A government cannot favour any group

By Staff Writer On June 30, 2017 @ 2:04 am In Letters

Dear Editor,

Any Guyanese President’s most sacred duty is to safeguard the Constitution of the Cooperative Republic.  But President Granger’s actions and words have raised many questions about his commitment to the Constitution and the rule of law.  First, he allowed several cases of violation of the rule of law.  One just has to observe how his Minister Mr Bulkan flouted the law with respect to the establishment of the Local Government Commission and how he illegally hijacked the elections for the Mayor in Mabaruma by not following the rule of law.  Then there are the many cases of procurement without due process being followed.  Need I talk about the $605 million drugs deal or D’Urban Park or the Sussex Street bond?  Collectively these three deals involved over $2 billion.  And these are just three deals.

I am arriving at the conclusion that President Granger really believes he has a licence to do anything because he is President.  This conclusion begs the question, is President Granger fully committed to constitutional democracy?  Why does he ignore the media and refuse to hold a second open press conference with the Fourth Estate?  Rather than being beholden to the media, is he expecting that the media should be beholden to him?

But if you look carefully, all over the country people are in a restive state and many are even prepared to go to court to challenge Mr Granger and his policies.  This is where the Guyana Human Rights Association comes in.  What is the state of its membership? Why in such an oppressive political and economic environment is this organisation so dormant?  What about the Guyana Consumers Association?  Is it still alive?  Since Ms Eileen Cox passed, it appears that the Consumers Association also passed.  Who is representing the people in this exploitive environment where the regime is taxing the people to the hilt, which leaves the majority of shoppers with less money in their pockets?

If President Granger accepted the letter and spirit of the Constitution, then he would have adhered to one of its key principles which says, “We the Guyanese People forge a system of governance that promotes concerted effort and broad-based participation in national decision-making in order to develop a viable economy and a harmonious community based on democratic values, social justice, fundamental human rights and the rule of law…” and he would have governed very differently.

Take for instance the case of only one permanent secretary under President Granger out of the seventeen to represent 50% of the population (Indian and Indigenous).  Under President Ramotar, I was advised that in 2014  seven of the then 17 permanent secretaries represented that 50%.  Isn’t that a more broad-based participation in national decision-making?  A government cannot favour or disfavour any group of people.

In such a situation, I call on the young people to step forward and announce themselves to be on the local government list whether their own list or if they can, one of the establishment lists in 2018 and run for office in their local areas. When young people stand up and demand to be counted, Guyana will never elect presidents like Donald Ramotar and David Granger.

Yours faithfully,

Sase Singh

Article printed from Stabroek News: https://www.stabroeknews.com

URL to article: https://www.stabroeknews.com/2...cannot-favour-group/

Copyright © 2015 Stabroek News. All rights reserved.

https://www.stabroeknews.com/2...cannot-favour-group/

The administration showed bias in the appointment of permanent secretaries

By Staff Writer On June 7, 2017 @ 2:02 am In Letters

Dear Editor,

I have noticed an increased assault against the Guyanese people by the Granger administration.  Do they really think they can develop all of Guyana by cutting out 70% of the people from the decision-making process and get away with it?  Socially, economically and politically, if they are not aware, Guyana has retrogressed, and have they not observed that a collective fight back using all the tools at the people’s disposal has begun?  This fight back does not need guns; it needs leadership, mobilization, and consciousness.  It has now gotten that, and slowly but surely at the village level the collective fight back has started to gain traction.  It is only a matter of time that the masses in a peaceful way coalesce against these forces of oppression led by the Granger administration.  The collective voice of the people is more powerful than all the armies in the world.

What happens to that tradition from 1966 to create one nation with one destiny?  These people in the Granger Team speak of Burnham morning, noon and night, but they are not committed to anything that Burnham represented.  Burnham wanted to mould a nation and what is happening in 2017 is certainly not how you mould a nation.  From my reading of history, all the presidents of Guyana before President Granger were committed to moulding the nation, even the incompetent Donald Ramotar.  Today the evidence is there to prove that we have a real situation of ethnic bias under the Granger administration.

As an example, look at the 16 permanent secretaries in the government.  Fifteen of the sixteen  are from one race (see below).

Where is the balance?  Where is the fairness?  Where is the justice for the entire nation?

To compound this mess, we find a rapid invasion of the leadership of the rest of the Public Service with ex-GDF officers.  If one reads the Auditor General Report, the army officers are not superior at the public management of the assets put at their disposal.  The reality is that they are far from the best at the public management of state assets.

The social cohesion damage to this nation has to be repaired.  Or is this really what the PNC wants: a split nation?

Let the records show that for all of our 51 years as a politically independent nation, these last 12 months have been the worst in terms of fostering national unity and social cohesion.  Is this what President Granger wants to be remembered for?

Finally, where is the voice of the AFC ministers, the so-called liberal democrats?  Has ambition replaced moral conviction?

Yours faithfully,

Sase Singh

Article printed from Stabroek News: https://www.stabroeknews.com

URL to article: https://www.stabroeknews.com/2...rmanent-secretaries/

Copyright © 2015 Stabroek News. All rights reserved.

https://www.stabroeknews.com/2...rmanent-secretaries/

The PNC Govt has been, is and will ALWAYS be the most RACIST Govt on the Planet. What Ian Smith and PW Botha did in South Africa got covered in the media BUT PNC RACISM never got exposed. Those people will kill their own who do not support their incompetent, wicked and violent ways.

Now, imagine a Namakaram Crabdaag Parasite who these people beat like the dog he is, spit on him like he is a dead Donkey, pitched him on Albion sidewalk like a dead cat and leave him to die, joins them despite this lenghty track record. This Namakaram Crabdaag is indescribable since in human History such an object never existed!!!

Now, imagine a Namakaram Crabdaag Parasite who these people beat like the dog he is, spit on him like he is a dead Donkey, pitched him on Albion sidewalk like a dead cat and leave him to die, joins them despite this lenghty track record. 

This only proves the PPP is worse and cannot be trusted. Here is a guy (Naga) who went through hell for the PPP, as you mentioned and was treated like shit just because he did not like how the party he practically gave his life for, went off track.

Somebady gat to try and do the rite thing. The other day, Granger saying how Jagdeo poached the military that is why he doan feel he doing nothing wrang in giving retired army ppl wuk. Jagdeo done, suh I kant.

Imagine Granger chastise Jagdeo for he corrupt ways and he Granger now drawing precedent from de man.

What about Region 5. The REO Morrison hired 17 persons all black, not one Indo. And many many more instances These black administrators are more racist than Ian Smith.

Here's an extract from Harry Gill's letter

I have examined Mr Morrison’s tenure as REO of Region 5, and it is obvious that his actions are in direct conflict with the government’s policies on social cohesion. Recently, Mr Morrison hired 17 new employees, all African-Guyanese, not one single Indian in a region that is inhabited predominantly by Indian-Guyanese. How does he justify this?

The PNC Govt has been, is and will ALWAYS be the most RACIST Govt on the Planet. What Ian Smith and PW Botha did in South Africa got covered in the media BUT PNC RACISM never got exposed. Those people will kill their own who do not support their incompetent, wicked and violent ways.

Now, imagine a Namakaram Crabdaag Parasite who these people beat like the dog he is, spit on him like he is a dead Donkey, pitched him on Albion sidewalk like a dead cat and leave him to die, joins them despite this lenghty track record. This Namakaram Crabdaag is indescribable since in human History such an object never existed!!!

his own people spit on him so it okay for a next race to do it.when you sleeping in the gutter in liberty ave who you want spit on you a indian or black 

warrior posted:

his own people spit on him so it okay for a next race to do it.when you sleeping in the gutter in liberty ave who you want spit on you a indian or black 

If you see who below me when I sleeping, yuh gun drink Malation. Many times I at the bottom and Top stick worker on top.Then again, you should be accustomed to that by now!!!

racism will always be a problem unless we are certain about the origin of the black man. even the white man or the Indian man do not know their origin so it would be illogical to hate without reason. I think the intelligence knows and God knows but he doesn't want to tell us. it would then be theoretical to assume that God does this so we would not get along. the more we don't know about the truth the easier it is to confuse us. as I am right now I have to suspend any inclination of racism because of this logic. because we cannot see God we are blind and that is how he wants it to be even if you're a believer. you really cannot blame the black person from being racist because it is just a natural reaction

Ronald Anthony Arjune
Last edited by Ronald Anthony Arjune