A number of years ago, while on a project in Mexico, we were having lunch in a restaurant, with our partners.

The conversation drifted to currency and I showed  Rosy, the person sitting to me,  some Canadian coins. I later gave her the coins.

A year later she visited Canada on a speaking tour and gave me seven Mexican coins in friendship, because she said I gave her seven coins.

Now while travelling,   I carry seven Canadian coins in a Ziploc bag, with Canadian flag pins and pins from our town.

If I sit next to a person on an aircraft with whom I had a wonderful conversation, I would give them the package with seven coins  in friendship from Canada. I  might never see the person again.

The last persons I gave the coins were from Cameroon and Pakistan.

This courtesy has grown to about 100 others doing the same, while travelling.

Ball, to get you seven coins, first me don't have to know you, you don't have to be a Canadian citizen  and you have to sit near me on a plane.  Den, if your can talk bout de bes bush-rum in Guyana fa an hour, you might get a set of coins.

I have a  large collection  of stamps starting before King George days. I inherited our family collection from my Dad and big brothers.

I had many Guyanese and international penfriends in the 1960s and would collect a handful letters from the post office every day. I kept those envelopes in scrap books and would do penfriends presentations in schools here. I just left instructions to leave the collection for our grandkids.

After graduating from school in Guyana,  I was the radio dispatcher and telephone operator at Albion Estate. I was fascinated about working on ships and see the world for free,  My career as radio officer on board ships and decades into electronics in Canada,  started when a penfriend in England sent me a wireless diary in 1964. One of the wireless institutions listed in the diary from  Vancouver, accepted me as a student and 50 years later  I am still here, disliking every winter.  

One of my prized coins is titled 'United Colony of Essequibo and Demerara 1832'. The other side of the coin has the bust of William IV, who was friend of William Wilberforce.

The DVD movie Amazing Grace tells the story about Wilberforce  efforts to abolish slavery, the year the coin was minted.  Berbice became part of Guyana in 1831, thus some confusion regarding dating the coin.

The hymn Amazing Grace was written by John Newton, who was a slave ship captain and Wilberforce worked on his ship. Wilberforce compassion for the suffering of the slaves, motivated him to see them free.Unfortunately, he died a year after slavery was abolished in the British Empire.

Newton later became a pastor in London, when he wrote Amazing Grace.

Two movies that tells about our Guyanese history is Amazing Grace and 1838, that was filmed in Berbice with  some  crew members from India.

Rass Tolabhai, you long-winded bad bad... de man ask jus one lil question        

IGH posted:

Ah Ha!! so now meh figga out who a deh Rosy yuh does talk about in your adventures.
Tola ...

Ball.

Me na even mention Lordes yet. Dat we work together to publish a Mayan craft catalog for indigenous crafts, to be sold in Europe. We spent  a month in the jungle photographing the craft items.  Also video recording it in Mayan Tutsil language, den Spanish and eventually in English.

She also came on a speaking tour to Canada, that we hosted.

Me memory is starting to fade what  took place. Sorry, trying real hard, but dem gears not turning.

Gotto go wire a renovated SVP thrift store, back later. 

Tola posted:

Ball, to get you seven coins, first me don't have to know you, you don't have to be a Canadian citizen  and you have to sit near me on a plane.  Den, if your can talk bout de bes bush-rum in Guyana fa an hour, you might get a set of coins.

I have a  large collection  of stamps starting before King George days. I inherited our family collection from my Dad and big brothers.

I had many Guyanese and international penfriends in the 1960s and would collect a handful letters from the post office every day. I kept those envelopes in scrap books and would do penfriends presentations in schools here. I just left instructions to leave the collection for our grandkids.

After graduating from school in Guyana,  I was the radio dispatcher and telephone operator at Albion Estate. I was fascinated about working on ships and see the world for free,  My career as radio officer on board ships and decades into electronics in Canada,  started when a penfriend in England sent me a wireless diary in 1964. One of the wireless institutions listed in the diary from  Vancouver, accepted me as a student and 50 years later  I am still here, disliking every winter.  

One of my prized coins is titled 'United Colony of Essequibo and Demerara 1832'. The other side of the coin has the bust of William IV, who was friend of William Wilberforce.

The DVD movie Amazing Grace tells the story about Wilberforce  efforts to abolish slavery, the year the coin was minted.  Berbice became part of Guyana in 1831, thus some confusion regarding dating the coin.

The hymn Amazing Grace was written by John Newton, who was a slave ship captain and Wilberforce worked on his ship. Wilberforce compassion for the suffering of the slaves, motivated him to see them free.Unfortunately, he died a year after slavery was abolished in the British Empire.

Newton later became a pastor in London, when he wrote Amazing Grace.

Two movies that tells about our Guyanese history is Amazing Grace and 1838, that was filmed in Berbice with  some  crew members from India.

I just started collecting Guyana/British Guiana stamps a couple of years ago. Something I can teach the tyke about and to keep me occupied in my old age. By the way, I am looking for a copy of Guiana 1838.

Tola posted:

I had ................................................

I just started collecting Guyana/British Guiana stamps a couple of years ago. Something I can teach the tyke about and to keep me occupied in my old age. By the way, I am looking for a copy of Guiana 1838.

GT, I got my copy of Guiana 1838 while photographing a wedding in Atlanta. it does not seem it was in the main stream distribution system  You  might have to look where lots of Guyanese live, like on Liberty Avenue.

I have a few copies of Guyana independence First Day  Issue stamps.  At first I type appropriate information on an envelope and get the stamps  with postmark  at Nigg Albion post office, then I would take bus to get the Official First Day of Issue post mark  done at New Amsterdam post office, near the ferry stalling.  I also have some original independence envelope with the arches,  stamps and post mark.

The most unusual independence envelope in my collection is returned registered  envelopes,  when I sent cheques from his parents to my friend in New York around 1966  and have him return the envelopes to me. In those days registered letters had a felt pen cross on the envelopes.