

Keith posted:

The common understanding of what it means to be blessed by God is that He gives us good things. In this respect, we can say that God’s blessing is on everyone, believers and unbelievers alike. Matthew 5:45 says that the Father who is in the heavens causes His sun to rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the just and unjust.

But does God’s blessing pertain only to material things? NO. Though these are included, thinking of God’s blessing as mainly material things severely limits our understanding of what is in God’s heart for us. Surely we should be thankful for the material things the Lord gives us. But we’re truly blessed when we experience Christ as our love, our peace, our patience, our satisfaction, our joy, and so many other aspects of Himself. We are bless just seeing another day.

Why should we be thankful and why are we blessed?

I will give a scam answer.

We should be thankful that we are blessed and blessed because we are thankful.

Deep, real deep stuff banna.

If I may add to those words above.

"We should be thankful that we are blessed to see what you intend to make foolishness of, God make wise and blessed because we are thankful that God can take the foolishness and make it wise."

Have you given thought to what you wrote before the added words? The Lord use people in mysterious ways.

Deep, real deeper stuff banna 

Keith
Last edited by Keith
Keith posted:

"We should be thankful that we are blessed to see what you intend to make foolishness of, God make wise and blessed because we are thankful that God can take the foolishness and make it wise."

Have you given thought to what you wrote before the added words? The Lord use people in mysterious ways.

So what's the answer? Why should we be thankful and why are we blessed?

antabanta posted:
Keith posted:

You awoke up and you are alive and well this morning, right? Then you are blessed; think of countless others who didn't live to see this day....But you did, then be thankful and give God praise \0/ 

Keith
Last edited by Keith
Keith posted:
antabanta posted:

You awoke up and you are alive and well this morning, right? Then you are blessed; think of countless others who didn't live to see this day....But you did, then be thankful and give God praise \0/ 

Why am I blessed for being alive and well? Haven't those who did not live to see this day moved on to the after life? Are you saying that there is no after life or that there is nothing blessed about the after life?

antabanta posted:
antabanta posted

Get your head around this .... that, what you posted above God dealing with these con men, is the best part of the scam!

Wah happen star? Like you see the light.