The police are investigating the circumstances surrounding an incident in which a five-member family of Bath, West Coast Berbice, was on Sunday night beaten and robbed by three gunmen, and two motor cars in proximity were torched.

According to the female shop owner (who asked not to be named), she operates a grocery store and beer garden on her premises, and was in the shop around 22:00hrs (10pm), attending to two patrons. Her husband was at the time in the inner portion of the building sorting some bills to be dealt with the following day, while her two teenage daughters were watching television and six-year-old son was asleep.
It was then that three men armed with handguns entered the premises and began beating the two patrons.

After assaulting the patrons, two of the men proceeded to force their way into the dwelling via a side door, while the third man kept guard over the two patrons who were huddled in a corner. The men brutally assaulted the woman’s husband and two daughters before forcing them to lie on the floor and demanding that they remain quiet.
Amid threats to the woman, the men demanded money, telling her that they had information on her, and that she must hand over all the gold and money she had. All she could do was plead with the men and watch them ransack the shop.

The men eventually stumbled upon sixty thousand dollars in cash which she had in a purse, and they took away an undisclosed sum from the drawer where cash is normally kept.
The men also relieved each family member of whatever jewellery they were wearing, as well as five cellular phones.
According to the traumatized shopkeeper, everything happened very quickly, and the men left after spending less than fifteen minutes on the property.

The youngest of the family, the six year old boy, has been left traumatized by the ordeal, the shop owner said.
While the victims are happy to have escaped serious injuries, one of the patrons can count himself as being very unfortunate. Not only did the robbers use his car in their escape bid, the car was taken into the Hopetown cemetery and set alight.                                                  

The burnt-out car was discovered early Monday morning with documents nearby conforming ownership.
When the police responded to the report of the robbery on Sunday night, they were on time to witness a car on fire a short distance away from where the robbery was committed, and it is believed that the gunmen may have used that car to get to their objective, and then set it on fire having accomplished their mission.
The police are continuing their investigations.

http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....ed-in-bandit-attack/

RiffRaff posted:
Amral posted:

If you don't like what happening in Guyana. Then go back and try to fix it. If not mind yuh own business rass and drink yuh rum here 

fix what?

all dem fells here know how to do is talk, talk talk

Let me talk, talk, talk....who cares about dem rass in Guyana. Abie life good hea, let dem rass punish in Guyana !! Me sit behind me computa  and talk shit and let  de government fix everything. 

Now  leave me alone to criticize, when others try to help.

Riff/Amral..This is not at you personally.

Facebook is a great source of information from Guyana.  Your friends and family are posting pictures of what's really happening in the country. Government can't control news like they did two decades ago. Technology has brought the world closer.  Without facebook we would not have known the real truth and intensity of the protest against the government and city hall over the controversial parking meters. This forum brings to focus events that are of national importance. I love the exchanges between pro government and anti-Government posters. 

Amral posted:

If Granger come to Toronto someone should lock him in their basement  I was going to say blow him up but secrets are best kept. Still looking for recruits

Lock him  up in their basement, yes.

But I  am sure you don't mean the rest. Because  if there is an incident by others, the people might be all over you. Screwing up your day.  

Facebook is a great source of information from Guyana. .

No it isn't. All the news you get reaffirms your belief system because birds of a feather flock together.

Check other newsfeeds and you will see something completely different.

I bet all of your friends followed Jagdeo to vote PPP like lemmings running off a cliff.  At least those who voted coalition have the integrity to be very critical of those for whom they voted.