Django posted: Who the r@ss want to cut cane in these modern times where Education is free in the homeland.

In 1976, ie 41 years ago, Burnham took over all private schools and made education free. In the early 1990s fee-charging private schools reappeared under Hoyte and have multiplied since then. This restricts the ability of many low-income parents to finance their kids' learning. And, even though education is free in government schools, there is and has always been unequal levels of development. Always brilliant students and dullards, always fast learners and slow ones. You can take a horse to the river but you cannot force the horse to drink free river water.

So, naturally, the dullards have to cut cane and do manual work to earn their livelihood after leaving school. Even brilliant school leavers were cutting cane in the late 1960s. Some were my schoolmates. I may be wrong, but I think our bright Django did a stint of cane cutting too. Correct me if I am wrong, please.

Gilly, In 1963 I went to a free high school. Thanks to Dr. Jagan. When I left Guyana, many of the high schools were still not tuition-free.
As for Django's comments: If you make an honest living, no job is too hard or menial. If everyone is educated and no one wants to do the hard job, how will mankind survive?

Gilly, In 1963 I went to a free high school.

Damn dude, I was a baby in '63. You, Gilly and Django are real old timers. 

No. We are middle agers. Some are older than us.

They have dudes older than y'all on this here GNI? 

Perhaps the fella who likes to say "Perhaps" is the oldest or it could be the tricycle Bhai.

Yes. GNI is a 45+years club with a few grumpy old men. Gilly is a grumpy middle ager. 

Gilly ain't grumpy.

We are not old-timers; we are more mature and experienced brains.

It shows how forgetful you old folks are, the subject is about ,the PNC got $20 M US bonus from EXXON MOBIL. You guys got your share, spent it and talking about old age, how gratifying lil money can be.

We made our "lil bit" of money the old fashion way. We didn't get any share; WE EARNED IT. When you work and earn what you own, you live in peace and tranquility. You respect yourself and others respect you.

So you are being yourself today; a grumpy old bag. 

I doan tink how old I am. I stopped thinking bout it. I walk erect and all the parts that needs erection, rise to the occassion when requested or called upon. Blood Pressure is good. Sugar goes up and down depends how many magaritas i drink.

AS SPARROW sings it,"Age is just a number."

When on earth you ever have anything good to say. I left my bag in your bedroom.

Lapse of memory comes with age. 

I doan tink how old I am. I stopped thinking bout it. I walk erect and all the parts that needs erection, rise to the occassion when requested or called upon. Blood Pressure is good. Sugar goes up and down depends how many magaritas i drink.

AS SPARROW sings it,"Age is just a number."

Yesssss!

Good for you, old boy.

This is yet another example of Granger's failure to keep one of his election promises, ie to run a transparent administration.

When APNU/AFC came into office Jagdeo took them to school to tell them ho it is done.

So now Jagdeo was responsible for the Coalition breaking their promises. 

Yes they learned all about breaking promises from Jagdeo and the PPP.

Did anyone remember that a central tenet of the PPP was that the Burnham illegal constitution was going to be replaced by something more democratic?  No we don't and Jagdeo is ensuring that we continue to not remember this.

If he wanted the constitution changed this would have been an excellent time to insist that it be done, given that we have just seen how flawed it is.

But Jagdeo isn't going to insist on this.  In fact he loves the centralization of authority around the president as well as the president be above the law.  This is of course if HE is the president, so in his tenure NOTHING was done and NO attempt was even made to change this.

Did anyone remember that a central tenet of the PPP was that the Burnham illegal constitution was going to be replaced by something more democratic?  No we don't and Jagdeo is ensuring that we continue to not remember this.

If he wanted the constitution changed this would have been an excellent time to insist that it be done, given that we have just seen how flawed it is.

But Jagdeo isn't going to insist on this.  In fact he loves the centralization of authority around the president as well as the president be above the law.  This is of course if HE is the president, so in his tenure NOTHING was done and NO attempt was even made to change this.

Yuh really obsessed with Jagdeo bai.

Kaz, Jagdeo makes the news often, he is always in complain mode and he is the PPP's idol. Should he step away from the limelight as the last President (Donald)has done..probably through no fault of his, people would not bring up his name.

He can't step away from the limelight now since he is the Opposition Leader. Maybe is he wasn't the Opposition Leader, then he should step away. That said, Caribman is looking in the wrong direction because right now, the folks holding the key are the Coalition folks.

Yes those of us who hate the PPP want Jagdeo to big up himself so he sticks around.  An attempt by the PPP to dump him, but to pretend that it is no longer the "coolie people party" might actually fool people.

We rather the face of pure evil remaining at the PPP's helm.

He can't step away from the limelight now since he is the Opposition Leader.

Which is why your screams that we should ignore him are quite disingenuous.  He is as active in Guyana politics as is Granger so deserves equal attention.

When Jagdeo resigns and heads off with his boy lovers to live out his days in the Maldives then he will be irrelevant.  But that day hasn't come yet and until it does he deserves as much scrutiny as does Granger.

I will note how many PPP frauds scream about Burnham even though the man died over 30 years ago.  Clearly NOT active in Guyana politics, unless you think that jumbies run the show.

Yes those of us who hate the PPP want Jagdeo to big up himself so he sticks around. 

You should make up your mind bai. Some days you want the PPP to get rid of Jagdeo and other days you want him to stick around. 

He can't step away from the limelight now since he is the Opposition Leader.

Which is why your screams that we should ignore him are quite disingenuous.  He is as active in Guyana politics as is Granger so deserves equal attention.

When Jagdeo resigns and heads off with his boy lovers to live out his days in the Maldives then he will be irrelevant.  But that day hasn't come yet and until it does he deserves as much scrutiny as does Granger.

I will note how many PPP frauds scream about Burnham even though the man died over 30 years ago.  Clearly NOT active in Guyana politics, unless you think that jumbies run the show.

Lets face it, Jagdeo is just an excuse for you pnc apologists to deflect attention from the afc/pnc incompetency that has people now sucking bricks in Guyana to stave off hunger. 

This is yet another example of Granger's failure to keep one of his election promises, ie to run a transparent administration.

When APNU/AFC came into office Jagdeo took them to school to tell them ho it is done.

So now Jagdeo was responsible for the Coalition breaking their promises.