President David Granger on Thursday announced that he is in receipt of the third list of nominees submitted by the Leader of the Opposition, Dr Bharrat Jagdeo, for the post of the new Guyana Elections Commissions (GECOM) Chairman and is in the process of examining the candidates.

“I have received the list, I have responded to Mr Jagdeo, the Leader of the Opposition, stating that I have received the list and I’m examining those names now, very critically,” he told media operatives at the sidelines of an event at State House.

According to Granger, he plans to discuss the matter of selection with his colleagues and does not expect that a decision will be made before next Tuesday’s Cabinet.

“I don’t make these decisions without advice and I will discuss these matters with my colleagues. It certainly won’t be before next cabinet which will be held on Tuesday,” Granger said.

Jagdeo, on Friday last, disclosed that he had submitted the third list of nominees to President David Granger.

The candidates on the list included, Major General Joseph Singh, Teni Housty, Sanjeev Datadin, Ms Annette Arjoon-Martins, Onesi La Fleur and Krishnadatt Persaud.

The Opposition Leader had said that he was hopeful that the President would select one of the six names he presented, since he [Jagdeo] selected the candidates based on the ruling of the acting Chief Justice.

He further explained that the absence of a Chairperson at GECOM “is an untenable position” since “the work there, in GECOM is totally stalled- they are on remote and automatic mode and many of the pressing issues that have to be solved for local and national elections cannot be addressed and so there is a sense of urgency and it will affect preparations.”

Probed for his plans in the event that the President rejects yet another one of his lists, Jagdeo maintained that he does not want to “speculate” and he is hoping for the best.

The Opposition Leader had submitted his first list of six nominees for the position of the GECOM chairperson during the last part of 2016. However, President Granger had maintained that the list was “unacceptable.”

The second list submitted by Jagdeo was also met with rejection, with Granger saying that the nominees did not satisfy the criteria.

The President had maintained that Article 161 (2) of the Constitution of Guyana prescribes for the Chairman of the Elections Commission to be “a person who holds or who has held office as a judge of a court…or who is qualified to be appointed as any such judge, or any other fit and proper person…”

As such, businessman Marcel Gaskin had moved to the court to seek clarity on the constitutional requirement for the appointment of a GECOM Chairperson.

Recently, acting Chief Justice Roxanne George ruled against President Granger’s interpretation of Guyana’s Constitution for the appointment of a GECOM chairperson, saying that there was no preference for judicial persons.

In response to the ruling, President Granger had said that the Chief Justice gave her interpretation of the law and he would continue to follow his “interpretation” of the Constitution.

Just recently, the British High Commissioner Gregory Quinn called on the authorities here to appoint a Chairperson for the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) as soon as possible considering Local Government Elections (LGE) are right around the corner [in 2019]. (Ramona Luthi)

http://www.inewsguyana.com/gec...ritically-president/

Granger:

I don’t make these decisions without advice.

I plan to discuss the matter of selection with my colleagues.

I don't expect that a decision will be made before next Tuesday’s Cabinet.

Question:

Who are the advisers that rejected the first two lists?

Are they as blunt about the constitution as Granger? 

That GADAHA talking about examining critically, since when a jackass is capable of doing so. This GADAHA has been doing so now for 2 years and cannot decide on 1 person. Talk about FILTH HEAD!!!!!!!!!!!!

Wah dah mean bhai? Could he be examining who will accept a pound of gold for a job well done in his favor?  

Granger:

I don’t make these decisions without advice.

I plan to discuss the matter of selection with my colleagues.

I don't expect that a decision will be made before next Tuesday’s Cabinet.

Question:

Who are the advisers that rejected the first two lists?

Are they as blunt about the constitution as Granger? 

Answer to Question 1:  The Moustache Man, current leader of the PNC.

Answer to Question 2:  Yes.

Wah dah mean bhai? Could he be examining who will accept a pound of gold for a job well done in his favor?  

He wants Robert Corbin to head GECOM. This way, he will be President for life.

warrior posted:

the president need to stop fooling around and pick a name guyana do not need this shit 

Warria, your are scared shyte of telling this to the Blackman in his face.

You and the rest of the AFC/PNC slop can boys are only capable of whining about Jagdeo this and Jagdeo that.

warrior posted:

the president need to stop fooling around and pick a name guyana do not need this shit 

Warria, your are scared shyte of telling this to the Blackman in his face.

You and the rest of the AFC/PNC slop can boys are only capable of whining about Jagdeo this and Jagdeo that.

This is the reason I will not speak ill of Granger and his govt. It is sleaze as yourself who keep me from doing so.

God bless Granger and his govt.

You have a right to support any political party and leader of your choice.

It just so happens that the Honourable Jagdeo is our choice and not yours. You will stop busting your blood vessels when you accept the fact that people have political differences.

Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo Accepts Honorary Doctorate in Honour of Tamil Ancestors

Oct 07, 2016 Government, News, Office of the Prime Minister, Press Releases, http://gina.gov.gy/prime-minis...-of-tamil-ancestors/

2016-10-07-16-18-05

Office of the Prime Minister, Guyana, Friday, October 7, 2016

TAMIL, INDIA – Bharath University has conferred Prime Minister Moses V Nagamootoo an Honoris Causa Degree (Doctor of Letters) on October 5, 2016 in Chennai, Tamil Nadu.

The Prime Minister was honoured at a special convocation during his  visit to Tamil Nadu, where he attended an Economic Conference.

Earlier, on October 4, the Madras Development Society presented to the Prime Minister its highest award, the Crown Jewel of Tamils, for his outstanding achievements in public life.

2016-10-07-16-20-05

Source and rest of the article -- http://gina.gov.gy/prime-minis...-of-tamil-ancestors/