Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo yesterday praised the Guyana Police Force for keeping the crime rate down.

He was at the time delivering the feature address during the opening ceremony of the Police OfficersÃĒ₮â„Ē Annual Conference, where he boasted of the governmentÃĒ₮â„Ēs ability to keep the country clear of the type of crime sprees which occurred under the previous administration.

ÃĒâ‚ŽÅ“Since the assumption to office of our government, we can proudly proclaim that Guyana has no death squads, no extra-judicial killings, and no electronic support architecture for thecriminal enterprise and no agreement with the narco-syndicate to be an auxiliary of the national security apparatus,ÃĒ₮ he said.

He pointed out that fatal shootings by the police fell from 17 cases in 2008 and 13 in 2013, to only three such cases last year.

ÃĒâ‚ŽÅ“ÃĒ₮ÂĶYou have distanced yourself from contamination of past lawlessness and excesses in less than two years must be justification to say, ÃĒ₮˜Well done.ÃĒ₮â„Ē You could do better. And better you did,ÃĒ₮ he said to the ranks gathered at the Police OfficersÃĒ₮â„Ē Mess Annexe.

He praised the force for lessening incidents of crime and placing captured suspects on trial.

ÃĒâ‚ŽÅ“You have sent a strong message that you would deal condignly with law-breakers and that our system of justice ensures that those who do the crime, they would do the time! No statistics are more compelling than those for 2016 when there was a 63% detection rate for murder. Of the 142 reports, 89 cases were made out. I understand in police lingua, this is called the clear-up rate, and 63% represents the highest such clear-up rate for murder in fifteen years,ÃĒ₮ he said.

ÃĒâ‚ŽÅ“Our government also notes with satisfaction that last year the Major Crimes Unit busted 37 casesÃĒ₮ÂĶ which include 10 ÃĒâ‚ŽÅ“cold cases,ÃĒ₮ 11 murders and 11 robberies in which firearms had been used,ÃĒ₮â„Ē he said.

According to Nagamootoo another highlight of the forceÃĒ₮â„Ēs work is the suppression of piracy, with only one such case reported in 2016. 

He assured that his government is doing all it can to ensure that ranks are outfitted with the necessary resources to ensure that they continue to effectively tackle crime and protect citizens.

Nagamootoo, performing the functions of President,  called on officers to continue leading by example. ÃĒâ‚ŽÅ“I want to invite the young ranks in the police force to set your sight on every possibility for training and educational advancement, and to see your job as a knowledge-driven vocation that has mobility and a place at the top for every enterprising and ambitious recruit,ÃĒ₮ he also said.  https://www.stabroeknews.com/2...cops-reducing-crime/ https://www.stabroeknews.com/2...cops-reducing-crime/

Last edited by Mitwah

One bandit shot dead, another injured after trailing businesswomen from airport

A suspected bandit was shot dead Tuesday morning on the Liliendaal Railway Embankment Road and Giftland Mall Road, police said.

Head of the Guyana Police Force’s Criminal Investigations Department, Senior Superintendent Wendell Blanhum said preliminarily investigators were told a businesswoman and her bodyguard had moments earlier left a business enterprise when they came under attack.

Blanhum said the bodyguard opened fire, killing one of the men.

The Guyana Police Force later said in a statement that “a 42 year old Interior Flight Services Supervisor and her Security Escort who was armed with a licensed handgun, went to Ogle Airport in a motor car, driven by the supervisor and collected several parcels.

Guyanese drug mule jailed in the Bahamas, after charged with smuggling over 9lbs of cocaine

Officers from the Drug Enforcement Unit in the Bahamas, escorting Guyanese citizen Iesha Graham to prison to begin her sentence, after being convicted for trafficking cocaine into the Bahamas [Nassau Guardian photo)Officers from the Drug Enforcement Unit in the Bahamas, escorting Guyanese citizen Iesha Graham to prison to begin her sentence, after being convicted for trafficking cocaine into the Bahamas (Nassau Guardian photo)

Nassau, The Bahamas; – A 22-year-old  Guyanese woman, who was arrested while trying to smuggle drugs into the Bahamas last week, told a Bahamian magistrate that she took a chance to bring cocaine into the Island nation because she desperately needed some money to take care of her younger brother and sister.

The new face of Crime in Guyana. Granger will pardon them.

A very desperate and sad situation in Guyana under the AFC/PNC as some Afro Guyanese above have to peddle drugs to support their families:

"Nassau, The Bahamas; – A 22-year-old  Guyanese woman, who was arrested while trying to smuggle drugs into the Bahamas last week, told a Bahamian magistrate that she took a chance to bring cocaine into the Island nation because she desperately needed some money to take care of her younger brother and sister."

Guyanese drug mule jailed in the Bahamas, after charged with smuggling over 9lbs of cocaine

Officers from the Drug Enforcement Unit in the Bahamas, escorting Guyanese citizen Iesha Graham to prison to begin her sentence, after being convicted for trafficking cocaine into the Bahamas [Nassau Guardian photo)Officers from the Drug Enforcement Unit in the Bahamas, escorting Guyanese citizen Iesha Graham to prison to begin her sentence, after being convicted for trafficking cocaine into the Bahamas (Nassau Guardian photo)

Nassau, The Bahamas; – A 22-year-old  Guyanese woman, who was arrested while trying to smuggle drugs into the Bahamas last week, told a Bahamian magistrate that she took a chance to bring cocaine into the Island nation because she desperately needed some money to take care of her younger brother and sister.

This 22- year - old is what the current regime inherited from the PPP rule of 23 years. 

Ramakant-P posted:

The type of crime sprees occurred under the previous administration were done by the PNC and the police force themselves.  There were over a hundred Police officers  charged for various crimes.  The criminals are now hired in the Government.      

You saying hundreds of blacks were shot and killed by their own during PPP's tenure? 

TRUE DAT!!!

To someone with SFB they would believe that.

A FILTH HEAD IDIOT like you who think his Batty is his mouth and his mouth his Kakahole , will forever put food in yuh kakahole and shit wid yuh mouth. You just do not know the difference and we empathize with you. Hopefully, science will catch up with your condition and provide some relief soon!!!!!!!!!!!

"Since the assumption to office of our government, we can proudly proclaim that Guyana has no death squads, no extra-judicial killings, and no electronic support architecture for the criminal enterprise and no agreement with the narco-syndicate to be an auxiliary of the national security apparatus" he (Moses) said.

I agree. They are the best thing that happens to Guyana since sliced bread.  

Why are we pissed at Moses Nagamootoo for? He is the PM of the day and whether we like it or not, he will praise his party, the police force, or give credence to the coalition administration he is working for. After all, he has to earn his bread and butter. 

Because Judas is better than a Namakaram Crabdaag blood sucking Parasite!!!!!!!!!!!

"Since the assumption to office of our government, we can proudly proclaim that Guyana has no death squads, no extra-judicial killings, and no electronic support architecture for the criminal enterprise and no agreement with the narco-syndicate to be an auxiliary of the national security apparatus" he (Moses) said.

I agree. They are the best thing that happens to Guyana since sliced bread.  

Yes!! This installed government is as transparent as glass.

Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo yesterday praised the Guyana Police Force for keeping the crime rate down.

He praised the force for lessening incidents of crime and placing captured suspects on trial.

"You have sent a strong message that you would deal condignly with law-breakers and that our system of justice ensures that those who do the crime, they would do the time! No statistics are more compelling than those for 2016 when there was a 63% detection rate for murder. Of the 142 reports, 89 cases were made out. I understand in police lingua, this is called the clear-up rate, and 63% represents the highest such clear-up rate for murder in fifteen years," he said.

Our government also notes with satisfaction that last year the Major Crimes Unit busted 37 cases, which include 10 cold cases,11 murders and 11 robberies in which firearms had been used, he said.

According to Nagamootoo another highlight of the force's work is the suppression of piracy, with only one such case reported in 2016. 

To all the naysayers with their negativity, you should support, encourage and praise the police with their limited resources for the job they are doing. They deserve it, not your baseless criticisms. Last year they busted 37 cases, including 10 cold cases from the PPP time, solved 11 murders and 11 robberies in which firearms was used.

They need to shoot more criminals to make Guyana safe again.

I am not for vigilante justice but to deal with them condignly.

FACT: The majority of criminals, 99% of them.... were born and bred under the PPP. 

Only PPP got pregnant during their reign. You and the PNC were impotent during the PPP government. When are going to think for yourself other than repeating what Rumjaat is telling you to POST.

Think and read what you typed before you post. Go take your meds and come back leh we gyaff. 

This 22- year - old is what the current regime inherited from the PPP rule of 23 years. 

Likewise Canada Inherited you from the PNC.

FACT: The majority of criminals, 99% of them.... were born and bred under the PPP. 

Only PPP got pregnant during their reign. You and the PNC were impotent during the PPP government. When are going to think for yourself other than repeating what Rumjaat is telling you to POST.

Think and read what you typed before you post. Go take your meds and come back leh we gyaff. 

Medication can't cure you, you are brain dead, a puppet for the PNC. Look, just now you will start cuss and insult, is the Guyanese people still paying you for Fake News.???