Dear Editor,
I WISH to add my voice to that of Dr. Vishnu Bisram and Mr. Michael Younge who want to see reforms in the PPP. Dr. Bisram wants the party to attract Indo-Guyanese intellectuals to fill the void created by the exit of Messrs Ralph Ramkarran and Moses Nagamootoo. On the other hand, Mr. Younge sees as a weakness of the PPP its inability to attract “and genuinely trust Afro-Guyanese leaders, who were not ‘tokens’”.

The truth of the matter is that the PPP needs a make-over. Mr. Younge wants the PPP “to do away with some of the relics that are harming its integrity”. (Guyana Times, June 18, 2017). I fully agree, as the image of some of these leaders appearing before courts on criminal charges or having their visas revoked are sending frightful signals to PPP supporters. The fear that other leaders have things for which they have to answer to the police are driving many people further away from the party.

I want to suggest that this is the right time for Bharrat Jagdeo to step away from the post of party General Secretary, and he should state clearly he is not available for a third term as presidential candidate. It is time that the PPP bring forward Dr. Frank Anthony and not continue to allow, by our silence, this brilliant disciple of Dr. Jagan to be sidelined. Dr. Anthony emerged from the Pioneer League, then was leader of the PYO, and since 2008 he has climbed to the number 3 position in the party’s Central Committee elections. In 2013 and 2016, he came in with the second highest votes.

If the PPP does not change now, and just try to go after Indian votes, it will not only remain in opposition but will also lose its relevance in Guyana’s politics.

Regards
Kumar J. Persaud
Ex PPP member

http://guyanachronicle.com/201...ime-for-jagdeo-to-go

Dear Editor,
It is time that the PPP bring forward Dr. Frank Anthony and not continue to allow, by our silence, this brilliant disciple of Dr. Jagan to be sidelined.

Regards
Kumar J. Persaud
Ex PPP member

Perhaps Kumar J. Persaud is totally unaware that individuals are elected to positions and NOT unilaterally placed in a position

Dear Editor,
It is time that the PPP bring forward Dr. Frank Anthony and not continue to allow, by our silence, this brilliant disciple of Dr. Jagan to be sidelined.

Regards
Kumar J. Persaud
Ex PPP member

Perhaps Kumar J. Persaud is totally unaware that individuals are elected to positions and NOT unilaterally placed in a position

Not only is he unaware of the process to secure PPP leadership, he is telling them who HE wants, and he is not even a member of the party.  Such audacity!!!

Mr Persaud is correct, with BJ in the picture the PPP is a done party.

The Guyanese voters, in their ultimate wisdom, will chose who they want to represent them should they choose Jagdeo were he to run for President, then we have to respect that decision. Unless we think that democracy is ok only if we agree with the results.

Z

I said before that Jagdeo should not be President again, he had his time. However, Jagdeo must go nowhere but be there with the Party as the Senior Advisor/Chairman.

It will be seen that someone else will be the PPP/C candidate for President.

Dear Editor,

Regards
Kumar J. Persaud
Ex PPP member

Not only is he unaware of the process to secure PPP leadership, he is telling them who HE wants, and he is not even a member of the party.  Such audacity!!!

Indeed.

I believe Churchill (GNI member) have influenced Dr. Bisram to mention Moses Nagamootoo's name on this so-called PPP reform and trying to get Jagdeo out of the picture. Churchill never liked Jagdeo in the first place, and Nagamootoo believes Jagdeo is responsible for getting him out of the party. Perhaps Moses smell the rat that there isn't going to be any coalition force comes 2020. Churchill is setting up Nagamootoo and Ramkarran to highjack the PPP from Jagdeo.

Churchill CANNOT set up anything because he is an outsider and no one even cares who he is or if he exists. And Ramkarran has no interest in hijacking the party from anyone.  Churchill is definitely a Jagdeo hater even though he likes to show up at PPP events and request to give speeches.

If the PPP keeps losing elections with Jagdeo as the leader, how do they measure what is causing the loss ?

Based on racial politics, how long does the Indians have to suffer and wait to find out ?

Granger might do as Burnham did and  Indians  might feel lost with a leader carrying  a lot of baggage, like Jagdeo. 

Churchill CANNOT set up anything because he is an outsider and no one even cares who he is or if he exists. And Ramkarran has no interest in hijacking the party from anyone.  Churchill is definitely a Jagdeo hater even though he likes to show up at PPP events and request to give speeches.

According to my source, Churchill is still a member of ACG. 

Tola posted:

If the PPP keeps losing elections with Jagdeo as the leader, how do they measure what is causing the loss ?

Based on racial politics, how long does the Indians have to suffer and wait to find out ?

Granger might do as Burnham did and  Indians  might feel lost with a leader carrying  a lot of baggage, like Jagdeo. 

This seems to be wishful thinking on your p. Let the Guyanese people decide who best represent their interest . Do not let your dislike for Jagdeo colour or affect your analysis of what is currently happening and the possibilities for the future. Throwing out the baby with the bath water leaves you childless and resentful. Instead, it should make you critically look at the decisions you have made in the past and how you can make better decisions in the future.

Z

All are invited to the Royal Impress Hall on Saturday, July 02, @ Rockaway Blvd., from 3:00pm to 6:00pm. Dr. Jagdeo is the main speaker to update the diaspora on the current state of affairs in Guyana, and what measures the PPP is taking to handle these situations. Surprisingly, Farouk Samaroo and Cobra will be in attendance.

According to my source, he is a member of the PNC.  And everyone in the PPP knows that.  The ACG is hosting Jagdeo this weekend.  I wouldn't be surprised if Churchill shows up being the two faced person he is.

Cobra's post said "All are invited" I might even take a walk even if it's to boo the guy who is going to whine and complain and be the reason the PPP loses....yet again.

The US security will deal with you and all the PNC troublemakers.  Give it a try and let's see what happens.

Cobra posted:

All are invited to the Royal Impress Hall on Saturday, July 02, @ Rockaway Blvd., from 3:00pm to 6:00pm. Dr. Jagdeo is the main speaker to update the diaspora on the current state of affairs in Guyana, and what measures the PPP is taking to handle these situations. Surprisingly, Farouk Samaroo and Cobra will be in attendance.

Shaitaan and Churchill should hold hands and walk in together.  They are cut from the same cloth.

Cobra posted:

Shaitaan and Churchill should hold hands and walk in together.  They are cut from the same cloth.

They both come from decent cloth material..except when Shaits ran back to help the PPP...his cloth got lil dirty then but at least he seems an intelligent fellow.

Zed posted:
Tola posted:

This seems to be wishful thinking on your p. Let the Guyanese people decide who best represent their interest . Do not let your dislike for Jagdeo colour or affect your analysis of what is currently happening and the possibilities for the future. Throwing out the baby with the bath water leaves you childless and resentful. Instead, it should make you critically look at the decisions you have made in the past and how you can make better decisions in the future.

I might have my opinion of Jagdeo [including other leaders in Guyana], but likewise are  many other Guyanese, including professionals,  whom they and their  people have crossed with animosity, nastiness and vindictiveness. As you might be aware, leaders are seldom liked by everyone.

I agree  that the Guyanese people will decide their direction in politics, but the world has seen the consequences of self fulfilling  leaders who leaves easily influenced  people and their country in disarray.

Only a 'perfect'  uncaring person, will not  look at past decisions and improve them for all concerned.  

People like Churchill and Gilbakka, who gave most of their youthful lives to the PPP for the present  members to enjoy, have a right to speak against what is happened to the party.

As Ramkarran said, the democratic process  has failed the PPP and only a reformed process might bring back older members, for a more vibrant party.  

According to my source, he is a member of the PNC.  And everyone in the PPP knows that.  The ACG is hosting Jagdeo this weekend.  I wouldn't be surprised if Churchill shows up being the two faced person he is.

If the AFC is hosting Jagdeo's visit and Churchill is a member of the AFC, why should he not attend ?

Churchill as well as others in the US, collaborated with Jagan, Carter, Broadbent and others, in assisting the PPP to regain power in 1992. There are some really ungrateful people in the PPP. Animosity galore with vindictiveness.

Last edited by Tola

Churchill has some powerful enemies waiting for him.  My advice to him is to stay out of PPP politics. He is now an old man. When you say stupid things you have to live with the consequences.  I hope he takes my advice and live a long and peaceful life in his old age.

So that is how the PPP works eh baie? When a longtime member sees something wrong they are not allowed to voice their concerns without some form of repercussion from "their enemies"

Democratic?  I think not.

Truly sad state of affairs, won't you say?

The Jagdeo PPP and diehard followers like Mutt and Jeff,  have their own democracy:  Jagdeo constitution, a one man show.

Let any PPP member speak  against them and see what happens. Jagdeo's wrath at their ass.   

Great thread and some excellent responses,except for the responses from Bibi.H,well as expected Jagdeoite's have no respect for the old PPP stalwarts,the new-bies thinks they have the answers,unfortunately they don't.

Churchill is not a PPP stalwart.  He is a PNC.  PPP stalwarts don't become PNC overnight and still try to call themselves PPP.  That would be gross hypocrisy.

Tola posted:

If the AFC is hosting Jagdeo's visit and Churchill is a member of the AFC, why should he not attend ?

Churchill as well as others in the US, collaborated with Jagan, Carter, Broadbent and others, in assisting the PPP to regain power in 1992. There are some really ungrateful people in the PPP. Animosity galore with vindictiveness.

The AFC is NOT hosting Jagdeo.   

Tola posted:

You have to stop peeping up yuh BT as your source. Churchy is not a member of the PNC. Comprehension is not your forte. Tola said "if". Is why yuh getting yuh draazy is such a bind?

Churchill has some powerful enemies waiting for him.  My advice to him is to stay out of PPP politics. He is now an old man. When you say stupid things you have to live with the consequences.  I hope he takes my advice and live a long and peaceful life in his old age.

Noted! Even if you did not actually commit the crime, you can be held partially responsible. Perhaps you should learn more about what it means to be an accessory to a crime.

Tola posted:

You have to stop peeping up yuh BT as your source. Churchy is not a member of the PNC. Comprehension is not your forte. Tola said "if". Is why yuh getting yuh draazy is such a bind?

Anyone who runs after Basil Williams coat tail like a poodle is a PNC soup drinker.  Anyone who advises Granger is also a PNC soup drinker.

Churchill is not a PPP stalwart.  He is a PNC.  PPP stalwarts don't become PNC overnight and still try to call themselves PPP.  That would be gross hypocrisy.

Churchill, like Gilbakka,  were PPP stalwarts  when you were running around without a diaper, messing yourself.

You seem to have a warped sense of posting stuff on GNI and when challenged to post your source, you go into hiding, like some others here.

Every time you  do this, you lose credibility and before too long you might sound like a empty drum  to yourself.

Jagdeo is an  ungrateful power-hungry greedy person, unappreciative of those who gave so much of themselves, to make  the PPP what it is today.  

Churchill, as well as Gilbakka, will die as PPP stalwarts, because of what the PNC did to them, in their earlier days with Cheddi Jagan.

Next time speak from your  correct body orifice.

Last edited by Tola
Zed posted:

All the old PPP stalwarts are partially responsible for what the PPP is today. Maybe, that is why there is so much bitterness on their part.

Say what? After the PNC totally messed up Guyana as we all agree, (yes, even those who you fools refer to as PNC because they disagree with the way the PPP was heading). Those stalwarts stood beside Cheddie as the PPP made progressive changes while he was President. I visited Guyana and was quite impressed,  BJ then came on board sending the party into a downward spiral.

Noted! Even if you did not actually commit the crime, you can be held partially responsible. Perhaps you should learn more about what it means to be an accessory to a crime.

Accessory to what! Churchill piss off plenty people himself with his big mouth. Prashad is not going to do him anything. He has plenty of powerful enemies than to worry about Prashad.

When we have perfect people, running for perfect political causes, we might have perfect political parties.

Instead of collaborating with experience for the good of all, why divide to conquer ? 

Tola posted:

Anyone who runs after Basil Williams coat tail like a poodle is a PNC soup drinker.  Anyone who advises Granger is also a PNC soup drinker.

What should we call a woman like you who runs after Jagdeo?

Accessory to what! Churchill piss off plenty people himself with his big mouth. Prashad is not going to do him anything. He has plenty of powerful enemies than to worry about Prashad.

You said: When you say stupid things you have to live with the consequences.