Jagdeo submits list of GECOM nominees to President

The Leader of the Opposition, Mr. Bharrat Jagdeo at a press conference today announced that he has submitted a third set of names to the President for the selection of a Chairman of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM).

“I am hopeful that he (President Granger) will choose one of the six persons to be the next Chairperson of the Guyana Elections Commission,” Mr. Jagdeo stated. He further explained, “particularly in light of the ruling of the Chief Justice (ag).”

Mr. Jagdeo did not reveal the names of the persons on the list but said that the Office of the Leader of the Opposition will be issuing a press statement later today with the names of the six persons.

When asked about the possibility of the list being rejected again, the Opposition Leader said that he does not want to speculate. “I do not want to speculate but I hope in light of the Chief Justice’s ruling that the Government will select someone from this,” he declared.

Notably, President David Granger appeared to have shunned the High Court interpretation of the Constitution on the appointment of a Chairman of GECOM. “The Chief Justice gave an interpretation based on her perception of the Law and I will continue to act in accordance with my perception of the Constitution; that is to say I will not appoint somebody who I do not consider fit and proper,” he argued.

Article 161 (2) states that, “… the Chairman of the Elections Commission shall be a person who holds or who has held office as a judge of a court having unlimited jurisdiction in civil and criminal matters in some part of the Commonwealth or a court having jurisdiction in appeals from any such court or who is qualified to be appointed as any such judge, or any other fit and proper person…”

I am happy to know that the Opposition Leader has finally made a third list of 6 names. Like Mr Jagdeo, "I hope in light of the Chief Justice’s ruling that the Government will select someone from this." 

Bibi, as soon as you get the names please show us. Thanks in advance.

I am happy to know that the Opposition Leader has finally made a third list of 6 names. Like Mr Jagdeo, "I hope in light of the Chief Justice’s ruling that the Government will select someone from this." 

As soon as David Granger acknowledges receipt of the list, the names will be released by the Opposition.

Okay. Reasonable.

Was the PPP this obstinate when they were in government? Did they go about rejecting the list like Granger is doing now? Maybe Granger isn't interested in having general elections.

No.  The PPP always picked from the first and only list submitted by the Opposition at that time.  On two of those occasions, David Granger's name was on the list for a possible GECOM Chair.  However, at that time Granger did not object to the fact that the person must be a Judge or that the person has to be fit and proper based on the perception of the President.

1. Major General Joseph Singh;
2. Mr. Teni Housty;
3. Mr. Sanjeev Datadin;
4. Mrs. Annette Arjoon-Martins;
5. Mr. Onesi La Fleur;
6. Mr. Krishnadatt Persaud;

2. Mr. Teni Housty;
3. Mr. Sanjeev Datadin;
5. Mr. Onesi La Fleur;

Thanks again. President will have to prepare a strong defence if he rejects Major General Joseph Singh, former GECOM Head. This is my gut reaction at the moment.

Based on the Chief Justice's recent ruling, hopefully a selection will be made from this list by Bharrat Jagdeo.

It would be of interest to see what would be the president's decision to reject one from this list.

GILBAKKA'S PICK:

Major General Joseph Singh, MSS

Major General Joseph Govinda Singh was born on 29 June 1945 at Pln Ogle, East Coast Demerara. In 1956, he won a Government County Scholarship to Queen’s College where he completed his secondary Education and after a short stint in the Civil Service, was among the first batch of Guyanese selected by the British Army in 1965 to attend officer cadet training in the UK, in preparation for the establishment of the Guyana Defence Force of independent Guyana. He is a graduate of Mons Officer Cadet School, Aldershot (1966); the School of Infantry, Warminster (1970); the Army School of Education, Beaconsfield (1970); the Army Free Fall Parachute School, Netheravon (1970); the Army Staff College, Camberley (1977); and, the Royal College of Defence Studies, Belgrave Square, UK (1995).

His service as a commissioned officer spanned 34 years commencing as a Second Lieutenant on June 04 1966; Lieutenant 1968; Captain 1970; Major 1972; Lieutenant Colonel 1975; Colonel 1979; Brigadier 1986; and, Major General 1999. Between 1966 and 1981, he commanded infantry troops at all levels – platoon, company, battalion and brigade, and in all terrain. He was involved in all major field operations in defence of Guyana’s territory. In addition, he held the appointments of OC Recce Platoon, Battalion Adjutant, and General Staff Officer Grade 2 and Grade 1, responsible for all Operations and Training in the Guyana Defence Force. From 1981 to 1990 he was on secondment as the Director General of the Guyana National Service and during this period he had a broad and diverse portfolio which included training of thousands of youth from all strata of the society in nation-building activities in the hinterland of Guyana. During the 1980s, he also carried out assignments as a Special Presidential Envoy to the Front-Line States in East Africa, in the years preceding the end of apartheid in southern Africa, through the mechanisms of the International Association of National Service Organisations, IANSO, of which he was Chairman and Member between 1982 and 1989, and through the South – South Commission, then chaired by former President of Tanzania - Julius Nyerere.

He was re-assigned to the Guyana Defence Force as Chief of Staff in March 1990 and tasked   with the reorganization and retraining of the Guyana Defence Force in preparation for the internationally supervised Free and Fair Elections of 1992.

He successfully transitioned the Force during the change in government in 1992. He served as Chief of Staff of the Guyana Defence Force from 1990 under five Presidents and Commanders-in-Chief until he elected to retire in 2000 having attained the age of fifty-five.

He is a graduate of the University of Guyana (Public Administration), the UK Royal College of De­fence Studies (Post Graduate - International Relations and Strategic Studies), and of the School of Earth and Environmental Sciences, Greenwich University, UK (MSc in Tourism & Protected Landscape Management).

He has published: “The Role of the Military in Environmental Enforcement”; “Strategies in countering non-military threats to emerging Democracies”; and, “Growing up in British Guiana 1945 – 1964”. He also edited and published Caesar de Freitas’ “On the Frontier of Guyana and Brazil, Arthur Hudson’s “The Mataruki Trail”, and Matthew Young’s “Guyana, the Lost El Dorado”. He is also the author of several articles in peer-reviewedbooks and journals.

He is the recipient of the Guyana’s highest military award the Military Service Star and five other national and military awards from Guyana, national awards from Brazil, Venezuela, Suriname, France and Cuba. He is a Fellow of the UK Chartered Management Institute, a Fellow of the Royal Geographic Society, and the Country Representative of the UK Scientific Exploration Society. He is married (1971) to Carolyn and they have one son, James, daughter-in-law Anabelle, and three grandchildren.

SOURCE

2. Mr. Teni Housty;
3. Mr. Sanjeev Datadin;
5. Mr. Onesi La Fleur;

Thanks again. President will have to prepare a strong defence if he rejects Major General Joseph Singh, former GECOM Head. This is my gut reaction at the moment.

Agreed!

I sincerely hope that Granger accepts one of the name on that list. 

Regardless of political party support, Guyana needs to remain democracy where the will of the people is respected be it PPP or PNC in office.

The jackass president is pushed in a corner, with the British now breathing down his backside, he will have no choice but the pick one of these names. 

It will be not be in his own interest if he rejects a third list. The British definitely has ratcheted up their pressure on Granger and are keeping a close eye on him.

Jagdeo played his card in an excellent manner with Granger.

No other PPP leader would have been able to deal with this fiasco from Granger. Jagdeo has shown great maturity and experience.

The only leader to challenge the racist Granger and his attempts to restore to Burnhamism, Racism and Dictatorship:

Our dear Hero and Leader, The Right Honourable President Jagdeo:

Unknown

• Unknown

Gilly,i have to agree,Joe Singh is a good choice for Gecom Chairman.

Disagree wid Gilly nuh. See wha gon happen to yuh. 

Me disagree wid Gilly and recommend Krishindatt Persaud,  because he  know how fa grow rice.

Now wha you gun do, because me live behind gad bak.

Zed posted:

I think that joe Singh will be acceptable to Granger.

Zed, between yesterday and now I've been thinking something. If Opposition Leader had submitted Joe Singh's name on his 1st list instead of Norman McLean's, President might have accepted. Same if Joe Singh's name was on List #2. But ....

Zed posted:

Zed, between yesterday and now I've been thinking something. If Opposition Leader had submitted Joe Singh's name on his 1st list instead of Norman McLean's, President might have accepted. Same if Joe Singh's name was on List #2. But ....

The person who the Pressy wants to be GECOM Chair is not Joe Singh.  The list would have been rejected. 

My vote is for Major General Joseph Govinda Singh. 

The selection of GECOM Chair is unilaterally done by the Pressy, so your vote doesn't count.  But, if you know how to play your cards right, you can advise him to pick Joe Singh.  

Zed posted:

I doubt it. Like Hoyte, Granger will do nothing unless and until forced against the wall by the International powers that be.

It's not a sin to speculate, so Gilbakka is sharing a thought, just in case Joe Singh is rejected.

I've already pointed to the smart-ass Brer Anancy mindset of Guyana's politicians. So, why did President Granger appoint Roxanne George-Wiltshire as Acting Chief Justice? To make her a fit and proper person for GECOM? And why did Roxanne George-Wiltshire rule against President Granger in court at least 2 times? To give the appearance that she is impartial? Is that part of a master plan to spring a surprise on the electorate Brer Anancy style? That's one speculation. I still have the previously hinted one: James Bovell-Drakes. 

The jackass president is pushed in a corner, with the British now breathing down his backside, he will have no choice but the pick one of these names. 

This new list is a master-stroke by BJ.  Let's see with Granger and his gang does!

It's not a sin to speculate, so Gilbakka is sharing a thought, just in case Joe Singh is rejected.

I've already pointed to the smart-ass Brer Anancy mindset of Guyana's politicians. So, why did President Granger appoint Roxanne George-Wiltshire as Acting Chief Justice? To make her a fit and proper person for GECOM? And why did Roxanne George-Wiltshire rule against President Granger in court at least 2 times? To give the appearance that she is impartial? Is that part of a master plan to spring a surprise on the electorate Brer Anancy style? That's one speculation. I still have the previously hinted one: James Bovell-Drakes. 

Is/WAS this the violent pro-PNC magistrate?

I am concerned about Jagdeo's third list of nominees for GECOM's chairman for one simple reason. Granger may hatch up another excuse to reject the list once again. Granger is not a stupid person about the constitution and its interpretations. He has been using his own rules to reject the prior two lists. Basil Williams threatens a Judge, and no apology was given. Granger tries the same when the Judge, whom he appointed ruled against him. Trotman (former speaker) believes the House of Assembly has powers over the court. All PNC members used intimidation, one way or another, to show the general public who is the boss. Granger doesn't care how anyone sees him, or what the news may write or say about him. He is already looking forward to keeping the PNC in power beyond the year 2020. It's wrong to remind him of the judge's ruling on the interpretation of the Constitution. That's like begging him to be civil and compromise. Granger is a soldier in spirit and soul. He can say it better than Ramjattan to tell Jagdeo to haul his ass if he believes otherwise.

I still have the previously hinted one: James Bovell-Drakes. 

Dem gat one ting name Google. Nat googley. G-O-O-G-L-E.

Former GECOM Chair, Dr Steve Surujbally

August 27,2017 Source

–honest and dedicated despite challenges

FORMER Chairman of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) Dr Steve Surujbally is advising his successor to uphold the tenets of the very important office.
Surujbally, who served as GECOM Chairman for some fifteen-and-a-half years, said the new GECOM chair must be honest, dedicated and non-partisan at all times despite the plethora of challenges that may arise.

In reflecting on his tenure as GECOM chair, Dr Surujbally examined the achievements under his stewardship, but noted that history will be the final arbiter on whether anything meaningful and of permanent substance has been achieved.

“Our accomplishments, especially in the technical and administrative areas, not only speak for themselves, but are an example and inspiration for Electoral Management Bodies (EMBs) in other developing democracies to follow,” Dr Surujbally said. “In fact, we have arguably reached the stage where an application can be made for ISO certification,” he added in a document seen by the Guyana Chronicle.

He also reflected on whether his pledge to be honest, dedicated, impartial and fair has been accomplished. “I have no doubt in my mind that I was always honest, constantly and seriously pursuing credibility for myself and the GECOM family.”
In the case of dedication, the former head of GECOM said he spent long hours researching and analyzing imbroglios and finding acceptable solutions, while neglecting his family at what can be considered crucial moments.

He maintained a non-partisan stance and said, “Of course, this self-perception might not be accepted by all, for whatever unsubstantiated and invented reasons or just following someone else’s maliciously concocted script.”
Surjubally reminded that the afore-mentioned features had to be executed in an environment to which he was forced to recognise and internalise the “the pervasive reality that any incorrect decision, any mistake could have severe even irreversible repercussions.”

“If there is any legacy, it would be simply found in the truism that in the pre, peri, post and inter-electoral periods associated with four elections, including the first Local Government Elections in 22 years, there was no massive turbulence which seemed compulsory at elections in Guyana.”

He noted however that though there was “no blood flowing in the street,” no image-destroying atrocities and only few known cases of destructive vandalism during his tenure, there were scattered and infrequent periods of boisterousness and furore which were contained quickly.

Dr Surujbally lauded the political parties for adhering to the tenets enshrined in the GECOM- sponsored and effected Political Party Code of Conduct, which was signed by all mainstream competing stakeholders.
Noting that the GECOM’s achievements over the past fifteen and a half years have been documented annually, Dr Surujbally said the GECOM chairman and his or her team “can only use the truth as their shield.”

“The chairperson may be blunt with the truth or cosmeticize it, but he or she must never allow utterances to morph into mellifluous falsehoods and ‘alternative facts’…staying on the proverbial “straight and narrow” is made considerably more difficult when there exists an atmosphere of hostility, dislike, discontent and unmitigated and brazenly overt malevolence.”

But notwithstanding that, Surujbally said the new GECOM chairman “must steer the ship of GECOM, during any storm, of which there will be many, to peaceful and acceptable ports using the mechanisms of negotiation, consensus and compromise, while maintaining fixity of purpose.”
He said, too, that when logical suasion cannot be achieved, the chairperson must have no fear exercising his or her casting vote which is permissible by law, as there will always be politicians, private sector leaders, the media and other stakeholders with “perverse and prevaricatory predeterminations.”

The former GECOM chairman said too that attempts will be made to besmirch GECOM’s image through improper and corrupting assumptions and noted the commission’s new chairman must be prepared for such occurrences.

“Despite confronting and overcoming the difficulties associated with incessant fractiousness, it was indeed an honour to serve, for more than a decade and a half, as Chairman of GECOM. I thank commissioners past and present for sharing their wisdom and knowledge, and for offering me options and guidance within the decision-making process…I wish my successor all the very best, even as I feel compelled to remind him or her that the Chairmanship of GECOM is not only an honour and privilege, but more a responsibility and a commitment to our motherland,” said Dr Surujbally.

A new GECOM chairman is yet to be appointed by President David Granger following consultations with Leader of the Opposition, Bharrat Jagdeo. On Friday, Jagdeo submitted a third list to the President after the first two he submitted were rejected.

• mceclip0

Surujbally is calling for fairness from the next Chairman as if GECOM was supposed to be unfair in the election process as he was. When Surujbally will come out and admit that he gave the election to Granger in a silver platter to earned his pound of gold? This man should shut the frigg up and spend his U.S. million is peace. I hope he choked and die on something before the million is spent.

Surujbally is a crook and criminal who lacks credibility. This crook must be sent to jail in 2020. 

Notice how this criminal KooKooBelly failed to condemn Idiot Granger for refusing to accept two lists of Candidates.

I still have the previously hinted one: James Bovell-Drakes. 

Dem gat one ting name Google. Nat googley. G-O-O-G-L-E.

Thanks Haffica Gilly. I found him...

• mceclip0