Today marks 2 years since that general & regional elections that brought APNU+AFC into power by a slim majority of votes cast. The Coalition's Founding Fathers got their victory because they promised voters a new political culture without corruption, discrimination, arrogance etc. Father David pointedly said he was a "game-changer". Father Moses pointed out that under the Cummingsburg Accord the AFC would have the important Agriculture Ministry and promised better days for sugar workers, rice farmers and other farmers. Neither Father David nor Father Moses had promised to increase all-round taxes, licences, fees, duties etc or to increase ministers' salaries by 50 percent within the first 100 days of victory.

One AFC slogan was "Better Must Come". One Coalition slogan was "It Is Time". Voters and coalition supporters placed their hopes and destiny on the Founding Fathers of the Coalition. Today, 2 years later, there is disenchantment among thousands of those voters and supporters who had justifiably wanted an end to much blemished PPP rule. But, in all fairness, we must blame ourselves for accepting and soaking up the nice words from the Founding Fathers' mouths. It turns out that they are no different from all other politicians --- liars and deceivers.

If any bright lining in that election, it is the power of the people to fire and hire based on performance.  So far we don't see the PPP having any better plans for the country so I don't see how a change in govt will bring any improvement. The question becomes whether Guyanese should keep the current group of thiefmen or exchange them for another group. I believe that the PNC should be kicked out for their dismal performance in managing the economy, however they must be commended on controlling crime.

I have to commend you for your honest opinion,i know there are some good qualities hidden some where.

Sometimes I think of Guyana as  "Lemon" you bought from a used car dealer. You take it from one mechanic to another and the blasted thing still giving problems.   I said on a few occasions that TK should use his knowledge of economics and finance and help develop Guyana's chutney and pepper sauce industry. The market is worth millions in the US and Canada. Just think about how Tabasco, the co. that makes that bad tasting  pepper sauce from the Southern U.S.  was able to turn the industry into a gold mine. Guyana can produce a better chutney and pepper sauce than any country in this hemisphere. Our problem is marketing. We need to learn what our competitors do and do the same. 

Instead of smart people vying to wear a cap of a gov't. minister, they can wear the cap of an industry leader that commands respect, generate wealth, and create jobs.  

I hope the former Shadow Minister is Watching.

I have to commend you for your honest opinion,i know there are some good qualities hidden some where.

Ditto

I was thinking the same thing. I had to read twice. Thought meh spectacle needed changing.

Gilly, LIARS, DECEIVERS and SCUMBAGS who have nothing to show, no accomplishments EXCEPT wine and go down low 50th Anniversary, 100% salary increase for themselves and the upcoming 51 st Anniversary bump and Grind'

Despite all that one particular FILTH HEAD is now saying is good them win. Well, STUPID as STUPID gets. Not that he would know how STUPID he is.

Gilly, It's fitting you use the phrase " But, in all fairness, we must blame ourselves for accepting and soaking up the nice words from the Founding Fathers' mouths.

Me nah tek blme fuh dis wan!!!! You deh pun you own!!! Can you please the list of GNI folks who you might consider  "WE"?

"WE" are legion, too numerous to mention. 

But why am I answering Skelly? He ain't care about Guyana that he deserted 45+ years ago. 

Me and proud of it...the PPP lost. Just as no one knew Jagdeo would have damaged the PPP the same can be said for those who wanted a change.

That doesn't surprise me. It's an inherited trait that Putagees don't care for anyone else but themselves..just like the Chinese...Tek care of abie own.

Is that what you got out of my post? You are much dumber than I thought banna. Yeh, I am sure the half dozen Portuguese in Guyana made a huge dent in tossing those creepy bastards out.

Gilly, It's fitting you use the phrase " But, in all fairness, we must blame ourselves for accepting and soaking up the nice words from the Founding Fathers' mouths.

Me nah tek blme fuh dis wan!!!! You deh pun you own!!! Can you please the list of GNI folks who you might consider  "WE"?

"WE" are legion, too numerous to mention. 

But why am I answering Skelly? He ain't care about Guyana that he deserted 45+ years ago. 

Mannin Gilly bhai. Life has been good for me in Amrika. Today marks 47 years and I have no regrets abandoning Guyana when I did. My brothers are all happy here. They never asked for a handout. I was here to make sure that did not happen.

Me and proud of it...the PPP lost. Just as no one knew Jagdeo would have damaged the PPP the same can be said for those who wanted a change.

That doesn't surprise me. It's an inherited trait that Putagees don't care for anyone else but themselves..just like the Chinese...Tek care of abie own.

Is that what you got out of my post? You aremuch dumber than I thought banna. Yeh, I am sure the half dozen Portuguese in Guyana made a huge dent in tossing those creepy bastards out.

You just wasted a whole useless thought. Your number one Putagee hero, Peter D'Aguiar brought catastrophe to the Guyanese people. The half dozen or 6 Putagees could not compensate for the shame and disgrace the one Putagee bastard who unleashed on the Guyanese people. He did it for the money.

Is that what you got out of my post? You aremuch dumber than I thought banna. Yeh, I am sure the half dozen Portuguese in Guyana made a huge dent in tossing those creepy bastards out.

You just wasted a whole useless thought. Your number one Putagee hero, Peter D'Aguiar brought catastrophe to the Guyanese people. The half dozen or 6 Putagees could not compensate for the shame and disgrace the one Putagee bastard who unleashed on the Guyanese people. He did it for the money.

You are full of shit. Had D'Aguiar ever been in power right now your porter buddies would posibly have been in a much better position than what their own people left them wallowing in. At least D'Aguiar had business acumen unlike Burnham and your friken Dr Dr Porter leader.

I don't have an issue with the PNC having the right to be elected and govern Guyana.  I have an issue with the PNC denying other parties their right to be elected and govern Guyana. 

That's why we have to campaign for free and fair elections. As mi amigo el diablo Django says, there must be a level playing field.

Time to get back on the thread's track, guys. Are you satisfied with happenings in Guyana the past 2 years? Don't get distracted or else Gilly will harness you with blinds; look straight at the topic. 

It has only been two yearssssssssss????????  You mean we have three more years to go???!!!!!!

5 - 2 = 3

True dat banna...there is hope yet.

Drugb just threw you all lil hard buns and Mauby and look how happy you are. You all Guyanese prappa naive 

I feel obligated to give these fellows a hand with the slop can sometimes. Truth is that noone seems to have the gumption to execute the vision for Guyana. Lots of talking and blunders but no progress.

I was thinking the same thing. I had to read twice. Thought meh spectacle needed changing.

Ditto 3.

We all get influenced and change, by people, things and the truth. Drugb is no different and me like wha me see.

Gil

Thanks for posting this interesting thread.

Well, the AFC/PNC proved to be the biggest disappointment since taking office and from all indications, it will be the same for the next three years. Granger lacks vision and intelligent leadership.

It is important that democracy be retained and a turnover of government by the will of the people.  This is important for the future of the country, as bad as it is right now.

The PPP was not without fault and had to given a kick in the rear to get them back in line. Hopefully they learnt from their mistakes as they took the people for granted and started acting as if they were greater than god.

PPP and PNC are two political giants and they need to be kicked back in line by the people and that will only happen when democracy is maintained through free and fair elections so the will of the people is expressed and the parties will not be able to take the people for granted.

A generation of younger and sensible politicians will eventually emerge to rid Guyana of the RACE Monster which is the biggest hindrance to progress in Guyana.

Peace.

Off to Upstate, NY (my new summer getaway). I love NY. 

Gil

Thanks for posting this interesting thread.

PPP and PNC are two political giants and they need to be kicked back in line by the people and that will only happen when democracy is maintained through free and fair elections so the will of the people is expressed and the parties will not be able to take the people for granted. 

I think the cartoonist made a mistake in portraying PNC and PPP as sheep. The sheep is a tame, peaceful and contented animal. The cartoonist should have drawn hyenas instead. PNC and PPP are like two hyenas going after the same piece of Guyana meat.