Land CoI will put Amerindians, Afro-Guyanese in conflict – Jagdeo

…says public should not take part in “divisive” process

Given the complicated nature of the Commission of Inquiry (CoI) which will be looking into ancestral lands and other land matters, Opposition Leader Dr Bharrat Jagdeo, has advised members of the public not to take part in the process, as it only seeks to bring division among Guyanese.

Opposition Leader Dr Bharrat Jagdeo

Addressing a press conference on Friday at his Church Street, Georgetown office, Jagdeo told media operatives that the CoI will not solve a single-issue people face on the ground, describing it as another ‘political gimmick’ that is intended to cause racial division.

The former Head of State said given this fact, Guyana may never achieve its objective of bringing its people together across all racial lines. He opined that the land CoI in its current form, to a large extent, will put Amerindians and Afro-Guyanese at conflict with each other.

“Most people in Guyana, ordinary people have gone pass that, have gone pass those issues. But now in this racially inflammatory way… they are putting out who came before whom, and who has too much etcetera,” he said.

Jagdeo also believes that the CoI is being used to generate a feeling among Afro-Guyanese that the coalition Government defends their interest. He feels Government is doing this because they recognise that people, who supported them including many Afro-Guyanese, are very disappointed with their performance.

He lashed out at Government for allegedly attempting to ‘play the race card’ again, instead of focusing on policy.
“So you say that you defend interest, but it’s not going to happen in the future. If you come up with the African ancestral lands, that’s why at the beginning I asked how a report would help a young kid in South Georgetown who has no job or who is looking for a job. Will he get land?”

The Opposition Leader also believes that the land CoI is just another means by which Government is trying to create what he dubbed “jobs for the boys.” “This is a wedge issue,” he added, stating that Afro-Guyanese have more land today at their disposal than they had in 1992.

In making reference to comments made by the Guyana Reparations Committee, which is chaired by Dr Eric Phillips, in relation to Africans being in Guyana before three Amerindian tribes who have been given titles to their lands, embraces the same views made by Minister Keith Scott.

The Minister within the Communities Ministry had told Parliament that Amerindians are “greedy” and that the National Toshaos Council (NTC) had made it clear that it was not satisfied with the lands already given to them some (24 per cent of lands) leaving nothing for Afro-Guyanese. However, Scott has refused to apologise to the Amerindian community.

In April, the Opposition People’s Progressive Party’s (PPP) motion calling for the revocation of the appointment of the Lands CoI was shut down by the Speaker of the House, Dr Barton Scotland as he deemed it ‘not urgent,’ although the Opposition claimed it was of national public importance.

http://www.inewsguyana.com/lan...-in-conflict-jagdeo/

A nightmare for d2/Storm to face.

No just Jagdeo making mischief.  The issue with the ancestral lands has nothing to do with people in G/T.  Its to do with people who inherited jointly acquired lands in the villages, but now don't have title because the law doesn't make provision for this.

Burnham didn't deal with it because he wanted blacks to remain poor. Jagdeo didn't deal with it because he wanted blacks to remain poor. Granger is trying to deal with this.  In the wrong way yes, but then Jagdeo could offer suggestions.

You will note that it is JAGDEO who is trying to create animosity between the two groups as he consistently campaigns AGAINST blacks!

Poor and landless blacks squatted on lands at Sophia during the Hoyte era.  These people were given titles to those lands by the PPP government. Perhaps the COI should go after those titles the PPP gave to poor blacks to see if African Ancestral Lands were compromised.

Different issue.  Its the old black villages where the problem exists.  The villagers acquired lands on a joint basis.  The law doesn't provide for this so existing occupants of these lands don't have title. 

This could have been resolved without Eric Phillips' histrionics.  Africans are no more deserving of lands than are other groups, and all groups currently in Guyana suffered under colonialism. Jagdeo could have suggested this but instead wants to make war between Amerindians and blacks.

I want to know why silly people like Jagdeo scream that Jagdeo likes blacks.  In fact its clear that he has a personal animosity against us and will be reminded that the feeling is reciprocal come 2020. 

The best way to get blacks out to vote will be for Jagdeo to run.  Jagdeo did an excellent job in getting black and mixed voters out in 2015 and as a result lost the election.

The IndoKKK (aka PPP) needs to face facts. Blacks aren't simpletons who vote because "Jagdeo tek picture wid we".

Blacks in Guyana are clannish, they vote race hence 99.99 percent voting for the PNC. Even if they eat grass, they still vote PNC. Carib can talk shyte all day long about Indo this and Indo that.

I call spade a spade.

Blacks in Guyana are clannish, they vote race hence 99.99 percent voting for the PNC. Even if they eat grass, they still vote PNC. Carib can talk shyte all day long about Indo this and Indo that.

I call spade a spade.

I can say the same thing about Indians and the PPP. In fact Indians even write a whole editorial about how lazy and criminal blacks are.

In fact if Indians commit suicide.....is blackman to blame. If rain doesn't fall.....is blackman.   If an Indo kills another Indo....is blackman to blame.

The endless screams from Jagdeo about "blackman a starve abie" or "black man a kill abie".

I am glad not all Indos are clannish. I have met some from this board and they are good people. Yugi on the other hand would be one of those clannish ones just look at his posts, he cannot think for himself,using the same words as some of his Porter buddies tend to use, posts stupid pictures..another trait from another dumb porter who posted as Rev. Yep, thats one clannish racist Indo who would eat $hit under the PPP yet vote for BJ just because alladem is same colour.

A Guyanese businessman in NY is troubled by the Indian class system that discriminates in the US.  The same was seen in Guyana with Indian nationals.

He asked an important question ' What would [Guyanese] Indian life in India be like, if there was no indenture system to Guyana'.

Instead of racism, would the Indians still honour the class system in India.

It was troubling what was seen at a social forum in Mumbai. A lady of a lower class was sweeping the street and women dressed in Christian religious sari  covered their faces as they pass by.

At first I thought it was from the dust, but the road was covered with a tarp and only paper and leaves was on it.  Their faces were covered because, I believe, the religious women felt the lady from the lower class was unclean. Yet  that religious order look after homeless people on the street. Could the homeless  be from a higher class ?

Tola posted:

A Guyanese businessman in NY is troubled by the Indian class system that discriminates in the US.  The same was seen in Guyana with Indian nationals.

He asked an important question ' What would [Guyanese] Indian life in India be like, if there was no indenture system to Guyana'.

It was troubling what was seen at a social forum in Mumbai. A lady of a lower class was sweeping the street and women dressed in Christian religious sari  covered their faces as they pass by.

At first I thought it was from the dust, but the road was covered with a tarp and only paper and leaves was on it.  Their faces were covered because,I believe, the religious women felt the lady from the lower class was unclean. Yet  that religious order look after homeless people on the street. Could the homeless  be from a higher class ?

You believe, or you know so?  You have a rather morbid view of anything Indian.  You make judgements from afar on everything to fit your prejudicial and warped sense of value.  You project your own warped thoughts and logic into every scenario.

If there was no dust, why is she sweeping?  Fool, Mumbai is a dusty place and nowhere remains dust free for long!  I had a daily dusting in my place when i lived there.  Baseman also covered his nose when people are sweeping as it tends to be a fine dust!

Stop with your anti-Indian rant, you know little to nothing of the people yet you pass judgement.  This is, by definition, prejudicial thinking!  This is why I refer to you as a runt!  You seem hard-wired to gravitate to the lowest common denominator on anything except things "Black"!  Like there is something about the Blackman which enthralls you.  Hey, no prob, now run along.......enjoy!

I have been reading Tola's anti Indo posts lately and have decided to call him out. Thanks for correcting him on this this. He joins the blackman and critiques everything Indo without proper knowledge.

His posts are about I believe this and I believe that and Indo this and Indo that and Jagdeo this and Jagdeo that.

Shyte Head Granger is in charge, why not question him ?

He appears to be obsessed with Jagdeo and gives shyte head Granger a free pass and Conmen Moses and Ramjattan are also given a free pass. I am tired of his daily shyte on Indos.

Good call Base.

ba$eman posted:
Tola posted:

At first I thought it was from the dust, but the road was covered with a tarp and only paper and leaves was on it.  Their faces were covered because,I believe, the religious women felt the lady from the lower class was unclean. Yet  that religious order look after homeless people on the street. Could the homeless  be from a higher class ?

You believe, or you know so?  You have a rather morbid view of anything Indian.  You make judgements from afar on everything to fit your prejudicial and warped sense of value.  You project your own warped thoughts and logic into every scenario.

If there was no dust, why is she sweeping?  Fool, Mumbai is a dusty place and nowhere remains dust free for long!  I had a daily dusting in my place when i lived there.  Baseman also covered his nose when people are sweeping as it tends to be a fine dust!

Stop with your anti-Indian rant, you know little to nothing of the people yet you pass judgement.  This is, by definition, prejudicial thinking!  This is why I refer to you as a runt!  You seem hard-wired to gravitate to the lowest common denominator on anything except things "Black"!  Like there is something about the Blackman which enthralls you.  Hey, no prob, now run along.......enjoy!

Baseboard, me see you trolling by sniffing the odour from my ass again.

Get off your racist and egoistic pedestal, while  understand  what you don't read.  Do you understand what material covered the enclosed street where the lady was sweeping. What about those Indians who covered their faces in hotel lobbies where the poor work without a broom. Was there dust there too, ass wipe ?

It looks like Basement Baseboard got hit you on the head too  many times, with a Baseball. Be careful with your obsession, so you don't run home for a cutlass to get your way and they don't remove your ass  from your office in a straitjacket.

Curb dat ego bhai, or it gun drive you crazy.  Now, tell us  more about your father, that we don't know.

ba$eman posted:

Base can you give some insight into Tola, is he/she Indian? If so why the hatred for Indos?   Maybe he/she has a blackman as a significant other, hence the need to be blacker than the blackman. 

Ma-riddle-ma-riddle-ma-ree...

Amerindians were the first people to settle in Guyana.

East Indians were the last people to settle in Guyana.

Africans were the first people after Amerindians to settle in Guyana.

Which of the three groups owns the most land transports and holds the most land leases in Guyana?

Amerindians?

East Indians?

Africans?

Ma-riddle-ma-riddle-ma-ree.....

Which of the three groups owns the most land transports and holds the most land leases in Guyana?

Amerindians?

East Indians?

Africans?

Wha yuh trying fuh mask the middle.

Amerindians?

East Indians?

Africans?

The most hard working group.

Amerindians?

East Indians?

Africans?

Wha yuh trying fuh mask the middle.

Tickle yuh brain, bai. Feel free to consult Deeds Registry, Lands & Surveys, Official Gazette etc.

Amerindians?

East Indians?

Africans?

Gilly, I would  say East Indians, because they are agriculture people and value land ownership in Guyana, as they do in India.

As in Canada with First Nations, the Amerindians used the land for food, but they were not knowledgeable enough  to get legal ownership.

Afro Guyanese seems to live only for the day and did not care much about ownership.

No one owns crap yo is barn an live yo is dead an gone to where, no one knows yet there is claim is to know. why when one is gone to the beyond

everyone say  they are in a better  place, yet no one have ever visited that place to know that is a better place or have come back that it is a better place. figure  

ball
Tola posted:
ba$eman posted:
Tola posted:

Get off your racist and egoistic pedestal, while  understand  what you don't read.  Do you understand what material covered the enclosed street where the lady was sweeping. What about those Indians who covered their faces in hotel lobbies where the poor work without a broom. Was there dust there too, ass wipe ?

It looks like Basement Baseboard got hit you on the head too  many times, with a Baseball. Be careful with your obsession, so you don't run home for a cutlass to get your way and they don't remove your ass  from your office in a straitjacket.

Curb dat ego bhai, or it gun drive you crazy.  Now, tell us  more about your father, that we don't know.

Ok Tola, leh we unpack your response.  I try to be nice to you and you always jump right back in the latrine pit.  Back to the runtish behavior!

Ok ok, give credit where credit's due.  True you do talk nuff "fart".  No sniffing required, you fill the room.  We hold our nose just like the lady in India!

Ok, you seh me racist.  One coolie man (Baseman) oppose the opinion of another coolie (Tola) over wan issue in India.  Help me, is weh the racist element deh?

You throwing spaghetti banna.  My question, do you believe or do you know?  Are you being factual or is this conjecture?  Wah is this hotel lobby thingy.  You gatt me hey bai!  I virtually lived in hotels.  I ain't know wah da-rass you talking about!

Now, why was da woman sweeping....was she sweeping thin air or dust?

Now wah da-rass about baseball bat.  India play cricket.

I tell you, runtish behavior deh in you bai!

ba$eman posted:

Base can you give some insight into Tola, is he/she Indian? If so why the hatred for Indos?   Maybe he/she has a blackman as a significant other, hence the need to be blacker than the blackman. 

I think so, my connections say he is coolie albeit not too brite, as verified by these postings!

He always boast here of his drilling missions in Africa, so who knows, maybe he was a "drillee", infused with insatiable love, thus the unbridled love for for the "people"!   I don't know, and anything other than what he post here, I will not out. 

Amerindians?

East Indians?

Africans?

I don't agree with that statement,  The White man was the first after the Amerindians and they then brought the Africans as slaves..

I think the objective is to steal Ameridian lands with hope of it once being Africa before the Atlantic Ocean created. Dat Granger is full of mischief. Does he know he close to meeting his maker. And he should larn good ways. But then again Black bigots have no conscience.

Amerindians?

East Indians?

Africans?

I don't agree with that statement,  The White man was the first after the Amerindians and they then brought the Africans as slaves..

My statement is made in the context of present-day rival groups. That's why I omitted Portuguese and Chinese and Whites.

Tola posted:

Amerindians?

East Indians?

Africans?

Gilly, I would  say East Indians, because they are agriculture people and value land ownership in Guyana, as they do in India.

As in Canada with First Nations, the Amerindians used the land for food, but they were not knowledgeable enough  to get legal ownership.

Afro Guyanese seems to live only for the day and did not care much about ownership.

Keep digging for more facts. You can check Deeds Registry, Lands & Surveys, Geology & Mines, Guyana Forestry Commission. Then you will see who have transports and leases to the most land in terms of acres or hectares.

I think the objective is to steal Ameridian lands with hope of it once being Africa before the Atlantic Ocean created. Dat Granger is full of mischief. Does he know he close to meeting his maker. And he should larn good ways. But then again Black bigots have no conscience.

Maybe that's why Anne Corriea so fired up!!

ba$eman posted:
Tola posted:
ba$eman posted:
Tola posted:

Ok Tola, leh we unpack your response.  I try to be nice to you and you always jump right back in the latrine pit.  Back to the runtish behavior!

Ok ok, give credit where credit's due.  True you do talk nuff "fart".  No sniffing required, you fill the room.  We hold our nose just like the lady in India!

Ok, you seh me racist.  One coolie man (Baseman) oppose the opinion of another coolie (Tola) over wan issue in India.  Help me, is weh the racist element deh?

You throwing spaghetti banna.  My question, do you believe or do you know?  Are you being factual or is this conjecture?  Wah is this hotel lobby thingy.  You gatt me hey bai!  I virtually lived in hotels.  I ain't know wah da-rass you talking about!

Baseman being nice !!  Since when ?  Your attitude stinks on this board  and  a poster with the most controversy with others. Its your way or the cutlass. I could only imagine how controlling your must have been  as a kid/teenager, because it shows as an adult. We know a kid with your attitude  and as  an adult, he now lives on the third floor at the hospital.

We know people  near you in NJ, so don't be so loud mouth about yourself, because it don't just stay there.   

GNI is an anonymous site with posters who use false names and you buss a vein with what is written here. Bhai, are you really smart ?

You know piss all about me and you make assumptions with what I write here. If Jagdeo write you that he is gay, will you believe him without first asking him to prove it ?

You and some on GNI are dummer  than a door nail. You take  what is written here as the truth, like the story about your father.

Slow down Baseman and use your rational mind some more, then you will not make such an ass of yourself.  Who knows,  others might indicate more 'likes' for your post.

Tola posted:
ba$eman posted:
Tola posted:
ba$eman posted:

Baseman being nice !!  Since when ?  Your attitude stinks on this board  and  a poster with the most controversy with others. Its your way or the cutlass. I could only imagine how controlling your must have been  as a kid/teenager, because it shows as an adult. We know a kid with your attitude  and as  an adult, he now lives on the third floor at the hospital.

We know people  near you in NJ, so don't be so loud mouth about yourself, because it don't just stay there.   

GNI is an anonymous site with posters who use false names and you buss a vein with what is written here. Bhai, are you really smart ?

You know piss all about me and you make assumptions with what I write here. If Jagdeo write you that he is gay, will you believe him without first asking him to prove it ?

You and some on GNI are dummer  than a door nail. You take  what is written here as the truth, like the story about your father.

Slow down Baseman and use your rational mind some more, then you will not make such an ass of yourself.  Who knows,  others might indicate more 'likes' for your post.

Rather than meander all over the place, go back and address the points I raised.  Don't try to slip out with gibrish!!

If someone say they gay, who the rass is me to not believe them.

I do know you, remember you associated with my connections in Guyana!  They say you are a light-weight.  That being said, you are a big-time suicide man working on initiatives for decades and yet no one knows you!

Baseman is no body's drummer boy.  I agree with everyone when we agree, and disagree when we disagree.  I am complimentary and critical to both PPP and PNC as I see fit.  That creates conflicts with many at differing times as I am not "mono-rail"!

This here is  a  suicidal thread arguments does not, nor have never solve an issue but create animosity, service to humanity is a duty where reward is not a concern, calm and creative compromise is a key to successful solutions. For the sake of human dignity please evaluate your true self do the right thing, mind you no one is perfect even me.      

ball

In the end how much land does a man really need?

You would be surprised. Some folks like Gilbakka never thought about owning land. Some folks are satisfied with one house lot. Some folks want multiple house lots. Other folks want a few acres. And there are those who buy up and collect hundreds of acres as if land were just coins. There are needs and there are wants. The wanters don't set limits.

To each his own. Blacks did not care for land and they are now screaming for land at a PNC commission.

Land ownership is an important factor for accumulation of wealth for future generations.

I am not ashamed to say that I own a few acres of it.

Land ownership is an important factor for accumulation of wealth for future generations.

You want more? Don't be ashamed to say.

In the end how much land does a man really need?

You would be surprised. Some folks like Gilbakka never thought about owning land. Some folks are satisfied with one house lot. Some folks want multiple house lots. Other folks want a few acres. And there are those who buy up and collect hundreds of acres as if land were just coins. There are needs and there are wants. The wanters don't set limits.

Property laws in Guyana needs to change,  to protect innocent  people who allow others to stay on their property and after a few years, the 'tenants' can apply for ownership.

To each his own. Blacks did not care for land and they are now screaming for land at a PNC commission.

In the end, how much will you take with you or how much will you be reduced to?

Last edited by Mitwah

Look at Mitwah's silly statement.

Why are blacks in Guyana screaming for land today ?

Listen, if a man or woman has money and wants to purchase land for future generations, then so be it. No wonder some people live hand to mouth.

Real estate/land is always a good investment anywhere in the world. 

Baseman, connecting with your associate in GY was over ten years ago and that is all you know about us.  She was at the time  fighting with the government about donating the land, which was eventually bought. Is the past AG not your relative.

You go to GY to sport with friends  and know little about what we did. You make assumptions based only on what you read  here.

It is mind boggling to understand that you know so little about a person, yet you have so much to say about them. Are you using your right brain, that your left brain don't know how to control.